£125.69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 19 Apr 2015 Check-out 20 Apr 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
594 out of 594
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjkg
Business
pittsburgh PA
3 Nov 2012

fun time great resort

this was our second time to the Barcelo Punta Cana.They treated us well both times.The beach is beautiful,although it can be rough at times. The food at the buffet is not as good as the sit down restaurants.They do serve great steaks which kind of blew us away. We really didn't do much basically ,as we have seen pretty much all there is to see and do in Punta Cana.All in all nice resort,very clean rooms,friendly staff,edible food,great beach. What more could you want?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping is at a minimum.There are venders that come to the resort. Don't take the free shopping trip.You will be disappointed.Take an 8 dollar cab and go to Punta Blanca you will be much happier.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthia not stressed
Business
Los Angeles, California
26 Oct 2012

Great Relaxing Getaway

The hotel was worth EVERY penny and more. I was very satisfied with everything; loved everything about the hotel. The beach is beautiful and just a couple of steps away from the rooms and restaurants. The pools are very nice as well. There's a great variety of restaurants and a bunch of bars. The sports bar closes at 4 AM and they have another bar that closes at 5 AM just in case you want to party that late. The night club/disco closes at 2 AM. There's also a Casino, and a theater where they have shows every night. Overall, I loved this hotel because it has so much to offer and it's the perfect place to relax and party, and just forget about your stressful life! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuli131990
Business
Punta Cana
13 Oct 2012

Awesome Place

This was the perfect vacation. One of the best hotels in the area. The view was breath taking. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially Juan El Maletero . The staff goes above and beyond to make you sure you have a great experience. The food at the buffet needs a little bit of work, but the restaurants make up for it ( they are free) . In terms of restaurants you definately need to go to Tokio and Marlin they have the best food and service. When you get here you should go on the excursions , it is worth the money. The mini bar is FREE! Here you will not have a boring moment. I will come back gain to this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zaboo
Business
Caguas, Puerto Rico
26 Sep 2012

It was nice

No air condition, just in the room and I love the air condition, the buffet its was not the best. The beers was hot in many times, not internet access, even paying. For the price "it was nice".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dominican
Business
milford,ct
25 Sep 2012

good vacation

was good ,the food everything was perfect , employer, dancers, the casino, beach, swinpol so clean the gift store . the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unodiva
Business
New York
25 Sep 2012

Skip this place

I would never go again and would not suggest. The resort was not up to my standards. The food sucks. Avoid the buffet at all cost if you can. You won't be able to for breakfast or lunch but for dinner do the ala cart restaurants and if you can, do the Asia restaurant. Only a few people spoke English. The bartenders at the pool bar were great and attentive. But don't go to the hotel on the weekend. They allow the locals to purchase day passes and its mad house. The locals are rude and act like they have never been any place before. Do some more research and stay somewhere else. The hotel itself is rather large therefore they may want to think about added other restaurants or places to eat as what is already there is not accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SandR
Business
USA
23 Sep 2012

SandR

Hotel and beach are beautiful. Check in was slow. Check out was pathetic. No Thanks for staying here. Wasn't asked if we enjoyed our stay or if we would like to stay here again. No comments. Nothing but rudeness. Food is just below average at best. Same food almost every day for all three meals. No lobster, no steak, no variety. None of the restaurants were clean. Almost all staff were very rude, unfriendly or were just not trained to do their jobs. There were very few exceptions. Complaints were not dealt with to any degree. A few of the staff speak English but obviously prefer catering to Spanish speaking guests. Have been to Dom. Rep. Resorts before and enjoyed those vacations very much. We will come back to the D.R. but will be staying at a higher rated resort. I would not recommend this resort to anyone and will definately never stay here again. If available, I would rate this resort a One Half Star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smtm
Business
new york
22 Sep 2012

Good!

I had a great experience, people at the front desk was not that good but the employees in general they were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Sun Lovers
Business
Dayton, Ohio
17 Sep 2012

Honeymooner's

Hotel was nice but I wouldn't say it was a 4 star. Some areas of resort in need of some up keep. Weather was very nice and beaches clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Not much around to look at as far as shopping. Few shops at hotel. A little pricey.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEE Traveler
Business
New York
11 Sep 2012

Inconsistent, disappointing and not a good value at all

I went here for a week in August with my boyfriend and a few friends. We arrived around 2:30, had our suitcases taken by some men at the curb and after waiting for almost 30 minutes in the check-in line were told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4. We went and got lunch and came back around 4:15- rooms still weren't ready. We sat in the lobby until after 6 that night waiting for our rooms - we couldn't even change into our bathing suits since our suitcases had been taken when we arrived. We wasted almost half a day of our vacation and did not receive an apology or any acknowledgement of the inconvenience. This was a trend among the staff during our stay- some of them were very nice and helpful, but most were dismissive or outwardly unfriendly- some even rolled their eyes or openly ignored us when we were standing there. Our rooms were in the renovated section and looked okay at first glance but on closer inspection were not very nice at all. Our patio door didn't lock, our air conditioner broke the second night, our toilet clogged or overflowed almost every single day and the key card lock on the outside of the door also broke, locking us out of our room for almost an entire day while we repeatedly had to visit the front desk to ask them to fix it. In fact, every single one of these incidents required multiple phone calls or visits to the front desk before they were fixed. By the 3rd day I felt like I'd spent more time in line at the front desk than at the beach! There are a lot of general inconsistencies as well. For example, my room didn't have a bathtub but my friend's room next door did. We only got 2 towels in our room the first day (no bathmat, handtowels, washcloths etc...) but then had 6 a few days later. Some days the room was cleaned, some days not. Two of my friends, in two different rooms, had dark red stains on their sheets when they checked in and several of us had drinks that had clearly been opened and used in our mini bars when we checked in. And just a general warning- the Casino is a huge scam. It is advertised as a hotel amenity but it runs a well known scam called "Bonus Bingo" (sometimes called "Caribbean Keno") in it. It targets guests right when they enter and fortunately, we were warned by another guest and stopped playing it before we lost too much money (the guest was subsequently removed from the casino by security- very sketchy). I looked it up in the internet cafe the next day and sure enough, there was a ton of information on it- the game is rigged to be unwinnable. We spoke to the hotel Accommodations Manager about it the next day and he told us that the casino is actually privately owned and has nothing to do with the hotel. We were able to get some of our money back from the casino by complaining (basically fighting with them for days) but I was appalled and disgusted that the hotel advertises the casino as an amenity when they actually do not oversee it to make sure it's legitimate. And that they knowingly allow their guests to be scammed on a regular basis on their property. This is not a place that I would ever go back to nor would I ever recommend it to others. Definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it and was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top