£31.99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Dec 2014 Check-out 22 Dec 2014

Rio Hotel Athens

3 stars
13 Odysseos Str. Karaiskaki, --, Athens, 10436
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
greek adventure

nice hotel that is very handy to metro system so travel from airport to hotel within an hour with a... See full review

  • sports tourist
  • 18 Oct 2014
“Fabulous Hotel in heart of the city”

Me and my five friends we have just returned from a long weekend in Athens and would very much... See full review

  • T.Y.
  • 15 Mar 2014
Hotel RIO Athens is located in the center of Athens, on the quiet pedestrian street of the Karaiskaki square, next the subway station METAXOURGHIO and quite near the international railway station. It is 1 Km away from the Syntagma sq,from plaka and Akropolis area,25 minutes drive from the Athens international airport and 15 minutes from the port of PIREAUS by subway.RIO is a beautiful neoclassical building entirely restored, blending every modern convenience with the classical aesthetic. The hotel rooms are welcoming and fitted out with air-conditioning, personal bath or shower, satellite TV, mini bar, hairdryer, direct dial phone with the aim of your complete comfort. There is also at the ground floor CAFE -BAR and restaurant.The hotel is open 12 months a year.

Rio Hotel Athens Rooms

Double/Twin Room
Double/Twin Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.
SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers 1 single bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.
TRIPPLE - ROOM
Triple Room offers 1 double bed + single bed or 3 single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.
FAMILY - ROOM
Family Room offers 1 double bed + 2 single beds or 4 single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Iron/Ironing board, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rio Hotel Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.9852 23.7196
Area served
Athens center.
Nearby airports
Athens international airport.
Area description
Hotel RIO Athens is located in the center of Athens, on the quiet pedestrian street of the Karaiskaki square, next the subway station METAXOURGHIO and quite near the international railway station. It is 1 Km away from the Syntagma sq, a 25 minutes drive from the Athens international airport and 15 minutes from the port of PIREAUS by subway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.4 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Agora: 0.7 mi
  • Parthenon: 1 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 1.1 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 1.1 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 1.2 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 1.2 mi
  • Erechtheion: 1.2 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 1.6 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.7 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.8 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.4 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Agora: 0.7 mi
  • Parthenon: 1 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 1.1 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 1.1 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 1.2 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 1.2 mi
  • Erechtheion: 1.2 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 1.6 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.7 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.8 mi
  • Railway Service: 3.7 mi
  • Kifissias avenue: 4.5 mi
  • Daphni Monastery: 4.7 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 5.4 mi

Dining

The Bar-Restaurant
The Bar-Restaurant, at the ground floor, is the ideal place to relax enjoying drinks, food and pleasant music. It serves many kinds of drinks and Greek specialties until well after midnight.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Rio Hotel Athens

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marion Freeman
Business
Santa Monica,California
15 Nov 2012

"Great location, staff and hotel!!"

Hotel Rio Athens, is a great hotel located in the city centre of Athens, within walking distance to all archeological sites of interests and next to the metro station ’’ Metaxourghio’’ . In the hotel we stayed from 2nd to 5th of November 2012 with another couple from Chicago . We all enjoyed our stay and had good time day and night. The rooms were very clean, spacious with care and character .The breakfast was very nice and the service was excellent .Always with a nice smile on their face , ready to help you on each way.Excellent value for money, we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Greece!! Marion Freeman Santa Monica,CA,USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akapa86
Business
San Antonio, California
6 Jun 2012

A little outdated

The hotel was in a great location, because it was literally visible as we walked out of the metro station. We loved the location. Although it was notnear the city center (or we havent discovered what was nearby), the hotel was on the same metro line as Acropolis and within maybe 3 or 4 stops. We loved the accessibility of it. When it comes to the hotel itself, however, it looked great on the outside, but was fairly run down on the inside. The elevtar was oldschool, the chip card key didnt work, so we were given just a normal key, the AC did not work, and the shower water drained very slowly, so that it started overflowing in the middle of the shower. As for a place to stay though it was clean and oferred free breakfast and, most importantly, it is so close to the metro, you cant do much better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the main metro station. Dont need a car or a taxi.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomEl
Business
London
18 May 2012

Excellent Hotel!!

The Hotel Rio Athens was very clean and in an excellent location. It was literally only a few minutes walk from the metro station ‘’Metaxourghio’’ and we get there very easy. Also quick and cheap access to all the major attractions Acropolis, Plaka, Museums etc. The room was clean, quiet and nicely decorated. The breakfast was excellent with a good choices. The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were all absolutely charming and very helpful. They was equally helpful in finding us the best deal for a sightseeing bus tour of the city. If we were in Athens again we would certainly be happy to use this hotel Rio again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Traveling Family
Business
Germany
22 Feb 2012

Budget Conscious Choice

A comfortable hotel with a convenient location to the red-line metro; not luxury or fancy, but it is clean and safe enough. The photos seemed to match the room in appearance. Street noise is a little loud, but did not keep us awake. We picked it based on price and it was agreeable (but we have lived and travelled in Africa). A solid pick for the budget minded but do not expect the small extras normally found at a more expensive hotel. We would feel comfortable staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate twice at Alexander the Great, a small restaurant within a short walk. Good salads and local dishes, the staff is very friendly, and service is good.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mosta
Business
miami
20 Feb 2012

Well located

near everything! Friendly staff. Clean and very cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mosta
Business
miami
14 Feb 2012

great

just great. centraly located, easy access to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
christinapple1974
Business
Denver, CO, USA
6 Nov 2011

“Excellent choice in the heart of Athens”

We stayed at Rio Hotel Athens for three nights at the end of an island hopping holiday back in September. We had caught the night ferry into town and found the hotel really easy to find wioth it's central location close to the metro station "Metaxourghio". The hotel staff we're very helpful and accommodating with our early check-in and directions on how to get around the city and the best events happening during our short stay. The rooms were of a very good standard and were great value for money. The restaurant out in yard really is great and we spent the early evening there on both nights were we had delicius Greek dishes. We really enjoyed our stay at the Rio Hotel Athens and would certainly recommend it to any of our friends planning a trip to Athens. The central location is perfect for any visitor but especially those only staying for a short time with close proximity to the Acropolis area and other sites of Athens. Christina Applegate Denver, CO, USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Acropolis, National Archaiological Museum, Flea market, Psiri and Gazi nightlife areas.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annfran1987
Business
Talahassee,FL
17 May 2011

Great location...!!, Wonderful Hotel.!!!

I stayed at the Hotel Rio Athens –metro station Metaxourghio-for a week in May 2011 and enjoyed both the hotel and the experience of Athens in the less busy spring season. My triple room was very comfortable, well furnished, spotlessly clean and with a spacious, modern bathroom. What you see on the hotel website is what you get. Overall, great money value. The hotel also has a terrace with even better views. The hotel is well located in the citycenter next to the metro station - also called Metaxourghio - with cafes, shops, pharmacies, banks etc nearby. I particularly enjoyed two meals at hotel restaurant - its delicious modern Greek and Italian food was more interesting than the tourist-oriented places. The area is interesting and safe, with lots of people out strolling until late. From the hotel, you can walk to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, Omonia square and Syntagma square and the main shopping areas within minutes.The night life area PSIRI and GAZI are very close too. All the hotel staff I encountered were friendly and very helpful. The room was very well serviced and the hotel breakfast was excellent. The Hotel Rio Athens management and all its staff deserve congratulations. . The hotel also conducts tours and trips in and around the city for visitors. We will be back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night life area PSIRI and GAZI are very close .

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annfran1987
Business
Talahassee, FL
11 May 2011

Beautiful hotel, great Location!!!

Our stay in the Hotel Rio Athens did only left us feeling satisfied. This lovely place is located in the city center of Athens in the quiet neighborhood of "Metaxourghio" close to the metro station and also close to all local attractions . The buillding, which is neoclassical in taste, has been restored with all the possible modern amenities. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and the décor, simplistic.The restaurant and bar serve lovely greek and Italian food, brilliant café and refreshing drinks and cocktails .The breakfast is purely continental to suit everybody's tastes. The staff is welcoming and helpful and also extremely knowledgeable. From the hotel, you can walk to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, Omonia square and Syntagma square and the main shopping areas within minutes.The night life area PSIRI and GAZI are very close too. The hotel also conducts tours and trips in and around the city for visitors. We will sure prefer this hotel again for any future stay in Athens!!! Marissa Ann Franklin Talahassee,FL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maryn Kerr
Business
Adelaide, Australia
2 Oct 2010

worst three star I've stayed in

Simply the worst three star I've stayed at. The staff were rude, lazy, and often lied about things or tried to blame other guests. Everything turned off or broken and no apologies or attempt to fix things. Instead they would lie or insist everything was okay and it was somehow our (or other guests) fault. The amenities that award three stars didn't work or were turned off - the tv, fridge, aircon (and it was very warm - hence had to open windows and sleep through the noise and light). They refused to look at the aircon insisting it was cool enough not to need it. We just had to laugh at it all. We've stayed all over the world and been in worse - but generally you get what you pay for. We're easy going but I couldn't not write about this place. We found better, friendlier, and cheaper accomadation much closer to the acropolis. This area is noisy, dirty, and not a nice walking area at all. The positives - aside from shower grime, broken toilet seat, and broken floor tiles in the bedroom, it was generally clean. The breakfast is okay. Could not possibly recommend anything other than to stay away. Do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top