£59.42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Aug 2015 Check-out 1 Sep 2015

Cicerone Hotel Rome

4 stars
View map of 55/C Via Cicerone, Rome, 00193

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cicerone Hotel Rome

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CWJP
Single
New York, NY
23 May 2013

Roman Holiday

The hotel was fine. It was in a great neighborhood, close to shops, Metro, and a nice walk to the Vatican. The Metro was maybe 3-4 blocks away and two stops from the Spanish Steps. The Hotel was clean and had all the amenities one needs. I had a single room, and it had a queen sized bed and a big bathroom. Plenty of closets and a fridge/minibar. No view as I was on the inside, but I did not care as the hotel was only 7 stories tall, the norm for buildings in Rome. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ordinary Traveller
Friends
London
7 Oct 2012

Good average hotel in great location

The Hotel was fairly ordinary and geared to groups but it was immaculately clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful Breakfast was plentiful and there was a wide choice of food. The light switches were a bit of a mystery but generally an easy and good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Musuem of the Capuchin monks and the crypt is not on many tourist maps / books but it is amazing ..........if you like bones !!!

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mhera
Family
Madrid, España
14 Sep 2012

A perfect option

It's worth the price you have paid. The location is perfect if you take into account that you are in a big city and you can't be everywhere and you have to choose. The relationship between prices and services that you have to pay for a stay in Rome is more than correct, mainly if you consider that you are going to enjoy a wonderful breakfast that you should pay apart in other places. If the price fits you, don' doubt it. The only problem is that Internet is not free and the price is a little exagerated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Saint Angelo Castel or Vaticano

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
San Francisco Travels
Family
San Francisco
5 Sep 2012

Holiday Inn in Rome

This hotel is in the middle on no where and feels like a holiday inn. I stayed in 3 different hotels in Rome, and I would strongly recommend NOT staying here. The bathroom had mildew and the sheets were old and nasty. It is NOT NOT NOT a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was also sub par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JupiterOrlando
Couples
Orlando, Fl
4 Sep 2012

Suffers from typical europe hotel malaises

Hotel Cicerone in Rome tries its best but is let down by institutional issues with hotel industry in Europe. 1. Very hard spring beds 2. 2 Twin beds instead of a Queen / King mattress 3. Overly expensive hotel breakfast options Other than these flaws, the staff was very nice, the room cleaning was wonderful and the place had a good atmosphere overall. I did have some communication problem with the front desk when trying to get a printout but I would put it down to language issues. I don't see how you can find a better hotel in the Vatican area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wojzeh
Couples
Montreal, Canada
28 Aug 2012

Geographically good place to start exploring Rome

Situated close to Cavour place it is a good start exploring Rome. Breakfast is really good with fresh fruit and coffee. There are a few restaurants of good quality and one supermarket to refill your water supply etc. However, there are some drawbacks for this hotel. My room was not ready at the check-in hour. The room itself is so small that my luggage must have been placed on the bed. The elevator works up to the seventh floor only, then you can walk. The elevator's mechanism makes a noise, and the walls are not soundproof. Wi-Fi is not free and costs 9 euros per day. All in all, it is what you have for what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is Wind shop where you can buy a plan with unlimited mobile internet for 9 euro per month only.

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ex Rome
Couples
London, United Kingdom
27 Aug 2012

Avarage

Hotel is very dated, noisy inside and outside. Two of the staff stood in the corner and watched us when we carried our suitcases. There was no cattle or tea in the room like most of the 4 star hotels. Check with the hotel before booking as most of the information on e-booker's website is out of date such as free internet, breakfeast, TV, etc...I wanted to ask some directions around the hotel but I was afraid that staff might charge for that. This hotel must have been really posh hotel in 1980s but it is avarage in 2012. Plus sleeping in two single mattress in a double bedstead is very uncomfortable. You might wake up with a backache if sleep in between...It is easy to find a good hotel for same price in Rome as this hotel is only avarage for 4 star hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. EHorn
Single
Abu Dhabi, UAE
13 Aug 2012

Desent Hotel

Nice Hotel, Nice staff and great location. The hotel is dated, but provides it's services. The Staff truely make the difference

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler de Seldom
Single
San Antonio, Texas
15 May 2012

Good Location

Walking distance from Vatican, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Piazza Novana. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cicerone Hotel Rome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yurka
Family
Harrisburg, PA, USA
26 Apr 2012

Brief Review of Stay at Cicerone Hotel

A location of the hotel is great -- I cannot say anything bad about this aspect. I would like to identify several items that I personally did not enjoy in regards to my stay there: 1. A TV set in my room was really old (probably at least ten years old): sometimes, it turned off by itself every couple of minutes. 2. Breakfast in the hotel was way overpriced: twenty Euros per person even based on Rome's standards is above the roof. 3.Even though I paid for the room more than $165 per night, I still had to pay extra 10 Euros per day for the Internet connection. Common guys, take a look at most American hotels and learn from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top