£65.80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 5 Sep 2014 Check-out 8 Sep 2014

Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

4 stars
23 Leichardt Street Spring Hill, Brisbane, Brisbane, QL 4000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
170 reviews
Location was perfect as we were only staying overnight so everything was close by

Helpful and friendly staff, wifii available. Room was very comfortable and clean. Our stay couldn't... See full review

  • June F
  • 28 Jul 2014
Short overnighter

Due to unexpected dramas, we arrived at midnight .Check in was no fuss .Free parking on weekends.... See full review

  • Rocky travellers
  • 21 Jul 2014
Hotel with rooftop pool blends traditional comfort and modern decor
Sitting at the highest point of Brisbane?s central business district, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane provides guests with an elegant retreat. Rooms feature stunning views of Brisbane River, Mount Coot-tha, or the city. The hotel is situated in one of the CBD?s quieter areas but is still just a short walk from the city center and attractions such as the Queen Street Mall, South Bank, and the Queensland Performing Arts Centre. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in the foyer, bar and restaurant areas is also available.
Highlights
  • Rooftop pool and fitness center
  • 15-minute walk from sporting events at Suncorp Stadium
  • Menu at Frescos Restaurant gives guests choice of both healthy and decadent options
  • 10 function rooms
Rooms

Hotel Grand Chancellor is home to 194 rooms and suites that merge the traditional -- plush chairs and furniture -- with modern elements like bold pops of color against deep browns. Many rooms and suites have private balconies. Wi-Fi access is available in some rooms for an added cost. Complimentary Wi-Fi is offered in all Superior Rooms and Suites. Superior rooms and suites feature extras like aromatherapy bathroom amenities, ergonomic desk chairs and larger desks, iPod clock radios, and complimentary water and fruit. Superior suites also have small kitchens. Other suite amenities include living areas with 32-inch flat-screen televisions and dining furniture.

Features
The hotel offers several indoor and al fresco dining and bar options. Frescos Restaurant serve breakfast and lunch buffets as well as an ever-changing menu at dinner. Frescos Bar & Cafe serves drinks and light meals throughout the day. Guests who want to dine outside can sit in the bar's courtyard. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is also available in the bar and restaurant areas.
Transportation
  • Roma Street Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Central Railway Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Brisbane International Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Queensland Performing Arts Centre (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Treasury Casino (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Queensland Museum South Bank (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
Business
  • Wired or wireless Internet access in guest rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • Computer and printer available
  • Business services include photocopying and faxing
  • 10 meeting and event spaces can accommodate up to 300 guests

Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane Rooms

Superior Suite
Innovatively designed with contemporary features, these rooms offer one King size bed,freestanding bath with separate shower and double vanities. The self contained kitchen opens out to the lounge/dining room which boasts an LCD TV and stunning views.
Weekend Special
Take a "City Break" today! Overnight accommodation in a Standard Room, Full Buffet Breakfast for 2, Complimentary Car Parking, Newspaper and use of our Rooftop Pool, Spa and Gymnasium. Every Room has Breathtaking views of the City or Roma Street Parklands.
Business Package
Wake up to stunning views over the Roma Street Gardens or the City from your Standard Room. Rooms feature 32" TV's with fox sports & most rooms have balconies. Includes unlimited internet and buffet breakfast for 1 person served in Frescos Restaurant.
Standard Room
Wake up to stunning views over the Roma Street Gardens or the City from your Standard Room. Rooms feature 32" TV's with fox sports & most rooms have balconies. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure our rooftop pool & spa is not to be missed.
Superior Room
Our Superior rooms feature modern finishing's, contemporary bathroom with sophisticated amenities, luxurious robes & iPod docking stations. Located on the top 2 floors with stunning views and most with private balconies. Perfect for a relaxing stay.
Deluxe Room
Our generous style Deluxe Rooms feature stylish decor and a renovated, contemporary bathroom. All rooms offer 32" LCD Televisions with fox sports & pay per view movies. Most rooms have balconies with stunning views over the City or Roma Street Parklands.
Deluxe Room Twin
Our generous style Deluxe Rooms feature stylish decor and a renovated, contemporary bathroom. All rooms offer 32" LCD Televisions with fox sports & pay per view movies. Most rooms have balconies with stunning views over the City or Roma Street Parklands.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

-27.4625 153.0216
Area served
Brisbane
Nearby airports
Brisbane International Airport.
Area description
You are assured of a warm welcome at Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane. The location makes it the perfect accommodation venue whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. Located in the heart of Queensland's sunniest capital city, Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane is situated on the highest point in the Brisbane CBD. Opposite the picturesque Roma Street Parklands most rooms feature balconies with breathtaking views of the city, mountains or Brisbane River.

Nearby points of interest

  • Enoggera: 0.1 mi
  • Roma Street Parkland: 0.2 mi
  • Queensland Police Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Indigenous Tribal Galleries: 0.4 mi
  • Anzac Square War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • King George Square: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Freemasons Ann Street Memorial Centre: 0.4 mi
  • All Saints' Wickham Terrace: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria Barracks Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Johns Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Of Brisbane: 0.5 mi
  • Brisbane Arcade: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Quilpie Opals: 0.5 mi
  • Enoggera: 0.1 mi
  • Roma Street Parkland: 0.2 mi
  • Queensland Police Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Indigenous Tribal Galleries: 0.4 mi
  • Anzac Square War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • King George Square: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Freemasons Ann Street Memorial Centre: 0.4 mi
  • All Saints' Wickham Terrace: 0.5 mi
  • Victoria Barracks Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Johns Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Of Brisbane: 0.5 mi
  • Brisbane Arcade: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Quilpie Opals: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Adelaide Building: 0.5 mi
  • MacArthur Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Queens Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Gambaro Restaurant: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Stephen: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.6 mi
  • State Library of Queensland: 0.7 mi
  • Riverside Promenade: 0.7 mi
  • Treasury Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Victoria Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Gallery of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Herston Golf Course: 0.7 mi
  • Eagle Street Pier: 0.7 mi
  • Craft Markets: 0.7 mi
  • Commissariat Store Building: 0.8 mi
  • Captain Burke Park: 0.9 mi
  • Suncorp Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Story Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • XXXX Ale House: 0.9 mi
  • Augustines On George: 0.9 mi
  • Brisbane Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Parliament House: 1 mi
  • RNA Showgrounds: 1 mi
  • Brisbane Exhibition Grounds: 1 mi
  • Old Government House: 1.1 mi
  • City Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Goodwill Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • West End: 1.4 mi
  • Queensland Maritime Museum: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DavidSch
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
9 Sep 2012

NO WIRELESS INTERNET FOR $30+ per day fee

I feel the advertising for this hotel was extremely deceptive because it was NOT WIRELESS - contrary to their advertising saying High Speed WiRELESS. Also, they charge over $30 per day for internet access over an hour. After I just about broke my back and legs on their super uncomfortable desk chair and voiced my concerns, the manager brought me a wireless modem and explained that wireless is available in their lobby. In my opinion, their lobby is not conducive to doing productive focused work. Additionally, I didn't consider this hotel to be a 4 star hotel. I felt the room and bathroom and lighting and bedding and creature comforts were 2 star. Very disappointing. The building is older, shabby, just not high quality at all. Very low quality place that has a great sounding regal hotel name but a horrible experience that is the exact opposite of what their name implies. I felt like I was in a prison cell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cleggsie
hervey bay
10 Apr 2014

NEVER AGAIN!!!

Will never stay there again. very disappointed in it all round. the room was tiny, as was the bed. the Internet makes it look much better than in real life. tv didn't work properly, and no dvd player, and you couldn't borrow one from reception. only 2 small towels provided, it was like staying in a budget motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fred and Mary
Brisbane
31 Dec 2013

Night in the City

I would only recommend staying in this hotel if there was nothing else available in the city. The good points, - The restaurant food and service was good. Now the bad points - On arrival they had lost our reservation which took 10 minutes to sort out. - Then the car park boom gate failed to operate, delaying us for another 15 minutes. - The hotel is very dated. - The room air con filter was the dirtiest I have ever seen. - The air con unit was dirty and mouldy - The room fridge door would not open very far due to getting caught on the carpet, as our of level - The room walls were dirty in places - There was no balcony chairs - The shower was very narrow. I have seen wider on a boat. The best option for this hotel would be to demolish it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
steve101
NZ
8 Dec 2011

Basic facilities

Booked an early checkin with travel agent and was told was not possible as all rooms were taken. Not a good start. Would not have booked hotel if told us they would not honor the booking made. Bathrooms were very tired, spa pool was cold, room cards didn't work properly and had to be taken to reception 4 times to be reset. If it weren't for some great staff personalities the stay would have been a flop. Would not recommend it to a friend. Book at your own risk!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter
Not Provided
13 Nov 2009

The rooms are small and need a

The rooms are small and need a total refurbish

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
24 Jun 2009

On top of huge hill- very hard

On top of huge hill- very hard to get to. A fair way from city centre. Rooms outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
10 Jun 2009

The whole hotel spelt of chemicals

The whole hotel spelt of chemicals during our 2 day stay & I would suggest that they change their cleaning products to a greener brand. There were no teaspoons in our room for the tea/coffee, we had to ask for them. The most serious breach was a table lamp which had live wires hanging out of it (it had no plug on the end to plug into the wall) but we didnt realise this as it was dark and when we tried the lamp & it didnt work, we thought it was switched off at the power point, so we turned on the power point but still nothing, then to our horror, we discovered the live wires hanging from the lamp - we could have being electrocuted. We called reception, they came up & collected the lamp but never ever returned with a replacement that we requested. They really couldnt care less. I cannot recommend this hotel at all and I would advise you stay well clear of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STANLEY
Not Provided
24 Mar 2010

The feeling is bad when we stepped

The feeling is bad when we stepped into the room. The room is not clean and the mattress is the worst ever we experienced in Australia hotel. The bar fridge is like 40 years old with rust all around. We had to pay extra money to upgrade to a 'normal room' (what they called the superior'. Other than that, breakfast is good and city view is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
11 Jun 2009

No complaints with staff or service

No complaints with staff or service however, this hotel is very tired and in urgent need of a total refurb - the rooms are well below standard. Location is outside the CBD so be ready for a decent walk with no immediate cafes or restaurants in the area over weekends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
28 Sep 2010

We booked a "superior" room.

We booked a "superior" room. And we were not happy with it at all. It is the same as the other rooms. There was no remarkable difference and we could not see the value of the extra $50 that was charged for this room. Very very dissapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top