£135.70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 11 May 2014 Check-out 12 May 2014

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

5 stars
93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
55 reviews
couple visiting Sydney

The hotel is extremely well located close to Circular Quay, and offers a very high standard of... See full review

  • Penny world traveller
  • 11 Feb 2014
Overnight stay.

We returned to this hotel, where we had stayed a week before. We were delighted for an unexpected... See full review

  • Philiz
  • 13 Sep 2013
Old world charm in the center of Sydney

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, a plush Sydney mainstay located on historic Macquarie Street, provides superb service so guests feel like royalty. The hotel features Australia's largest private collection of fine art, showcasing a mesmerizing collection of 18th century Louis XV and Georgian antiques. Visit Sydney's premier attractions near the hotel including the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens and the historic Rocks Area. Guests enjoy dinner in the stately Dining Room or sip old-fashioned cocktails by the fireplace in the hotel bar.

Highlights
  • Prime location in Circular Quay
  • Luxurious quarters with spacious balconies
  • Outdoor pool with cityscape views
Rooms

The hotel's 105 luxury guest rooms and suites evoke a bygone era. Quarters manage to feel spacious and cozy at the same time. Decor features fine bedding, mahogany writing desk and bathrooms with marble countertops. Most rooms have French doors opening to Juliet balconies with glimpses of the skyline or Sydney's Botanical Gardens. Rooms also feature plush bathrobes and slippers, two phone lines and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Australian A-listers populate the hotel's sophisticated Dining Room, feasting on Aussie-style cuisine. Favorites include spatchcock, Wagyu beef or capsicum cooked in the hot pot. The bar draws locals and tourists who lounge by the fireplace sipping classic cocktails and vintage wine. The hotel boasts the largest privately-owned fine art collection in the country, including Georgian antiques and 550 chandeliers. The hotel has a heated outdoor pool and sundeck, plus a 24-hour fitness center and spa.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Sydney Bus stops at Circular Quay
  • CityRail stops at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
Attractions
  • Sydney Opera House (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Rocks Area (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Room/1 King or 2
Superior Room/1 King or 2 doubles/44sqm City Views/Sep Shower and Bath/Terrace
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/City Views Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm
Deluxe Room/2 double beds/44sqm Juliet Balcony/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/
Superior Room/King bed/44 sqm/ LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Superior Room/2 Double
Superior Room/2 Double Beds/44sqm LCD TV/Sep Shower and Bath
Deluxe Room/King
Deluxe Room/King Bed/44sqm/Harbour Vw Large Balcony/Marble Bathroom
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60
Executive Suite - King Bed - 60-70sqm - Separate Living Area - Marble Bathroom
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153
Presidential Suite/King Bed/153 sqm Kitchen/Sep Living and Dining areas
Harbour Suite/King
Harbour Suite/King bed/70sqm/Harbour Vw Juliet Balcony/Sep Living Area

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Driving range
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - American
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business centre
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Cable or sat. TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Stamford at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8622 151.2127
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith Airport, (SYD), 12.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Brilliantly located in the Com. Business District. Stunning

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Government House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.5 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.3 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.4 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

The Dining Room
Our innovative menu offers culinary creations ranging from contemporary Australian through to more traditional International Style cuisine, and our wine list offers the finest Australian wines. Recently awared Best Restaurant in the New South Wales Austra
The Bar
The Bar is located in the Heritage listed section of the hotel on the ground floor. Dating back to 1899, The Bar is warm and inviting, featuring comfortable lounges, an open fireplace for cold winters days and a club style bar, creating an intimate venue

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.5 / 5
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
Globetrotter Guy
Houston, Texas, USA
29 Nov 2009

Very nice and excellent location.

When I returned home, I had a letter from the hotel with a bill charged to my credit card for mini-bar charges. Our mini bar was never used. I am in contact with the hotel to resolve this problem now. So, you may want to tell them to close the bill completely (checking the mini bar) when you leave so you dont get any surprises when you get home like I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera House and all city transportation is one block away as well as the FREE downtown bus you can use to get to various spots around the city. This is the green bus in front of Circular Quay. Use it and save money!

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Roaring Meg
New York, NY
2 Apr 2014

Perfect Location and Friendly Staff

This hotel is truly centrally located, right across from the botanical gardens and a 5 minute walk or less to circular quay, where you can catch a ferry or bus to pretty much anywhere in the city. The staff was super friendly and helpful in making dinner reservations and giving us suggestions of what to do and see. The rooms were very nice and clean with comfy beds! My one and only small complaint would be that the rooms could use dehumidifiers... it felt a bit moist in the room, but other than that it was a perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
18 Dec 2009

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Antique decorative motif, friendly service, good location very close to the Quay and the Botanical Gardens, but still quite. Fitness center was tiny with useless equipment and limited range of weights (needs an update). Now the downside, it's Christmas so the hotel quite often plays carols through speakers located in the foyer, a pain in the neck if your room is located the next floor up over the foyer (which mine was). These days Perry Como-like muzak is often used as crowd dispersal mechanism by shopping centers so maybe the hotel should get a clue that not everyone shares their taste in music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chico CA
26 Oct 2009

Great Hotel

We arrived early in the morning as our flight was long from the U.S. to Australia. I had asked for an early check in and they had everything ready for us. We were somewhat shocked at the price of the breakfast $25, but we were hungry and tired so we went for it. The location of this hotel can't be beat. The staff was polite and helpful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful location near the Opera House, ferries, bus and train terminals. Great for seeing the bontanic gardens across the street. You could walk to many activities.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
KentuckyTraveler
Cincinnati, OH
31 Mar 2010

Excellent location - Comfortable

This hotel has an excellent location to the Opera House and The Rocks. The heart of Sydney's entertainment and restaurants were just steps in any direction from the front of the hotel. Being close to the night and weekend markets at The Rocks was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the expensive restaurant and drink service offered by the hotel by purchasing snacks and drinks at the nearby convenience store just down the hill from the hotel. Each floor of the hotel has a working ice machine dispenser.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Dr. Fixit
Business
Boston, MA
26 Oct 2009

Could not be better located

The excellent location one block to the ferries and to the train station, with the express train to the airport, made it so easy to get around this major city. The hotel is an old standard, formerly the Ritz Carlton, and should appeal to all travelers. 9

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Sara Anne
Alexandria, VA, USA
23 Aug 2011

Great Location

Very good. Location was perfect, and the staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants along the Esplanade offer great food and fantastic views.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Wish I was back in Oz
Washington DC
17 May 2010

Great Location

Sir Stamford is in a great location to get to what I think is the hub of Sydney, Circular Quay. The staff was very helpful in terms of restaurant suggestions and transportation. The room is nice and clean. The hotel has a bit of a worn feel to it, but not to a point where it looks unkept. Would definitly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some good dining deals in The Rocks, only about a 10-15 min walk away.

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
US Business Traveler
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
8 Jul 2010

Very Nice

It was a nice hotel. The lobby feels a little claustrophobic. But the people were nice. My room was big. But it had little to no view. I could sort of see the water in Circular Quay, but not the bridge. I was on the fourth floor, looking west. My bathroom was amazing! It was huge. And all surfaces covered in white marble, with two sinks, a separate tub and walk-in shower, with a separate room for the toilet. Being a techie, what I can tell you is that (A) The WiFi didn't work well at all, and I was forced to use the cable over by the desk. I wish that cable was longer, or I had brought something with me, though I wouldn't normally anyway. But considering I paid $100 AUD for Internet for the week, it was a nuisance. (B) The room had an analog CRT TV. Not a big deal, but most hotels I stay at now have moved on to flat HDTVs and a lot have HDTV signal as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Local walks, for what I did: 1. BridgeClimb: 10 minutes 2. Bridge walk pedestrian deck: 20 minutes to the other side of the bridge 3. Opera House: 5 minutes 4. Royal Botanical Gardens: 5 minutes 5. Ferries: less than 5 minutes 6. My work site on Barrack street: Leisurely 20 minutes

Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
Sandy BC
Moline, IL
12 May 2010

Great location and ambience

The staff is very courteous, friendly and responsive. My room was large and clean. I loved the huge bathroom with separate shower, bath and toliet. The location for Sydney was perfect. It was less that a 5 minute walk to the ferries, Opera House or many great resturants. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top