£31.59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 13 Aug 2015 Check-out 14 Aug 2015

Rio Hotel Athens

3 stars
View map of 13 Odysseos Str. Karaiskaki, --, Athens, 10436

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rio Hotel Athens

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Traveling Family
Business
Germany
22 Feb 2012

Budget Conscious Choice

A comfortable hotel with a convenient location to the red-line metro; not luxury or fancy, but it is clean and safe enough. The photos seemed to match the room in appearance. Street noise is a little loud, but did not keep us awake. We picked it based on price and it was agreeable (but we have lived and travelled in Africa). A solid pick for the budget minded but do not expect the small extras normally found at a more expensive hotel. We would feel comfortable staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate twice at Alexander the Great, a small restaurant within a short walk. Good salads and local dishes, the staff is very friendly, and service is good.

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mosta
Business
miami
20 Feb 2012

Well located

near everything! Friendly staff. Clean and very cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mosta
Business
miami
14 Feb 2012

great

just great. centraly located, easy access to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maryn Kerr
Business
Adelaide, Australia
2 Oct 2010

worst three star I've stayed in

Simply the worst three star I've stayed at. The staff were rude, lazy, and often lied about things or tried to blame other guests. Everything turned off or broken and no apologies or attempt to fix things. Instead they would lie or insist everything was okay and it was somehow our (or other guests) fault. The amenities that award three stars didn't work or were turned off - the tv, fridge, aircon (and it was very warm - hence had to open windows and sleep through the noise and light). They refused to look at the aircon insisting it was cool enough not to need it. We just had to laugh at it all. We've stayed all over the world and been in worse - but generally you get what you pay for. We're easy going but I couldn't not write about this place. We found better, friendlier, and cheaper accomadation much closer to the acropolis. This area is noisy, dirty, and not a nice walking area at all. The positives - aside from shower grime, broken toilet seat, and broken floor tiles in the bedroom, it was generally clean. The breakfast is okay. Could not possibly recommend anything other than to stay away. Do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
22 Jun 2009

Noisy and disappointing

Noisy and disappointing The location is good. The site is under construction. The room is small. How small is it? The room is so tiny that you can hardly place the suitcase next to your bed. The bathroom has a tiny shower. You need to pull your stomach in to fit in the curtain. At night there were banging noises … We were disappointed that the hotel did not live up to its advertising info: there was No satellite T.V. (only Greek Chanels) and the hairdryer was not in the room. (You could get it on request from the reception). The breakfast included was O.K.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
2 May 2009

Eh.

The first room we were given was separated from the other, the shower was gross, no safe, and the door didn't function correctly. We asked to be changed and we were moved to another room. It was with the other rooms and the shower was a little better. Overall the room is unpleasant to be in but the staff is nice enough. The metro ride to the Acropolis isn't far. I wouldn't say walking distance by any means though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top