£86.22 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 23 Apr 2015 Check-out 24 Apr 2015

Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

5 stars
View map of 193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon Hong Kong, Hong Kong,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hanuman
Business
San Diego
19 Feb 2014

Excellent hotel

Located in north-central Kowloon, the Royal Plaza is a quick 10 minute taxi from the cruise terminal and 30 to 40 minutes from the airport, which is now on Lantau Island. This hotel underwent a total renovation two years ago and is now has a sleek, ultra-modern look. Except for the lobby, the place is quiet, subdued, with a spa-like feeling. The rooms are loaded with multi-toned grey marble and smoked glass. Security is excellent with chip imbedded key-cards. Restaurants are excellent, especially the breakfast buffet, which at $ 20 US per day was not cheap, but it filled us up for the entire day. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at, and compares with the Kampinsky line of hotels. It is attached to an up-scale mulit-level mall which has an excellent food court offering less expensive dining with mutli-Asian specialties, and below the mall is a metro entrance. We loved the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bird market right across the street. Fun to stroll through.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WandC Family
Business
New York
23 Jan 2014

Stay in Hong Kong

The rooms were large for Hong Kong, especially the bathroom. There was an outside pool and jacuzzi, we didn't have time to use them but many guests did. The location is excellent, it's connected with an MTR station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HK Expat Steve
Business
Texas
8 Jan 2014

A Very Pleasant and Comfortable Hotel Experience

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The location provided easy access to central areas of Hong Kong and Kowloon as well as the New Territories, and is right next to the city's subway network. There is also a large shopping mall next door. Hotel staff were friendly and the cleaning service was excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good and is more like breakfast, lunch, and dinner rolled into one. A special rate for it was offered and was good value, compared to the advertised breakfast buffet rate. If you really take advantage of it you can fill up at breakfast and eat light for the rest of the day, although given the great dining that Hong Kong offers you will probably want to experience that as well. The rooms are nicely furnished with well maintained and appointed furniture. Although the room I stayed in was not so wide, it was still comfortable. The only annoyance I had was the smell of cigarette smoke from a nearby room, even though it should be a smoke-free area. Overall I found this to be a very solid 4.25 star hotel and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Flower Market and Bird Market which can be reached right across the street from the north side of the hotel.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hong Kong Newbie
Business
Seattle, WA
20 Dec 2013

Great hotel and location

Stayed there with my spouse and 2 kids (ages 2 & 5). We were one the 10th floor and Wifi worked great,. Construction during the middle of the day wasn't bad even when we slept in and didn't leave the hotel until early afternoon. Convenient access to the mall, Mong Kok East subway station and within 10 mins to Mong Kok station. Convenient access to most of the major markets (fish, ladies, sports, electronics and flower). Only downside is not including breakfast with our reservation, but with a McDonalds at the mall it was easy to grab something to eat in the mornings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dorra
Business
Ms. St
8 Dec 2013

Family

Overall was good except the efficiency of the check in and check out service were very slow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nightingale
Business
Uk
4 Dec 2013

Royal Plaza hotel Hong Kong - November 2013

We had free internet included with our room package but the internet was very slow. Rooms standards not quite a five star hotel, and we had problems with our tv twice during our stay, though they did fix it promptly both times. The service was very good and the staff were very nice and friendly. There were still refurbishments going on at the time of our stay and the pool was not ready for use. When making the booking we knew the hotel was being refurbished but they mentioned that this would be finished by end of October which wasn't the case and our stay was mid November.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JD for business
Business
Florida
10 Nov 2013

Taxi travel

The hotel is close to a lot of things but if you need to travel out to the island you will need to consider the traffic and toll tunnels/bridges, rush hour traffic like any big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Name brand Shopping is right there and local fan fare is just a short walk away.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iJimmy
Business
Toronto, Canada
12 Oct 2013

Good

I like this hotel, will visit next time, have a wonderful time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familyppl
Business
united kingdom
23 Sep 2013

very comfortable and friendly staffs

me and my family, we stayed at royal plaza hotel for a week. staffs were very helpful and friendly and also the location is perfect for shoppers as there is a shopping mall next to the hotel and it is also close to street markets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honda jazz
Business
london
2 Mar 2013

Value for Money

Very nice renovated room and good location. This hotel is connected with shopping centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to Mongkok area

Back to menu Return to top