Cheap flights to Koh Samui

Best Anytime fares to Koh Samui

Cheap round-trip flights to Koh Samui

Departure Arrival Travel dates Airline Round-trip fares
Bangkok Koh Samui Tue, 25 Aug - Wed, 9 Sep airline logo Bangkok Airways £152
London Koh Samui Tue, 15 Sep - Fri, 25 Sep EY Etihad Airways £554
Phuket Koh Samui Sat, 26 Sep - Mon, 5 Oct airline logo Bangkok Airways £130
Chiang Mai Koh Samui Tue, 8 Sep - Thu, 17 Sep airline logo Bangkok Airways £269
Singapore Koh Samui Sat, 26 Sep - Wed, 30 Sep 4-1 version from Alfresco Malaysia Airlines £260
Krabi Koh Samui Mon, 3 Aug - Sat, 8 Aug airline logo Bangkok Airways £129
Hong Kong Koh Samui Sun, 13 Sep - Thu, 17 Sep airline logo Bangkok Airways £444
Manchester Koh Samui Wed, 2 Sep - Thu, 24 Sep airline logo Finnair £645
Kuala Lumpur Koh Samui Wed, 16 Sep - Sun, 20 Sep 4-1 version from Alfresco Malaysia Airlines £174
Siem Reap Koh Samui Mon, 3 Aug - Tue, 4 Aug airline logo Bangkok Airways £424
Newcastle Upon Tyne Koh Samui Sun, 6 Sep - Sat, 19 Sep airline logo British Airways £746
Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) Koh Samui Fri, 7 Aug - Fri, 14 Aug Multiple Airlines Check rates
Back to menu Return to top

Best weekend fares to Koh Samui

Best weekend fares to Koh Samui

Departure Arrival Travel dates Airline Round-trip fares
Bangkok Koh Samui Fri, 11 Sep - Mon, 14 Sep airline logo Bangkok Airways £152
London Koh Samui Fri, 7 Aug - Fri, 14 Aug Multiple Airlines Check rates
Phuket Koh Samui Fri, 7 Aug - Mon, 10 Aug airline logo Bangkok Airways £130
Chiang Mai Koh Samui Sat, 1 Aug - Sun, 2 Aug airline logo Bangkok Airways £278
Singapore Koh Samui Thu, 3 Sep - Sun, 6 Sep 4-1 version from Alfresco Malaysia Airlines £260
Krabi Koh Samui Thu, 6 Aug - Mon, 10 Aug airline logo Bangkok Airways £129
Hong Kong Koh Samui Thu, 17 Sep - Mon, 21 Sep airline logo Bangkok Airways £457
Manchester Koh Samui Fri, 7 Aug - Fri, 14 Aug Multiple Airlines Check rates
Kuala Lumpur Koh Samui Fri, 4 Sep - Mon, 7 Sep 4-1 version from Alfresco Malaysia Airlines £183
Siem Reap Koh Samui Fri, 7 Aug - Fri, 14 Aug Multiple Airlines Check rates
Newcastle Upon Tyne Koh Samui Fri, 7 Aug - Fri, 14 Aug Multiple Airlines Check rates
Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) Koh Samui Fri, 7 Aug - Fri, 14 Aug Multiple Airlines Check rates
Back to menu Return to top

Things to do in Koh Samui

The third largest island in Thailand, Koh Samui is part of a trio of popular destinations in the Gulf of Thailand: Koh Tao has the best (and famously inexpensive) diving, Koh Phangan is infamous for its full-moon parties, and Koh Samui has the most refined beach-vacation atmosphere. Mid-range to upscale accommodations are the norm here, and the vibe is pure relaxation. Just about any treatment on earth is available, from the ubiquitous Thai massage to yoga retreats to weeklong detox cleanse regimens. The island has a few minor attractions—a 40-foot Buddha statue, a few jungle waterfalls, and some provocatively shaped rock formations. Throughout the years though, the culture has progressively catered to the Western traveler (if you’re looking for authentic Thailand, look on), with internet cafés, Starbucks, and knock-off clothing stalls. 

Koh Samui When to Go

Tropical Koh Samui has perennially good conditions, save a rainy season that spans the last quarter of the year. Average year-round temperatures linger in the upper 80s. This means its robust tourist scene is almost always busy. The peak time for visitors, however, is from January to July, when seas are calm, skies are clear, and weather is mild. Expect beaches and attractions to be packed with visitors, especially on heavily developed Chaweng and Lamai beaches, and accommodation prices to be much less flexible than in less upscale Southeast Asian destinations.

The October to December low season sees a sharp increase in rainstorms, with November bringing particularly heavy rainfall. Think an average of 11 inches per month. During this time, the water can get cloudy, affecting visibility for diving and snorkeling, and beach conditions can get rough. That said, storms generally roll in only during afternoon, and the island still offers a lush, beautiful vacation backdrop, with inland rivers and waterfalls swelling with water. The rains also bring reduced crowds and lower prices for some accommodations.

In between the peak travel season and the wet season, the August and September shoulder season can offer slightly reduced crowds. This time of year also has occasional showers, and it can get quite hot during the day.

With a diverse local population that includes Chinese, Indian, and Malay influences, as well as a mix of Buddhists and Muslims, there are festivals and holidays year round. Songkran, the Thai New Year, falls in mid April. The holiday culminates gleefully when locals and tourists alike take to the streets in a massive water fight and douse each other with ice-cold water.