£84.97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 9 May 2016 Check-out 10 May 2016

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PilotMarcus
Family
Maryland, USA
25 Jun 2012

Nice, basic hotel, with issues....

The Good Comfortable room Clean and well-kept Good air-conditioning (a must in Italy aft June) Nice, free morning buffet Friendly staff Decent value play. The Not-So-Good 1. Shower so small one risks freezing or scalding when simply trying to turn around in it if one bumps the control handle. Has a glass 2-door contraption that does not seal, so towels on the floor are mandatory or the bathroom will flood. 2. Wifi advertized as "free"....service is intermittent, even in the bar/Lobby areas, and when connecting, signal is frequently dropped AND requires new sign-in every time. In room, forget it....one side of the bed gets it, the other does not. Folks are sitting in the hallways trying to catch a reliable signal. Great reception from the hotel across the street. Answer at the desk was to try to connect to them! Amazing. 3. Only 1 TV channel in English, and this one a re-broadcast the Chinese National TV Network (CCNA or similar, so all that was broadcast was China's rocket launch). Disappointing not to have BBC, CNN, or another English service, world-wide channel as with most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilot Paul
Family
Columbus, OH
18 Jun 2012

Great Value

The reviews posted online were very accurate. This is a clean, comfortable hotel located within easy walking distance of the main train station and all major attractions. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were decent-sized and clean. There were numerous comments about the very firm mattresses, and I found this to be true. They were not uncomfortable, though. There is a very extensive breakfast served every morning with cold and hot foods. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supersimmo
Family
UK
10 Jun 2012

good location

hotel very good location and very clean. perfect situation for termini only 5-10mins walk and easy to get on buses for hop on hop off tours. can walk to coliseum from hotel about 15mins. staff very friendly and helpful. would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMLeon
Couples
Kentucky, USA
29 May 2012

Excellent location and extremely helpful front desk staff!!

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The fornt desk staff was always willing to assist with booking museum and dinner reservations and providing directions to the various sites. The room was clean, comfotable, and conveniently located to most of the major sites. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Borghese Museum - do not take bus 910 as our driver dropped us off on the opposite side of time at an empty arena. Fortunately, found a person that gave us directlions to tram -- which then required a very, very long walk from one side of the Borghese grounds to the museum.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jannie F
Friends
Gaithersburg, MD
26 May 2012

Made our brief stay in Rome so easy

We selected this hotel based on previous reviews. It more than lived up to it's favorable rating.. While the room was typically small, it was clean and nicely appointed. The queen bed was comfortable and the bathroom sink countertop was large. The location was fabulous. We walked easily the few blocks from the train station with a lot of luggage in the evening, and to the Colosseum for an 8:30 am tour. The breakfast buffet was extensive, offering a wide variety of selections. The front desk staff was friendly and incredibly helpful.. Each night they made terrific suggestions for local, moderately priced eating establishments and called for reservations for our large party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant Ceccia a few blocks away.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nico
Family
Cheshire, England
4 May 2012

There must be some poor 3 star hotels about if this is a 4 star

I really don't understand why this hotel is classed as 4 star. There is nothing special at all about this hotel. The air conditioning doesnt work. The double room I stayed in was that small the door opened outward into the corridor. You do not get any tea or coffee making facilities in the room which is a basic expectation in a 4 star hotel. The breakfast room is soleless and the bar area so non descript that no-one frequented it. On a posiive, the bed was comfy, shame I couldn't sleep though due to the noise outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Piazza Novana is a must. Its a really lovely square with lots of restaurants and street entertainers to keep you amused. Don't waste your money paying to go into the vatican. Instead go to St Peter's square and into the bascilica which is free and more spiritual and is minus the hundreds and hundreds of tourists that are cramed inside the vatican musuem where you can not move

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shirle
Single
Florence, Italy
1 May 2012

If WIFI a must, reconsider.

Great breakfast. Good location. Unworkable WIFI connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hummercat
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
28 Apr 2012

Would stay there again! Perfect location.

If we are ever lucky enough to get back to the beautiful city of Rome, we will stay here again. The room was comfortable and large enough, given that hotel rooms in Europe and Italy are small. The bed was very comfortable, room was always clean and tidy when we returned after a long day. THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL IS SIMPLY PERFECT! Just 2 blocks to the metro, train and bus station called Termini. (We saw no reason to spend a lot of money on an extravagant hotel room knowing we would not be in it much.) Location was everything and we had it all. I would recommend a room looking over the inner courtyard as the city is very noisy in the morning. We vacationed in April and had to have the window open for cool air so had difficulty sleeping in the morning due to the street noise. The friendly staff could not have been better and were very helpful on each and every question and concern we had. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient to start each busy day. The room lacked hooks and enough hangers to hang jackets and other articles of clothing on (it looked as though the wall lighting has been used for hooks as they were hanging as through ready to fall off). The snack fridge was useless as it was housed in a cabinet under the desk which had no ventilation so the items inside were not cold. Would have been nice if the Augusta had a restaurant, but there are so many good ones around that you don't lack a selection. Go to the first one the hotel staff recommends (Cecio Cecio, I think.) It's not far and they are quite accommodating and friendly with enough of a selection on the menu that you could eat there every night and not go wrong. Finally, Rome was one of the friendliest cities we've every visited, except our own, of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the Roma pass for transport and entrances to Museums. We did not as we went when the Museums were free. However, it still would have been less expensive. It is a good deal.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Breakers
Couples
London, UK
6 Apr 2012

Fantastic, much better than thought it would be for the price!

The hotel was much better than we were expecting for the price. Really friendly and helpful staff, very comfy room. Breakfast was great, a good spread with something for everyone's tastes. Location was perfect for a sightseeing trip to Rome, 5 minutes walk from the main station. The area felt a little run down so again the Hotel was surprisingly nice. The only shame was the Wifi which was free, but the signal was very poor so we could only get it in the lobby and that was temperamental at best! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 4euro coaches to and from the airport instead of the 14euro train, Its 45 minutes straight to Termini station.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. J
Couples
Claremont, NC
21 Jan 2012

rome in January

Rome is a great value in January. Minimal lines and less competition for services. We really enjoyed our visit at the Augusta Lucilla Palace, the front desk staff was extremely helpful. The room was very nice but the bed was VERY hard and the first few nights were difficult getting to sleep. The morning breakfast was the exact same menu every day. The only hot items were eggs and bacon that was not cooked well enough that most Americans would feel comfortable eating. Lots of breads and coffee though. The location near Termini station was convenient and kept travel times to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top