£69.01 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 3 May 2015 Check-out 5 May 2015

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
View map of 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scratchy
Business
Salisbury UK
30 Jul 2013

Superb central location

Friendly , helpful concierge and staff; spacious bedroom with two queen size beds; very quiet room; location perfect for walking to all the major tourist sights, the Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House, Darling Harbour, QV B building; opposite Wynard bus/ train station for transport to both air terminals. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast in one of the several small cafes at the Rocks and evening meal at the Italian restaurant Circular Quay opposite ticket booths, very good Wifi here.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa B G
Business
Los Angeles
30 May 2013

not 4 stars

This was not a good value and would never be a place I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris and Steve
Business
Napa
10 Mar 2013

Menzies great value hotel

Good location and great service . Andrew Austen, Hotel Concierge. Very helpful not only with us and with other Hotel guests. He provided the extra touch that made it easy for us to navigate Sydney. Transportation, tickets to the Opera House and various attraction. The Hotel is convenient to all transportation hubs and walking distance to most everything. Recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use a local for inside information that may not be available from the Hotel.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcus Americanus
Business
MSP
3 Feb 2013

Stopover with a cruise

Very convenient location to downtown and transportation. Very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr Galletas
Business
Bunbury, Australia
27 Jan 2013

An Excellent Stay in Sydney

I had to change my reservation more than once and the Menzies was more than accommodating! Location was perfect. We didn't have a car and was able to come directly from the airport using the train and the tram stopped directly in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to all of the highlights of Sydney and the biggest compliment goes to the concierge, Andrew! He helped us in many ways including assisting us with a bellman to take a bag that needed to be shipped across Australia. A must stay in Sydney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wilbar
Business
Cardiff UK
20 Jan 2013

Disappointing

Our room had not been cleaned properly when we checked in (sticky glass marks on at least 3 surfaces) so we went out for an hour to give them the opportunity to sort it out. On our return, nothing had been done so we were moved to a "better room" - I would hate to see worse. If I hadn't paid in advance for the room, I would have left. Two bottles on water were left on the bedside tables which I assumed were complimentary - had I drunk it, we would have been charged $8 per bottle! Don't mind paying over the odds, but this was a complete rip off and made us very wary of the charges for anything else. The rooms were last decorated in the 1980s and the furniture was way past its best. Find somewhere else to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Sydney harbour bridge walk -well worth it.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cloud Sales
Business
Hong Kong
13 Jan 2013

close but wanting

The Menzies is in the perfect location to a new visitor to Sydney. It is literally across the street from a nice train station and park that connects to the airport while still being in the middle of the city. The staff are pleasant though i didn't get the wake up call the last day. The hotel is quite old. By itself that is not negative but the impact is visible. WIFI is ridiculously expensive for any hotel in the world. That alone makes the hotel questionable as a choice for any business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
none
Business
England
3 Jun 2012

good value

We had previously stayed at this hotel & had a classier room, the room this time was a bit shabby & in need of a re-furb, but it was large & comfortable although very little wardrobe space. It was not the room as advertised on-line. The staff were very helpful & room service meals were excellent. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ash29
Business
New York, NY, USA
27 Feb 2012

quick trip to sydney

i was in sydney for only a few days, never been before, so i wanted somewhere close to the main attractions of the city. the hotel itself is in a business district, but it's all within alking distance to the main sights, like the opera house and darling harbor. the room was a little small but perfect for a single traveller, the bathroom was a little awkwardly placed but not a big issue. the room was very clean. i didn't go to the pool or any of the bars or restaurants. the staff was very helpful when i needed to get train timetables. there is free internet in the lobby for 30 min and the price in your room is very high, but this seems very typical for australia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LINJEL
Business
Washington, DC, USA
6 Feb 2012

Very Nice Stay

Stayed one night after a cruise. Room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Very convenient to the Rocks and business district. Free shuttle ran just around the corner from the hotel and subway to airport was just across the street. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis are expensive. Free shuttle is just around the corner and subway is just across the street.

Back to menu Return to top