£56.43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 25 Dec 2014 Check-out 28 Dec 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

3 stars
108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, ON M5G1R3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
118 reviews
excellent hotel, worth every dollar

very good, fresh, clean hotel, excellent location, would definitely recommend See full review

  • Irronkosta
  • 7 Dec 2014
Great to get around the city

Wonderful location: where you can quickly walk to several different must see attractions. See full review

  • GlobalTravel
  • 25 Aug 2014
Expert hospitality and high style in heart of financial district
The Metropolitan Hotel Toronto's sleek design is a perfect match for the vibrant urban landscape of the financial district it inhabits. There's a lot going on, with business centers, theaters, galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques nearby. But while the thrum of the streets is fast-paced and exciting, guests find a refuge of tranquility inside the hotel. After a day of meetings, shopping or sightseeing, relax with friends and colleagues at one of the hotel's award-winning restaurants. Or soak in an in-suite whirlpool tub and order dinner in.
Highlights
  • Complimentary downtown limousine service
  • In-suite whirlpool tubs
  • Award-winning on-site Lai Wah Heen Restaurant
Rooms
Find stylish, contemporary decor, European linens, operable windows and business-friendly amenities in all guest rooms and suites at the Metropolitan Hotel Toronto. Some suites also have large marble bathrooms with whirlpool tubs and plush bathrobes. Executive suites feature a fax machine, laser printer, stereo with CD player, and a walk-in closet, in addition to all the standard amenities. Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel (fees apply).
Features
The staff at the Metropolitan Hotel understands what it takes to make a business trip successful, from providing high-tech amenities to complimentary limousine service. Leisure travelers, too, will appreciate the stylish ambience of the hotel and the proximity to some of Toronto's most exciting tourist attractions. The state-of-the-art fitness center and heated indoor pool are great for burning off energy. Both on-site restaurants are award-winning regional stars, but they offer entirely unique menus. In fact, local critics say that Lai Wah Heen serves the best dim sum in North America.
Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)
  • Subway station (in the same block)
Attractions
  • Royal Ontario Museum (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Air Canada Centre (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • CN Tower (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • The Opera House (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Centre Island (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • High Park (4 mi/6.5 km)
Business
  • 13,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6539 -79.3854
Nearby airports
Lester B. Pearson Intl Airport, (YYZ), 30.00, KM, E; Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport, (YTZ), 5.00, KM, S;

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hospitality consultant
Business
Ottawa, ON, Canada
19 Sep 2011

In need of up-grades

Room looking tired, needs up-grade, looks the 80"s Breaks in room was poor and over priced for what we got Breakfast buffet was good and better value Room service staff good and responsive Front desk staff ok but don't smile a lot, don't look like there enjoying the work much Valet service very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
23 Aug 2010

Great location

Perfect location for theater and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmc
Business
Kingston, Ontario area
17 Jan 2011

Not my first 'stay' there.

Very close to theatre, movies, shopping, restaurants. Clean room, quick check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great restaurants within the hotel. Lots of shopping within very short distance as well as restaurants and market-type stores for fresh fruit, convenience stores etc.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan USA
4 Jan 2011

Metro Hotel - Okay

Okay to stay, but front desk staff needed to be asked 2-3 times for help and costs add up. They have a facility fee that adds 10$ each night and parking is 26$/ night (which parking is understandable). For new years celebration is excellent, but would not stay there again. CC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5 nights 6 days
Business
Chicago
7 Mar 2011

Metropolitan

OK hotel for the area. It is in chinatown. Rooms were old but clean. Housekeeping was very good. Beds were good. The old air/heater made the room unbearably hot on the lowest setting,had to sleep with the window open for balance. Parking is a bit tricky. Biggest complaint is that the restaurant and food service was a rip off, so expensive for mediocre food, The 15% diascount coupon was a sad attempt to compensate, Hallways were in need of updating. A nice coffee service would've be nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out to eat and or drink the food is way overpriced

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sbsb
Business
New York, NY
22 Aug 2011

Metropolitan Hotel

Great location and great price but this is truly a 3-star hotel. Not even close to 4. You'll hear the elevators everytime they get to your floor and there is a good chance the carpet in your room will be beat up beyond recognition. The bed is comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
6 Dec 2009

busy hotel with no attention for guests

Perfect location - close to business and shopping district. However the hotel is very busy and the staff doesn't care about the guests. The interior of the rooms differ a lot. Some are old fashioned and some are modernized already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Italian Restaurant Osteria Ciceri e Tria by Terroni 106 Victoria Street

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kid Doc
Business
Little Rock, AR
2 Aug 2009

Convenient

I stayed here for an interview at the nearby Hospital for Sick Kids. The hotel was in a great location for that purpose. The lobby is bare bones without much area for sitting or congregating. I didn't eat or drink at the available restaurants. The room was a little outdated but fresh, comfortable, and clean. I had no particular problems with the hotel at all, but it's not quite as sleek as the website would have you believe. Guests were quite noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
3 Mar 2009

Good location, RUDE doorperson! Just ok

Good: Underground Parking, even though it's $20 a day. (Though avoid the doorman! See the 'bad' below) Easy to locate hotel. Good location- close to university and St. Patrick Subway stop. Walking distance to Eaton Center (but I wouldn't recommend it as a must see because it wasn't all that great. Just huge with lots of mid-level shops...mostly ones I don't shop in) There was a very nice guy at the desk who made great recommendations. Not the concierge, but one of the check-in guys! He was the exception to the staff rating. The price of the room was good for the location. Got a discount on Orbitz and I looked online for an additional coupon. Make sure you check for coupons online to be used on Orbitz before you book! Saved us $40. The closet space was okay (though small) for our purposes, since we were only there 3 days. They had an iron and full size ironing board crammed in there, which was nice too. Hairdryer in the bathroom. Great toiletries--smelled great. The bathroom was nice and big. Though I noticed in the King size bed rooms, the bathroom was smaller as was the closet, to accomodate the larger bed. The sheets were soft and there was a down comforter. The pillows were amazing. I should have stolen one. :-) The Bad: Worst experience the entire weekend was with the doorman. My inlaws went to park there car and I was standing at their window. We'd already parked in the garage downstairs and I was giving them instructions on how to do it. The doorman approached and I said they were just going down to park and my husband was going with them. Before I knew it he screamed, "So you don't want directions!?!!? Fine!!!" and walked off and kept cursing us. I mean, it was completely uncalled for and I'm not sure why he flipped out. But I was really shocked at how rude he was--to a customer who had just arrived! I should have asked for his manager, but I just blew it off. Upon thinking about it, I regretted not doing so, but I did fill out the comment card. The room was definitely tiny, but that didn't bother us much. We were really only there to get a great location at a good price and we weren't spending much time in the room anyway. This is kind of a no frills place, definitely catering to business travelers. Also, we didn't touch the phone or internet b/c I think you pay an outrageous flat fee for use. I think free wi-fi should really be standard in these hotels, especially for business travelers! And no business center to my knowledge. The gym was pretty small and the pool was kind of green so I didn't venture in. They had a hot tub, but the temperature probably wasn't above 98-100 degrees. And we couldn't run the jets because they spewed water straight up into the air all around. It was kind of insane how water was going everywhere. The temperature in the room was pretty easy to regulate, but in summer it might be a different story. Our TV made a HORRIBLE HIGH PITCHED NOISE. We arrived so late on the first night that we didn't notice it until the second day and thought it wasn't a big deal, but really, it was so annoying we should have just switched rooms. But we'd already unpacked. We had no headboard. I noticed that, not sure if that's the case with all the Queen Rooms. King size room had one. There was a room service tray across the hall that was not picked up for 2 days. really gross since it had fruit just sitting out there decaying on it. The restaurant (hemisphere's) breakfast buffet was just sort of average and not worth the price tag. (Go to Cora's over near Spadina for a great unique breakfast experience or go to 'Over Easy' near the Royal Ontario Museum on Bloor St.) I didn't have dinner there, but it didn't appear all that appetizing, even though there are some 5 Diamond Awards on the wall. ----- All that being said, Toronto is the main attraction. It was a blizzard, freezing and the middle of February and I still had a great time in Toronto. Not sure if I'll stay here again, but for the right pr...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
29 Sep 2008

Second Class

Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top