£48.38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 19 Oct 2014 Check-out 20 Oct 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
217 reviews
Excellent hotel ,nothing was too much trouble

I will definitely stay at this hotel again ,I cannot fault it for anything ,it's a home from home... See full review

  • Sully475
  • 15 Sep 2014
great place

This hotel is in a perfect place best of both worlds in a quiet area but close enough to the main... See full review

  • radvan
  • 14 Apr 2014
Prime location and excellent facilities, ideal for pleasure or business
The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel is a four-star hotel in the centre of Dublin city, just off O'Connell Street and close to galleries, shopping, and other attractions. The hotel has had a complete expansion, and now includes restaurants, a bar, and a lobby with three lifts. Room service, a 24-hour front desk, disabled facilities, restaurants, a health club, business centre, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet (some fees may apply) are also available on-site.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Walking distance to Dublin attractions, including galleries and shopping

  • Hotel has had a complete restoration and expansion

  • Sophisticated guest rooms, state-of-the-art facilities, and ideal location

Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms
There are 285 deluxe suites and bedrooms at the Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel. These include the Single, the Double, the Triple, and the Twin rooms. The guest rooms have a contemporary design and are finished to a high standard, with light wood furnishings. All guest rooms have a marble bathroom and hair-dryer. Other room amenities include tea and coffee facilities, safes, direct-dial telephones, complimentary wireless Internet (some fees may apply), LCD TV with cable service, and complimentary daily newspaper.
Things To Do:
  • Gate Theatre (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Garden of Remembrance (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

  • Abbey Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3525 -6.2598
Area served
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is situated just off O'Connell Street.It is just a short stroll from the best international shopping,Temple bar,Trinity college,St.Stephens Green, galleries,IFSC business district,and famous city sights.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The AIRCOACH bus service stops just beside the hotel and operates to the airport approx every 15 minutes. The service runs 24 hours, every day. A taxi from the airport should cost approximately 25.Driving time to hotel is 20 minutes and distance is 10 kilometres. A Taxi rank is located within 1 minute of the hotel. Both mainline railway stations, and the DART (electric train service) are easily reached, with just an eight minute stroll to both Connolly and Tara St. stations. The DART is the ideal mode of transport for guests looking to explore the picturesque east coast while it also runs through Dun Laoghaire making it easy for tourists travelling by boat to reach the city centre. It is only a 6 minute walk from the hotel to Dublin's central bus station, Busaras, where all provincial bus services from Dublin depart. The majority of Dublin buses stop near to the hotel, on O'Connell Street or the surrounding area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizlaurel
Laurel, MD
22 Nov 2009

a very nice surprise

We stayed here because of the [...] deal - normally I wouldn't think about staying at a Best Western - but the place was great - newly refurbished so the rooms were very modern - place is very quiet and extremely clean - can walk to Temple Bar and many other Dublin destinations in no time - they also have free internet in the lobby! Hotel is very close to some great restaurants.All in all we were very happy and would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants: 101 Talbot, The Winding Stair - would also recommend (because the hotel breakfast was very overpriced) Isaac's Deli next to the Isaac Hostel (also a short walk) - the breakfast scones were to die for!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Picky Sarah
Virginia Beach, VA
2 Nov 2009

Great location & Great price!

Our experience at this hotel was great! The staff was exceptionally friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was the best part of this place. While planning this trip, I wanted to stay at a different hotel but couldn't justify the cost. Then I found this hotel that seemed close but I was not 100% sure. I booked it although I was a little disappointed that we wouldn't stay there. When we arrived at the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel, it was right around the corner from the original hotel I wanted to stay at. The location was perfect and we saved over $250!!! I was reccommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin, Ireland
12 Oct 2009

Great Location

Got us in early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything to see in Dublin is close

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bel Air, MD
11 Oct 2009

Hotel Survey

Our room was very comfortable and the beds were cozy.The location was perfect for us, close to shopping,a travel company and transportation. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
9 Oct 2009

dublin stay

Location was wonderful. Rooms were good sized with nice bathrooms. Desk staff could have been more friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON, Canada
6 Oct 2009

nice, quiet hotel close to temple bar

This hotel is in a great location. It is less than a 1 minute walk from the first Air Coach bus stop (O'Connel St), which was nice after a long day of travelling. It is close enough to Temple Bar to walk there, but also far enough that the surrounding area is not loud. The room was a good size with a spacious washroom, and it was very clean. The hotel offers free wi-fi if you have your own laptop, or guests have access to two computers in the lobby with free internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
16 Sep 2009

Great location for touring

Great location with easy access to and from the airport and for touring. You can catch the hop-on hop-off bus right across from the hotel. It was an easy walk to most major sites and there were some great restaurants near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The 101 Talbot is one of the top rated restaurants in Dublin and it is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
3 Sep 2009

Hotel

The hotel was in a great location. The bus from the airport stopped on OConnell Street right on the corner of Findlater St. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Best of all was when we arrived very early in the morning we were able to check in because the room was available. that was a lifesaver as we traveled from the US and were very tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flyinbl
new york, ny
31 Aug 2009

Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel---Great

My son is going to college in Dublin. This hotel was a great location, near all public transportation, shopping, food and best of all you could walk to all the main tourist areas. The staff let us check in at 8am since out US flight arrived very early. The bar and restaurant were great also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
28 Aug 2009

Dublin August 2009

I arrived around 5:30am and the gentleman at the front desk was very nice, and even checked me in even though check-in wasn't officially until much later. Two computers with free internet are in the lobby and allowed me to let friends and family know I had arrived safely. The hotel is in an incredibly convenient location. The hop on/hop off tours are right across the street and the drop off/pick up locations for the Air Coach to and from the airport are at the corner on O'Connell Street. I had one difficult conversation with a staff person. I think it was a bit of a language barrier. Sounds strange from an english speaker, I know. The staff person was giving me directions to the Dublin Bus Station and tried to clarify what she was telling me which only frustrated both of us more. The room was clean and comfortable. I had a handicapped room, which I'm guessing was a bit bigger than a regular single room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bewley's on Grafton Street is great and affordable. We stumbled onto it our first morning (it was the only thing we found open so early in the morning) and later discovered it's a Dublin institution.

Back to menu Return to top