£79.50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Nov 2014 Check-out 3 Dec 2014

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

4 stars
Amstelstraat 17, Amsterdam, 1017 DA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Nice getaway

The staff were extremely welcoming and attentive when I checked in and the amenities were... See full review

  • The modern wanderer
  • 9 Oct 2014
Friendly

Friendly, very helpful staff. Great location. Pretty much a 20 minute walk or less to most major... See full review

  • Fritz the Blitz
  • 9 Jul 2014
A hotel with Amsterdam on its doorstep
If central Amsterdam is the end, then the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam's location provides the means. Located right on the lively, popular, and famous Rembrandt Square, the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam offers deluxe accommodation. Comfortable rooms and friendly staff await guests' arrival and the hotel is equipped with all the amenities travellers would expect to find in a hotel of its class. Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam is a non-smoking hotel.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Central location from which to explore Amsterdam
  • Free Internet provided in the lobby (some fees may apply)
  • Bicycle service and scooter rental
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam Rooms
All of the guest rooms at the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam have recently benefited from an extensive renovation which has seen the rooms completely refurbished to reflect the 21st century. Contemporary style is everywhere, and the furnishings have been specifically chosen to ensure guests are as comfortable as possible. The beds come with thick mattresses and extra cushions for those who like to lounge or need a bit more support when in bed. Each room comes with a wide range of facilities, including a flat-screen TV with on-demand movies, mini-bar and safe, while air-conditioning is provided throughout to maximise the comfort of guests. The guest rooms at the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam are all en suite with powerful and refreshing rain-type showers, and high-speed Internet is available in each room (some fees may apply). Rooms are available as standard, superior, executive, and junior suites.
Things To Do:
  • The Canals (0.37 mi/0.6 km)
  • Red Light District (0.75 mi/1.2 km)
  • Amsterdam Royal Palace (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Brilmuseum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Museum of Our Lord in the Attic (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.87 mi/1.4 km)
  • Old Church of Amsterdam (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1.1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.18 mi/1.9 km)

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
The renovated standard rooms all have a comfortable elevated bed, flatscreen TV, coffee and tea facilities, Minibar, safe, a very luxurious bathroom with bath or shower and a bath set. Every room offers you the possibility to use our free high speed internet. The Standard rooms offer you everything you need for a comfortable stay in Amsterdam!
Superior Room
A room with just a little extra! Our Superior rooms are slightly larger then the Standard rooms. They are all equipped with comfortable elevated beds, coffee and tea facilities, a flatscreen TV, Minibar, safe, and a luxurious bathroom, with superior and executive rooms.
Executive Room
Do you prefer a more luxurious stay? Our Executive rooms have a more luxurious and spacious setup with a separate living area! As our Superior rooms they are also equipped with lovely elevated beds, coffee and tea facilities, flatscreen TV, Minibar, safe, and a luxurious bathroom, with superior and executive rooms.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3662 4.8982
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 11.2 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 55.1 km.
Area description
Amsterdam.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.1 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.1 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.3 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • University Library: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant & Bar
After a long day in town you can recuperate in our sister hotel with a nice cold beer, a soft drink or a good glass of wine in our Pipa's bar. Bar Pipa's is named after the owner of the Hampshire Eden Hotel Group, it is his nickname. Thanks to the painting in the bar he is always present. The bar itself is nicely illuminated and offers you the opportunity to enjoy a drink and a bite. Enjoy Bar Pipa's in the Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and let the colours of our bar inspire your stay in Amsterdam! Goodmorning! Wake up with a complete breakfast! We love to spoil you with nice delights, this way you will be ready for a day full of surprises in Amsterdam! Luxurious rolls, warm French croissants, fresh toppings and Dutch cheese are on our buffet.
FLO
FLO Amsterdam is the French hotspot in Amsterdam! Enjoy in stylish surroundings the French cuisine for lunch (Monday till Friday) and dinner (7 days a week) with an unexpected twist. It offers modern French cuisine and has a "Fruits de Mer" section with a daily changing selection from fresh oysters, lobster and crab. A real delight for sea food lovers & French cuisine connoisseurs!
Bar Pipa's
Relax after a busy day in the office or in town. Pipa's trendy lounge bar is the place to be.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you decide to organise your business meeting at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, you can make use of our newly developed concept called the Conference. The Conference can offer you five beautiful, fully equipped meeting rooms. Each meeting room has its own intimate atmosphere and is equipped with state-ofg-the-art audiovisual facilities like an LCD flatscreen, beamer and a DVD player. We look forward to discuss all your wishes in person, this way we can arrange your meeting as detailed as possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigger al
Business
sunderland
26 Apr 2014

electrical faults

we had five electricals faults in our room i got a shock off one of the plugs. i reported this and nothing was done.i would not go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
20th anniversary couple
Business
New Orleans, LA
4 Jun 2010

needs renovation & staff training

This hotel was NOT worthy of a four star rating. While the room was large and quiet, the walls and carpet were filthy. This Eden hotel at Rembrandt Square is physically linked via a corridor to the three-star Eden with the entrance facing the Amstel. The lobby for the three star Eden was so much more inviting with better decor than the four star lobby -- which looked like a mediocre two star lobby. Although we had booked a king bed and even after reminding the check-in clerk, we were given two twin beds, but the second clerk quickly made the change to a larger bed. The first clerk seemed cold and inefficient -- she had trouble finding our reservation, tried to say we were at the wrong hotel, and had to telephone for help. This is not the kind of staff one would expect for a four star hotel. The hallways leading to the room were also dirty. Also, we had to pay "city tax" upon check-out, although the[...] We would NOT stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cheese shop on Utrechtstraat -- about 4-5 blocks from hotel.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gimlei
Business
Moscow, Russia
1 Aug 2010

Central, but not too good

I came to Amsterdam to meet my friends, who were staying at a different hotel. When I just arrived, the check-in went flawlessly, except for the fact that receptionist did not mention the city tax that everyone has to pay upon check-out, but given that it is about 3 euro/day, it was not critical. I was given a room at the fifth (top) floor, and when I entered it there was a terrible smell, something like rotten food. I am not sure whether it was coming from the ventilation or from outside, but then again I didn't really want to find out. I demanded to change the room, and at first the receptionist denied that they had any rooms left, but after I insisted and asked her to look for rooms at their sister hotel, it turned out they actually had another room available after all, albeit a tiny one, and with a smaller bed. The smell in the room was so bad, however, that that seemed like an acceptable trade-off. Finally, another problem that I found was the air conditioning - it was blowing so hard even at the lowest setting that you couldn't really sleep, but if you left it off for long enough - the room quickly became stuffy. Otherwise, the hotel is ok - location is quite central, just next to Rembrand square, where the night life takes place - but it's not too noisy at the same time, or at least I didn't feel it. Breakfast is definitely overpriced and I didn't go for it, since there is a ton of nice cafes nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely try the famous local herring - without bread, with onion and pickles - delicious! There are a lot of places where they sell it, usually in small kiosks on the banks of the channels - I had mine near the flower market.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2ladies
Business
Uk
7 May 2014

Expensive but good location

Very noisy room!! Disrupted sleep every night! Shouldn't be so when you've paid their charges for a 4 night " break" Didn't really see any staff to comment - cocktails good but overpriced, as was restaurant. Perfect location which they obviously are cashing in on, close to most things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rossj
Business
Queensferry, Edinburgh, UK
9 Jan 2012

Winter break

Very nice hotel but very very expensive. Ideal location for nightlife but if on street side of hotel can be quite noisy with the bars/nightclubs very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the tram and rail network, fantastic service almost always on time. Taxis are very expensive even for very short distances

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Callifornia
29 Jun 2010

Great Trip

we chose this hotel based on provious reviews and found them to be acurate. Cleanliness was the bigest issue followed by slow room service for just about everything. The desk staff, however, was very helpful. The decore is all grey and somewhat cold and derprssing. The biggest threat to booking online is that you may not get the room that you booked for as all rooms are on a first come basis when you arrive and the price is not adjusted. All in all, I would stay here again, but only if i checked other hotels firt and fcoulsn;t find something else. Stayed in a 3 * Red Lion when we returned and it was far nicer, cleaner and the staff more than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We injoyed the restaurants in the square. we would not buy the hotel breakfast package as it was very expensive.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
23 Aug 2009

Clean and easyily accessible

Easily accessible from Schipol via the train to Central Station and Tram #4 or #9 to Rembrandt Square (4th stop). Internet was fine with the cable and walking access to a good portion of exciting Amsterdam. Rooms were clean and convenient. The noise from the people coming out of the bars at 2-3 in the morning is not good on the front side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk back toward central station to Dam Square Lots of attractions. shopping and restaurants all along the way.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanielleMC81
Business
Chicago, IL
12 Jul 2014

Nice location but facility a bit tired

Staff was helpful but facility was a bit tired, could use some updating. Very dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dafydd
Business
Wales
3 Mar 2014

Rembrandt Plein

Excellent base for exploring Amsterdam, with good access to trams. Lovely Asian cafe/ rester aunt next door, great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liani
Business
Washington DC
15 Apr 2014

Fantastic location!

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Hampshire Hotel in Rembrandtplein during spring of 2014. The location was prefect, near the major museums (Rijk and van Gogh), bloomenmarket, canals, plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from, trams and buses run across from the hotel, and nightlife ... was non-stop! The staff was helpful. The room was clean. One thing that was missing from the hotel was a gym. Otherwise, Hampshire Hotel is great hotel to stay in AMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Why stay in far away hotels just to safe money, stay in Hampshire Hotel and you'll safe more on public transportation and time, because you can walk to main attractions.

Back to menu Return to top