£102.45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in 16 Nov 2014 Check-out 17 Nov 2014

Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

3 stars
Lista di Spagna, 130 Cannaregio, Venice, 30121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
21 reviews
Good place to stay in Venice.

We stayed here in early June. It is clean, quiet, and comfort, not too cold and not too hot. It... See full review

  • Lan NH
  • 20 Jun 2013
Nice place

Wasn't sure what to expect since I reserved over the internet. And it was located on the main drag.... See full review

  • Pandapaws
  • 15 Nov 2011
Luxury and refined taste, discreet, qualified service distinguish this elegant 3 stars hotel which was recently described by one of the most famous Italian tourism guidebook as 'a real treasure trove of comfort and style'. The car parking in Piazzale Roma and the cruise passengers terminal and in the meantime very closed to the best known sightseeing in Venice, the Hotel 'Antica casa Carettoni' offers its guests all the comforts and service they could desire, in a very charming and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel offers its guests a wide choice of quiet bedrooms, none of which are the same, all furnished in style, with care and endowed with every comfort. Hotel "Antica casa Carettoni" provides the service and luxuries of the large hotel with the advantages of small scale management and the staff gives professional service with a personal touch. Wood pieces and fine mosaics characterize the elegant room where the fortunate guests can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet and the sincere cordiality of the staff every morning.Genuine old-style hospitality combined with modern hotel facilities: the perfect ingredients for a peacefull, relaxed stay in Venice. The hotel offers doctor on call, lobby, non-smoking rooms, reception, safe deposit box, secretarial services, tour desk and drink dispenser self services. Breakfast- included.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice Rooms

Economy Bunk Bed Room
Small Basic Room with shared bathroom on the floow.
Economy Room with shared bathroom
These rooms are very cheap and offer a basic accommodation with shared bathroom
Standard Single Room
The room offers one single bed and includes air conditioning, color tv, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, safe in room and telephone.
Double Standard Room
The room offers one double or two single bed and includes air conditioning, color tv, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • High speed internet
Internet
High speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4419 12.3231
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Marco Polo International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located in the centre of Venice, in a convenient position, few steps from the railway station Santa Lucia and just a short distance from the Marco Polo airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.3 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.1 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.3 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.9 mi
  • San Moise: 0.9 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1.1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.3 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.4 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.5 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.9 mi
  • Burano: 5.4 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDBK
Business
Kansas City, Kansas
1 Sep 2011

Great Staff

This hotel is situated on a very touristy street, near the train station- full of energy, but it's still quiet in your room at night. The building itself is rather charming, with lovely mosaics on the floors, well-placed artwork, and an antique vibe that truly envelops you. The high point though is the great staff, especially the lady who tends to work there morning to evening. She is warm, friendly, excited, and speaks great English. Breakfast is served with a smile, and after traveling nearly 3 weeks in Europe, it was far and away the best breakfast I ever had. A number of sweet confections available, as well as croissants (with a side of nutella!), slices of meat and cheese, hard-boiled egg, and a few other items. And for the price, this place is truly a winner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sorry folks, but dining well in Venice isn't likely to happen. Or, it will take you a lot of time to find and then cost an arm and a leg.

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BPad
Business
San Diego, CA
5 Aug 2011

NOT a pleasant surprise--bunk bed couch?

The GOOD:The best part of this hotel is its location near the train station. My boyfriend and I arrived on a train at 11:30pm, and it was a relief being able to walk just down the street from the station to our place (especially considering I wayyy overpacked.) If you don't stay as close, you may get stuck taking a water taxi to where you need to get, and I can only imagine how expensive that could be... we were definitely traveling on a budget. The 24 hour and multi-lingual reception was also nice.The BAD:I booked this hotel [...], and like I said, my boyfriend and I were on a budget, so I purchased the cheapest room possible for two. DON'T BE FOOLED by the bedroom picture. AND, make sure to notice if you're booking the "bunk bed room." I thought I purchased a regular room, especially considering this was the most expensive place we were staying on our entire trip. The interior of the hotel was beautiful, but our "bunk-bed" room on the second floor (without an elevator) was DISAPPOINTING to say the least. The room is just a hallway with a bunk-bed couch!!! Bunk-bed couch?! Yeah, that's right. And for $110 US dollars a night?? How that got a 3 star rating really puzzles me... ALSO, the shared bathroom is on the first floor. It was clean, but the shower is tiny.All I can say is, I know that Venice is expensive, and if you know what to expect if/when purchasing the bunk bed room, then you'll be happy staying here considering how close it is to the transportation areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
5 Jul 2011

Nice, Cosy and very good location

We booked this hotel because we were staying only one night at Venice and had planned to go around the city during the days. The stay at Antica Casa was perfect. There was Breakfast Buffet in the morning, Internet, TV.. more than I had expected. Moreover it was located right next to Santa Lucia Terminal and was literally 3 minutes walking distance in a very lively locality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Venice Viewer
Business
Canada
12 Jun 2011

Newly renovated hotel on main street

While in Italy I stayed in various hotels in various cities and this hotel was by far the best. It's located about 5 minutes from the train station on the main street so it's very easy to find. That said, my room was very quiet and safe. The hotel has been renovated, but it's in an old building so it has a lot of charm. My room had AC, which came in useful in the heat we experienced that week. Many of the hotels I stayed in didn't have AC or a ceiling fan and the rooms got very hot. The hotel staff were helpful enough. Italian customer service isn't quite what I'm used to, but the hotel staff were better than some. The breakfast was very nice and it's included in the price of the room. The hotel was definitely worth the price paid! Italian hotels are small, old and expensive - don't expect much from them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book tourist destinations ahead of time. The lines in Italy are very long!

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
31 May 2011

Very nice hotel, close to train station

We were only staying for a short time in Venice and this hotel worked out perfectly. It was a short walk from the train station, so we could drop our bags, take a shower and head out into the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and had a great view of the city from our window. Breakfast the next day was delicious. The location was perfect for what we wanted and the room was clean and the shower worked great (a good shower is sometimes hard to find in Italy). I would certainly recommend this room to a friend and I would stay ther again on any return trips to Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
28 May 2011

Antica Casa - NOT LIKE HOME

The Good - Hotel is on the island, low cost, breakfast was ok. Coffee was great (if you like it strong). Staff speaks English. The Bad - No elevator so if you have lots of luggage, the hallways are narrow and it is a hike up to the rooms. The Ugly- A/C is NOT ON for most of the time. Computer controlled and they turn it off at night. It was REALLY HOT (at least 90 degrees)...we took 3 freezing cold showers to cool down...did not sleep at all. The rooms are older (not updated like rest of hotel), and there is a lot of broken glass on the night stand table top & lights (of course, I got cut).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy cheap bags/masks from steet vendors. Masks are [*]-not like the nice ones made by artist in Venezia. Bags look nice, but the Ventecian shop owners will bargain as well...especially if you pay with cash.

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Springbokkies
Business
South Africa
16 May 2011

Delightful little find

When we arrived in Venice we found the hotel easily and very close to St. Lucia train station. Although very small everything (as expected in limited space of Venice), it was of high quality. The staff were very friendly, helpful and gave very good advice. The 1st night was very hot with no aircon and mozzies. 2nd night we had aircon. Wonderful location (to take a break or change shoes) and room quality for the price! even with rain on last day we could leave our luggage until departure and still freshen up in guest bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if more than one day in Venice, buy the 12h00 'waterbus' ticket. this will enable you to visit the islands and Grand Canal in one day.

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana, USA
15 May 2011

Great service, good location, clean room

Located a few steps from the main train and bus stations, this hotel has a great English-speaking concierge who really helped us discover Venice. The included breakfast was good, and the hotel is very clean and bright. The rooms are somewhat cramped. Watch out for mosquitoes! Ask for a plugin citronella device at the desk for no charge, and sleep a lot easier. The internet is a wired connection - they have cables available at the desk for free (10 euro refundable deposit). There is no wireless connection. Overall, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask Elisa for a map, and she'll give you restaurant recommendations, attractions, and advice on the best ways to get around!

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
3 Jun 2010

Great location for the price

Depending on what you're looking for, this hotel is either perfect or horrible. For me as a single traveller it was perfect - not expensive, in a great, safe, central location. If you're traveling with a significant other and looking for a romantic getaway, I wouldn't recommend this place. the room is small, there were no frills (no gym, no service at the front desk, no spa, etc)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
28 May 2010

Close to train station but..

Conveniently located near the train station but if carrying a lot of luggage it's a long way! You have to check in at a different hotel down the street (not too far) and give them your key everytime you go out and pick it up when you return to the hotel. No a/c till June, it was stuffy. Rooms are very small but the bathroom was clean and sufficient. Lots of stairs to drag your luggage up, dont stay higher than the first floor! (thats 2 flights to get to) We had breakfast included but they told us we didnt and it was served in the other hotel anyway which we would not have gone to. Hotel is located on the main tourist entrance into Venice, over a restaurant/gift shops. Noisy but that's Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of "take away" sandwich shops, prices are very low for some excellent food. Sitting out on terraces can be quite expensive after all the charges added on to that. Pizza is great, an excellent value. Food outside of the train station areas is much higher.

Back to menu Return to top