£95.08 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Aug 2014 Check-out 24 Aug 2014

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

5 stars
1 Pierpoint Road, Cairns, Qld 4870, PO Box 7170, Cairns, Qld 4870, Cairns, QL 4870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
83 reviews
Excellent Location for Diving Tours, Shopping, Restaurants, People and Bat Watching

We booked here for two nights on either side of our one-day diving/snorkeling tour. We couldn't... See full review

  • Skylacer
  • 23 Apr 2012
Shangri-la paradise

I booked this last minute not really knowing what to expect and not knowing exactly how close it... See full review

  • shirlsails
  • 3 Dec 2011
Upscale Cairns hotel offers 5-star luxury where the city meets the sea
The Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns enjoys a premier location overlooking the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet, where the water meets rainforest-covered mountains. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Pier at the Marina, a popular mixed-use waterfront development that also serves as the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. Light, airy rooms and suites at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns combine chic style and at-home (or even-better-than-home) comforts such as free Internet access and super-soft towels and bathrobes.
Highlights
  • Waterfront dining at NORTH Food & Wine on the Marina Dining Promenade
  • Local hot spot Ba8 Lounge Bar
  • Outdoor swimming pool and children's pool
  • Fitness center and sauna
  • Complimentary Internet access
Location
Fantastic views, top-notch dining and on-site recreation provide lasting memories of any stay at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns -- but its location is what bubbles to the top of this hotel's packed amenities list. Directly adjacent to the Marlin Marina, the hotel is convenient for all types of water activities. The Great Barrier Reef is an absolute must-see -- the world's largest coral reef is an hour by boat from the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Rooms
Clean lines, fresh shades of white, champagne and green, and stunning views have earned the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns the Best Deluxe Accommodation award from the Queensland Hotels Association. All 255 guest rooms and suites feature private balconies where guests savor sea breezes while overlooking the city, tropical gardens, Trinity Inlet or Marlin Marina.
 
Free broadband Internet access, in-room movies and 200-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets are standard amenities. Horizon Club rooms include club lounge access with complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. For additional space and upgrades such as flat-panel TVs and marble bathrooms, select a suite at the Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.
Transportation
  • Cairns Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Cairns Railway Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Airport transportation available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Cairns Regional Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cairns Convention Centre (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cairns Central shopping center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Cairns Civic Theatre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Skyrail Rainforest Cableway (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Videoconferencing facilities
  • Translation services
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 400 people
  • Boardrooms and meeting rooms available

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. Rooms

Executive Suite
Shangri-La's Executive Suites overlook the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet. Executive Suite guests enjoy with our compliments breakfast and evening cocktails served in the exclusive Horizon Club.
Horizon Club Room
The more you travel, the more life's little luxuries become absolute necessities. Shangri-La has created an exclusive retreat, where you can experience a higher standard of accommodation, personalized service and a host of privileges and amenities. Free Broadband Internet Access
Supeiror Room
Comfort and elegance define Superior Rooms, which are decorated with modern touches and wood accents with Free Broadband Internet Access
Superior BayView Room
Breathtaking views of Trinity Bay and points beyond add to the room's exquisite comforts, making for a productive and peaceful stay. Free Broadband Internet Access
Deluxe Marina View
With commanding views of Marlin Marina, these rooms capture the ocean side lifestyle of Australia's Tropical North. Free Broadband Internet Access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

-16.9196 145.7804
Area served
Cairns, Cairns Beach's, Palm Cove, Port Douglas
Nearby airports
Cairns International Airport - CNS 11km away.
Area description
As the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef Cairns core attractions revolve around the Water activities. Daily Dive trips for the novice to the professionals leave from the Marina early morning. But for those land lovers a favorite attraction is the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway and the Kuranda Scenic Railway Where one can take their time to explore the bustling Kuranda Township. Favorite include a walk through the rainforest. Photo stop at the Barron Rover Gorge and make sure have plenty of time to stroll through the markets withe their myriad delights of local food, produce, art, crafts and clothing. Tour Operations are abundant as there are over 600 daily city and outbound activities daily. For those that like to get airborne, Seaplanes, Helicopters and Hot Air Ballooning are the way to go. World Class Golf courses are located only minutes from the hotel and the city center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Indigenous Art Gallery: 0 mi
  • Shipwreck Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Pier Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Regional Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Reef Casino: 0.3 mi
  • The Esplanade: 0.3 mi
  • Shields Street: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Society Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rainforest Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Original Dreamtime Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Canopy Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cairns Convention centre: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Parramatta Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cominos House: 2.1 mi
  • Flecker Botanic Gardens: 2.2 mi
  • Cazalys Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Trinity Inlet: 2.8 mi
  • Flying Doctor Service: 3.1 mi
  • Whitfield Conservation Park: 3.6 mi
  • Bayview Heights Golf Course: 3.7 mi
  • Machans Beach: 5.2 mi
  • Undersea World: 5.9 mi
  • Holloways Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Tjapukai: 7.4 mi
  • Cairns Rainforest Cableway: 7.5 mi
  • Yorkeys Knob Beach: 8.6 mi
  • Aj Hackett Bungy: 9.3 mi
  • Kewarra Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Clifton Beach: 12.9 mi
  • Cairns Northern Beaches: 13 mi
  • Cairns Tropical Zoo: 13.6 mi
  • Ellis Beach: 15.4 mi
  • Hartleys Crocodile Adventures: 20.8 mi
  • Paronella Park: 52.2 mi

Dining

North Food & Wine
North Food & Wine is the welcoming point for diners and serves a generous selection of boutique wines, local and international beers and spirits, as will a long list of sensational cocktails, and a snack menu, From the bar, guests can move to the restaurant where the expertise of internationally accomplished chefs, fresh local produce and selection of affordable dining options are complemented by open kitchens and stylish decor. North is open for Breakfast and Dinner, every day. There are also vegetarian options on the menu, and special dietary requirements are catered for. Relax at North for the Sunday Family Brunch or select North as the venue for an upcoming event for function.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico, USA
7 Apr 2010

Views, views, views

Views & convenience of balcony a plus. Withing walking distance of town & desirable restaurants. Fun watching the boardwalk in front of marina. In the middle of the action but still laid back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel sits on some swanky eateries, but a short walk away are a diverse selection of more cost effective and good restaurants catering to all tastes.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newanda
USA
19 Mar 2010

It's ok for the price

The hotel is in a nice location and the room is large enough. However, it could use some updates. The first room I got was on the 1st floor and it's older but decent. Not as nice and clean as I would have thought for a 5 stars. I had a hard time getting my internet to work and have to have someone come to help me get it working. The person who came to help was nice and friendly. After I have unpacked and checked out the town, I came back to the room and turned on the TV but it wasn't working. I had someone from the staff came to check and still didn't work. It's an older TV and isn't the new modern flat/wide screen TV for a 5 star hotel. We ended up having to move room to another room that was on a floor upstairs. It wasn't much better but at least this time the TV worked. The bathroom has a large tub but I don't really need it b/c I don't take baths at hotels anyway. The shower has marble tiles but older and has a lot of calcium build-ups.. I did use the gym one time during my stay and they do have a nice workout facility but I think it's also a local gym for other locals to use as well. For the price I paid, it was in a great location and liveable, but it's in need of a renovation and some updates to be a 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Cairns is better to me than it was in Melbourne. I bought some souvenirs in Melbourne and found them for a lot cheaper in Cairns. There were a lot of backpackers in Cairns and they're pretty friendly people. The locals are pretty friendly as well. I love the night markets. There were restaurants everywhere so it was hard to choose which one to eat at.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newanda
USA
19 Mar 2010

It's ok for the price

The hotel is in a nice location and the room is large enough. However, it could use some updates. The first room I got was on the 1st floor and it's older but decent. Not as nice and clean as I would have thought for a 5 stars. I had a hard time getting my internet to work and have to have someone come to help me get it working. The person who came to help was nice and friendly. After I have unpacked and checked out the town, I came back to the room and turned on the TV but it wasn't working. I had someone from the staff came to check and still didn't work. It's an older TV and isn't the new modern flat/wide screen TV for a 5 star hotel. We ended up having to move room to another room that was on a floor upstairs. It wasn't much better but at least this time the TV worked. The bathroom has a large tub but I don't really need it b/c I don't take baths at hotels anyway. The shower has marble tiles but older and has a lot of calcium build-ups.. I did use the gym one time during my stay and they do have a nice workout facility but I think it's also a local gym for other locals to use as well. For the price I paid, it was in a great location and liveable, but it's in need of a renovation and some updates to be a 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Cairns is better to me than it was in Melbourne. I bought some souvenirs in Melbourne and found them for a lot cheaper in Cairns. There were a lot of backpackers in Cairns and they're pretty friendly people. The locals are pretty friendly as well. I love the night markets. There were restaurants everywhere so it was hard to choose which one to eat at.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loafy
Victoria, BC
11 Feb 2010

Good Hotel

This hotel has a great location. We used the mini bar fridge to store groceries as the restaurants are quite expensive. Don't book your trips through the hotel as you can walk a block away and book them for cheaper at any travel agent on the esplanade. The air conditioner did have a bit of a musty smell but it is very humid in Cairns so its expected. The gym is fantastic and there is a small mall with internet access at the base of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loafy
Victoria, BC
11 Feb 2010

Good Hotel

This hotel has a great location. We used the mini bar fridge to store groceries as the restaurants are quite expensive. Don't book your trips through the hotel as you can walk a block away and book them for cheaper at any travel agent on the esplanade. The air conditioner did have a bit of a musty smell but it is very humid in Cairns so its expected. The gym is fantastic and there is a small mall with internet access at the base of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savy Travelers
Tampa, FL
3 Jan 2010

Location! Location! Location!

Excellent Price, Service, Location, and Style. We weren't initially impressed with the hotels in Australia. Even expensive hotels located in Sydney and Melbourne. But, when we got to Cairns and stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel, we were happily surprised with the clean, modern, professional atmosphere at this hotel. We went to Cairns to dive the Great Barrier Reef. And, thankfully, the Shangri-La Hotel was overlooking the pier from which our dive boat left. We were delighted. It doesn't get much better than this place. When we needed any sort of service to our room, it was speedy (food came within 30 to 40 minutes and, at one point, we needed a telephone wire looked at, the serviceperson was there to help within 5 minutes . . . turned out, there was nothing wrong with the wire). Additionally, we had FREE internet service. It came with the room. We didn't find this anywhere else in Australia. Most hotels charged anywhere from $18.50 to $25.00/night. Thank you Shangri-La Hotel for excellent service. Note: the hotel was incredibly efficient at cleaning immediately after we left the room. We'd leave for an hour and the room was clean and tidy and replenished when we returned. There was never any delay and we stayed for a week. One note of caution, at check-in, we felt a little pushed to upgrade our hotel room. But, we were more than satisfied with the standard, supreme room that we had originally booked. Their cheapest seats were much less expensive and certainly nicer than the Marriott in Melbourne we stayed at. And, with Platinum membership we were upgraded to a higher level room at Marriott (with executive breakfast and all of the fancy amenities). We still felt the Shangri-La Hotel was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A walk from the hotel to the downtown area will take you about 3 minutes. Almost immediately across from the local McDonald's (yes, they have one), you will find a camera shop which rents out 12megapixel cameras for about $35.00/day or about $100.00 for 3 days. If you're going to do some diving, rent the camera. It also has video capabilities. This was the single most intelligent decision we made. Our pictures look incredibly professional. It takes a little effort to be patient and get a good shot, but, with a camera like that, it's not as difficult to find it. BTW: you're going to spend a lot on food no matter what you do. So, be prepared. If you want to save on that, find the "Cole's" supermarket at Central Station Shopping Center and stash some fruit and cold cuts in your fridge at the hotel. Also important to mention is that Kuronda is a terrible tourist trap. However, don't let that stop you from taking the Skyrail in and out of Kuronda. The train wasn't nearly as spectacular. If you're not afraid of heights, the skyrail over the rainforest is definitely a site to see. Just don't expect to stay in Kuronda more than 15 minutes to get off and get back on the skyrail.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savy Travelers
Tampa, FL
3 Jan 2010

Location! Location! Location!

Excellent Price, Service, Location, and Style. We weren't initially impressed with the hotels in Australia. Even expensive hotels located in Sydney and Melbourne. But, when we got to Cairns and stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel, we were happily surprised with the clean, modern, professional atmosphere at this hotel. We went to Cairns to dive the Great Barrier Reef. And, thankfully, the Shangri-La Hotel was overlooking the pier from which our dive boat left. We were delighted. It doesn't get much better than this place. When we needed any sort of service to our room, it was speedy (food came within 30 to 40 minutes and, at one point, we needed a telephone wire looked at, the serviceperson was there to help within 5 minutes . . . turned out, there was nothing wrong with the wire). Additionally, we had FREE internet service. It came with the room. We didn't find this anywhere else in Australia. Most hotels charged anywhere from $18.50 to $25.00/night. Thank you Shangri-La Hotel for excellent service. Note: the hotel was incredibly efficient at cleaning immediately after we left the room. We'd leave for an hour and the room was clean and tidy and replenished when we returned. There was never any delay and we stayed for a week. One note of caution, at check-in, we felt a little pushed to upgrade our hotel room. But, we were more than satisfied with the standard, supreme room that we had originally booked. Their cheapest seats were much less expensive and certainly nicer than the Marriott in Melbourne we stayed at. And, with Platinum membership we were upgraded to a higher level room at Marriott (with executive breakfast and all of the fancy amenities). We still felt the Shangri-La Hotel was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A walk from the hotel to the downtown area will take you about 3 minutes. Almost immediately across from the local McDonald's (yes, they have one), you will find a camera shop which rents out 12megapixel cameras for about $35.00/day or about $100.00 for 3 days. If you're going to do some diving, rent the camera. It also has video capabilities. This was the single most intelligent decision we made. Our pictures look incredibly professional. It takes a little effort to be patient and get a good shot, but, with a camera like that, it's not as difficult to find it. BTW: you're going to spend a lot on food no matter what you do. So, be prepared. If you want to save on that, find the "Cole's" supermarket at Central Station Shopping Center and stash some fruit and cold cuts in your fridge at the hotel. Also important to mention is that Kuronda is a terrible tourist trap. However, don't let that stop you from taking the Skyrail in and out of Kuronda. The train wasn't nearly as spectacular. If you're not afraid of heights, the skyrail over the rainforest is definitely a site to see. Just don't expect to stay in Kuronda more than 15 minutes to get off and get back on the skyrail.

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mosh kopalau
Business
CT
15 Dec 2009

shangri-la

very good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mosh kopalau
Business
CT
15 Dec 2009

shangri-la

very good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon Lew
San Mato, CA
9 Dec 2009

Shangri-La Hotel The Marina, Cairns

My long lost ergonomic pillow.... When I checked out at 7am, I had forgotten my pillow. I returned late evening. The clerk who tried to help me had a tearful emotional breakdown. Another staff member assisted but was unsuccessful. I returned the next morning. The bellboy working the morning shift was extremely helpful. He notified housekeeping but everyone was in a staff meeting. He went out of his way to personally locate my pillow but no success. After waiting for an hour, I decided to return in the late afternoon. Finally, the manager at the front desk asked the housekeeping supervisor to assist. With the help of the bellboy and the housekeeping supervisor, my pillow was finally located. The pillow was still in the room where I had previously occupied (even after someone had checked in and out the night before). I'm writing to tell the staff I am extremely appreciative for their help. This pillow was specifically designed for my neck as it helps to relieve my back pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are scuba diving in the outer reef, I would STRONGLY recommend hiring a private divemaster and boat. You would receive far more time underwater, attention and quality for your time and money.

Back to menu Return to top