£77.89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 8 May 2016 Check-out 10 May 2016

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The New Mrs. A
Couples
Ringwood, NJ
6 Nov 2010

Comfy and Familiar

Hotel was good - very Americanized. We were put in a room first that was basically a king bed with a bathroom. A little cramped, but the bed was huge and super comfortable. We ended up having to move to another room due to a problem the hotel was having in the room above us with a water leak. The second room was much bigger - two queen beds, couch, chair, dresser. Bathroom was a big smaller, but overall good. Windows were great too. There was a bar directly below the hotel that was super lous at night, but once the windows were shut, you couldn't hear a thing. A/C didn't seem to work too well. Staff was superfriendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop-on, Hop-Off Dublin Bus stopped right in front on the hotel, the first stop. Good value and it gets you all over the city. Even when we got off on the other side of the city, it was not very far from the hotel. Closer to Trinity College than Temple Bar

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Val
Couples
Stoke-on-Trent
30 Oct 2010

Disappointing

Good location but poor amenities in the bathroom. Buy a 3 day hopper ticket from the airport, well worth the buy at 26 euros which includes the Dublin sightseeing tour and transport to and from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic meal at The Tea Room at the Clarence Hotel in Temple Bar area. This was about a 15 minute walk from the Best Western Plaza and well worth the walk. Make it a must when in Dublin.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
champaign,illinois
25 Oct 2010

great location

[...] re Best Western,Findlater Place, Dublin, We spent 4 nights at this hotel. When we went there, they did not have our booking. I had to retrieve it off the web for them.As a result, someone opend the door and was about to walk in while my wife and I were resting.[...] the breakfast was indentical every single day. While they had 4 meat dishes, every single one was pork or ham. Do they never get any Muslim or Jew guests.Otherwise, the staff were friendly and the location was excellentThank youSalim Rashid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
St. Louis, MO
18 Oct 2010

Hidden Gem

There were 3 couples that traveled together to Ireland. We took the bus from the airport which dropped us off right by the hotel, which was really easy access. We arrived early morning so our rooms were not quite ready, but they worked hard to get us in a room quickly, which they did. Our rooms were upgraded and they provided free breakfast each day for us. The rooms were very spacious, clean, and nice. For the money it was completely worth it. Late evenings we spent in the bar area which was very relaxing for a small group gathering. Overall, it was well worth it and made it a wonderful trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icet_001
Couples
Jerusalem, ISR
17 Oct 2010

Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!

Realy great hotel and very good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New Jersey
13 Oct 2010

Friendly and nice

The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. Every person smiled and was genuinely friendly and helpful every time I walked up to the front desk. I had a single room which was very small but immaculately clean and very efficiently laid out. As the description says it is just off O'Connell street - a main thoroughfare - and a few blocks from the O'Connell St bridge. From there, walking to anywhere in the city was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goteam
Couples
FL
12 Oct 2010

Great location great price

Nice central location for trips and tours. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farmer1996
Friends
Norway
12 Oct 2010

A clean place to stay

The location is perfect, spotless rooms, very clean and nice. Rooms at bit on the small side, but who cares, they're just to sleep in anyway. Breakfast is to expencive, we recommend you to buy breakfast out on a restaurant instead. Besides that, the best stay on the islands ever..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar district. Touristtrap, but a good one..

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
buenos aires
2 Oct 2010

garlic smell all time from the restauran

good location nearby interest point clean, friendly staff, small rooms garlic smell all day from the restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Bonnie
Couples
Michigan
26 Sep 2010

Ideal location for walking Dublin

One block to the tourist center & all bus lines & tours. Easy to reach from the Airport. Staff was delightful. They checked our weary, jet lagged bodies in immediately upon our early arrival. Wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel breakfast is rather pricey buy Murrays around the corner on O'Connell Street is a treat.

Back to menu Return to top