£47.08 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 6 Mar 2016 Check-out 7 Mar 2016

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of Via Massimo D'Azeglio, 24, Rome, 00184

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMLeon
Couples
Kentucky, USA
29 May 2012

Excellent location and extremely helpful front desk staff!!

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The fornt desk staff was always willing to assist with booking museum and dinner reservations and providing directions to the various sites. The room was clean, comfotable, and conveniently located to most of the major sites. Breakfast buffet was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Borghese Museum - do not take bus 910 as our driver dropped us off on the opposite side of time at an empty arena. Fortunately, found a person that gave us directlions to tram -- which then required a very, very long walk from one side of the Borghese grounds to the museum.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jannie F
Friends
Gaithersburg, MD
26 May 2012

Made our brief stay in Rome so easy

We selected this hotel based on previous reviews. It more than lived up to it's favorable rating.. While the room was typically small, it was clean and nicely appointed. The queen bed was comfortable and the bathroom sink countertop was large. The location was fabulous. We walked easily the few blocks from the train station with a lot of luggage in the evening, and to the Colosseum for an 8:30 am tour. The breakfast buffet was extensive, offering a wide variety of selections. The front desk staff was friendly and incredibly helpful.. Each night they made terrific suggestions for local, moderately priced eating establishments and called for reservations for our large party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant Ceccia a few blocks away.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nico
Family
Cheshire, England
4 May 2012

There must be some poor 3 star hotels about if this is a 4 star

I really don't understand why this hotel is classed as 4 star. There is nothing special at all about this hotel. The air conditioning doesnt work. The double room I stayed in was that small the door opened outward into the corridor. You do not get any tea or coffee making facilities in the room which is a basic expectation in a 4 star hotel. The breakfast room is soleless and the bar area so non descript that no-one frequented it. On a posiive, the bed was comfy, shame I couldn't sleep though due to the noise outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Piazza Novana is a must. Its a really lovely square with lots of restaurants and street entertainers to keep you amused. Don't waste your money paying to go into the vatican. Instead go to St Peter's square and into the bascilica which is free and more spiritual and is minus the hundreds and hundreds of tourists that are cramed inside the vatican musuem where you can not move

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shirle
Single
Florence, Italy
1 May 2012

If WIFI a must, reconsider.

Great breakfast. Good location. Unworkable WIFI connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hummercat
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
28 Apr 2012

Would stay there again! Perfect location.

If we are ever lucky enough to get back to the beautiful city of Rome, we will stay here again. The room was comfortable and large enough, given that hotel rooms in Europe and Italy are small. The bed was very comfortable, room was always clean and tidy when we returned after a long day. THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL IS SIMPLY PERFECT! Just 2 blocks to the metro, train and bus station called Termini. (We saw no reason to spend a lot of money on an extravagant hotel room knowing we would not be in it much.) Location was everything and we had it all. I would recommend a room looking over the inner courtyard as the city is very noisy in the morning. We vacationed in April and had to have the window open for cool air so had difficulty sleeping in the morning due to the street noise. The friendly staff could not have been better and were very helpful on each and every question and concern we had. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient to start each busy day. The room lacked hooks and enough hangers to hang jackets and other articles of clothing on (it looked as though the wall lighting has been used for hooks as they were hanging as through ready to fall off). The snack fridge was useless as it was housed in a cabinet under the desk which had no ventilation so the items inside were not cold. Would have been nice if the Augusta had a restaurant, but there are so many good ones around that you don't lack a selection. Go to the first one the hotel staff recommends (Cecio Cecio, I think.) It's not far and they are quite accommodating and friendly with enough of a selection on the menu that you could eat there every night and not go wrong. Finally, Rome was one of the friendliest cities we've every visited, except our own, of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the Roma pass for transport and entrances to Museums. We did not as we went when the Museums were free. However, it still would have been less expensive. It is a good deal.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City Breakers
Couples
London, UK
6 Apr 2012

Fantastic, much better than thought it would be for the price!

The hotel was much better than we were expecting for the price. Really friendly and helpful staff, very comfy room. Breakfast was great, a good spread with something for everyone's tastes. Location was perfect for a sightseeing trip to Rome, 5 minutes walk from the main station. The area felt a little run down so again the Hotel was surprisingly nice. The only shame was the Wifi which was free, but the signal was very poor so we could only get it in the lobby and that was temperamental at best! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 4euro coaches to and from the airport instead of the 14euro train, Its 45 minutes straight to Termini station.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. J
Couples
Claremont, NC
21 Jan 2012

rome in January

Rome is a great value in January. Minimal lines and less competition for services. We really enjoyed our visit at the Augusta Lucilla Palace, the front desk staff was extremely helpful. The room was very nice but the bed was VERY hard and the first few nights were difficult getting to sleep. The morning breakfast was the exact same menu every day. The only hot items were eggs and bacon that was not cooked well enough that most Americans would feel comfortable eating. Lots of breads and coffee though. The location near Termini station was convenient and kept travel times to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cunyuk
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
20 Jan 2012

close to main transportation

The hotel is nice,clean and quiet modern.It is close to the main station termini, where it is the hub of the main transportation in rome. You can catch metro, bus or intercity train from this terminal. Hotel staff's are very helpfull when you need some information or direction to go somewhere, or how to get to specific tourist destination. We would certainly rcommend this hotel to friend or family who may come and visit Rome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the receptionist about place to eat, they will glady point you to the right place and even made reservation for you if you need one.

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chape
Family
Houston, Texas, EEUU
12 Jan 2012

awful staff - worst hotel coffee ever!!!

Hotel very close to Termini train station. Room clean but too small not enough for two with two bags. The Staff was AWFUL. Example: When we ask for a taxi, the front desk staff try to convince us of using a taxi directly to the airport... very strange and shocking situation for tourists that happens to know the city of Rome. The Hotel feels unsafe because the staff is not full alert of who is entering the premises... The breakfast was Terrible, specially the coffee. The worst hotel coffee ever!! The staff on the breakfast room did not speak English nor Italian..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tampa Travelers 56
Family
Tampa, FL, USA
24 Dec 2011

Great for seeing Rome

The location of this hotel was excellent. We were able to walk to just about every attraction we wanted to see and it was only a block from the main train terminal, making travel to Naples, Florence, Milan or Venice incredibly easy. Minor draw backs - the beds were very hard (but something we've found at other Italian hotels as well) and there was a beautiful bath tub, but no shower in the suite we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top