£89.18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 23 Nov 2014 Check-out 24 Nov 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
120 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • 20 Mar 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • 27 Dec 2013
Intimate Paris hotel near the Louvre and Tuileries Gardens
Parisian grandeur meets Parisian intimacy at this Normandy Hotel, a 117-room property across from the Louvre and Rue Saint Honore. The Belle Epoque hotel holds a place in the city's past as a place where English clientele gathered for cocktails and conversation. Historical touches remain, from the carefully restored Napoleon III-style ceilings in the on-site Italian restaurant to the gorgeous antique furniture in the guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in rooms, reception and breakfast area
  • Across from the Louvre and Rue Saint Honore
  • Fully restored hotel that once entertained English clientele during the Paris Belle Epoque
  • Il Palazzo restaurant with Napoleon III-style ceilings
  • Close to la Defense, Nord and Lyon train stations and the Champs Elysses
Rooms
Normandy Hotel rooms reflect Belle Epoque style, with accents such as vintage furniture, sweeping drapes and floral wallpaper driving the theme. Striking toile prints and views of the Louvre and cityscape turn on Parisian charm. The property boasts 117 rooms equipped with Wi-Fi, safes and windows that open.
Features
Normandy Hotel guests are spoiled by location. The property is literally across from the Louvre and within walking distance to the Tuileries Gardens and Champs-Elysees. The in-house bar recreates the atmosphere of a classic English tap with cozy leather seating and waxed wood. Drama runs as high as the fully-restored Napoleon III-style ceilings in Il Palazzo, where guests dine on Italian fare.
Transportation
  • Paris-Orly Airport (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (14.5 mi/23.3 km)
Attractions
  • The Louvre (across from the hotel)
  • Rue Saint Honore (across from the hotel)
  • Tuileries Gardens (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Champs-Elysses (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (1.8 mi/3 km)
Business
Meeting space for up to 80, including six convention rooms

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi
  • Folies Bergere: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJP
Business
Orland Park IL.
20 Mar 2011

Old World Paris

The Hotel is very close to everything , The Louvre is a five minute walk , the metro is a 2 minute walk. There is great dining everywhere and all open late !! If you want to expirence "OLD WORLD" Paris then this hotel is for you , the staff is very friendly , helpful , I struggled with my French and the staff speaks very good english !! We checked in early with no problems and they kept our bags after check out until our taxi ride ride back to the train hours later. The rooms are huge . now the bad stuff !! The hotel does have an "old Musty" smell there was air in our room , they are working on the hotel and have scaffolding set up outside the windows and they go to work anywhere from 7am-8am so you will be woken up. Skip the breakfast at the hotel and journey out to the streets for some amazing food. all in all I enjoyed my stay , I think with some work this could be an amazing hotel . The price is right , but the old grandma's attic smell in the hall ways has got to go ,,maybe some updated ventilation !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic dining everywhere , we met so many fun people , pratice your French with the wait staffs at these Brasserie's !!!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WESTON
15 Feb 2011

NORMANDY

Nice location,clean,really bad carpet on the stairs and only few channels working on the TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
6 Feb 2010

Good Deal but a little musty in the room

Great location, very small room, not a place to stay in the summer as there is no airconditioning. The carpet, walls, towels etc are very worn down. Nice staff and front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cacechris
Business
new jersey
1 Aug 2010

Not the best hotel that i have stayed in

It doesnt have air conditioned in the rooms. The concerge on night shift was drunk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
15 Oct 2009

well situated

At check out we were charged for 4 days breakfast, which was supposed to be included, plus additional city tax that [...] did not disclose.While we were charged $200.00 US$ x night, their published tariff is 103.00 Euros x night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Travel Guy
Business
Princeton, NJ
25 Oct 2010

Great Location, Tired Facilities

This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coylepeninsula
Business
houston, texas
18 Feb 2010

The Invasion of Normandy (Hotel)

This hotel had an amazing location, about two blocks from the Louvre. The lobby was nice enough, as was the front desk help. The concierge was particularly helpful and patience with my terrible French. The room itself was on the small side, but the windows opened to a nice side street and there was a balcony of sorts from which I could view the Palais Royale. No cups in the bathroom; no bedframe (mattresses on the floor); the bed had no bedspread. Breakfast buffet (12 euros) was decent, but not great. I paid $150USD a night, and still think it was worth it even though the hotel has seen some better days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vin & Maree Restaurant was great. Don't let the decor put you off....lighting is too bright, looks like a former chinese restaurant inside. The food was amazing...I had the escargot and the scallops, each of which was great. And the side of mashed potatoes was simple but out of this world (butter and cream can work wonders).

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Business
Washington, DC, USA
3 Oct 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SunnyNYC
Business
NYC
17 Jul 2010

Great location but...

What a Great hotel! This hotel is so good that it will make you just dieing to explore the City. However, please make sure you come back to your single room ( if you booked a single room) dead tired so you can just pass out without an air-condition. This hotel is a green environment hotel its so green they do not use a shower curtain well at least in my bathroom there was none… This hotel wants you to feel like home or at least own a home… too bad I did not travel with my tool box so I could not fix the bathroom door handel… This hotel remind me my childhood when I was growing up in the 3rd world country where I learned how to endure and overcome the difficulty times… This hotel educated me on hotels reating system. I have been worked in many different hotels in different countries… Overall, the hotel has a nice location. That I truly mean it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If walking is not a problem for u ...

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond va
20 Jul 2010

hotel normandy

The staff was freindly. the location was great. the room was spacious. But...The hot tub didn't work and there was mildew in the bathroom. Overall, not bad but not four star by any stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to another part of town to eat. the restraunts here are expensive, low quality, and touristy.

Back to menu Return to top