£35.29 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 11 May 2016 Check-out 12 May 2016

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

4 stars
View map of No.8 Wing Hing Street, Causeway Bay, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sanella
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
10 May 2010

OK but be careful with extra charges

Liked the hotel but the extra charges were confusing when inquired about them at check-in. Durring check-in I specifically asked about internet access and was told it was included in rate. They have a nice interface system with the TV to check your bill while through your stay which always said a zero balance but when I checked out they tried to charge me 3 days rates for internet. I made a big stink about this with their manager and they adjusted to show good faith but just be aware that the staff is not always on the same page with you when you ask a question. It was not a language problem since the staff understood my question very well when asked. Other than that the hotel was nice and a great price and very comfortable and affordable for a three night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Subway stop (Tin Hau) is very close but last train is around 12:40am so plan accordingly.

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
U.S.A.
2 Feb 2010

Good Value for Money

Lobby too small, no sitting area. Spa not open to hotel guests, do not know why. A very busy hotel, because of good price, I think. Housekeeping service needs improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles, CA
24 Jan 2010

Staffs have no integrity, they steal!

I understand that you can never trust anyone who is working for the hotel, so I secured all my valuable belongings in the safe and everything seemed okay. I placed my diamond-like cubic zirconia ring in my messenger bag which I left in the hotel room during the day. The next day I found out the ring was missing. Even though the ring costs me only $17 USD, the fact that the hotel staffs went through my stuff inside the messenger bag really bothered me. No, I did not call the police or made a complaint, because I believe that nothing will happen and I will never recover the ring. If you really have no other choices and need to stay with this hotel, make sure you secure or bring all belongings you can't afford to lose with you. Speaking about the hotel room, the bathroom was so small and not very clean. There were [*] hair on the floor, the carpet has stains everywhere, the shower door knob fell off, the bathroom was flooded after 15 mins of shower (water leaked from inside the shower through the glass shower door). Everything in the room was so cheap that you could never imagine you were staying in a so-called "four star" hotel. Oh yeah, and you can forget about internet access, they charge you $120 HKD ($15.5 USD) for broadband internet access per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ouseppachan
Single
Chicago
3 Dec 2009

Good location

This hotel is in a good location but rooms are small,clean and new.Victoria park and Library is very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Seattle, WA
31 Oct 2009

Hong Kong trip 10/2009

The hotel is very new (about 6 months old) and spotless. It's only a few minute walk from the Tin Hau MRT station. The rooms are on the small side for more than one person. Beware of the shower being "in" the room. You can see across to the toilet, so you have to be fairly comfortable with who you are traveling with. There is limited counter space, which may pose an issue for more than one person or somebody who has a lot of toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle.
28 Oct 2009

City garden hotel

reasonable price and good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago, IL
8 Jul 2009

A good location for the reasonable price

The hotel offers good prices, and in a good location on HK Island. Did not use the restaurant, because of the number or restaurants in the vicinity. Staff was very helpful, readily found time to assist with amy problems or requests. Only down side was no business center, i.e., you need to bring own lap top and pay for internet services in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top