£123.17 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 28 Sep 2014 Check-out 29 Sep 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
119 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • 20 Mar 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • 27 Dec 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cacechris
new jersey
1 Aug 2010

Not the best hotel that i have stayed in

It doesnt have air conditioned in the rooms. The concerge on night shift was drunk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coylepeninsula
Business
houston, texas
18 Feb 2010

The Invasion of Normandy (Hotel)

This hotel had an amazing location, about two blocks from the Louvre. The lobby was nice enough, as was the front desk help. The concierge was particularly helpful and patience with my terrible French. The room itself was on the small side, but the windows opened to a nice side street and there was a balcony of sorts from which I could view the Palais Royale. No cups in the bathroom; no bedframe (mattresses on the floor); the bed had no bedspread. Breakfast buffet (12 euros) was decent, but not great. I paid $150USD a night, and still think it was worth it even though the hotel has seen some better days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vin & Maree Restaurant was great. Don't let the decor put you off....lighting is too bright, looks like a former chinese restaurant inside. The food was amazing...I had the escargot and the scallops, each of which was great. And the side of mashed potatoes was simple but out of this world (butter and cream can work wonders).

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Travel Guy
Princeton, NJ
25 Oct 2010

Great Location, Tired Facilities

This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evan64
Boca Raton, FL
23 Jun 2014

Decent Hotel in a Great location

The location is right behind the Louvre, which is great!! The place needs some love. The hotel needs a fresh coat of paint and new carpet, but aside from that is decent. We had 2 safe deposit boxes in our room but neither one worked.... Most of the staff was great. Overall our experience was a good one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Louvre is 2 blocks away! Latin Quarter is not a far walk if you're up for it. Notre Dame is within striking distance...

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
mass, USA
26 Oct 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis,MN
20 Mar 2010

Fantastic location

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. You could not ask for a better location although it is somewhat noisy. The hotel is dated but charming. The Italian restaurant across the street is fantastic! I am very happy we did'nt listen to the reviews on this hotel. I would definately recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zelda0309
OC, California
22 Aug 2012

Great location, not a four star hotel

This is definitely not a four star hotel, having said that, the three minute walk to the Louvre makes up for everything else. The whole hotels needs an upgrade, and the (free) wifi only works in the lobby. I found the room to be quite roomy- I stayed in a single room, but it didn't have any sort of air circulation. Luckily, there was a fan. The only times I was in the room was to sleep, and nap in the middle of the day. The staff was friendly- just make sure you know a few basic words in French, and they'll be your best friend ("bonjour" and "comment ca va?") I was a single woman traveling alone, and felt safe returning and leaving hotel after sun-down. This wouldn't be my top choice when I return to Paris, but I also paid pretty low prices when grouped with the flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stops very close by!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
6 Feb 2010

Good Deal but a little musty in the room

Great location, very small room, not a place to stay in the summer as there is no airconditioning. The carpet, walls, towels etc are very worn down. Nice staff and front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
richmond va
20 Jul 2010

hotel normandy

The staff was freindly. the location was great. the room was spacious. But...The hot tub didn't work and there was mildew in the bathroom. Overall, not bad but not four star by any stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to another part of town to eat. the restraunts here are expensive, low quality, and touristy.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SunnyNYC
NYC
17 Jul 2010

Great location but...

What a Great hotel! This hotel is so good that it will make you just dieing to explore the City. However, please make sure you come back to your single room ( if you booked a single room) dead tired so you can just pass out without an air-condition. This hotel is a green environment hotel its so green they do not use a shower curtain well at least in my bathroom there was none… This hotel wants you to feel like home or at least own a home… too bad I did not travel with my tool box so I could not fix the bathroom door handel… This hotel remind me my childhood when I was growing up in the 3rd world country where I learned how to endure and overcome the difficulty times… This hotel educated me on hotels reating system. I have been worked in many different hotels in different countries… Overall, the hotel has a nice location. That I truly mean it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If walking is not a problem for u ...

Back to menu Return to top