£53.31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 28 Feb 2016 Check-out 29 Feb 2016

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New Jersey
13 Oct 2010

Friendly and nice

The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. Every person smiled and was genuinely friendly and helpful every time I walked up to the front desk. I had a single room which was very small but immaculately clean and very efficiently laid out. As the description says it is just off O'Connell street - a main thoroughfare - and a few blocks from the O'Connell St bridge. From there, walking to anywhere in the city was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goteam
Couples
FL
12 Oct 2010

Great location great price

Nice central location for trips and tours. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farmer1996
Friends
Norway
12 Oct 2010

A clean place to stay

The location is perfect, spotless rooms, very clean and nice. Rooms at bit on the small side, but who cares, they're just to sleep in anyway. Breakfast is to expencive, we recommend you to buy breakfast out on a restaurant instead. Besides that, the best stay on the islands ever..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar district. Touristtrap, but a good one..

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
buenos aires
2 Oct 2010

garlic smell all time from the restauran

good location nearby interest point clean, friendly staff, small rooms garlic smell all day from the restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Bonnie
Couples
Michigan
26 Sep 2010

Ideal location for walking Dublin

One block to the tourist center & all bus lines & tours. Easy to reach from the Airport. Staff was delightful. They checked our weary, jet lagged bodies in immediately upon our early arrival. Wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel breakfast is rather pricey buy Murrays around the corner on O'Connell Street is a treat.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom the dancing machine
Single
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
20 Sep 2010

Great Location

Enjoyed the proximity to all the tourist spots. The staff was very helpful. I enjoyed the fact that I could use a computer supplied by the hotel!! The restaurant in the hotel was fine and not expensive. Hope to bring my wife to this hotel in 2011. Tom Melchiorre Wildwood Crest, NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

fun shops and places to get gifts within walking distance from hotel. Hop on hop off bus good deal and across the street from hotel

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New World Traveler
Friends
Atlanta, GA
18 Sep 2010

Highly Recommend!!!

This was a first trip to Dublin and I wasn't sure what to expect from the hotel or location. This couldn't have been a better pick. The room had plenty of room and we received an upgrade to a triple room with a double bed and a single bed. The room was very clean and quiet! The hotel staff was wonderful and very helpful with any questions we had about areas to eat or how to set up day tours. It was in a great location! Only about 10 min walk to Temple Bar area and about 5 min walk to the tourist center and had a hop on-hop off tour across the street. I'll definitely stay here again next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of pubs nearby where you can get an appetizer, entree, dessert and a pint for about 15 euros! Definitely get out and check out the pubs since most have live music every night. Best suggestion is to get out and make a left on O'Connell and just wander til you find something that sounds good! All the pub fare is wonderful!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crusader Dad
Couples
Pennsylvania
8 Sep 2010

Excellent location, helpful staff

The price, location and the extreme helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was a major plus. This was our first trip to Dublin and the staff was very knowledgeable in advising us how to get around the city and various places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located in short proximity to all the busiest streets in Dublin.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Pete
Family
Detroit, Mi
1 Sep 2010

A great place to stay in Dublin.

We had great stay at the Best Western Academy Plaza. The hotel is located righ in downtown Dublin and is close to several restaurants, shops, and things to see. Also, the Doubledecker Tour Bus which we used to get around Dublin, loads just across the street from the hotel...very convenient. Also, we took advantage of the excellent Irish Breakfast that was offered in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a multiple-day bus ticket from the Doubledecker Tour Bus across from the hotel and use it to get around Dublin. It was very nominally priced, and it made 22 stops at all the shopping and tourist venues in Dublin. Once you bought a ticket, you could get on-or-off as many time as you wanted. It is a very convenient and pratical way to get around Dublin, and avoid having to drive around and fight for parking.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto
29 Aug 2010

Good Stay

This hotel is very clean and we found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet. The location is very convenient with restaurants, pubs, shopping and sights nearby. We particularly appreciated the 2 free internet terminals in the lobby to help us book other stays and check emails. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many department stores and shopping nearby the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top