£146.80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Sep 2014 Check-out 1 Oct 2014

Grand Cayman Beach Suites

4 stars
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
165 reviews
Fantastic getaway

This Hotel was excellent. the room was clean and big. the staff was very very kind, helpful and... See full review

  • liveit up
  • 4 Sep 2014
Well needed rejuvenation!

Absolutely perfect! The hotel is located on the beach. Whether sitting on the balcony with coffee... See full review

  • Ally's Mom Karen
  • 17 May 2014
53-suite luxury resort on Seven Mile Beach with premier golf course

Visitors to Grand Cayman Beach Suites, formerly Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman, enjoy one of the island's finest all-suite luxury beach resorts in the Caymans. A series of improvements led to the resort being named a Frommers' Top 25 luxury hotel in Caribbean travel and leisure. Enjoy 53 deluxe beach suites, beachfront access to Seven Mile Beach, the Britannia Golf Course, a 24-hour fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities and activities, and three of the island's best known restaurants.

Highlights
  • Spacious suites
  • Seven Mile Beach locale
  • Jack Nicklaus designed golf course         
Rooms

Suites offer ocean, beach, and pool views from a step-out or full balcony. One bedroom suites, with a maximum occupancy of four adults or two adults and three children, include a king-size bed in the bedroom and one queen size sofa sleeper in the living room, and a dining area for four. Two bedroom suites, maximum occupancy of six, include a king and a queen bed, respectively, in two bedrooms connected by a shared bath, plus a queen sleep sofa in the living area. All air-conditioned suites include a ceiling fan, color television, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, hair dryer, and workstation with data port. Four two-bedroom ocean front suites, at 680 square feet, include a fully furnished terrace overlooking Seven Mile Beach.

Features

The resort features two pools, one with a swim-up bar overlooking the Caribbean, the other with a Jacuzzi. The newly opened La Mer Spa offers a wide range of aromatherapy massages, facials, and manicures.


Active guests play a round at Britannia Golf Club, the Caribbean's first Jack Nicklaus-designed 18-hole golf course that spans from the ocean to North Sound, or visit Red Sail Sports to arrange any ocean activity, from snorkeling with stingrays to reef diving to a sunset catamaran sail.


Onsite dining includes Hemingway's Restaurant, voted one of the top three restaurants in the Caribbean by Wine Spectator magazine. Reservations are a must at this beachside restaurant, which features sophisticated Caribbean cuisine. Guests choose Bamboo Restaurant for its high-energy lounge and sushi bar, while Britannia Grille at the golf course offers casual fare on an open air patio. Sit back and watch the resident iguanas sunbath along the banks of a nearby pond.

Transportation
  • Owen Roberts International Airport (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  •  George Town (4 mi/6.5 km)
Business
  • Full staff for catering banquets
  • High-speed Internet access    
Policies and fees
  • Effective immediately, it is no longer permitted to smoke in guestrooms. This does not include public areas and balconies. A $250 recovery fee will be charged to guests that do not comply with this rule.
  • The hotel will undergo renovation from 01 May to 19 Dec, 2015.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Cayman Beach Suites Rooms

2 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
All suites feature a master bedroom with king bed and bathroom, a second bedroom with one queen bed and bathroom, and one queen size sofa sleeper in the living room. All suites have a spacious living room area with dining facilities for 6 people, and terrace overlooking the ocean and pools.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite
This room offers a separate bedroom (one king bed in bedroom and one queen size sofa sleeper in the living room) and bathroom. It has a spacious living room area with dining facilities for four people and step out balcony. The rooms are air-conditioned and are equipped with ceiling fan, color television, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, toaster, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, hair dryer and workstation with data port.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suite Full Balcony
This room offers a separate bedroom (one king bed in bedroom and one queen size sofa sleeper in the living room) and bathroom. It has a spacious living room area with dining facilities for four people and full balcony. The rooms are air-conditioned and are equipped with ceiling fan, color television, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, toaster, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, hair dryer and workstation with data port.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Cayman Beach Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.328 -81.3821
Area served
Grand Cayman.
Nearby airports
Owen Roberts International Airport (GCM).
Area description
Located directly on famous Seven Mile Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cayman Islands National Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Farmers market: 2.7 mi
  • Turtle Farm: 4.1 mi

Dining

SIDEbar
Formerly Bamboo, immerse into the relaxed elegance of SideBar. By night, moods lift and music embraces as the sophisticated gastro pub fare are paired with global wine and rhum selections, as well as creative cocktails with an island twist. Whether for an aperitif, a sunset libation or an evening among friends, SideBar presents an elegant backdrop for whatever the night may bring. Indoor and outdoor seating by the pool. Open nightly for dinner.
Seven Mile Beach Bar
Open daily from 10am-Dusk serving light meals and tropical cocktails
Room service
Available from 6:30am-11pm.
Hemingway's
Recently voted in the "Top Three Restaurants in the Caribbean" by Wine Spectator magazine. Popular beachside restaurant offers sophisticated Caribbean cuisine. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations recommended.
Britannia Restaurant
Located on the Britannia Golf Course, this casual spot is welcoming and great for dining alone or for a casual business meeting surfing the web. Open daily for breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beerzandbudz
Horseheads, NY, USA
18 Oct 2011

Great relaxing escape!

I stayed here for 5 nights and had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Beautiful beach, pools and a very nice swim up bar for refreshments. The restaurant on location was great as well!! Very much enjoyed breakfast in bed more then once. The only issue I had was the water coming out of the sink had a bit of an odor to it. It was only for one day but it was pretty foul. I didn't shower that day. I was ok with that. Also I wish it was all inclusive because my tabs were very high at the end of the day. I sometimes drink in excess everyday. Great location though with plenty of entertainment, shopping and dining within easy walking distance. I very highly recommend staying here for couples as well as a single traveler like me. Cheers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great live just a few blocks towards Georgetown at a place called Aquabeach Bar. Cayman has some great local singers and musicians.

Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
19 Oct 2010

Great vacation spot

great for a long weekend away destination. lots of amazing spots to snorkel. sting ray city is a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deckers-great spot, good prices. eating/drinking in grand cayman is very expensive

Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Three amigos
upstate, NY
3 May 2009

"Great view for a Great Value"

Check in scared me. Walking in the check in desk/area looked cheap and they had two people who didn't know how to check us in. However once into the room everything was amazing. The room was great beautiful bedroom, great views, nice balcony overlooking pools and ocean. The housekeeping staff was great nice and room service took longer than other hotels for the size, though everything was good. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Red Sail was great another company canceled our outing and red sail added us that day and were great to work with. Taxi service was expensive at night almost double prices compared to day travel if you can manage driving on the left renting would be a better value, however, I would taxi to the hotel from airport to see if you want to drive there (a little scary).

Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
15 Jun 2009

GREAT Time, AWESOME Food

This is the old Hyatt. It's a very unassuming property from the outside but the service, interior suites, food, service/staff, and location are really top-notch. The onsite restaurants are some of the best in Cayman. Red Sail sports is located on the property (best shop on the island) and makes diving and watersports super easy and very safe. The strip of 7-mile beach is the best you can get. Only downsides, few rooms look right over the water and balcony views are good but not the best (you can't hear the ocean lapping at your door). Also, seems like a good family place and we noticed lots of kids - not a bad thing, but if you want adult-time with total peace and quiet, there are kids around (well behaved, but none the less, kids). And, the bar drinks are very pricey, but that's true of all Cayman resorts. This was a great first experience - whether you stay there or just visit, don't miss the restaurants and Red Sail sports - really amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss Hemingways and Bamboo!

Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation with friends
Lincoln, Nebraska
28 Sep 2011

Fantastic birthday celebration

The hotel was situated in a great location of the seven miles beach. We got really lucky and got the upgrade to the two suites with french balcony. The room had amazing view of the beach and the pool. It was very clean. The turn down service was very nice. The staffs were very helpful and would go extra length to ensure we had the best experience possible. We would go back and stay there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nitty
Ontario Canada
9 Feb 2010

Really relaxing

Nice rooms, excellent restaurant Hemmingways. Easy access to a great beach. Plenty of dining choices nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elmhurst, IL
20 Jul 2009

Good for families

Nice accomodations, not luxury though, in a great location. Walking distance to grocery store and several restaurants. Bus stop right outside for easy and inexpensive trasport along 7 Mile Beach. Food at Hemingway's (hotel restaurant) was very good, as was the service. Pool bar and lunch menu are also convenient. I would say 4 full days on the island are plenty, unless you plan to do excursions farther afield. Easily saved $600 on food by hitting the grocery store on day 1 and utilizing the in room kitchen. Everything on the island was very expensive. If you're going to eat out every meal, I would expect to spend $200/day easy to feed a family of four.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the local bus instead of a taxi. The bus will pretty much pick you up and drop you off anywhere you want along 7 Mile Beach for about $2US per person. By contrast, a 10 minute cab ride is about $30US. Also, try to book excursions on line in advance if you can or through the hotel. Both offer discounts. Cruise ships come to town on Tuesday's and Wednesday's and lots of things book up on those days, even in the off season.

Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
31 Jul 2008

right on the beach but questionable front desk personel

very nice suites,gorgeous views,pricey hotel restaurants. our experience was wonderful and we were actually planning to stay again for our next trip but sadly we donot feel comfortable. we know we did not do any damageto room and we payed our food and room charge the day we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

there is a red sail at the hotel along with a gift shop that has everthing you need and two restaurants also.

Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Coast Travlers
Basking Ridge, NJ
15 May 2009

Great Location

The GCBS are a very nice size, clean and have a refrigerator, microwave and toaster which came in handy for breakfast/lunch. The ocean is just steps away and there is a reef not far for snorkeling. We really enjoyed how you did not have to fight for a beach chair and the pool chairs were the same. The pool was nice with swim up bar and the bar is so close to the beach it's great for just relaxing. We travel to different destinations in the Caribbean at least once a year. We are in our 40s and we like snorkeling, swimming, boat trips and nice dinners. Grand Cayman does not have a lot of night life but is great for everything I mentioned. Like most reviews it's a little on the high side but manageable. We upgraded our room to have a full balcony which was nice to sit out and have breakfast and grocery store has everything you would need and is a 5 min. walk. Our goal was to relax and stay on the beach and we accomplished that we always had dinner at restaurants on the beach and then we would walk home each night. Since we only had lunch out a couple of times we choose higher end dinners. Luca was favorite great pasta as an appetizer (and coming from the east coast were not really looking for past but this was very good) and the fish was also great. For both us that rated as a favorite however, I (female) really enjoyed The Ritz (Blue) and both were my favorite. Cautions with Blue portions are not big and very expensive. It was some of the best tuna tartar I have ever eaten, great fish, great service and great wine. Casa Havana was great and Hemingway's on the property also very good. We did try the sushi restaurant at GCBS and I unfortunately would not recommend that we should have tried deckers. Another notable detail on Grand Cayman was not seeing one solicitor on the beach and a reasonably safe feeling when walking home each night. Stingray city was worth the trip and very different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store is to the left!

Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AllanJay
Freeport, Maine
22 Apr 2013

Expensive but worth it

Initially our stay at the hotel was not up to par. We arrived at grand cayman with our two young children late at night. We checked it, went to our room to find out the ocean view we thought we had was really partial ocean and mostly palm tree. Furthermore, the master suite was near the road and we could hear cars going by all night long plus music from a nearby restaurant. Very upset, I called downstairs and they told me that I needed to wait for the manager the next day. Things turned around the following morning. The manager listened to my concerns and food a nicer room with a better view which was quieter. My kids loved the pool. The ocean and beach are outstanding. The service is really nice. They have unlimited coffee. From that morning on we relaxed and enjoyed our time on grand cayman. It is wicked expensive but worth it in the end. I suspect it's one of the nicest hotels on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top