£40.31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 8 Feb 2015 Check-out 11 Feb 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
227 reviews
Our Stay in Dublin

My sister and I stayed here Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The hotel was a perfect location - two... See full review

  • Lady Mary
  • 29 Dec 2014
great girly days away

hotel was amazing for the price we paid we were all shocked how great hotel was keep up good workj See full review

  • the four wise monkeys
  • 30 Oct 2014
Prime location and excellent facilities, ideal for pleasure or business
The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel is a four-star hotel in the centre of Dublin city, just off O'Connell Street and close to galleries, shopping, and other attractions. The hotel has had a complete expansion, and now includes restaurants, a bar, and a lobby with three lifts. Room service, a 24-hour front desk, disabled facilities, restaurants, a health club, business centre, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet (some fees may apply) are also available on-site.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Walking distance to Dublin attractions, including galleries and shopping

  • Hotel has had a complete restoration and expansion

  • Sophisticated guest rooms, state-of-the-art facilities, and ideal location

Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms
There are 285 deluxe suites and bedrooms at the Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel. These include the Single, the Double, the Triple, and the Twin rooms. The guest rooms have a contemporary design and are finished to a high standard, with light wood furnishings. All guest rooms have a marble bathroom and hair-dryer. Other room amenities include tea and coffee facilities, safes, direct-dial telephones, complimentary wireless Internet (some fees may apply), LCD TV with cable service, and complimentary daily newspaper.
Things To Do:
  • Gate Theatre (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Garden of Remembrance (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

  • Abbey Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Bonnie
Business
Michigan
26 Sep 2010

Ideal location for walking Dublin

One block to the tourist center & all bus lines & tours. Easy to reach from the Airport. Staff was delightful. They checked our weary, jet lagged bodies in immediately upon our early arrival. Wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel breakfast is rather pricey buy Murrays around the corner on O'Connell Street is a treat.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom the dancing machine
Business
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
20 Sep 2010

Great Location

Enjoyed the proximity to all the tourist spots. The staff was very helpful. I enjoyed the fact that I could use a computer supplied by the hotel!! The restaurant in the hotel was fine and not expensive. Hope to bring my wife to this hotel in 2011. Tom Melchiorre Wildwood Crest, NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

fun shops and places to get gifts within walking distance from hotel. Hop on hop off bus good deal and across the street from hotel

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New World Traveler
Business
Atlanta, GA
18 Sep 2010

Highly Recommend!!!

This was a first trip to Dublin and I wasn't sure what to expect from the hotel or location. This couldn't have been a better pick. The room had plenty of room and we received an upgrade to a triple room with a double bed and a single bed. The room was very clean and quiet! The hotel staff was wonderful and very helpful with any questions we had about areas to eat or how to set up day tours. It was in a great location! Only about 10 min walk to Temple Bar area and about 5 min walk to the tourist center and had a hop on-hop off tour across the street. I'll definitely stay here again next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of pubs nearby where you can get an appetizer, entree, dessert and a pint for about 15 euros! Definitely get out and check out the pubs since most have live music every night. Best suggestion is to get out and make a left on O'Connell and just wander til you find something that sounds good! All the pub fare is wonderful!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norton Shores, Michigan
17 Sep 2010

A great find!

This hotel is a great location. We were able to walk out the door & right down O'Connell Street. We had a little difficulty finding the hotel but our GPS was very helpful. There wasn't parking at the hotel itself so we had to pay for a parking facility down the road. Our rooms were spacious and up to date decor. We enjoyed having the internet when we came in the main entrance. Would recommend and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street for shopping is a very short walk from the front door of the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norton Shores, MI
15 Sep 2010

Great location & hotel

Cannot say enough good about this hotel. It was a fabulous location. Very clean & comfortable. We totally enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crusader Dad
Business
Pennsylvania
8 Sep 2010

Excellent location, helpful staff

The price, location and the extreme helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was a major plus. This was our first trip to Dublin and the staff was very knowledgeable in advising us how to get around the city and various places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located in short proximity to all the busiest streets in Dublin.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Pete
Business
Detroit, Mi
1 Sep 2010

A great place to stay in Dublin.

We had great stay at the Best Western Academy Plaza. The hotel is located righ in downtown Dublin and is close to several restaurants, shops, and things to see. Also, the Doubledecker Tour Bus which we used to get around Dublin, loads just across the street from the hotel...very convenient. Also, we took advantage of the excellent Irish Breakfast that was offered in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a multiple-day bus ticket from the Doubledecker Tour Bus across from the hotel and use it to get around Dublin. It was very nominally priced, and it made 22 stops at all the shopping and tourist venues in Dublin. Once you bought a ticket, you could get on-or-off as many time as you wanted. It is a very convenient and pratical way to get around Dublin, and avoid having to drive around and fight for parking.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
29 Aug 2010

Good Stay

This hotel is very clean and we found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet. The location is very convenient with restaurants, pubs, shopping and sights nearby. We particularly appreciated the 2 free internet terminals in the lobby to help us book other stays and check emails. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many department stores and shopping nearby the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Eddie from Brooklyn
Business
Greenwood Lake, NY
27 Aug 2010

Great value for the money

The hotel rooms were clean, quiet and classy. Marble bathrooms,plenty of hot water and light. The hotel is 200 feet off O'Connell St and is across the street from the first stop for the Dublin Tour bus. The front desk staff were very helpful. On Parnell St. is a good restaurant called the Kingfisher...great fish and chips or a good steak fillet or serloin. The hotel bar was a good place for a nightcap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
12 Aug 2010

Nice location

The hotel was near the center of the city. You could easily walk around the heart of Dublin. We did request a non-smoking room and were not given one. Other than that, it was a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to the Temple Bar area.

Back to menu Return to top