£62.82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Aug 2015 Check-out 3 Sep 2015

Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

3 stars
View map of Lord Edward Street,, Dublin 2 (opposite Dublin Castle), Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish Amy
Friends
Ludington, Michigan
24 Jul 2009

Great Stay

We had a fantastic 10 day stay at the Arlington Hotel Temple Bar. The staff there is fantastic and helped us with our many questions about where to go and how to get there, etc. The traditional Irish entertainment offered in their pub is excellent, and the location is perfect for walking almost anywhere you want to go in Dublin. In 10 days, we only took a taxi to the airport and once to Killmainham Gaol. Otherwise, we walked with no problem whatsoever. If you stay here, enjoy nightlife, and are older than say 30, however, I encourage you to try the pubs off of Grafton Street, rather than the closer Temple Bar area. What the Epcot Center is to worldwide travel, Temple Bar is to Irish pubs. Get the real deal down the street only a little further. My one wish was that it was quieter at night...lots of street noise from Dame Street/Lord Edward Street -- but if you're tired enough, you can drown it all out. It's worth the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two cafes within a block or so of the hotel called the Queen of Tarts (their older smaller location and their newer, larger location). The food here is EXCELLENT and inexpensive. Skip the hotel breakfast (which is not included in the price) and go see the Queen for the most amazing breakfast, lunch, coffee, and desserts.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Santa Monica, CA
6 Oct 2009

Great location and great value

This hotel fit my needs very well. The location is top notch (in the Temple Bar area), but the price isn't bad. My room was small, but I didn't mind since I basically just needed a bed and a roof over me. Staff was very helpful. It is worth noting that the bar downstairs is loud. I was on the first floor (second floor if you're American) and could sometimes hear the music below at night. Didn't bother me, but it's something to note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student travellers
Couples
New York, NY
23 Mar 2010

In the heart of Dublin

Spent two nights on the weekend following St. Patrick's Day. Great location near all the sights in central Dublin. Rooms were good-sized for Europe. Only downside was that the bed was missing a sheet the second night there and our request for a replacement sheet was fulfilled with a rough, cheap sheet that was too small for the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Copley, Ohio
9 Apr 2011

Great location

The hotel was as expected. Old but still nice and clean enough for my strict standards. It's walking distance from all the main attractions and close to many nice pubs. One thing to note is when booking through the [...]website the hotel recieves only limited info. They booked a standard room for two, but we had three people. The hotel was very accomodating and took care of us.Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can see the Dublinia exhibition and Christchurch Catherdral for a reduced cost when starting at the Dublinia exhibition. They are right next to each other a block to two from the hotel. Alas, we did not see this advertised and went in the wrong order. Had to pay full price for both.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Arlington, TX
10 Dec 2009

We would book again, great bargain

We have traveled extensively in Ireland and Scotland usually staying in 4* B&B's and this was a good bargain that I would recommend to others. Everything you could want in the way of food, entertainment, tours or transpiration is just outside the door, literally. We found the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating. The bed & pillows got a bit hard and uncomfortable after a couple of nights, but not uncommon for the area. I have paid lots more and had much worse. We were on 3rd floor back over the alley which was probably the quietest place to be in the building. Be prepared that the lifts may not work. Walls are thin and if you have loud neighbors, you will hear every word and every step they take. They offer a liquid bath soap/shampoo/conditioner combo, so take your own toiletries and travel size bar soap. Remember the UK and Ireland does not usually offer washcloths so through a few cheap ones you can leave behind in the suite case. We were there in December and found the rooms warm, didn't need the flannel PJs at all. Never used the heat and kept the window open except to close out the city noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

.5 mile walk to Grafton shopping

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Midwest
29 May 2009

Close to Everything!

Staff was very friendly and helpful, and we were within walking distance of most Dublin attractions. Also very close to several interesting restaurants and nightspots, as well as shopping. Since this is a busy area, anyone wanting complete quiet should go somewhere else. However, if you like being in the middle of all the excitement of Dublin, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
portland, oregon
22 Jun 2014

great value

I was very pleased. Like many places in Europe they do not have air conditioning, and it was rather hot humid humid. We kept the windows open all night, at least they did open. The best thing about Dublin is that there are plenty of taxi cabs at all hours of the day and night, it was really easy to get ourselves and our luggage transported. Chatting with Dublin cab drivers is great fun !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a super Lebanese restaurant nearby which is open late at night. Just walk 100 yards up Dawson street,.

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellen T.
Family
Rochester, NY
27 Jun 2014

short stay in Dublin

It was all around fine and the staff was great. It was hard to find and there was no parking but it was centrally located for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was near to everything we wanted to see!

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
albertanthony
Single
ny
16 Aug 2014

great location

bus from airport leaves u 1/2 block away from hotel. great location at a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurants in area

Review of Arlington Hotel Temple Bar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corrie F.
Friends
San Francisco
20 Apr 2015

Great Location

You can't beat the location! Walking distance to most of the sites, restaurants, bars, and bus stops. No frils hotel, but it did the trick. We felt safe and comfortable during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top