£77.39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 26 Apr 2015 Check-out 29 Apr 2015

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
View map of 1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
howlintom
Business
Austin, Tx
16 Aug 2009

Great location, next to the dive boats

The Shangri-La was the perfect location for our trip to Cairns. We could easily walk to the wharf where the snorkeling and dive boats launched. Also, there was a small mall with several bars and restaurants on the ground floor. The service was very professional. Bathroom had separate tub which my travel partner really enjoyed. Balcony with chairs and table, large bedroom area. Our room was on the harbor side, which I would highly recommend for the view. I would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was that the pool wasn't heated in the winter. Too cold for me to stay in for long, and I am used to cold water. It was a shame, because it was a fabulous pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
15 Aug 2009

Great Service, Location

Great anchoring point for exploring Cairns and the Reef - right next to the marina where boat tours leave from, and a ton of great restaurants right in the same complex. The pool was very nice/big/comfortable, except that the water was frigid - even cooler than the ocean! Service was fantastic. Specifically, front desk clerk Andre (only a trainee, but wonderful!) was very attentive and helpful both at check in and throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to get on one of the smaller boats if you're going out to the Reef - your snorkeling or diving experience will be much more fun when there are fewer people to bump into!

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
26 Jul 2009

Cairns Hotel

The hotel overlooked the marina and was convenient to anyone taking a tour out of the marina building. There are lots of restaurants right below and the views are great. The staff was professional and helpful. The fans in the room should have been cleaned, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, AK
18 Jul 2009

Great place with great location

Great location on the Marina. Short walk to tour boats to Great Barrier Reef. Right down town with many restaurants in the shopping center at the base of the hotel, and many other restaurants and shops in easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
12 Jul 2009

Shangri La Cairns

Very good hotel, not a 5 star though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo,Japan
4 Jun 2009

Fantastic Hotel!

There was big bathtab. There was balcony. There was sofa and table. I relly spent goot time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many restaurant with seeing ocean on the street.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J1mboz
Business
Chino Hills, CA
2 May 2009

Perfect location, worth the money

The location at the marina was perfect. Our room overlooked the marina, and came with a large balcony that we enjoyed every evening, looking out at the marina and the lights glancing off the water. And the hotel's concierge, [...], was fabulous. He was always there with a friendly hello and always remembered us by our last names. The staff welcomes you like a family. We added the Horizon Club, that gave us a very well established breakfast buffet, outside at the marina, as well as a very impressive assortment of evening appetizers, that included all sorts of wines, beers and soft drinks. What's not to love? This hotel actually exceeded our expectations. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's just a very short walk (1-2 minutes) away from tour boats, and actually across the street from helicopters. No need to rent a car if you stay here. And downtown Cairns is also a peaceful walk right around the corner with lots of nice restaurants and shops along the way.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feedmethai
Business
Vegas
22 Apr 2009

nice hotel, good location, great staff

I expected a more high end interior based on the brand. The staff was GREAT. Very good pool but thought (based on brand) the bar at the pool would be better stocked. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat the breakfast buffet off the lobby in the Ba8 bar. Very expensive. In the mall past the fitness center is a coffee shop with great stuff & good prices.

Back to menu Return to top