£48.38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 19 Oct 2014 Check-out 20 Oct 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
217 reviews
Excellent hotel ,nothing was too much trouble

I will definitely stay at this hotel again ,I cannot fault it for anything ,it's a home from home... See full review

  • Sully475
  • 15 Sep 2014
great place

This hotel is in a perfect place best of both worlds in a quiet area but close enough to the main... See full review

  • radvan
  • 14 Apr 2014
Prime location and excellent facilities, ideal for pleasure or business
The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel is a four-star hotel in the centre of Dublin city, just off O'Connell Street and close to galleries, shopping, and other attractions. The hotel has had a complete expansion, and now includes restaurants, a bar, and a lobby with three lifts. Room service, a 24-hour front desk, disabled facilities, restaurants, a health club, business centre, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet (some fees may apply) are also available on-site.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Walking distance to Dublin attractions, including galleries and shopping

  • Hotel has had a complete restoration and expansion

  • Sophisticated guest rooms, state-of-the-art facilities, and ideal location

Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms
There are 285 deluxe suites and bedrooms at the Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel. These include the Single, the Double, the Triple, and the Twin rooms. The guest rooms have a contemporary design and are finished to a high standard, with light wood furnishings. All guest rooms have a marble bathroom and hair-dryer. Other room amenities include tea and coffee facilities, safes, direct-dial telephones, complimentary wireless Internet (some fees may apply), LCD TV with cable service, and complimentary daily newspaper.
Things To Do:
  • Gate Theatre (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Garden of Remembrance (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

  • Abbey Theatre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3525 -6.2598
Area served
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is situated just off O'Connell Street.It is just a short stroll from the best international shopping,Temple bar,Trinity college,St.Stephens Green, galleries,IFSC business district,and famous city sights.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The AIRCOACH bus service stops just beside the hotel and operates to the airport approx every 15 minutes. The service runs 24 hours, every day. A taxi from the airport should cost approximately 25.Driving time to hotel is 20 minutes and distance is 10 kilometres. A Taxi rank is located within 1 minute of the hotel. Both mainline railway stations, and the DART (electric train service) are easily reached, with just an eight minute stroll to both Connolly and Tara St. stations. The DART is the ideal mode of transport for guests looking to explore the picturesque east coast while it also runs through Dun Laoghaire making it easy for tourists travelling by boat to reach the city centre. It is only a 6 minute walk from the hotel to Dublin's central bus station, Busaras, where all provincial bus services from Dublin depart. The majority of Dublin buses stop near to the hotel, on O'Connell Street or the surrounding area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bwana
Brentwood TN
1 Jun 2012

Ok for one night

Our room was very small but very clean and seem up to date. There was no bars of soap just liquid dispensers. There was no facial tissue but toilet paper. The TV had a warning that if you used it you would have to pay a fee of around 15 Euros. I asked for a receipt at check out to remind me what I paid but the desk clerk said I would have to go back to the booking agent. We are glad we only had one night here. It was just off O'Conner and in the middle of the busiest part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Church- A large dining room in a old church. Great food and service.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DiscerningNYTraveler
New York City
18 Jun 2009

Bedbugs - Stay at your own risk

The first morning I woke up in the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel, my ankle itched. I looked down to find a bedbug lying next to my ankle on the blood spotted sheet. I took a photo for evidence, collected it in a piece of tissue, and went downstairs to speak with the hotel manager. [...] listened, apologized dispassionately, and then immediately went into how this was the first time it had ever happened in their hotel. Perhaps this is true, but I'm baffled by her blasé and disinterested response in rectifying the situation. I felt reproached by her manner, which initially seemed to imply we had brought it in ourselves. This was not possible given it was our first night's stay on our vacation in Ireland, and we do not have bedbugs in our home. Next she suggested it had been brought in by the person who had occupied the room the previous night. This too is of course quite possible, but good management would not have sought to place blame for the situation, but would rather have worked to ensure that the customer felt as though the situation were being treated with the seriousness that it merits and would have looked for ways to ameliorate the situation. Good customer service is the lifeblood of any business. I work with clients all day long, and know that the very least I can do to further my company's business is to provide tangible evidence that I am genuinely sorry for any discomfort or displeasure on their part. [...], and by extension Best Western, proffered nothing. When I asked her what she was going to do, she asked for the specimen, which I had brought to her, and said she would have it tested and the room fumigated. Fearing she intended to keep us in the same room, I immediately said I did not wish to stay in the same room another evening. She said they would move us. When I asked her what else she intended to do, her chilly response was, "What else would you like?" We very reasonably asked to be reimbursed for that first night's stay in the hotel. She said she would not be able to do that, but she might be able to give us some kind of reduction in price but would first have to check our rate. Feeling not happy with her indifferent response, I suggested that she could start with comping us breakfast that morning. She complied.[...] never followed up with us regarding a possible reimbursement. I had to call downstairs the following evening, and the manager [...] said because we had booked our room through Orbitz, Best Western Academy Plaza could not offer us either a refund or a rebate. He said that the best they could do would be to comp us breakfast for the rest of our stay. Our plans had us out of the hotel before breakfast was served, and when we requested a dinner instead, we were told no. So, management's response was to offer us breakfast that is set out buffet style, which literally costs them nothing. Finally, I suggested that they might wash our bedclothes and the few items we had placed on the bed, which they did accommodate. Finding a bedbug in your bed is a very legitimate and serious complaint. People have successfully litigated for thousands of dollars. All I asked for was a refund on an evening spent with a bedbug in my bed. I am utterly baffled as to how Best Western does not have a policy or its management does not have at least a few ideas of their own as to how to ameliorate a bedbug situation to keep their customer happy. BTW, when I spoke with [...] that following evening, he said that the room had been inspected, and no further evidence of bedbugs had been found and so the room had not been fumigated. Not being in hotel management, I don't know what the policy is for things of this nature, but I would have thought they would have immediately fumigated the room. Perhaps they waited two days after the incident. Perhaps they never bothered at all. STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WittyW
Chicago, Illinois
11 Apr 2012

Visitor Beware!

I stayed at the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel on two separate occassions in one week. For both nights, I booked standard accommodations with two twin beds. The first night the accommodations were comfortable. However, the second time I stayed, I did not check in until 9:00pm. It became evident that the hotel provides rooms on a first come, first-served basis. I was provided with room 001. BEWARE! Do not accept this room, find another hotel! The room is in the basement. The two twin beds make it nearly impossible to move about the room. There is no telephone or tea/coffeemaking amenities. If it's cold, there's no obvious source of heat, just a wall-mounted air-conditioner. Additionally, Room 001 is located just next to the staff rooms. Everytime someone enters or leaves that room, you can hear and feel the door slam. If there are people in the staff rooms, you can even overhear there conversations. I stayed on a Saturday night and there is a nightclub next door. My father and I had a terrible time sleeping with the loud reverberations of the bass from the nightclub. When we went up to the front desk to complain, the staff were rather unhelpful, did not seem to care. The hotel was booked except for one room which was, according to the reception, worse than Room 001. As a result, we were offered a free breakfast for the next morning. When we arrived, the greeter asked for our room number, shrugged, and commented that we must not have slept well. The entire staff knows how terrible Room 001 is, but generally do not care. I urge travelers to beware. Room 001 is the dungeon of the Best Wester Academy Plaza. Do not accept this room (or any other in the basement). But if you are lucky, you will stay in one of the upper floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is conveniently located in front of Dublin's Airlink bus to and from the airport. Also, Dublin Tours Hop-On Hop-Off Tours pick up directly in front of the hotel. This hotel is definitely a great location for getting around Dublin.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unknown
Unknown
16 Dec 2013

Nothing special

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night. It is good only if you want to visit the city or you want something in city centre. It was very noisy and very basic and it's not cheap. Good thing they offered breakfast for 2 at 15€ . Full price is not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
rochester, MN
2 Apr 2011

Good location for the price

Location is excellent, just off of upper oconnell street and within walking distance of most attractions and restaurants. Rooms are not very spacious but were very clean and well maintained. My only complaint is that some of the management and some of the hotel policies were quite ridiculous. They actually changed the room number of our hotel room one night and failed to inform us. Long story short we ended up walking in somebody elses room late at night after being provided our original room card at the front desk. Also I realize that exchanging money at a hotel will not usually get you the most favorable rate. But they refused to take $100 dollar bills and then wanted to give me 4 euros for a $20 dollar bill after there "fees".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Carr O'connell pub was great for night life with outstanding staff and great drink prices.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JNic
New Jersey
9 Sep 2014

No parking, tiny room, wi fi never worked

Would not return to this hotel! Have to park 2 blocks away and pay to leave it overnight. Staff never greeted us or offered to help with bags so we had to cart our luggage 2 blocks from parking garage. No breakfast included, smallest hotel room I have ever seen! Maybe 9x9 if that, can't even walk around the bed. Free wifi is included but never worked, I called desk and they said they would get it fixed but never did. Overpriced, bed & breakfast places we stayed at were MUCH better than this hotel which we spent much more on for those extra comforts we never got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In city centre, best feature

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
costinpowers
Kent, UK
10 Feb 2014

Bit of a let down

Only stayed one night and we were pleased about this. Got off to an odd start when a member of staff came into our room and gave us the reason that they just wanted to see if everything was OK, so after that we weren't comfortable leaving our valuables in there. We told reception but they didn't seem bothered and just dismissed it as they said the member of staff thought there was a problem with the bed?! Breakfast was awful! You paid extra for it and it was a self service affair, which wasn't made very clear. It was like a run down old school canteen, not very comfortable, and the food was cold. There was an old lady struggling to carry her breakfast and the staff were just ignoring her. I was just about to go over there to help but someone else who was nearer assisted her. The room was OK and would suffice if you were staying overnight on business but I would not recommend it for a holiday. We did not feel very comfortable there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pez
Woodland Hills, CA
19 Jul 2011

OK, not really a destination

It was a gray, drizzly day and we were exhausted when we arrived. This place is a little hard to find beacause it's on a little mini-street near some big ones. Parking is down the street at a private car park, so make sure you get that information before you arrive. The place seemed popular with tour groups, and the flourescent-lit lobby was crowded with them. The room was small but well decorated, with a decent TV and weak-but-free Wifi. The doors also didn't close properly - in particular, you had to practically slam the bathroom door to get it to close, which is a problem in the middle of the night if you're not alone. As we were exhausted and hungry, we hoped for room service or something but the lobby staff didn't quite understand that nearly all the hotel options were closed in the 3:00 pm hour. (We were still confused about the Italian restaurant advertised, as it was just the hotel bar menu.) Avoid the place next door (The Living Room) if you want to eat - it is awful. Actually, it was difficult to find a good meal anywhere nearby if you're not a fan of Chinese food outside Asia. The neighborhood seemed a bit odd, though I can't quite say why. Those things, and the energy-saving motion sensor hallway lights, screamed "we're trying to save money" and were a bit creepy, but all in all, it's not a bad place if you just need a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Finally found a tasty snack at the Jury Inn's restaurant/bar, a few blocks away. The duck spring rolls rocked.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gmp
los angeles, ca
14 Jun 2009

prime location

I thought hotel location was great - could not be easier getting to/from hotel from airport. rooms were okay - nothing to write home about given this was a 4 star property. all staff were very nice/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrishMegz
Cleveland, OH
5 Sep 2011

Excellant Location!

This hotel is located right off of Upper O'Connell Street. You are within walking distance to most major Dublin attractions, including Temple Bar, Trinity College, Jameson Distillary, major shopping streets, and the Guinness Storehouse. Don't waste your money eating at the hotel. On and just off of O'Connell are a number of low cost restaurants and grocery stores to get your meals for cheap. I was able to eat all three meals and snacks for about 20 to 25 euro (or less) per day I was there. The hotel staff are wonderful. All were very welcoming and friendly. Anything I needed was addressed ASAP. My only real issue was that the rooms are SMALL. However, this is not uncommon for a Dublin hotel. I have stayed at two others in Dublin and this was comparable to those.. maybe a wee bit smaller, but this time it was just a single bed while the others had two beds in them... That could account for the slightly smaller size. This really didn't bother me as I wasn't exactly hanging out in my room all that much. Another great thing about the location of this hotel is you can hop on to the Airlink bus from the Airport and be dropped off and picked up right in front of the hotel. Also, the two city hop on-hop off bus tours (green bus and red bus) have their first stops right in front (or just around the corner) of the hotel. If you've never been to Dublin before, one of these is a must!! I believe they are both the same price and have almost identical routes. I have done both.. and I believe that they are both very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is just across the River Liffey.. Go for great Irish music, food, and entertainment. But be warned, at night this place is a bit roudy, and often considered unsafe. Just be cautious!

Back to menu Return to top