£91.38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 26 Apr 2015 Check-out 29 Apr 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
25 Jun 2010

Mes vacances a Paris

The staff in general (always one or two not so nice persons but this happens anywhere)super nice and helpful.I speak some french but when I needed to verify very important information (such as addresses and train stations to travel at certain specific hours to other cities) I could speak to some employees of the hotel in English and even in Spanish, which is my first language (a very nice concierge that works there spoke perfectly in Spanish). The hotel is a very old building (part of Paris' enchantment, which I love) pretty well conserved and specially (and super more important to me)the room was very well mantained,cleaned everyday and with everything we needed available.I asked for some not tipical things such as a coffee when the restaurant wasn't open yet and very late one night for some salt and the staff always solved my needs in a gentle and timely manner. The price I paid for what I got was very reasonable and the location of the hotel is superb. If I go to Paris again I'll stay again in the Hotel Normandy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Le Musset just across the street for example and other good restaurants or cafes in Rue Rivoli

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
23 Jun 2010

Good location, depending on the price

We know this hotel for many years. It is at this point 4-star by the skin of its teeth. Excellent location, spacious rooms that are worn out looking -- our floor was totally uneven. Good bathroom. Staff just can't be bothered, which is OK if you know Paris already and are independent. The E12 Euro breakfast buffet is a good deal. Survey question on 'value' depends on room cost at time time. At $250, as this time, a good deal. Value and dining options -- answer is N/A. Survey needs to add N/A as option !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francophile friends
Business
New York NY
21 Jun 2010

A Jewel of a location

The room was old world charming and the bathroom was totally modern and luxurious. The location was terrific and the front desk and concierge were helpful though they did not give us a wake up call as asked one of the days. All in all it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
14 Jun 2010

Skip this hotel - really 1 star

Correct rating would be -4 star. Nothing good about this hotel. I want my money back. Really old hotel and really bad bad BAD staff. Do not pick this hotel just because of the location. You could sleep right outside the hotel for free if location is really important. Internet is free only in lobby (requires credit card in room). Internet connection is really bad. Bed was as hard as wooden board. One morning went down and informing the front desk at 7 AM that there is no hot water in room. At 9:30 they were still working on it and had no idea when it will be fixed. I checkout without taking the shower. No fan, No A/C, room can get very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money. Skip this hotel if you really want 4 star quality. Do not book this hotel just for the location.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris
12 Jun 2010

Normandy Hotel

Horrible experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jakesnake
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5 Jun 2010

Location, location, location

The location is absolutely perfect.Very close to subway, taxi and bus stops. Within reasonable walking distance of virtually every major Paris attraction except Montmartre. Within 50 feet of several cafes, bistros and Brassiere's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Evening dining starts extremely late by US standards. Most Parisians don't sit down until 8:30 or 9:00 PM on weeknights and even later on weekends.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warsaw, Poland
2 Jun 2010

Standard - a big disappointment !

We have travelled with my wife for a romantic weekend. It was romantic, but outside the hotel. I have never stayed in a 4 stars hotel with such low room standard! Old equippment, needs renovation. The bathroom door won't close so I had to put the chair to stop them opening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le First - a great gourmet restaurant. Recommended for a romantic dinner.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
2 Jun 2010

Not so good stay in the Normandy Motel

I took my little family to Paris and it's the first time for my 11 year old boy in the City of light. Being french, i studied in this city and i thought i would show them where I grew up. I have been to this Hotel Normandy in the past (in '96 and '99) it WAS great stay. BUT this time, it would compare only to Motel 6 (no disrespect for M6), i guess it is under 'new management', all North african, from the concierge to bell boy to the owner/manager to the service lady who thought that it would be OK to help herself on the food we left in the room. I am surprised that we didn't washing down with the bottle of wine sitting there too. The windows that doesn't lock, the drain plug that get doesn't work and get stuck, the leaking shower, the uncomfortable full size beds, the outdated worn furniture and plumbing(and carpeting) , a loose air conditioning unit in the room are nothing compare to the nice prostitute standing in front of the front of the hotel and coming checking her e-mail and 'calls" in the lobby/business center (only place to get wi-fi and connected).I was basically embarrassed that my family had to witness . Everything was missing in my stay in the Normandy Hotel from quietness to privacy. Besides the location, i Do NOT recommend this place to any traveller who want visit and rest in Paris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paris Tourist
Business
Washington, DC
1 Jun 2010

Location and that's all

Unfotunately, this is not a very likable hotel. The location wins big, but the staff is marginal baring on rude (the desk staff); connoisseur was nice depending on who you got! One was still wreaking of alcohol at 0800. They hotel is in great need of a heavy duty cleaning, we bot got bug bites from the room. It is VERY noisey! BUT, it is convenient and especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room. Also, note there is NOT in room internet service as they purport! Only free non-secure service in the lobby. The food was not very good either. Sorry, I travel a lot and have stayed in this hotel years ago - it's not as nice as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alylou
Business
Wisconsin
31 May 2010

Don't book here

How in the world did [...] rate this hotel a four star? That rating caused us to book, and what a sad surprise when we arrived: filthy room, shabby furniture, broken air conditioner, no iron, coffee maker, glasses, etc. etc. We complained and did get an upgrade which was merely adequate; but it would be foolish to count on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top