£76.08 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in 7 May 2016 Check-out 10 May 2016

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Single
Washington, DC, USA
3 Oct 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SunnyNYC
Couples
NYC
17 Jul 2010

Great location but...

What a Great hotel! This hotel is so good that it will make you just dieing to explore the City. However, please make sure you come back to your single room ( if you booked a single room) dead tired so you can just pass out without an air-condition. This hotel is a green environment hotel its so green they do not use a shower curtain well at least in my bathroom there was none… This hotel wants you to feel like home or at least own a home… too bad I did not travel with my tool box so I could not fix the bathroom door handel… This hotel remind me my childhood when I was growing up in the 3rd world country where I learned how to endure and overcome the difficulty times… This hotel educated me on hotels reating system. I have been worked in many different hotels in different countries… Overall, the hotel has a nice location. That I truly mean it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If walking is not a problem for u ...

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
richmond va
20 Jul 2010

hotel normandy

The staff was freindly. the location was great. the room was spacious. But...The hot tub didn't work and there was mildew in the bathroom. Overall, not bad but not four star by any stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to another part of town to eat. the restraunts here are expensive, low quality, and touristy.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis,MN
20 Mar 2010

Fantastic location

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. You could not ask for a better location although it is somewhat noisy. The hotel is dated but charming. The Italian restaurant across the street is fantastic! I am very happy we did'nt listen to the reviews on this hotel. I would definately recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Switzerland
22 Apr 2009

Normandy

Great location, but hotel could do with a touch up. Room was a bit dated, and bathroom old. Character could still be maintained on the exterior while internal make-overs done. The standard doublebed room comprised 2 single beds which kept slipping apart - my wife fell in between in the middle of the night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2forParis
Couples
San Diego, Ca
29 Jun 2010

Normandy Hotel

Overall: 2 star hotel in a 4 star location if you stay in the "regular" rooms We travelled to Paris in June 2010 for a 9 day vacation. It was my wife and I with no children. We were welcomed to the hotel efficiently, English was spoken adequetly by the staff, and the concierge offered to take our bags to our room. Upon entering the room we found a rather small room with an attached toilet, shower and sink bathroom. The floor in the room squeaked and was slightly unlevel, sloping from the head of the rock hard bed towards the feet. There were several burned out bulbs in the room as well as a crooked painting on the wall. The wall was covered with peeling wallpaper, and the television had 12 total chanels, one of which was Paris 24. This is their news channel, and the only one in English. The Bathroom had all required utilities except for washclothes. If you regularly use a wash cloth, I recommend bringing your own. The shower leaked and the drains were a little slow, but the mold in the grout around the tiles wasn't too bad, and there was only one chip in the porcelain covering the cast iron tub. The paint in the overhead was peeling due to no ventilation system for the shower. We did not request an upgraded room as we were fine with the situation for sleeping, but I did see one of the suites, and they appeared very nice. There was quite a bit of street noise, and the rooms did tend to bleed noise into eachother, so if you are looking to party every night. your neighbors may not appreciate it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
An adventurous adventurer
Couples
Warren, NJ
10 Nov 2009

Certainly not a 4 star, but a great deal

The Normandy may have been a 4 Star hotel once upon a time but it's fallen far from that recently. That said, this hotel is not as horrific as other reviews might have made it seem. In an effort to keep this review readably short I'll truncate my experience to familiar "pro" and "con" lists. Pros: Location (you're literally a block from The Louvre and the First District is a GREAT place to launch excursions to all points in Paris from), large room, comfortable bed, decent shower, friendly and approachable staff (all of whom spoke English), and- because it bears repeating- location. Cons: Dilapidated state of the room in general (peeling wallpaper, carpeting was musty, furnishings had obvious scuff marks, paint was chipped or peeling on ceilings and shutters), lack of amenities (no hairdryers or irons in standard rooms), intrusive cleaning staff (they woke us up on two separate occasions by barging into the room ignoring the Do Not Disturb sign on the door), no wifi (wifi in the lobby was free- but spotty) If you're an older couple or more accustomed to finer hotels, skip the Normandy as you'll be disappointed. If you're willing to stay in the Normandy- warts and all- as a nice upgrade from a Hostel it offers an incredible and convenient location and probably more than you could find at a comparable price further out from the main attractions. Consider the distance you'll need to travel to your hotel room after wandering around the Louvre for 5+ hours and you'll begin to see that the Normandy Hotel is worth the money... so long as you know what to expect :) tl;dr- It's not a 4 Star Hotel, but it's quite tolerable and the location alone makes up for its shortcomings. Bring earplugs if your room is facing the street and enjoy the 15 minute walk to Île de la Cité!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hartford, CT
15 Sep 2010

Steps from the Louvre!

The location couldn't have been better! We were steps from the Louvre, and a short walk to the Tuilleries, the Seine, Place de la Concorde, Opera House, etc. The daily maid service did a pretty good job. The room itself was clearly in need of refurbishing. The bed was comfortable. Requested wake up calls came at the wrong time or not at all. Carlos, the Concierge, was fabulous and saved us time on all we did. Although the staff were very friendly, they did seem understaffed. We did not get into the room on time. They were running late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from Paris Shuttle (parishuttle.com)! We had paid in advance for a shared with other travelers trip from CDG Airport and a private return trip. The initial trip from the airport took over 3 hours because the driver didn't know how to get to certain addresses. For the private return trip (for which we'd paid twice as much to ensure we got to the airport on time), the driver never showed up. We had to flag down a taxi. Although Paris Shuttle told me on the phone that they would refund our money, they haven't done it.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lizard Island
5 Aug 2007

A Tired Hotel

The room was small. The safe in the room did not function. There was no space to unpack clothing, dresser drawers were lacking. The location is excellent, and the free breakfast is a plus. Given costs today, the price is fair. Would we stay there again? I am not certain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant across is street is great.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NY, NY
23 Jun 2010

Good location, depending on the price

We know this hotel for many years. It is at this point 4-star by the skin of its teeth. Excellent location, spacious rooms that are worn out looking -- our floor was totally uneven. Good bathroom. Staff just can't be bothered, which is OK if you know Paris already and are independent. The E12 Euro breakfast buffet is a good deal. Survey question on 'value' depends on room cost at time time. At $250, as this time, a good deal. Value and dining options -- answer is N/A. Survey needs to add N/A as option !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top