£32.06 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 7 Jun 2015 Check-out 8 Jun 2015

Rio Hotel Athens

3 stars
View map of 13 Odysseos Str. Karaiskaki, --, Athens, 10436

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rio Hotel Athens

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Novocastrian
Business
Toronot, Ontario
7 Apr 2013

Hotel Rio, Athens.

Pluses: Very friendly ambience, helpful staff, English OK. Minuses: Internet was free, but very unreliable. Maybe not the hotel's fault? Location OK, but nowhere decent nearby to eat in the evenings. The bathroom/shower was not up to scratch. Repeat/Recommend? Not likely but had no significant issues. You get what you pay for I suppose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vivian Lee
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
28 Jan 2013

Helpful reviews, Excellent Hotel !!!

Reviews from specific site were very helpful in choosing this hotel. The Hotel Rio Athens is a great hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean though basic. Location is excellent. Karaiskaki square is the area to stay, ( metro station Metaxourghio), because all the Archaelogical sights of interest are within walking distance, Acropolis, National Museum incudes the nightlife of the city Psiri and Gazi areas. Nice breakfast dining room. Staff was very helpful with information concerning travel agencies, directions, taxis, etc. Will stay there again as price right and room comfortable. Vivian Lee, Atlanta, Ga, USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try subway ( Metro), too.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marion Freeman
Business
Santa Monica,California
15 Nov 2012

"Great location, staff and hotel!!"

Hotel Rio Athens, is a great hotel located in the city centre of Athens, within walking distance to all archeological sites of interests and next to the metro station ’’ Metaxourghio’’ . In the hotel we stayed from 2nd to 5th of November 2012 with another couple from Chicago . We all enjoyed our stay and had good time day and night. The rooms were very clean, spacious with care and character .The breakfast was very nice and the service was excellent .Always with a nice smile on their face , ready to help you on each way.Excellent value for money, we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Greece!! Marion Freeman Santa Monica,CA,USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akapa86
Business
San Antonio, California
6 Jun 2012

A little outdated

The hotel was in a great location, because it was literally visible as we walked out of the metro station. We loved the location. Although it was notnear the city center (or we havent discovered what was nearby), the hotel was on the same metro line as Acropolis and within maybe 3 or 4 stops. We loved the accessibility of it. When it comes to the hotel itself, however, it looked great on the outside, but was fairly run down on the inside. The elevtar was oldschool, the chip card key didnt work, so we were given just a normal key, the AC did not work, and the shower water drained very slowly, so that it started overflowing in the middle of the shower. As for a place to stay though it was clean and oferred free breakfast and, most importantly, it is so close to the metro, you cant do much better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the main metro station. Dont need a car or a taxi.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomEl
Business
London
18 May 2012

Excellent Hotel!!

The Hotel Rio Athens was very clean and in an excellent location. It was literally only a few minutes walk from the metro station ‘’Metaxourghio’’ and we get there very easy. Also quick and cheap access to all the major attractions Acropolis, Plaka, Museums etc. The room was clean, quiet and nicely decorated. The breakfast was excellent with a good choices. The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were all absolutely charming and very helpful. They was equally helpful in finding us the best deal for a sightseeing bus tour of the city. If we were in Athens again we would certainly be happy to use this hotel Rio again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Traveling Family
Business
Germany
22 Feb 2012

Budget Conscious Choice

A comfortable hotel with a convenient location to the red-line metro; not luxury or fancy, but it is clean and safe enough. The photos seemed to match the room in appearance. Street noise is a little loud, but did not keep us awake. We picked it based on price and it was agreeable (but we have lived and travelled in Africa). A solid pick for the budget minded but do not expect the small extras normally found at a more expensive hotel. We would feel comfortable staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate twice at Alexander the Great, a small restaurant within a short walk. Good salads and local dishes, the staff is very friendly, and service is good.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mosta
Business
miami
20 Feb 2012

Well located

near everything! Friendly staff. Clean and very cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mosta
Business
miami
14 Feb 2012

great

just great. centraly located, easy access to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
christinapple1974
Business
Denver, CO, USA
6 Nov 2011

“Excellent choice in the heart of Athens”

We stayed at Rio Hotel Athens for three nights at the end of an island hopping holiday back in September. We had caught the night ferry into town and found the hotel really easy to find wioth it's central location close to the metro station "Metaxourghio". The hotel staff we're very helpful and accommodating with our early check-in and directions on how to get around the city and the best events happening during our short stay. The rooms were of a very good standard and were great value for money. The restaurant out in yard really is great and we spent the early evening there on both nights were we had delicius Greek dishes. We really enjoyed our stay at the Rio Hotel Athens and would certainly recommend it to any of our friends planning a trip to Athens. The central location is perfect for any visitor but especially those only staying for a short time with close proximity to the Acropolis area and other sites of Athens. Christina Applegate Denver, CO, USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Acropolis, National Archaiological Museum, Flea market, Psiri and Gazi nightlife areas.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annfran1987
Business
Talahassee,FL
17 May 2011

Great location...!!, Wonderful Hotel.!!!

I stayed at the Hotel Rio Athens –metro station Metaxourghio-for a week in May 2011 and enjoyed both the hotel and the experience of Athens in the less busy spring season. My triple room was very comfortable, well furnished, spotlessly clean and with a spacious, modern bathroom. What you see on the hotel website is what you get. Overall, great money value. The hotel also has a terrace with even better views. The hotel is well located in the citycenter next to the metro station - also called Metaxourghio - with cafes, shops, pharmacies, banks etc nearby. I particularly enjoyed two meals at hotel restaurant - its delicious modern Greek and Italian food was more interesting than the tourist-oriented places. The area is interesting and safe, with lots of people out strolling until late. From the hotel, you can walk to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, Omonia square and Syntagma square and the main shopping areas within minutes.The night life area PSIRI and GAZI are very close too. All the hotel staff I encountered were friendly and very helpful. The room was very well serviced and the hotel breakfast was excellent. The Hotel Rio Athens management and all its staff deserve congratulations. . The hotel also conducts tours and trips in and around the city for visitors. We will be back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night life area PSIRI and GAZI are very close .

Back to menu Return to top