£68.80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 20 Apr 2014 Check-out 21 Apr 2014

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
169 reviews
Perfect!

I spent just one night in this hotel, but it was enough to enjoy a very comfortable stay: nice and... See full review

  • gia74
  • 25 Feb 2014
Great hotel to visit Rome

We were in Rome for short one-day stay due to almost 24h between flights. General impressions of... See full review

  • yousha
  • 11 Nov 2013
Centrally located, renovated hotel with stylish non-smoking rooms

A completely renovated 19th century property, the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel sits less than a 15-minute walk from many of Rome's most spectacular attractions, including the Opera Theatre, the Coliseum and the Spanish Steps. A multilingual staff mans the 24-hour reception, with a concierge available to help organize and book tours and tickets. The hotel is decorated in a modern, comfortable style, with sumptuous reds and creams, heavy drapes and dark wooden furniture evoking a classic Italian feel.

Reasons to stay
  • A short, easy walk to historical attractions including the Coliseum and Roman Forum
  • Centrally located; a five minute walk to the main train station, Termini, and buses
  • Beautiful panoramic views of Rome from the top floor garden
Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel rooms

The 108 rooms at the 19th century Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel provide newly decorated, classic yet modern accommodations in the heart of historic Rome, all with sound proofing and double glazing. Every room gives guests individual air conditioning, bathrooms with well stocked toiletries, hairdryers and a mini bar, as well as an LCD television offering satellite channels. A variety of room types ensure there is something to suit all visitors, including families, with triple and quadruple rooms available, and travelers with very young children take advantage of cots free of charge. Larger rooms also supply small sofas for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. Rooms are all non-smoking at the Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel and all rooms have Wi-Fi (fees apply). A number of rooms cater for guests with limited mobility and all facilities around the hotel have disabled access.

Things to do nearby
  • Santa Maria Maggiore (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Via Veneto (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Trevi Fountain (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Roman Forum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • The Coliseum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Piazza di Spagna (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Piazza Navona (1.2 mi/2.1 km)
  • Sant'Angelo Castle (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Saint Peter's Cathedral (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Vatican Museums (2.5 mi/4.0 km)

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome Rooms

Double Room
The room have the bedding option of one double bed or one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Quad/Suite
The room have the bedding option of two double beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room have the bedding option of one double and one twin beds or two twin beds with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Single Room
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Small Double
The room have the bedding option of one twin bed with all the modern facilities like air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9001 12.4977
Area served
Rome.
Nearby airports
Leonardo Da Vinci (Fiumicino) International Airport.
Area description
Hotel boasts itself for its central location with only a few minute walk from the most popular sites in Rome: Via Veneto, Spanish Square, Venice Square, The Colosseum and The Trevi Fountain. It is located only 400m from the central railway station, with the underground and bus stops situated 5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Train Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Terme Diocleziano: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome Opera House): 0.1 mi
  • Rome Opera House: 0.1 mi
  • Teatro delle Quattro Fontane: 0.1 mi
  • Fontana delle Naidi: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica of Saint Mary Major: 0.2 mi
  • Piazza della Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • Repubblica: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Rome: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Maggiore: 0.2 mi
  • Termini Train Station: 0.2 mi
  • Roma Termini railway station: 0.2 mi
  • Pontifical Oriental Institute: 0.2 mi
  • Servian Wall: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Prassede: 0.3 mi
  • Lamian Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Historical Center: 0.3 mi
  • Fontana dell'Acqua Felice: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria della Vittoria: 0.4 mi
  • San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo delle Esposizioni: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Nazionale Romano: 0.4 mi
  • Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica: 0.5 mi
  • Ecstasy of Saint Teresa: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II: 0.5 mi
  • San Pietro in Vincoli: 0.5 mi
  • Piazza Barberini: 0.5 mi
  • Fontana del Tritone: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo del Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Quirinale: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio del Quirinal: 0.6 mi
  • Colle Oppio: 0.6 mi
  • Domus Aurea: 0.6 mi
  • Torre delle Milizie: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Sistina: 0.6 mi
  • Torre dei Conti: 0.7 mi
  • Pontifical Lateran University: 0.7 mi
  • Ludovisi: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Market: 0.7 mi
  • Forum of Augustus: 0.7 mi
  • Trajan's Forum: 0.7 mi
  • Rome Marathon: 0.7 mi
  • Via Veneto area: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
Mohmd
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
8 Jul 2011

Acceptable

the location was great as it's near the central station but the room wasn't comfortable as the bed was beside the door so, you can hear everything in the corridor. And some of the hotel staff were unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
1 Jul 2011

Good for what it is.

We spent most of our time roaming the city in the morning, went back to the hotel to rest before or after lunch (siesta is pretty much required if you were to explore the city like we did!) and then went back out again for dinner and more exploring. The hotel is just about four blocks away from Termini station which is great for traveling back and forth like we did. The room itself was quaint and was sufficient for our stay. The lighting wasn't too great; way too dim for shaving says my boyfriend. However, if you do forget your shaving kit, they do provide you with one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried two of the many restaurants that were close to the hotel. They both were overpriced and not as great as the other restaurants we went to. Spread out a little farther and you might find a really good gem.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Boone, North Carolina
28 Jun 2011

Great Hotel

The hotel was great. It is fairly new so the rooms were spacious and the A/C worked well. A free breakfast was included which had numerous items. The staff spoke english so it was easy for us to communicate with them. The only drawback which isn't the hotel's fault is that Rome makes you pay 3 euros cash for each person for each night that you stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
23 Jun 2011

Location! Location! Location!

We stayed in Augusta Lucilla Palace for a couple of days when we visited in Rome. This hotel is only 5-minute away by walking from Roma Termini (i.e. the main train station in Rome), bus stops, and metro station. It is very convenient to go almost any place in Rome from this hotel. There were tons of people walking on the street all day long, even late at night. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The room was small but clean. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They were patient enough to answer all kinds of questions we had and even helped us making reservations of day tours in other cities in Italy. The only thing we were not very impressed was the breakfast buffet served in the hotel. Food they provided was not as good as other hotels we stayed in Rome. Comparing against making reservations directly with the hotel, I found the price we paid online is so much better. This is certainly a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many hotels around the area serving authentic Italian food. We visited a couple of them in the area. We love the pasta they served.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
2 Jun 2011

Excellent place to stay in Rome

They were very accommodating allowing us to check in early so we were able to get some much needed rest after an overnight flight from Boston. An enjoyable trip except for getting my pocket picked on the Rome Metro. People should be warned to be very careful to protect their belongings. The breakfast which was included in the cost of the room was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several excellent and reasonably priced restaurants within easy walk from hotel.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 Jun 2011

Beware of the Shower Doors

While a nice hotel in a convenient location, the service I received when the shower door fell and exploded into a million pieces was disappointing. I feel fortunate that I was not badly injured, though the staff was very apathetic to what happened and offered no solution for my inconvenience. So beware, don't use the shower doors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants nearby.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Alhambra, CA
28 May 2011

Great Location, Pleasant Stay

This hotel has great staff and is in a great location, situated only 3 blocks from the Termini Station. This was our first time in Rome, and felt we made a good decision staying here. We came in quite early, but were able to get our room an hour earlier from the normal 2pm check-in. The room was modestly small, but very clean with modern amenities. We had air conditioning which we took great advantage of during our 3 night stay. They had a flat screen tv, which had the bare minimum of channels but they had BBC and CNN so we were able to track the Icelandic Ash Cloud while were there. Wifi internet costs 5 euro an hour, which you had to get a prepaid card for at reception. If this is too much, there are also internet cafes around the corner that are at half the cost. They accommodate rides to and from the Fiumicino airport, which I requested via email. Upon arrival, we were greeted to a driver who waited with our name on a placard. We paid 60 euro for the ride. On our departure, we decided to take the Trenitaly train. We prepaid the day before and was a half hour ride at 28 euro. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely consider going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Minnetonka, MN
5 May 2011

Good location, bad hotel

The hotel is very well located, near almost everything, like: train station and 10 minutes walking to Colosseum. On the other hand the room was too small and TV, hanged in the wall, seems to be computer screen (very small). I have already been to better places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Colosseum

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Fort Lee, NJ
22 Apr 2011

Good location, but bad hotel

I cannot deny that the hotel was located in a very good area: close to Termini( the main bus and metro station), quiet at night and good restaurants nearby. However the hotel was VERY disappointing. The rooms were much smaller than let on and I constantly felt suffocated. Our window was also broken and constantly let in a draft, that smelled like bacon and eggs since it was above the kitchen. They do not have a rooftop terrace, which is disappointing since they say that they do. It is a roof with no seats or plants and is in front of other people's room windows. The bathrooms were at least decent. Also saying that the breakfast was horrible is an understatement. If it weren't given free in the deal that I got I would have looked elsewhere for breakfast. There are also many other hotels located in the same area that seemed much better like Torino hotel and Diana Hotel. Check these out. Overall I would not go to this hotel again, even if I was by myself. I was fooled by the other people's reviews and expected too much of this hotel especially when I'm paying 234$ a night for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
msjaguar
Bonita, Ca.
27 Mar 2011

Very Good Hotel

This hotel was a great deal. The decor was elegant and roomy with pull out couch. Modern bathroom with good water pressure. The hotel was 5 min. from the train station and fifteen minutes walk to the colosseum. We enjoyed our stay. There were 2 minor things. The front desk gave us a recommendation for dinner but didn't tell us we needed to make a reservation. They didn't wake us as requested. Overall all excellent value for the cost and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the colosseum after dinner and enjoy it @ night. The Bassilica nearby is amazing!

Back to menu Return to top