£39.62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Jan 2015 Check-out 22 Jan 2015

The Regency Hotel

3 stars
Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Good Value.

Walls are thin so you can sometimes hear your neighbours. they should have a toast maker to save... See full review

  • POLE
  • 2 Jul 2014
Layover Relief

If you have a layover it's a great space. The location and view is wonderful. The room is perfectly... See full review

  • Erica Expat
  • 27 Jun 2014
Hotel offers leisure facilities near Dublin’s city center
The Regency Hotel is situated 3 miles from Dublin city center in a handsome 200-year-old Georgian building that has been lovingly redone to house 280 elegant guest rooms. The hotel features a large state-of-the-art conference facility, restaurant and bar and a new leisure facility with a swimming pool. Guests can reach the bustling city center with excellent shopping, entertainment and attractions via short trip by bus or car.
Highlights
  • Beautiful 200-year-old building with easy access to Dublin Airport and city center
  • Stunning new leisure center with gym, swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi included in stay
  • Large conference facility with state-of-the-art amenities
Rooms

The Regency Hotel has 280 well-appointed guest rooms with satellite TV, tea and coffee station, laundry service and hairdryer. Executive rooms also have computer points for Internet access, clothes care facilities, plasma TV and work desk. Tastefully decorated one- and two-bedroom apartments have a separate sitting room, kitchen area and offer use of the hotel's leisure center, swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna.

Features
Housed in a beautiful 200-year-old building on the outskirts of Dublin, the Regency Hotel blends Georgian charm with modern comforts. A large conference center hosts business events while nearby public transport takes leisure travelers into Dublin city center. A brand new leisure center with swimming pool, gym, sauna and Jacuzzi is available for guest use. The Allure Beauty Spa Center is the place to stop for a relaxing massage treatment after a long day in the city center or attending a conference. The in-house Shanard Restaurant serves Irish and international cuisine and the Appian Lounge is perfect for a cocktail. Free Wi-Fi service is available, as well as car parking (at a fee).
Transportation
  • Dublin bus service (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Train service, Drumcondra Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Croke Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • National Botanic Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Hugh Lane Municipal Gallery of Modern Art (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Trinity College (2.7 mi/4.3)
Business
  • Conference center can be set up as 4 separate rooms, accommodating up to 750 guests
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual facilities
  • Technical assistance
  • Ample car parking (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Secretarial support available
  • Free Wi-Fi

The Regency Hotel Rooms

Budget Room
Basic un refurbished rooms in the older part of the Hotel Rooms are en- suite with Tea & Coffee facilities, TV and Direct Dial Telephone
Standard bedroom
All standard bedrooms are tastefully decorated, bright and designed to international standards

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3781 -6.2462
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Located just 3 km north of Dublin city centre and 4 km from Dublin airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin City University: 0.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 0.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 1.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.7 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 1.7 mi
  • Belvedere College: 1.7 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 1.7 mi
  • Clontarf: 1.7 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 1.8 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin City University: 0.7 mi
  • River Tolka: 0.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.2 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Parnell Park: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 1.5 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.7 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 1.7 mi
  • Belvedere College: 1.7 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 1.7 mi
  • Clontarf: 1.7 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 1.8 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.8 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 1.8 mi
  • Connolly station: 1.8 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Baile Phib: 1.9 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 1.9 mi
  • Parnell Square: 1.9 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 1.9 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 2 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 2 mi
  • Kings Inns: 2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 2 mi
  • Moore Street: 2.1 mi
  • The Custom House: 2.1 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 2.1 mi
  • University of Dublin: 2.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 2.1 mi
  • Grangegorman: 2.1 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 2.1 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 2.1 mi
  • Arnotts: 2.1 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 2.1 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 2.1 mi
  • River Liffey: 2.1 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 2.2 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 2.2 mi
  • 3Arena: 2.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Regency Hotel is delighted to announce the arrival of a landmark development. The development consists of a 929sqm/10,000 sq ft. Conference Centre, suitable for 750 delegates or 600 for a dinner dance. The room is fully dividable into four separate rooms and most rooms have natural daylight. In addition, there are separate breakout rooms.

Dining

Shanard Restaurant
There is fine wining and dining available with the in-house restaurant serving Irish and international cuisine. The hotel also has a fine Bar and Lounge area, serving a range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages including a cocktail menu. Bar food Is available all day 7 days a week. There is also music several nights a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Ireland
16 Jun 2009

Avoid like the plague

We were offered a shoebox sized room with an ensuite that would have caused an injury if a second person had attempted to enter it when the first was in it. The bed was described as a double but was a spacious single. When we requested a twin the receptionist was most put out and with very bad grace evetually granted the request. You needed a map to find the room and the staff were dismissive when asked for directions. The room was basic but walking around felt like you were walking straight on the water pipes due to the amount of noise they emitted. Parking was provided but they charged you [$] for the priviledge. The one highlight was the American style diner located outside it but still part of the Hotel complex. Courteous helpful staff, beautiful food and reasonably priced. The main hotel should take a long hard look at it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must stay here, eat in JJ's. It really is very good.

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied
Business
Belfast
26 Aug 2012

Awful experience

I booked this hotel last minute for friends as their father is extremely ill in a hospital nearby. I am disgusted at the staff and their attitude towards my friends. They were ignorant and unhelpful. They need to have training on how to deal with customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jan55
Business
Dublin
4 Nov 2012

Terrible

No electric, sockets not working, tele not working, waited 2 hours for maintenence to fix it. Cracks on the tile floors, holes and cracks on the walls,walls are made of cardboard, 99 euro for a so called new room, ended up going home, did not stay and got no refund :O will never stay here again, ever...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not get roped into staying here, it is a dump, would n't let my dog stay here..

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
can't leave one
Business
massachusetts
13 Dec 2012

Bad

Having stayed before (twice) things have gone downhill. Did not have room when I arrived, had to wait hour. Did not get room as booked. It was cold and heat was not turned on until 8PM. Window was open one day and it was really cold. Was told they would send a spaceheater up but it did not arrive until next day. Won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rdelsr
Business
Long Island, New York
28 Apr 2013

Terrible

There was nothing good about this hotel. We were extremely surprised that it was a Resency. When we tried to walk down the main stairway to the lobby, we could not see. At 9:00 PM, we had to find the light switch to turn the lights on. Most of the bulbs were out anyway. We went to the restaurant to get dinner. We were not waited on for 45 minutes. No one asked if we wanted a drink or gave us a menu. Finally a waiter came with a dish of French fries. He said we ordered them. I'm sure they were ordered by the people that got fed up and left. We know they were serving food, because we saw them walking away from the kitchen. We left and walked down the block for dinner. Then the next morning at breakfast, they seemed to be annoyed that we were even there. Good thing it was a buffet. They were too busy getting ready for a tour bus. I think that was the same problem with dinner. Oh, and when it rained the night we were there, the room leaked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roxyz
Business
Sacramento, CA
10 Aug 2013

Try to find different accommodations

This was dreadful. We re-booked the third day and spent $1000 more NOT to be there. Absolutely noisy...far away from town center (and a bus strike) Broken furniture. Overall feeling of not clean. View from room was dreadful, peeling and dirty stucco rail with litter on landing. Did I say NOISY--you can literally hear normal conversations and foodsteps in next room....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
25 May 2011

Not what you think!

Looked a lot more upscale than it was. Hot water didn't work, blow dryer didn't work, restaurant was closed for a tour group making the bar area packed with 2 servers. Food was very average at best. Credit card machine didn't work so we charged to the room. [...] We stayed in hostels the entire trip except that night and I have to say the hostels were much nicer and better equipped than this hotel. I travel quit a bit and have never been so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Ireland
Business
Atlanta, GA
8 Aug 2011

Charming & Inexpensive

We spent one night only (airport layover). The room was lovely. Only problem was the hotel restaurant - the food was good, but some items we ordered weren't available, but the waiter didn't tell us until after he had served the rest of our party. We ended up having to share meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Quinner
Business
Chicago
10 Mar 2012

Price is right!

Found the staff very welcoming and allowed me to check in early after a transatlantic flight. I noticed my room had new carpeting was bright and surprisingly bigger than I expected. The location is great ten minute bus ride from Dublin Airport and the town centre, Also there are many varied restaurants and pubs you can walk to locally which is a huge plus!! I had lunch at the hotel restaurant very pricey skip it and the pub is dated could do with a makeover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a good breakfast head to the Gallery steps in front of the Regency save yourself some money great variety of food and tea and coffee.You can get a full Irish Breakfast for 8.95 euro including Toast Tea and Coffee! Also turn left on Swords Rd 6 minute walk to the Ivy House Pub early bird menu dinner and a pint for under 12 Euro you cant go wrong they have the best Bangers and Mash in Dublin!

Review of The Regency Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ireland Road trip
Business
NYC
14 Jan 2013

Return Visit

Our first stay was great so we booked 2 more nights at the end of our trip. Was a completely different experience. Wifi barely worked in the room. Ordering room service was an unnecessarily difficult ordeal (was told to call back twice & they didn't have a proper menu available. Turns out food was terrible anyway.) They put us in a room with no heat, we were changed promptly, but was just completely unlike our first, pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top