£81.65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 3 Aug 2014 Check-out 5 Aug 2014

The Kowloon Hotel

4 stars
19-21 Nathan Road, Hong Kong, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
94 reviews
Fantastic to go around kowlong

We are going to take a rest in Hong Kong in the weekend, and this hotel is perfect in the... See full review

  • Brazilian girl at China
  • 1 Aug 2013
Great stay

Our second time at this hotel. Was just as good as the first time. See full review

  • Bernda
  • 17 Jul 2013
Business class hotel in a first-class Kowloon locale

The Kowloon Hotel's excellent location makes it a clear choice for travelers who wish to forego the indulgence of neighboring luxury hotels. Near the harborfront, the hotel is well-placed for accessing points in Kowloon and Hong Kong Island via MTR and ferries. Concierge and secretarial services, wireless broadband Internet throughout the hotel and a fully-equipped business center cater to business travelers. Accommodations are modest and contemporary.

Highlights
  • Terrific location set back from the waterfront with immediate access to MTR
  • Walk to Kowloon museums, Tsim Sha Tsui shopping and Star Ferry
  • Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The property boasts of 736 spacious and elegant rooms with contemporary furnishings, plush amenities and a tranquil ambiance. Angled windows in standard rooms create an airy nook for a desk and work space. Simple, contemporary design matches the modest space of these rooms. High-speed wireless Internet is standard for all rooms. Upgrading to harborview rooms or suites includes entry into the executive club.

Features

Think business class with a top-notch location. Guests who don't mind doing without extraneous luxuries appreciate the comfort and amenities of the Kowloon. For the business traveler, the Harbour Club Lounge on the 17th floor offers executive club benefits in a small, cozy setting with city views. Harbour club rooms and suites also enjoy complimentary in-room Wi-Fi. A buffet breakfast fortifies guests for the day ahead, while the Cantonese and dim sum restaurant, Loong Yat Heen, provides a venue for business meals in private dining rooms. Though the hotel does not have a fitness center or pool, complimentary shuttle service transports guests to a sister property in Hung Hom which has both (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Star Ferry (5-minute walk)
  • Hong Kong International Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Access to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station directly beside hotel entrance
Attractions
  • Hong Kong Space Museum (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Hong Kong Museum of Art (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • 1881 Heritage (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Chungking Mansions (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Avenue of the Stars (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Harbour City (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Kowloon Park (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Hong Kong Cultural Centre (.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Lobby business center open daily, with international courier and secretarial services
  • Wireless broadband Internet access throughout hotel
  • Two function rooms offer a total of 1,023 square feet
Policies and Fees
  • Limousine transfer for a maximum of four people per trip is available for $650 HKD.
  • There will be a $150 HKD fee for the Health Club YMCA Fitness Center and swimming pool located opposite the hotel.
  • Airport shuttle costs $140 HKD per trip per person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Kowloon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Streamlined guest rooms are outfitted with a double bed or two single beds for a maximum of two adults. They are situated on higher floors where guests can enjoy a complete level of serenity. In-room facilities have Wireless/broadband internet access with charge, tea/coffee maker, safe deposit box, voice mail.
Club Deluxe Rooms
- High speed wireless broadband Internet access with full VPN support - Executive work desk - LCD television with satellite and radio channels - Two telephones with voicemail - International direct dial telephone - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Fully stocked mini-bar - In-room El-safe - Individual thermostat control - Hair dryer - In-room massage and beauty treatments - Personalised check-in and check-out service at Harbour Club Lounge
Club Superior Room
- High speed wireless broadband Internet access with full VPN support - Executive work desk - LCD television with satellite and radio channels - Two telephones with voicemail - International direct dial telephone - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Fully stocked mini-bar - In-room El-safe - Individual thermostat control - Hair dryer - In-room massage and beauty treatments - Personalised check-in and check-out service at Harbour Club Lounge
Superior Room
Streamlined guest rooms are outfitted with a double bed or two single beds for a maximum of two adults. They are all well-equipped to make it a home-away-from-home for our valued guests. In-room facilities have Wireless/broadband internet access with charge, tea/coffee maker, safe deposit box, voice mail.
Harbour View Room
- Overlook a stunning partial Victoria harbor view - High speed wireless broadband Internet access with full VPN support - Executive work desk - LCD television with satellite and radio channels - Two telephones with voicemail - International direct dial telephone - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Fully stocked mini-bar - In-room El-safe Individual thermostat control - Hair dryer - In-room massage and beauty treatments

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Kowloon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.2958 114.1718
Area served
Hong Kong / Kowloon
Nearby airports
Hong Kong International Airport: Transportation Arrangement between Airport and Hotel - Limousine transfer is at HK$650 for maximum 4 persons per trip - Coach transfer is at HK$130 per person per trip
Area description
Southern- Stanley Main Street, Islands- Giant Buddha, Tai Po- Lookout tower in the Tai Po Waterfront Park, Wan Chai- Expo Promenade, Wong Tai Sin- Wong Tai Sin Temple, Jordan- Temple Street, Central- Peak Tower, Kowloon City- Kowloon Walled City Park, Kwai Tsing- Tsing Ma Bridgo.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jordan: 0.6 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.8 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.8 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Street: 0.8 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 1 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 1 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Central Piers: 1.1 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Jordan: 0.6 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.8 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.8 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Street: 0.8 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 1 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 1 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Central Piers: 1.1 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Airport Express: 1.2 mi
  • Exchange Square: 1.2 mi
  • Yau Ma Tei Station: 1.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Statue Square: 1.2 mi
  • Admiralty: 1.2 mi
  • World Wide House: 1.3 mi
  • Central Station: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 1.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Central Market: 1.3 mi
  • The Landmark: 1.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 1.4 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • North Point: 1.4 mi
  • Victoria Park: 1.4 mi
  • Ice House: 1.4 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 1.5 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 1.5 mi
  • Western Market: 1.5 mi
  • SoHo: 1.5 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 1.6 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 1.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 1.6 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 1.6 mi
  • Sai Yeung Choi Street: 1.7 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 1.7 mi

Dining

Loong Yat Heen
Loong Yat Heen presents authentic dim sum and a whole range of Chinese delicacies
Coffee Corner
Coffee Corner redefines leisure dining experience in the town featuring its high quality Italian illy Coffee and comfy ambience. The sophisticated Coffee Corner features floor-to-ceiling windows for an exceptional dining adventure. Offering an extensive selection of freshly brewed coffees with an all-day sandwiches and crpes menu, Coffee Corner is an ideal place for a relaxing break after a day of hectic works.
The Middle Row Bar
The Middle Row Bar is in modern and chic decor, a perfect place for friends or business associates to get together for drinks, snacks and casual gatherings with the exquisite wines and beverage selections.
The Window Cafe
The Window Cafe is renowned for its 66-meter long buffet table, offering sumptuous international buffet and la carte menu

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for The Kowloon Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
2 Jun 2009

The room is very very small and dirty

The room is very very small and run down. The carpet is very dirty. We are forced to pay $30 to "upgrade" to a room with cleaner carpet. This hotel is way over rated. This is in no way a 4 star hotel. I would give it a 2 star max

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
2 Jun 2009

The room is very very small and dirty

The room is very very small and run down. The carpet is very dirty. We are forced to pay $30 to "upgrade" to a room with cleaner carpet. This hotel is way over rated. This is in no way a 4 star hotel. I would give it a 2 star max

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AriLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
11 Mar 2013

Cruise ship sized rooms, but on land!

If you've ever wanted to feel like you were on a cruise without leaving the comfort of land, try the Kowloon Hotel. I've stayed in several hotels in Hong Kong and this one had by far the smallest rooms. They were unreasonably small, with tiny bathrooms to go with it. If you have to get out of the way to have room to open the door, your hotel rooms are too small. I booked a stay in the executive floor to get free breakfasts and access to the executive lounge so we could get out of the room a bit, but the lounge was just as small. When putting on my jacket and lifting my hands over my head my hands hit the ceiling, I'm 6 feet tall and it was extremely tight everywhere we went. The only good side to the hotel was its decent location, not waterfront but close enough. I wouldn't stay here again but if I had to I wouldn't pay for lounge access, I'd just be out of the hotel as much as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ned Kellys a five minute walk is a good place for a burger and beer and live music.

Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
South San Francis, CA
13 Jul 2008

Run down hotel with ceiling that collapsed

I will start with the positive. This hotel is in an excellent location. Now the bad to the ugly. The room is tiny. I have been in cramped quarters in NYC and Paris, which are huge compared to this room. The rooms are stained. Not dirty, just old and stained. They need new carpets. The bathroom needs to be repainted. But the capper in my stay was that the ceiling in the bathroom fell down while I was taking a shower, exposing the moldy pipes. Then I had to hassle with the front desk to switch rooms. They immediatly claimed no other rooms were available, then said I was just trying to get a bigger room. After much hollering (not the best way to get what you need, but I was very frustrated), and visits from two different hotel staff, the manager finally realized I was not lying. The ceiling had collapsed. Probably due to the large (1.75 Liter) bottle of vodka that had been stored in the ceiling on top of the panel that collapsed. Guess one of the hotel staff needed to store the booze somewhere, and my bathroom turned out to be the lucky spot. Ended up in the same room on another floor. Maybe it is just me, but I would have expected to get a night comped or at least moved up a class in room, but I did not push the issue as it was late and I just wanted to take another shower to get rid of all the stuff that had fallen on me and go to bed. I have no qualms in saying I would never come back to this hotel. Even thought the location is excellent, the service is substandard and I felt I overpaid for what I received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The harbor is a short walk away. Tons of restaurants and shoppings malls are as close as across the street.

Back to menu Return to top