£47.70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Apr 2014 Check-out 24 Apr 2014

Ballsbridge Hotel

4 stars
Pembroke Road,, Ballsbridge, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
49 reviews
Rugby weekend

Superb hotel, friendly staff and the room excellent. Ideally situated for the Aviva stadium, The... See full review

  • SUFTUM
  • 26 Mar 2014
Fabulous city break

Having booked the hotel and flight via the internet and paid very cheap price we weren't expecting... See full review

  • jackiewolf
  • 16 Jan 2014
Great hotel just minutes from Dublin city centre

In the leafy Dublin suburb of Ballsbridge close to Aviva Stadium, Ballsbridge Hotel is just a 15 minute walk to the city centre, the O2 Arena and Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Trinity College, Dublin's cultural quarter Temple Bar and Dublin's main shopping district are also just a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. The DART rail network (just 2 minutes from the hotel) connects guests to the surrounding beauty of Dublin's coastal villages. The Airport shuttle, the Aircoach, drops tourists right outside the hotel door.

Highlights
  • Traditional Irish pub onsite with live music at weekends
  • Organic Irish produce served in both the pub and restaurant menus
  • Close to Aviva Stadium and the RDS
  • Conference and meeting facilities for up to 850 people
Rooms

The hotel's 392 spacious guest rooms feature queen size beds, cable TV, en suite bathroom, hairdryer, writing desk, tea- and coffee-making facilities and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). One-bedroom suites offer an extra living and dining room, plus walk-in closet. Connecting rooms are available for those traveling as a group or with children.

Features
Ballsbridge Hotel is situated in the Dublin suburbs, a short trip by bus or train to the city center. The hotel houses The Dubliner Pub which provides traditional Irish fare in a cosy setting. The café in the lobby delivers light refreshments throughout the day. The hotel has a barbershop and a beauty salon. There is secure onsite car parking available (fees apply). Wheelchair accessible rooms are available.


Transportation
  • Aircoach stop outside hotel
  • Lansdowne Road DART station (.3 m/.5 km)
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Aviva Stadium (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Trinity College (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Conference and meeting facilities and ballroom available for up to 850 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • State-of-the-art multimedia compatibility
  • In-house event coordinator to assist with event planning

Ballsbridge Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
These classic double rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen size bed with thick duvet, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Standard Twin
These classic twin rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen bed and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Double
These deluxe double rooms have 32sqm of floor space and are just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room boasts a king size bed with thick duvet, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, walk-in-wardrobe, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, large writing desk with armchairs and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Twin
These deluxe twin rooms have 32sqm of floor space and are just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room boasts a double and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, walk-in-wardrobe, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, large writing desk with armchairs and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Triple Room
These triple rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen bed and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business centre
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ballsbridge Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3317 -6.2345
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
International Airport:Dublin 15 kms
Area description
The leafy and affluent suburb of Ballsbridge is a leisurely stroll from the main shopping areas of Grafton Street and St. Stephen's Green. Take a detour through Merrion or Herbert Park or stroll along the nearby canal. Take your time in choosing which award-winning restaurant you plan on dining in and which bar or nightclub you plan on visiting. Dublin has much to offer and D4 is the perfect base. The hotel is easily accessible by DART (city rail), Aircoach, Bus or Train.

Nearby points of interest

  • National Print Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.3 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.3 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.8 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.3 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.3 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.8 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.9 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 1 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1 mi
  • Leinster House: 1 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 1 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 1.1 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.1 mi
  • Science Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Pearse Street: 1.1 mi
  • The O2: 1.1 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.1 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 1.1 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • River Liffey: 1.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 1.2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast is in Raglans Restaurant. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day according to the experts. You can enjoy yours in the tranquil ambience of Raglans. Choose between a large continental selection of freshly baked rolls, pastries, fruit, cereals and freshly squeezed juices or if you would prefer something more substantial, help yourself to our full Irish Breakfast buffet. Breakfast is served daily from 7am to 10:30am.
Bar
The Dubliner Pub Established in 1963, the Dubliner Pub has built a reputation for authentic Irish pub grub and craic that draws in many eclectic locals, so you'll be sure to experience first hand the warmth and vitality that is synonymous with any visit to our fair city. With traditional music at the weekends and big screens for all the big games, the Dubliner is the place to enjoy the craic and lively banter into the early hours of the morning.
Barber Shop
In town for an important interview or just want to impress the ladies, then pop along to Gerrard's Barber Shop just inside the door of the Ballsbridge Hotel. Established in 1972 and gaining in reputation since, you can treat yourself to a shave or a new look from a European Barber Championship gold medal winner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Ballsbridge Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
SUFTUM
LARNE, N.IRELAND
26 Mar 2014

Rugby weekend

Superb hotel, friendly staff and the room excellent. Ideally situated for the Aviva stadium, The only downside is the food and drink overpriced but to be expected in a Dublin hotel. Would we stay again YES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
The mrs
England
18 Feb 2014

Great weekend

We stayed at this hotel for two nights & after reading a few not so good reviews I was slightly concerned. When we arrived first impressions were very good. The lady on reception was very welcoming & helpful. Our room was very clean, spacious & well presented!! We eat in the hotel restaurant on ventines night. The food was lovely although the staff didn't really seem to know what they were doing, but it didn't spoil the evening. Overall location is good about 10 mins from dublin in a taxi which costs €9-12. Would defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Wheelchair tourist
County down
11 Feb 2014

Winning rugby location

Public areas of the hotel are a much higher standard than the bedrooms. Our disabled accessible room was so far from the lobby the receptionist had to draw a map to show us how to get there! This was far from ideal. The room was shabby but clean. It was freezing althought staff helpfully provided a heater. Regarding location it was very handy for the Aviva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient for the Aviva Stadium

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
murta
ireland
28 Jan 2014

weekend break

Hotel was nice. Could have done with more heating. The room was average. Staff pleasant and over worked. Food ok but again due to lack of staff we had eaten our breakfast by time tea came. was in close proximity to rds and city centre which suited us,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

try temple bar. its an experience that we really enjoyed

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Tjohnny
Business
Birmingham
26 Jan 2014

Johnnys Stay

First nights stay was a nightmare. There was a private party held within one of the hotels banqueting rooms. Music was playing load until 3.30am, not good when you have work the next day. I was offered another room but I decided to change as there would have been too much hassle for me to move from ground floor to the 6th floor. Bit of a silly set up with charging food and drink to your room, staff insist that your card details be taken at reception rather than the bar or restaurants till points. Location is excellent if you are visiting the RDS. Price is very good too if you book early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Ravis Kitchen if you like Indian food. The lunch menu is an absolute bargain, great food, great service!

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
jackiewolf
Stourbridge England
16 Jan 2014

Fabulous city break

Having booked the hotel and flight via the internet and paid very cheap price we weren't expecting the hotel to be so grand! The entrance is luxurious, the reception staff very helpful and the rooms very comfortable. Everything was kept very clean, and the maid service was very good. We booked breakfast one morning and it was very good value. The on site bar was very well used and had a great atmosphere. We took the bus into town every day from just outside the hotel. After a day walking around Dublin, we usually took a taxi back and every taxi driver told us that we were in the posh part of town! The neighbourhood had beautiful buildings and one evening we walked to a local pub, which was excellent and had jazz music playing on Sunday tea time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether couples, or families!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Guinness storehouse and Jameson distillery. Great tours and experiences!

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Akmaca
Dallas, TX, USA
2 Jan 2014

New year's in Dublin

The hotel staff were amazing, hotel was very clean. Very glad I brought my own pillow, as mentioned by another reviewer, as they only give you one. Amenities in the room were fine but nothing to brag about, breakfast downstairs was expensive... cold buffet for 10 euros! It was a bit away from downtown, but not a bad cab ride. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful calling cabs, and offering advice on tours. You have to pay for wifi, which was a major negative aspect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to the train station and go north to Howth (20 minute train ride). It's a cute town on the coast with a lighthouse, and a castle, and a hike up to the peak.

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Really Unhappy customer
Ireland
14 Dec 2013

I will never recommend it!

It was on of the worse that I ever had. It started by a dirty room with no phone, no batteries for the remote, beside a loud noisy elevator that is operating like the train on the top of your head, no iron , no shampoo or extra blanket for the cold room. We complained after two days of suffering and the receptionist was mean and upset. She moved us to another room in different floor that was one room away from the elevator and was so loud and noisy. Plus smell. After a bad night sleep we complained again. This time we were lucky to have the manager. She was sweet and moved us to the business side of the hotel. Different world. Clean carpets, good rooms, extra space and much cleaner bathroom though the bathroom has limescale and scum on the walls and corners of the bathtub. To my surprise I complained about the clogged bathtub and no resolution. We were punished with no room service for some reason. And the last day the cleaning lady knocked the door by 8 am!!! I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. Shame on them! I just took the pictures of the business side. And I will leave the normal side to your imagination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
ErinTeresa
Philadelphia, Pa
5 Nov 2013

Needs updating but convenient location

My boyfriend and I stayed here the night before and after the Dublin Marathon. The morning of the marathon he needed to eat something healthy and fast and they charged 10 Euro for him to eat yogurt, 2 pieces of toast and mueseli. They knew full well that there would be loads of runners in there looking for something so they upped the charge it seemed like. The morning AFTER the marathon, where sleep was definitely needed, we woke to the lovely sounds of tapping on our door repeatedly from housekeeping at 8am. WHY so early?!!!!!!!! There was no light in the room, one lamp for the entire room. The hotel needs to be updated desperately. Forget using the tv you couldn't figure it out and when you did, you only got 3 channels. Its unfortunate, because the location is great and the staff was polite and helpful, but its those little things like comfort and quality that you look for when staying at a hotel. The location was convenient, close to the DART, pubs and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Stu547
Bristol uk
26 Sep 2013

Run down

The hotel is being updated but our first room smelt of paint so had to get another room. The second room had a stained bed base and the bathroom door locked you in if it closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top