£68.74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Aug 2015 Check-out 1 Sep 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Redmond,Oregon
12 May 2010

Nothing to write home about

We only had a couple of days in Dublin because our flights were delayed by the volcanic eruption. The location was perfect, within walking distance of almost every major attraction in the down town area. The first lady who checked us in was highly rude, but the rest of the staff was great. The rooms were very tight, but with comfortable beds. The rooms were also very noisy. Overall it was a reasonable price for the room but it was nothing special to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on hop off buses were the perfect way to see all of the sights.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan B.
Family
Mount Shasta, CA
1 May 2010

Great Location

Everything has been great. It is simply a nice hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel98
Couples
Chicago, IL
28 Mar 2010

Great Hotel and location

Great Location. A few minutes walk from the 747 bus (Dublin airport to city center). Across the street from the hop on-hop off buss. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very helpful. It is also located just off o'connell street which has good food and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your staying a few days get the hop on-hop off bus pass for 3 dayS. Only 20 Euro

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spenceca
Couples
Kyle, Texas
21 Mar 2010

Review of Best Western Academy Plaza

The hotel had a great location, however, it was next to a pub that was extremely noisy every evening into the early morning. Breakfast was 7 to 14 euro per day and the breakfast was average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
GA
1 Feb 2010

Good location and reasonable price

It was a quick trip, so location and price were the crucial thing for me. This hotel had both plus super clean room and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
30 Nov 2009

great hotel in a convenient location

The Academy Plaza hotel was excellent for our 5 day stay in Dublin. The front desk staff was extremly friendly and accomodating. The superior room had extra space, was very clean and had nice extras, such as bathrobes and slippers. The location off O'Connell street was perfect for us, as it was walking distance to all major sites including Temple Bar, yet was a quiet location. Would definately come back or recommend to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
O'Connell Lass
Friends
Wisconsin
29 Nov 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. They answered all of our questions with ease and knowledge. Just an example of how wonderful they were...it was raining quite hard as we were leaving for home. My niece could not find her umbrella and one of the staff members at the front desk tracked down an umbrella for her knowing she wouldn't be able to return it. Talk about service!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Arlington Hotel Bar...outstanding atmosphere! Live Irish music and dancing nightly and reported to be one of the largest bars in Ireland.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizlaurel
Family
Laurel, MD
22 Nov 2009

a very nice surprise

We stayed here because of the [...] deal - normally I wouldn't think about staying at a Best Western - but the place was great - newly refurbished so the rooms were very modern - place is very quiet and extremely clean - can walk to Temple Bar and many other Dublin destinations in no time - they also have free internet in the lobby! Hotel is very close to some great restaurants.All in all we were very happy and would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants: 101 Talbot, The Winding Stair - would also recommend (because the hotel breakfast was very overpriced) Isaac's Deli next to the Isaac Hostel (also a short walk) - the breakfast scones were to die for!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Picky Sarah
Couples
Virginia Beach, VA
2 Nov 2009

Great location & Great price!

Our experience at this hotel was great! The staff was exceptionally friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was the best part of this place. While planning this trip, I wanted to stay at a different hotel but couldn't justify the cost. Then I found this hotel that seemed close but I was not 100% sure. I booked it although I was a little disappointed that we wouldn't stay there. When we arrived at the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel, it was right around the corner from the original hotel I wanted to stay at. The location was perfect and we saved over $250!!! I was reccommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dublin, Ireland
12 Oct 2009

Great Location

Got us in early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything to see in Dublin is close

Back to menu Return to top