£57.92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Aug 2014 Check-out 1 Sep 2014

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
116 reviews
Thanksgiving in Dublin

Great location for wandering around Dublin and seeing the sites. The staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Bob 7 Rick
  • 4 Dec 2013
Nice Place

The Arlington is conveniently located on the edge of the Temple Bar entertainment precinct so there... See full review

  • Outbackwest
  • 7 Oct 2013
Spend a foot-tapping, pint-pulling night in Temple Bar

The Arlington Hotel Temple Bar enjoys an excellent location near the city's bustling cultural district and opposite the architecturally historic Dublin Castle. Walk to Dublin's major attractions, plus shopping and nightlife. The Arlington's beautiful building houses 63 rooms and Legends, a renovated bar and restaurant where guests crowd the unique pull-your-own-pint-of-Guinness tables. The bar also promises traditional entertainment with a nightly Irish Nights, music and dancing show. Comfortable rooms overlook the city, some with views of Dublin Castle.

Highlights
  • Located opposite the gates of Dublin Castle and next to the city's Temple Bar area
  • Guests try their hand at pouring a pint of Guinness at the hotel's unique Guinness tables
  • Hotel bar provides traditional Irish music and dance every night
Rooms

All of the hotel's 63 tastefully decorated rooms are en-suite and come with TV, tea and coffee station, trouser press and iron. Bathrooms have power shower and hairdryer. Guests can also make use of work desk, telephone and free Wi-Fi service. Some rooms offer views of nearby Dublin Castle. The hotel offers rooms for disabled guests.

Features

Although the hotel's tourist-friendly location is steps from Dublin's central nightlife district, guests may be tempted to stay at the hotel for evening entertainment. The lively Legends bar and restaurant offers the best in local entertainment with nightly music and dance shows, plus pull-your-own-pint tables. Retire to comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. The hotel is completely non-smoking and offers facilities for guests with disabilities. Free Wi-Fi service is available in all rooms.

Transportation
  • Hotel parking lot nearby (fees apply)             
  • Aircoach service nearby
  • Dublin bus service nearby
Attractions
  • Dublin Castle
  • Temple Bar
  • Christchurch Cathedral
  • Trinity College
  • St Patrick's Cathedral
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • Chester Beatty Library
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
Business
  • Conference and meeting room holds up to 25 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Work desk, Wi-Fi and telephone in every room

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar Rooms

Double
Room offers a double or a twin bed with amenities like Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board - On Request, Kettle, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.

Amenities

  • High speed internet
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arlington Hotel Temple Bar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3441 -6.2678
Area served
Dublin 2
Nearby airports
Dublin International airport.
Area description
From Trinity College: Stand with your back to the front gate of Trinity. The street across from you is Dame Street (the Central Bank is on your RHS). Walk for about 5 minutes up Dame Street the hotel is on your right, opposite Dublin Castle. From BUSARAS (Central Bus Station): Cross the river at the bridge at the top of Amiens Street, which is at the opposite side to the exit of the bus station, the Ulster BAnk building will be in front of you, turn right and follow the River Liffey to O'Connell Bridge, turn left here and at Trinity College turn right and hotel is 5 minutes up the road opposite the gates of Dublin Castle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Fishamble Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Betty Newman Sculpture: 0.1 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.1 mi
  • The Ark: 0.1 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.1 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.1 mi
  • Wood Quay: 0.1 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.1 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Dublinia: 0.2 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.2 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Four Courts: 0.3 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Audoen's Church: 0.3 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.3 mi
  • College Green: 0.3 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Father Mathew Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.3 mi
  • Marsh's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Antique Quarter Francis Street: 0.4 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel is delighted to invite guests and Dubliners alike to savour the mouthwatering offerings in its newly refurbished Bar & Restaurant called Legends. Legends Bar now offers visitors the chance to "Pull Your Own Pint" at the specially designed tables in Legends Bar. Each night, commencing at 7:30pm, Legends Bar comes alive with music, song and dance at the legendary Irish Dancing Nights. Visitors can relax and enjoy a spectacular Irish Dancing Show and Three Course Evening Meal for an unbelievable 29.95.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kempnerd
Ann Arbor, Michigan
7 Jun 2013

Good location, basic accommodations

My stay was OK, but the room was a little seedy and no real atmosphere. Dark too, since it backed onto an alley. The staff, however, was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was convenient and satisfied my (rather basic) needs. Small, dark and a little weird bathroom, also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aging traveller
Business
Washington, DC
4 Jun 2013

good value

Very helpful staff. My only criticism is that they could use a clock radio in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spot
Uk
26 Feb 2013

Dublin weekend

Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a lovely 3course meal and Irish night in the bar. Location is brilliant 10 minutes from grafton street and temple bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doesitreallymatter
Belgium
16 Feb 2013

great location

The location is really great. Just opposite from Dublin Castle and Christchurch Cathedral + Dublinia, few minutes walk to Trinity College, 10-15 min walk to the Dart station, shopping on O'Connell street. The Airlink bus stops right in front of the hotel and goes every 15 minutes, which is very convenient. Of course, with the great location comes some noise. We had a streetside room, so noise was inevitable, which could be a problem when you're a light sleeper. Breakfast was not included in the price so we didn't eat in the hotel but that's not a problem because there are so many options (and cheaper) just around the corner. Amenities were fine - twin room with single and double bed, kettle and complimentary tea in the room, bathtub, hairdryer, safety deposit box etc. Everything was clean even if maybe a little tired-looking. We went in February, so heating and warm water were important and both were perfectly adequate. The Irish dance show that takes place in the hotel bar every night at 9 is a very nice bonus and definitely worth seeing - you don't need to book a dinner table for that, can just sit in the bar and enjoy. Staff are all nice, check-in and check-out smooth. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dublin's best gems are just around the corner: Queen of Tarts cafe in Cow's Lane and Leo Burdock fish&chips across the street in Werburgh Street. Both are a must!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Primadonnita
Lakenheath, UK
1 Jan 2013

Great location

This hotel was situated right on the edge of the Temple Bar area of Dublin but also pretty central to several tourist destinations. Also, there is a Dublin Bus stand just outside which made getting around a cinch. The sightseeing buses also picked up right across the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those interested in both sights and nightlife. The staff were very friendly and courteous and the rooms were clean and offered all the basic amenities. The hotel restaurant offered a set 3 course dinner each night which we did not partake in. The only downside we found was that you can hear lots if activity and creaking from other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely invest in the Dublin bus freedom pass if you plan on staying more than one day. It was cost effective and included transport to and from airport. I would also recommend the Dublin pass for multiple day stay as it includes entry into almost every attraction in the city and you can go in once a day to each place ie you could visit Guinness storehouse every day of your trip with free entry. Great value in both of them and the bus stop is right next to the hotel!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GiVizz
Philadelphia, PA
10 Oct 2012

wonderful hotel

I had been in Dublin a few weeks earlier and stayed in a hostel and decided I wanted to treat myself for my return trip. I passed by this hotel many times while walking around Dublin and thought to myself "That place looks really nice; must be expensive". However when searching for hotels this one came up and was in my price range so I booked. The hotel itself is very nice, a little old inside, but so is everything in Dublin. The location is perfect, right on the edge of Temple Bar (the fun part of town) and near many of Dublin's sites as well (Just a few steps away from Christ Church Cathedral and Dublin Castle. And a short walk from both the Guinness Storehouse and Trinity College. Additionally, I happened to leave my purse on the airport bus when I got dropped off and realized it once I was about to walk into the hotel. So when I went into the hotel I was a crying mess. The staff were very kind and supportive and immediately helped me figure out how to try and get my purse back. Luckily I was able to get my purse back with the help of the lovely staff at The Artlington. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and stay here again myself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a free walking tour of Dublin everyday outside City Hall which is across the street and a few steps down from the Arlington. There's two tours every day at 11am and 1pm. Highly recommend going!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZachPete
World
1 Sep 2012

Great place

Great place to stay. We only had one night and the room was comfortable and clean. Staff seemed a little short with us. But they got the job done and would easily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends on walkabout...
Not Provided
26 Aug 2012

Great location

The location is great place to use as a base in Dublin. Public transport on the door step.. Ask for a room overlooking the back if you want sleep in this hotel... But if you plan to party most of the night its the ideal location to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus stop for the airport bus is just outside the hotel so its a great location for easy travel to the airport...

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Strom
Illinois
12 Aug 2012

Great location, neat place!

I booked this hotel because of its location. It was a perfect place to stay while we were in Dublin for 2 nights. The room was comfortable, we had our own bathroom, and the first floor bar/restaurant was really neat. At night, there is free Irish music and dancing, and the restaurant also provides a good breakfast in the morning. The room wasn't anything special, but it's what we expected. One of our mattresses was very comfortable, while one of them wasn't and there was no a/c, but there was a fan provided. Also note, because of the location, at night, the street can be quite noisy, but it didn't keep us up. Overall, if we went back to Dublin, we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Guinness Storehouse tour was amazing. Of all the things we did while in Europe, this is one of our favorite things. Enjoy!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeG
Shawnee, KS
13 Jul 2012

Great Dublin hotel

Hotel conveniently located at the edge of Temple Bar with easy walking to many Dublin sights. Great breakfast was included and hotel offers nightly Irish dancing show. Room was clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top