£105.56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Apr 2014 Check-out 22 Apr 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
113 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • 20 Mar 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • 27 Dec 2013
Intimate Paris hotel near the Louvre and Tuileries Gardens

Parisian grandeur meets Parisian intimacy at this Normandy Hotel, a 117-room property across from the Louvre and Rue Saint Honore. The Belle Epoque hotel holds a place in the city's past as a place where English clientele gathered for cocktails and conversation. Historical touches remain, from the carefully restored Napoleon III-style ceilings in the on-site Italian restaurant to the gorgeous antique furniture in the guest rooms.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in rooms, reception and breakfast area
  • Across from the Louvre and Rue Saint Honore
  • Fully restored hotel that once entertained English clientele during the Paris Belle Epoque
  • Il Palazzo restaurant with Napoleon III-style ceilings
  • Close to la Défense, Nord and Lyon train stations and the Champs Elysées
Rooms

Normandy Hotel rooms reflect Belle Epoque style, with accents such as vintage furniture, sweeping drapes and floral wallpaper driving the theme. Striking toile prints and views of the Louvre and cityscape turn on Parisian charm. The property boasts 117 rooms equipped with Wi-Fi, safes and windows that open.

Features

Normandy Hotel guests are spoiled by location. The property is literally across from the Louvre and within walking distance to the Tuileries Gardens and Champs-Elysees. The in-house bar recreates the atmosphere of a classic English tap with cozy leather seating and waxed wood. Drama runs as high as the fully-restored Napoleon III-style ceilings in Il Palazzo, where guests dine on Italian fare.

Transportation
  • Paris-Orly Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (14.5 mi/23.3 km)
Attractions
  • The Louvre (across from the hotel)
  • Rue Saint Honore (across from the hotel)
  • Tuileries Gardens (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Champs-Elysées (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (1.8 mi/3 km)
Business

Meeting space for up to 80, including six convention rooms

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
SendMeAnywhere
New York
23 Feb 2010

OK, for an OK price

Bathroom was small; rugs and drapes were a bit worn, but a very good location and the Sunday rate is quite fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right along the shopping strip next to the Louvre.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Newlywed Husband
New York City, NY
18 May 2010

Honeymoon

- Come here for the location only. Its great. - Staff is not rude, but generally unfriendly, unhelpful. Overheard two clients complaining at front desk at different times, both about their rooms, none of them was helped so both left early, one got super upset. - ROOMS ON THE PICS ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FROM REALITY. - Piano in lobby is good to have, totally untuned though. - For WIFI, go to the lobby or bar and connect to Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brunch- Cafe Royal. Dinner- Bartolomeo (italian)

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
15 Sep 2010

Steps from the Louvre!

The location couldn't have been better! We were steps from the Louvre, and a short walk to the Tuilleries, the Seine, Place de la Concorde, Opera House, etc. The daily maid service did a pretty good job. The room itself was clearly in need of refurbishing. The bed was comfortable. Requested wake up calls came at the wrong time or not at all. Carlos, the Concierge, was fabulous and saved us time on all we did. Although the staff were very friendly, they did seem understaffed. We did not get into the room on time. They were running late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from Paris Shuttle (parishuttle.com)! We had paid in advance for a shared with other travelers trip from CDG Airport and a private return trip. The initial trip from the airport took over 3 hours because the driver didn't know how to get to certain addresses. For the private return trip (for which we'd paid twice as much to ensure we got to the airport on time), the driver never showed up. We had to flag down a taxi. Although Paris Shuttle told me on the phone that they would refund our money, they haven't done it.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Minneapolis,MN
20 Mar 2010

Fantastic location

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. You could not ask for a better location although it is somewhat noisy. The hotel is dated but charming. The Italian restaurant across the street is fantastic! I am very happy we did'nt listen to the reviews on this hotel. I would definately recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
NJ Travel Guy
Princeton, NJ
25 Oct 2010

Great Location, Tired Facilities

This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Massachusetts lady
mass, USA
26 Oct 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Zelda0309
OC, California
22 Aug 2012

Great location, not a four star hotel

This is definitely not a four star hotel, having said that, the three minute walk to the Louvre makes up for everything else. The whole hotels needs an upgrade, and the (free) wifi only works in the lobby. I found the room to be quite roomy- I stayed in a single room, but it didn't have any sort of air circulation. Luckily, there was a fan. The only times I was in the room was to sleep, and nap in the middle of the day. The staff was friendly- just make sure you know a few basic words in French, and they'll be your best friend ("bonjour" and "comment ca va?") I was a single woman traveling alone, and felt safe returning and leaving hotel after sun-down. This wouldn't be my top choice when I return to Paris, but I also paid pretty low prices when grouped with the flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stops very close by!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
2forParis
San Diego, Ca
29 Jun 2010

Normandy Hotel

Overall: 2 star hotel in a 4 star location if you stay in the "regular" rooms We travelled to Paris in June 2010 for a 9 day vacation. It was my wife and I with no children. We were welcomed to the hotel efficiently, English was spoken adequetly by the staff, and the concierge offered to take our bags to our room. Upon entering the room we found a rather small room with an attached toilet, shower and sink bathroom. The floor in the room squeaked and was slightly unlevel, sloping from the head of the rock hard bed towards the feet. There were several burned out bulbs in the room as well as a crooked painting on the wall. The wall was covered with peeling wallpaper, and the television had 12 total chanels, one of which was Paris 24. This is their news channel, and the only one in English. The Bathroom had all required utilities except for washclothes. If you regularly use a wash cloth, I recommend bringing your own. The shower leaked and the drains were a little slow, but the mold in the grout around the tiles wasn't too bad, and there was only one chip in the porcelain covering the cast iron tub. The paint in the overhead was peeling due to no ventilation system for the shower. We did not request an upgraded room as we were fine with the situation for sleeping, but I did see one of the suites, and they appeared very nice. There was quite a bit of street noise, and the rooms did tend to bleed noise into eachother, so if you are looking to party every night. your neighbors may not appreciate it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
WESTON
15 Feb 2011

NORMANDY

Nice location,clean,really bad carpet on the stairs and only few channels working on the TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
richmond va
20 Jul 2010

hotel normandy

The staff was freindly. the location was great. the room was spacious. But...The hot tub didn't work and there was mildew in the bathroom. Overall, not bad but not four star by any stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to another part of town to eat. the restraunts here are expensive, low quality, and touristy.

Back to menu Return to top