£123.81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 29 Jan 2015 Check-out 30 Jan 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
587 reviews
Quick gateway- Loyal guest

We have stayed at Barcelo since 2009 and we love it. We always get excellent service. The staff is... See full review

  • Linette
  • 7 Jan 2015
Ummmmmmmmmm.

Went with wife and kids. We loved it.. Only complaint is to much food but thats not really a bad... See full review

  • Raph
  • 29 Dec 2014
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (587)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
587 out of 587
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smtm
Business
new york
22 Sep 2012

Good!

I had a great experience, people at the front desk was not that good but the employees in general they were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Sun Lovers
Business
Dayton, Ohio
17 Sep 2012

Honeymooner's

Hotel was nice but I wouldn't say it was a 4 star. Some areas of resort in need of some up keep. Weather was very nice and beaches clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Not much around to look at as far as shopping. Few shops at hotel. A little pricey.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEE Traveler
Business
New York
11 Sep 2012

Inconsistent, disappointing and not a good value at all

I went here for a week in August with my boyfriend and a few friends. We arrived around 2:30, had our suitcases taken by some men at the curb and after waiting for almost 30 minutes in the check-in line were told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4. We went and got lunch and came back around 4:15- rooms still weren't ready. We sat in the lobby until after 6 that night waiting for our rooms - we couldn't even change into our bathing suits since our suitcases had been taken when we arrived. We wasted almost half a day of our vacation and did not receive an apology or any acknowledgement of the inconvenience. This was a trend among the staff during our stay- some of them were very nice and helpful, but most were dismissive or outwardly unfriendly- some even rolled their eyes or openly ignored us when we were standing there. Our rooms were in the renovated section and looked okay at first glance but on closer inspection were not very nice at all. Our patio door didn't lock, our air conditioner broke the second night, our toilet clogged or overflowed almost every single day and the key card lock on the outside of the door also broke, locking us out of our room for almost an entire day while we repeatedly had to visit the front desk to ask them to fix it. In fact, every single one of these incidents required multiple phone calls or visits to the front desk before they were fixed. By the 3rd day I felt like I'd spent more time in line at the front desk than at the beach! There are a lot of general inconsistencies as well. For example, my room didn't have a bathtub but my friend's room next door did. We only got 2 towels in our room the first day (no bathmat, handtowels, washcloths etc...) but then had 6 a few days later. Some days the room was cleaned, some days not. Two of my friends, in two different rooms, had dark red stains on their sheets when they checked in and several of us had drinks that had clearly been opened and used in our mini bars when we checked in. And just a general warning- the Casino is a huge scam. It is advertised as a hotel amenity but it runs a well known scam called "Bonus Bingo" (sometimes called "Caribbean Keno") in it. It targets guests right when they enter and fortunately, we were warned by another guest and stopped playing it before we lost too much money (the guest was subsequently removed from the casino by security- very sketchy). I looked it up in the internet cafe the next day and sure enough, there was a ton of information on it- the game is rigged to be unwinnable. We spoke to the hotel Accommodations Manager about it the next day and he told us that the casino is actually privately owned and has nothing to do with the hotel. We were able to get some of our money back from the casino by complaining (basically fighting with them for days) but I was appalled and disgusted that the hotel advertises the casino as an amenity when they actually do not oversee it to make sure it's legitimate. And that they knowingly allow their guests to be scammed on a regular basis on their property. This is not a place that I would ever go back to nor would I ever recommend it to others. Definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it and was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ommendez
Business
Orlando, FL.,
8 Sep 2012

Our honey moon

Great hotel, clean, staff friendly, warm; good amenities; recomended !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Assorted menus and restaurants, one different for each night

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Underdogg
Business
Toronto, Canada
8 Sep 2012

Good experience for the price

Average hotel, might not have gone at the ideal time of the year but the experience was good. Food is good - lots of variety. Expected more out of the club and the overall activities experience but overall had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Need to go see hard rock or some of the other clubs outside the resort

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashlee86
Business
New York, NY
29 Aug 2012

Fun Vacation for a group

This was my first all inclusive trip ever. I had alot of fun, ate and drink all day and soaked up the sun. I wouldn't say this is the best hotel, especially for a couples vacation. I did come here in a group and I think that is what made it fun. We had an ant problem in our room. Every morning I woke up and battled ants in the bathroom and be sure to close up your luggage! The room was basic and nothing fancy. They did stock your fridge everyday with soda and beer which was nice. The bartenders in the lobby bar were not too friendly (not like the pool bar). Which was surprising since we tipped very well and you could be waiting a while for drinks, since it was very busy. The food was okay and there was alot of it. The one thing I did not like was trying to get a reservation for the restaurants. You have to go to the lobby and wait on a long line. The desk opened at 9am and by 930, all the restaurants were booked. Very frustrating. The pools were awesome. They played music at one pool and had a volleyball net. We brought our keg cups to the pool where the bartender filled them up with margaritas. The beach was also beautiful. In fact we purchased a parasailing trip from a man on the beach selling activities. When the guy didn't show up we contacted the hotel, who was able to get our money back. REALLY great staff! Overall this was a nice vacation for the price. Are there more luxurious places to stay, yes, but when in a group, this is really all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Japenese restaurant had great food!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris the vacationer
Business
San Diego
28 Aug 2012

Smoky place

Too many smokers in this resort and hard to book any fine dining as it's always full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris the vacationer
Business
San Diego
28 Aug 2012

vactioning

The room has lots of ants & mosquitos. Employees there not customer oriented. Reservation for formal dinning is really bad. Unable to reserve the same day or next day meal after an hour waiting in line to book. There's no coffee or tea in the room 1/2 of time we stay there. Either they ran out or not being filled. there's no non-smoking area designated. People smoke almost everywhere, in the lobby, the hall way, pool, beach, etc.... The fruits were not fresh & not many variety. The food is pretty much the same daily & doesn't taste good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Courtny00
Business
New York, NY
26 Aug 2012

The K-Mart of the Caribbean

The resort itself is nice - lovely beach, relatively clean pools; however the atmosphere did not compare favorably to other Caribbean all-inclusive resorts where I have stayed. At every turn, it seemed like it could have been fabulous, but fell a little short - staff attentiveness/friendliness, extra charges for surprising things, bizarre towel rules, consistently forgetting to replace or repair items in the rooms that were needed. To describe the food as mediocre would be generous, and we all felt cheated by only being allotted 3 dinner reservations. I had never been at an all-inclusive resort that wasn't truly all-inclusive, and this was a very unfortunate surprise. Bottom line - I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The surf and turf restaurant did not serve lobster, although lobsters could be purchased at the buffet for $35.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Padilla1020
Business
Newyork
26 Aug 2012

Great two couple getaway

Couldnt have chosen a better place then Barcelo.. It was amazing.. You cant go wrong with all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top