£93.42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 9 Jul 2015 Check-out 12 Jul 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
660 out of 660
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey and Cynthia
Business
Yonkers, NY
16 Jan 2013

Worst vacation EVER

My family's experience at this hotel was horrible from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Upon arrival at around 3 o'clock we waited forever for check-in to find out our room was not yet ready. Check in does begin at 3! They sent us to get something to eat. An hour and a half later we finally get our key to head to our room. Took another hour to get our luggage which sat in the lobby the whole time until we went back down to see what the delay was. More problems upon arriving at our room. When booking the vacation we requested a king size bed and we were given a double bed room. The wouldn't change our room because supposedly all rooms were occupied. I had asked for a crib because we were traveling with our month old baby. The dirty and broken crib was placed outside the room. A wooden bar was missing where a baby could've had their head lodged and the upper bar was broken with nails sticking out, not supporting it up at all. The bare mattress was filthy with small pieces of what seemed to be cement or sheet rock which my baby could have injested. We called the front desk and asked to have the crib taken away and requested a fold up bed. The woman at the front desk gave us a run around and told us we had to call a different number. After hearing our frustration she said she would send up the fold up bed in 10 minutes. In the mean time we left the room and returned back to the same crib which they nailed back together, cleaned up, and covered with a sheet.Our room was also not very clean. After my older son took off his shoes and jumped on the bed we saw foreign hair he picked up on his feet from the floor on the already stained white sheets. The food was terrible. My wife ended up with a stomach virus on our last night there. It was close to impossible to get dinner reservations at their restaurants. They would only start taking reservations the day of and everyday we went at 9am which is when they started making them every restaruant was already full so we were forced to eat at the buffet whose food was far from good. Let me not forget the nasty drinks, Presidentes was the only way to go. We had to shower with cold water pretty much every day. NO HOT Water...seriously! The only good thing was the kiddle water park our older son enjoyed and the beach which was beautiful but very rough. Personnel at this hotel was not helpful or accommodating. We also got left by the shuttle bus who was supposed to drive us over to the shopping area because the bell boy up front failed to point it out to us after we waited for over 30 minutes. Entertainment at the hotel was poor and we found ourselves bored often. We felt very disappointed with our stay and the hotel certainly didn't meet our expectations. We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly not return to it ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JCPT
Business
WHITE PLAINS, NY
16 Jan 2013

DIRTY/POOR SERVICE

HOTEL ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN(PHONE SMELLED LIKE DIRTY STAGNANT WATER-SEEMED LIKE THEY USE THE SAME RAG TO WIPE EVERYTHING). I SHOWERED 3 1/2 OUT OF 4 NIGHTS WITHOUT HOT WATER BECAUSE IT DID NOT WORK AND SHOWER HEAD WAS BROKEN. THE SERVICE MEN AT THE FRONT OF THE HOTEL NEVER BROUGHT OUR LUGGAGE UP AND MY ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN I CHECKED IN AT 3PM. THE FOOD WAS DISGUSTING AND MY DAD AND SISTER IN LAW GOT SICK OFF THE FOOD. THE ROOM WHERE MY BROTHER STAYED HAD A CRIB READY FOR MY NEPHEW WITH A DIRTY MATTRESS AND A NAIL STICKING OUT OF IT. THE HOTEL SUPPOSE TO BE ALL INCLUSIVE AND THERE WAS NO LIQUEUR OR BEER IN THE REFRIGERATOR AND THE FRIDGE DID NOT COOL THE ITEMS INSIDE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

FIND A NICE RESTAURANT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vince323
Business
Connecticut
15 Jan 2013

Good for the money

This hotel has a great location with a great beach. Food is what you would expect at such a low cost. The restaurants are a lot better than the buffet. You get to book 2 reservations over your 5 to 7 night stay. They have 7 restaurants you can choose from including a Japanese hibachi style restaurant. Rooms were not bad and ours was clean. Had an ocean and pool view. The hotel is pretty big so the rooms most likely vary in design. Anyone who complains expecting a 4 to 5 star hotel for paying such low cost are delusional. If you are looking for a great beach with decent food with an average to above average hotel room will be satisfied with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants at the hotel are much better than the buffet. Try and book extra reservations by calling front desk.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punta Cana Lover Forever
Business
Missoula, Montana
15 Jan 2013

Best Vacation Ever

If you want somewhere to go to have a wonderful vacation this is it. Most rooms have an incredible view of the pools or ocean. The staff is there to help you with everything you need. They get to know you during your stay and you are always greeted with a smile. While most of the staff speak many langauges there were sometimes language barriers. However if you are patient you will always get the help you need. Basic Spanish helps but you can get around with out it. The beach is unlike any other with amazing sand. We ate at all the restaurants and there was good food in all of them. Including the ala cart places you could eat whenever you where hungry. My friends got married and the location for the wedding was beautiful and everything the hotel did to make it special. It was perfect. I have read some pretty rotten reviews on this hotel and I don't understand them at all. I can't tell you how many people were there on a return trips. For the price of this hotel I don't think you can get any better. I would stay again there in a hearbeat. If you have very specific tastes or very high standards then pay more and stay in a 5 star resort. I have traveled all over and think think for the value this was a great place to stay!! BEST VACATION EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There are things going on all over the resort. We where there a week and didn't get to do everything. Ask other guests for what's best when you get there.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RC35
Business
new jersey
20 Dec 2012

Barcelo Punta Cana

The view from my room looking at the ocean was great but the water was very rough it was not great for swimming especially for kids the pools were very good there was even a little water park for kids but most of the staff was not warm and friendly except the two hostess at the buffet restaurant and two of the servers the rest of them look in your eyes and walk pass you without saying hello service at the bars was very slow they chat and look at you without acknowledging your presence front desk was not very knowledgeable about anything we had no hot water for three days when we call all they said was ok also they have no rules about smoking i was having breakfast with my kids one morning when a couple sat beside us and started to smoke in the dining room i was very surprised that no one said anything the food was not the best always salty most of the time. entertainment at night was so so too much mosquito and smokers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

get in line early in the morning to make reservation for one of the restaurants in the hotel

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thedonjj
Business
Montreal, Canada
16 Dec 2012

Had a good time but it wasnt a 4 star experience

Check in was at 3pm and I got a room at 5pm. Location and amenities are great! The beach is awesome! There is no complaint there! Its really clean, white sand and nice waves! Pools are great too! Food is really good at the buffet, its changes every night. Lots of staff but it takes for ever to get something to drink! Most of the time I just got up and got it my selft For the other restaurants you need to make a reservation the same day. You need to wake up at 9am and go to the front desk. Around 9:30 or 9:45 everything is booked. Most Staff has alot to learn, they dont speak alot of english and their "costumer service" isnt that great But overall it was nice! We had a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Familyvacation12
Business
USA
9 Dec 2012

Great Family Vacation

We had seven people in our group and we all had a wonderful time! The staff (other than one manager) was great! The staff was very accommodating and very pleasant. There was a wide variety of food almost all day. The hotel has great pools and a beautiful view. I would recommend this resort and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AdamUSA
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
3 Dec 2012

4th Trip Here and still love it.

Great place to visit. Plenty to do, or not do. Beach is wonderful, food is great, hospitality first class. The employees really want you to enjoy your stay, and work hard at doing it. You should have basic knowledge of a little Spanish language, The not necessary, but helpful. The food is local, plentiful, and different than we are used to in USA, however, try everything they have and enjoy fresh meats, fruits and vegetables, without all the preservatives we are used to. The resort is fantastic, plenty of places to relax, sip drinks and enjoy. The visitors are from around the world and not necessarily from the USA. Which is fine with me. I enjoy meeting and making friends from Germany, Canada, France, Ecuador, Russia and more. Right next door is the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. That place is like Vegas meeting the Caribbean, however the cost to stay there is like three times Barcelo Premium. And with only a $10US cab ride to their casino, its well worth it. But Barcelo Premium needs to update their casino badly. Its dated and limited. 9 bars and 8 restaurants on-site greatly enhance the daily buffets too. Overall a great place to visit again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you make your dinner reservations on the first day you arrive so you can relax and enjoy without waiting on a line.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fina
Business
DC
26 Nov 2012

It's a two star resort

We paid for a four star hotel but got a two star hotel instead. There is no way this is a four, or even three star resort. It is beautifully constructed but is worn out, food and services are not good. The resort is huge, but we checked in at 3pm with a lot of other guests; we were hungry, the hotel flyer stated that lunch buffet closing hour was 5pm but there was not one restaurant open, we had to eat barely cooked hotdogs and not so good hamburgers, barbequed by a not so happy cook at the pool. So much for a first impression. Here are some points that management needs to work on: - Hotel needs remodeling, some areas need a touch up (Walls and floors) and new furniture. Beach chairs look old and dirty. -Exterminate small ants in the room. -Improve quality of food. Lunch buffet and breakfast buffet were terrible, sometimes not eatable. Paris restaurant is not good, stake was terrible, I could not eat. El Marlin's seafood was eatable but not good. For a hotel by the ocean I expected better. Tokio restaurant was ok. -House wine and house licor drinks were horrible, beer was ok. There are ways you can improve house wine and drinks without raising costs. -Staff does not seem to eager to help out, they need better training. Maybe allowing tip chars could improve services. -Do not allow locals in the resort, or restrict areas where they could be. -Entertainers need to speak English and Spanish. The Disco need a new DJ, the one they have now only play local music. PS: Watch out for the bingo game at the casino, those guys are cons, they will clear you out! Ask to see every ball they call out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

You can shop at the hotel. We went to Punta Blanca to shop but did not find much good deals and merchandise was all same.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kreditorius
Business
Lithuania
13 Nov 2012

Super location, super beach, but not managing

Location of this hotel is fantastic. Fantastic beach whit big palms. Very good animators (thanks). What is not good: refrigerator in our room was broken and staff didn't changed it all our stay (after we asked two times#. Sometimes has no hot or cold water in room. Gym is very very old. Food is very poor. All drinks #except some international drinks# are poor. Staff is friendly but working very slow. All should wait in the line to get in the restaurant. But in general all those bad things are not so important, when there is so fantastic environment #beach, sea, sun, green), nice music, dances... :) with some management corrections this can be the best vacation place in caribbean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top