£104.76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 19 Oct 2014 Check-out 20 Oct 2014

Hilton Munich City

4 stars
Rosenheimer Strasse 15, Munich, 81667
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
25 reviews
Excellent weekend break

Check-in was quick and efficient. Our room was on the 4th floor facing a courtyard, very quiet. The... See full review

  • Artybar
  • 6 Nov 2013
great location - good value

10 min walk to MarienPlatz, 5 min walk to Deutsche Museum. + Access to City Trains from inside the... See full review

  • t556
  • 9 Aug 2013
Comfortable hotel in the east of Munich’s city center

The Hilton Munich City hotel is adjacent to the Gasteig Cultural Center, a 35-minute train ride from the airport. The hotel features an executive lounge, fitness center, two restaurants, a bar, and a café. The city center is a 10-minute walk away. Some suites offer guests views of the city. The hotel has nine meeting rooms accommodating from five to 550 and a fully equipped business center. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.

Highlights
  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurants, bar, and café
  • Multilingual staff
Rooms

Rooms are graded guest, deluxe, and executive. All offer Wi-Fi, daily newspaper, garden or city views, desk with ergonomic chair, television with cable channels, telephone, and a mini bar. Suites also feature separate seating and working areas. Executive rooms and suites have access to the executive lounge. All accommodations have en-suite private bathrooms. The hotel is non-smoking throughout, including in the rooms.

Features

The Hilton Munich City has two restaurants and a café, all open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and a bar. Lowenschanke restaurant is decorated with wood panels in the traditional Bavarian style. Lowenschanke has its own beer garden where guests can relax with a locally brewed weissier. The restaurant's signature dish is a specialty meat loaf, served at lunch time, while in the evening guests can sample dishes such as veal escalope or beef carpaccio. Zum Gasteig restaurant has two separate dining rooms and is known for its Friday evening seafood buffet and Sunday brunch. Caffé Cino's guests enjoy specialty coffees and cakes while relaxing on comfortable sofas. Light lunches, pasta, and a children's menu are also available.

Transportation
  • München Hauptbahnhof train station (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Munich Airport (23.4 mi/37.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Frauenkirche (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Konigsplatz (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Theresienwiese, Oktoberfest venue (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Englischer Garten (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Nymphenburg Castle (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Olympic Park, BMW headquarters (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Botanic Gardens (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Business
  • Nine meeting rooms
  • State-of-the-art Cisco TelePresence suite
  • Audio-visual equipment
  • Catering
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Meeting rooms hold up to 500

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Munich City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.1303 11.5914
Nearby airports
Franz Josef Strauss, (MUC), 35.00, KM, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • German Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.7 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.8 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.8 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.8 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.8 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • German Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.7 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.8 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.8 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.8 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.8 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.8 mi
  • Nationaltheater: 0.8 mi
  • Marienplatz: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 0.9 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.9 mi
  • Marien Square: 0.9 mi
  • Residenztheater: 0.9 mi
  • New Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 0.9 mi
  • Kultfabrik: 0.9 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 0.9 mi
  • Isarvorstadt: 0.9 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Residence: 1 mi
  • P1 club: 1 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 1 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 1 mi
  • Hofgarten: 1 mi
  • Glockenbachviertel: 1 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 1 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 1 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 1 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 1 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 1 mi
  • Asamkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Munich City

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
njb549
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
4 Mar 2011

Terrific Hotel & Staff!

I tend to stay at Hilton properties when I travel. Most of them are great, but this one was exceptional. The staff in the Executive lounge were wonderful, friendly and went beyond their duties when my husband took ill. [...] found an apothecary that was open on Sunday and arranged for a staff member to pick up medicines the druggist had recommended. Sarah was always making sure the selection of food and beverages were stocked to perfection. I loved this hotel and it's staff. It's within walking distance to downtown, the marketplace and can't be easier to get to the airport; just go down stairs to the metro stop under the hotel. If you have to spend any time in Munich I recommend this hotel as the "must stay" location for your time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Der Schorr located next to the outdoor market place. It's about a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelin nancy
Clayton, Ohio
19 Oct 2010

Nice Hotel; Great Location

The check in process was very efficient and friendly. Food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. Room was comfortable - roomy, luxurious. However, it was either too hot or too cold all night making sleeping less than ideal. The concierge was not helpful and was actually rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the very convenient underground railroad connection to the airport. No need to go outside, ticket booth is in English, cost is less than 10 Euros per person and the trains run on time. It takes only about 40 minutes to get to the airport on clean and efficient trains.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gulf Shores, Alabama
2 Jun 2010

Hilton Munich City in a great location

Access to hotel from internal connection to Underground Metro. Philarmonic Symphony hall is next door. Largest park in town begins 300 meters away. Wonderful small restaurants and beer gardens close by. Upgraded to executive level and got tremendous benefits for the expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
oklahoma
3 Jan 2010

Munich weekend

decent sized rooms, especially for europe. Concierge very helpful at finding places open over Christmas eve, as most restaurants were closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
17 Dec 2009

very disappointed service

First, the room was not ready when I arrived at 5 p.m. then the concierge people was the worst. People was neither helpful nor friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axxell
Philadelphia, PA
14 Dec 2009

Great Location, quakity hotel

We've stayed at this hotel many times since 1994. The hotel was significantly upgraded several years ago. We very much enjoy the Metropolis Bar for late evening cocktails. Many good restaurants nearby. The hotel location, above the S Bahn stop is very convenient as we do all our local and regional travel by DB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get S Bahn tickets from the concierge.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor Klein
washingtonville, NY
19 Oct 2009

Great Hotel in Munich

The Hotel had very good service, great location w prox. to sites and very convenient to the airport. Also it offers an excellent breakfast( which was included w the room) and a very comfy bed as well. All this 4 A VERY REASONABLE PRICE. Please note, we stayed at the boutique hotel called Flemmings in Munich the previous week. It was twice the price and half as good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A restaurant called "Broeding" was amazingly good w awesome austrian wines and fabulous food

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stoner
San Antonio, TX USA
17 Oct 2009

3 stars for a 5 star hotel

This is truly a great hotel for a number of reasons. The price was outstanding compared to hotels in the city centre just 2 subway stops away. The staff was extremely courteous, professional, friendly, and responsive. The room was spacious and clean, with modern furniture, comfortable beds, a nice-sized desk/work area, and a wide-screen TV. Our 8 year old son stayed for free. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Deutsches Museum which is a must-see. It is next door to the Gasteig which is the home of the Munich philharmonic. There is an S-Bahn train/subway stop right outside the front door of the hotel so getting around anywhere in or out of town is simple. The train to and from the airport drops you off right at the hotel because of this fact. Within short walking distance there are numerous delicious and varied restaurants including German, Italian, Chinese, Japanese (sushi), and even Afgani cuisine. The surrounding area is very safe to walk around at night. The hotel also has a restaurant at which we ate for a breakfast buffet which was quite delicious but pricey (and not included in the room price). There was wireless internet access available for a fee in the rooms and in the lobby of the hotel. I cannot stress how great the location of this hotel is. It is out of the whole touristy area and thus quieter and less pricey, but it is only 2 subway stops away from that area (Marienplatz) and it only takes about 3 minutes to get there by subway. I only had 2 complaints about the hotel, 1 minor and 1 major. The minor complaint was that the shower curtain stank horribly. The staff changed the curtain immediately, which was great. The major complaint is that the rooms are not air conditioned. We knew this when we booked our reservation and figured it would not be a problem in October, but for the first half of our stay the weather was summer-like and it was very hot and stuffy in the room. I was sweating and uncomfortable at night. I can't imagine what it would be like in July and August. For me, this is a deal breaker unless I'm in town from November to May. That is why I am giving the hotel only 3 stars. If they had air-conditioning it would be 5 stars for sure. If you don't care about the heat, then by all means this would be a great hotel at which to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many delicious and eclectic restaurants right around the area.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S. A. S.
Ashburn, VA
16 Jul 2009

Very convient, nice hotel

Very convenient to S Bahn, downtown area and airport. Hotel staff helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ithaca, NY
24 Jun 2009

In city center, easy transit to airport

We chose an "executive room" for about US$40 extra per night and it was worth it. The lounge on the executive floor serves breakfast, cakes in the afternoon, appetizers in the evening, and beverages throughout the day. We ate out mostly but it was really nice to have the breakfast and beverages included. We're not impressed with the "free internet access" in the lounge, which was only on the one PC--not wireless. You have to pay for wireless (even for the executive room), which is apparently the norm still in Germany. The room is spacious for European standard with a good sized desk, a chair, and a comfy lounger chair. The hotel is in a quiet part of the city center (NOT at Marienplatz). We walked to the nearby sights and took the S-train, with a station directly underneath the hotel, to connect with the U-bahn (underground metro), which takes you absolutely everywhere in the city. Don't worry about the S-train not running as frequently as the metro--with 8 train lines all connecting to the main metro hubs we never waited for more than two minutes for a train! You do have to walk a distance for the connection (all underground), but it's not too far and is typical of "big city" metro systems. The really nice thing is that you can take one S-train directly from the hotel to the airport--all "indoors" and no transfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top