£99.04 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 3 Sep 2015 Check-out 4 Sep 2015

Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

3 stars
View map of Lista di Spagna, 130 Cannaregio, Venice, 30121

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BPad
Couples
San Diego, CA
5 Aug 2011

NOT a pleasant surprise--bunk bed couch?

The GOOD:The best part of this hotel is its location near the train station. My boyfriend and I arrived on a train at 11:30pm, and it was a relief being able to walk just down the street from the station to our place (especially considering I wayyy overpacked.) If you don't stay as close, you may get stuck taking a water taxi to where you need to get, and I can only imagine how expensive that could be... we were definitely traveling on a budget. The 24 hour and multi-lingual reception was also nice.The BAD:I booked this hotel [...], and like I said, my boyfriend and I were on a budget, so I purchased the cheapest room possible for two. DON'T BE FOOLED by the bedroom picture. AND, make sure to notice if you're booking the "bunk bed room." I thought I purchased a regular room, especially considering this was the most expensive place we were staying on our entire trip. The interior of the hotel was beautiful, but our "bunk-bed" room on the second floor (without an elevator) was DISAPPOINTING to say the least. The room is just a hallway with a bunk-bed couch!!! Bunk-bed couch?! Yeah, that's right. And for $110 US dollars a night?? How that got a 3 star rating really puzzles me... ALSO, the shared bathroom is on the first floor. It was clean, but the shower is tiny.All I can say is, I know that Venice is expensive, and if you know what to expect if/when purchasing the bunk bed room, then you'll be happy staying here considering how close it is to the transportation areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington DC
5 Jul 2011

Nice, Cosy and very good location

We booked this hotel because we were staying only one night at Venice and had planned to go around the city during the days. The stay at Antica Casa was perfect. There was Breakfast Buffet in the morning, Internet, TV.. more than I had expected. Moreover it was located right next to Santa Lucia Terminal and was literally 3 minutes walking distance in a very lively locality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Venice Viewer
Single
Canada
12 Jun 2011

Newly renovated hotel on main street

While in Italy I stayed in various hotels in various cities and this hotel was by far the best. It's located about 5 minutes from the train station on the main street so it's very easy to find. That said, my room was very quiet and safe. The hotel has been renovated, but it's in an old building so it has a lot of charm. My room had AC, which came in useful in the heat we experienced that week. Many of the hotels I stayed in didn't have AC or a ceiling fan and the rooms got very hot. The hotel staff were helpful enough. Italian customer service isn't quite what I'm used to, but the hotel staff were better than some. The breakfast was very nice and it's included in the price of the room. The hotel was definitely worth the price paid! Italian hotels are small, old and expensive - don't expect much from them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book tourist destinations ahead of time. The lines in Italy are very long!

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Durham, NC
31 May 2011

Very nice hotel, close to train station

We were only staying for a short time in Venice and this hotel worked out perfectly. It was a short walk from the train station, so we could drop our bags, take a shower and head out into the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and had a great view of the city from our window. Breakfast the next day was delicious. The location was perfect for what we wanted and the room was clean and the shower worked great (a good shower is sometimes hard to find in Italy). I would certainly recommend this room to a friend and I would stay ther again on any return trips to Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Colorado
28 May 2011

Antica Casa - NOT LIKE HOME

The Good - Hotel is on the island, low cost, breakfast was ok. Coffee was great (if you like it strong). Staff speaks English. The Bad - No elevator so if you have lots of luggage, the hallways are narrow and it is a hike up to the rooms. The Ugly- A/C is NOT ON for most of the time. Computer controlled and they turn it off at night. It was REALLY HOT (at least 90 degrees)...we took 3 freezing cold showers to cool down...did not sleep at all. The rooms are older (not updated like rest of hotel), and there is a lot of broken glass on the night stand table top & lights (of course, I got cut).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy cheap bags/masks from steet vendors. Masks are [*]-not like the nice ones made by artist in Venezia. Bags look nice, but the Ventecian shop owners will bargain as well...especially if you pay with cash.

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Louisiana, USA
15 May 2011

Great service, good location, clean room

Located a few steps from the main train and bus stations, this hotel has a great English-speaking concierge who really helped us discover Venice. The included breakfast was good, and the hotel is very clean and bright. The rooms are somewhat cramped. Watch out for mosquitoes! Ask for a plugin citronella device at the desk for no charge, and sleep a lot easier. The internet is a wired connection - they have cables available at the desk for free (10 euro refundable deposit). There is no wireless connection. Overall, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask Elisa for a map, and she'll give you restaurant recommendations, attractions, and advice on the best ways to get around!

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
san francisco, ca
3 Jun 2010

Great location for the price

Depending on what you're looking for, this hotel is either perfect or horrible. For me as a single traveller it was perfect - not expensive, in a great, safe, central location. If you're traveling with a significant other and looking for a romantic getaway, I wouldn't recommend this place. the room is small, there were no frills (no gym, no service at the front desk, no spa, etc)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Michigan
28 May 2010

Close to train station but..

Conveniently located near the train station but if carrying a lot of luggage it's a long way! You have to check in at a different hotel down the street (not too far) and give them your key everytime you go out and pick it up when you return to the hotel. No a/c till June, it was stuffy. Rooms are very small but the bathroom was clean and sufficient. Lots of stairs to drag your luggage up, dont stay higher than the first floor! (thats 2 flights to get to) We had breakfast included but they told us we didnt and it was served in the other hotel anyway which we would not have gone to. Hotel is located on the main tourist entrance into Venice, over a restaurant/gift shops. Noisy but that's Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of "take away" sandwich shops, prices are very low for some excellent food. Sitting out on terraces can be quite expensive after all the charges added on to that. Pizza is great, an excellent value. Food outside of the train station areas is much higher.

Review of Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fresno, CA
14 May 2009

A Terrible Experience

The location of the hotel is very near the train station and transportation. It is on a busy walkway with lots of foot traffic but that was not a problem. Many small restaurants are nearby. When we arrived, a sign directed us to another hotel to check in. No staff are available in this hotel. The room was very hot but the airconditioning could not be turned on (because of government restrictions apparently?) We opened windows and then were eaten alive by mosquitos. To add insult to injury, there is no sound proofing so the neighbors who came and went between Midnight and 3:00 a.m. were intensely disturbing as they banged doors, talked loudly, and ran up and down the stairs. It was a very expensive room and no way close to a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top