£77.34 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 22 Dec 2014 Check-out 23 Dec 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
121 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • 20 Mar 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • 27 Dec 2013
Intimate Paris hotel near the Louvre and Tuileries Gardens
Parisian grandeur meets Parisian intimacy at this Normandy Hotel, a 117-room property across from the Louvre and Rue Saint Honore. The Belle Epoque hotel holds a place in the city's past as a place where English clientele gathered for cocktails and conversation. Historical touches remain, from the carefully restored Napoleon III-style ceilings in the on-site Italian restaurant to the gorgeous antique furniture in the guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in rooms, reception and breakfast area
  • Across from the Louvre and Rue Saint Honore
  • Fully restored hotel that once entertained English clientele during the Paris Belle Epoque
  • Il Palazzo restaurant with Napoleon III-style ceilings
  • Close to la Defense, Nord and Lyon train stations and the Champs Elysses
Rooms
Normandy Hotel rooms reflect Belle Epoque style, with accents such as vintage furniture, sweeping drapes and floral wallpaper driving the theme. Striking toile prints and views of the Louvre and cityscape turn on Parisian charm. The property boasts 117 rooms equipped with Wi-Fi, safes and windows that open.
Features
Normandy Hotel guests are spoiled by location. The property is literally across from the Louvre and within walking distance to the Tuileries Gardens and Champs-Elysees. The in-house bar recreates the atmosphere of a classic English tap with cozy leather seating and waxed wood. Drama runs as high as the fully-restored Napoleon III-style ceilings in Il Palazzo, where guests dine on Italian fare.
Transportation
  • Paris-Orly Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (14.5 mi/23.3 km)
Attractions
  • The Louvre (across from the hotel)
  • Rue Saint Honore (across from the hotel)
  • Tuileries Gardens (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Champs-Elysses (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (1.8 mi/3 km)
Business
Meeting space for up to 80, including six convention rooms

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi
  • Folies Bergere: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jakesnake
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5 Jun 2010

Location, location, location

The location is absolutely perfect.Very close to subway, taxi and bus stops. Within reasonable walking distance of virtually every major Paris attraction except Montmartre. Within 50 feet of several cafes, bistros and Brassiere's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Evening dining starts extremely late by US standards. Most Parisians don't sit down until 8:30 or 9:00 PM on weeknights and even later on weekends.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warsaw, Poland
2 Jun 2010

Standard - a big disappointment !

We have travelled with my wife for a romantic weekend. It was romantic, but outside the hotel. I have never stayed in a 4 stars hotel with such low room standard! Old equippment, needs renovation. The bathroom door won't close so I had to put the chair to stop them opening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le First - a great gourmet restaurant. Recommended for a romantic dinner.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
2 Jun 2010

Not so good stay in the Normandy Motel

I took my little family to Paris and it's the first time for my 11 year old boy in the City of light. Being french, i studied in this city and i thought i would show them where I grew up. I have been to this Hotel Normandy in the past (in '96 and '99) it WAS great stay. BUT this time, it would compare only to Motel 6 (no disrespect for M6), i guess it is under 'new management', all North african, from the concierge to bell boy to the owner/manager to the service lady who thought that it would be OK to help herself on the food we left in the room. I am surprised that we didn't washing down with the bottle of wine sitting there too. The windows that doesn't lock, the drain plug that get doesn't work and get stuck, the leaking shower, the uncomfortable full size beds, the outdated worn furniture and plumbing(and carpeting) , a loose air conditioning unit in the room are nothing compare to the nice prostitute standing in front of the front of the hotel and coming checking her e-mail and 'calls" in the lobby/business center (only place to get wi-fi and connected).I was basically embarrassed that my family had to witness . Everything was missing in my stay in the Normandy Hotel from quietness to privacy. Besides the location, i Do NOT recommend this place to any traveller who want visit and rest in Paris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paris Tourist
Business
Washington, DC
1 Jun 2010

Location and that's all

Unfotunately, this is not a very likable hotel. The location wins big, but the staff is marginal baring on rude (the desk staff); connoisseur was nice depending on who you got! One was still wreaking of alcohol at 0800. They hotel is in great need of a heavy duty cleaning, we bot got bug bites from the room. It is VERY noisey! BUT, it is convenient and especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room. Also, note there is NOT in room internet service as they purport! Only free non-secure service in the lobby. The food was not very good either. Sorry, I travel a lot and have stayed in this hotel years ago - it's not as nice as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alylou
Business
Wisconsin
31 May 2010

Don't book here

How in the world did [...] rate this hotel a four star? That rating caused us to book, and what a sad surprise when we arrived: filthy room, shabby furniture, broken air conditioner, no iron, coffee maker, glasses, etc. etc. We complained and did get an upgrade which was merely adequate; but it would be foolish to count on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ad
Business
Dublin
26 May 2010

below average hotel in good location

This was a 4 star hotel that would only achieve a 1 star rating in Ireland. Its rates did not reflect the standard of the rooms or the lack of facilites available to guests.The hotel did have a good location and the staff were friendly.The rooms were outdated and in severe need of updating. The bathrooms need to be completely gutted and replaced.If I stayed in this hotel with my wife and children I would have been extremely disappointed and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two minutes walk from the Lourve

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oostende, Belgium
20 May 2010

Great location, poor accommodations

The room was a great size, but there was nothing in the room (i.e. cups for tea, glasses for water, etc.). Compared to another hotel that we stayed at in Paris, this one was far more expensive but lacked all the details. Being an American, I am used to ammenities, but having lived over in Europe for two years now I am used to the size and comforts of rooms in Europe...and this one fell short!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the sights of Paris are just out the front door.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newlywed Husband
Business
New York City, NY
18 May 2010

Honeymoon

- Come here for the location only. Its great. - Staff is not rude, but generally unfriendly, unhelpful. Overheard two clients complaining at front desk at different times, both about their rooms, none of them was helped so both left early, one got super upset. - ROOMS ON THE PICS ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FROM REALITY. - Piano in lobby is good to have, totally untuned though. - For WIFI, go to the lobby or bar and connect to Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brunch- Cafe Royal. Dinner- Bartolomeo (italian)

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Us
Business
Birmingham
3 May 2010

Typical tradional french hotel

Wonderful location, pleasant staff, large room (superior). A bit down at heal, but nice and clean. You have to hunt hard for reasonably priced lunch/dinner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket and bakers along rue saint honare for picnic food. Nearby cafe (royal?) for breakfast

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ARP
Business
Narberth, Pa
1 May 2010

Charming and Great Location

This hotel was old European Charm. It is in a great location...walking distance to the Louvres, Tuilleiries Gardens, La Place De Madeleine and St. Honore which has wonderful restaurants and upscale shopping. There was a full breakfast available for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Restaurants near the St. Honore

Back to menu Return to top