£119.58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 23 Nov 2014 Check-out 24 Nov 2014

Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

5 stars
Kattengat 1, KATTENGAT 1, Amsterdam, 1012 SZ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
Fantastic Birthday weekend

We had an absolutely lovely time in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a short walk to Central Station... See full review

  • jaxhomemaker
  • 12 Mar 2014
Our short stay

The room and staff were great. We did not eat at hotel so can not comment. So many place to visit... See full review

  • HEy1
  • 18 Jul 2013
Old meets new at this hotel in the heart of Amsterdam

The Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam has been completely modernised, adding many kinds of high-tech equipment and modern conveniences, while retaining the charm and detailing of its history. With a 24-hour fitness centre and a no-smoking policy, this hotel is perfect for the health conscious traveller. Tasty Mediterranean dishes are offered in the on-site restaurant, and guests can unwind with a nightcap in the hotel lounge bar, 2B. Well-equipped conference centres are modern and functional, ideal for business meetings or events.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Recently updated, the hotel has many modern facilities and amenities, such as broadband Internet service (some fees may apply)
  • On-site restaurant and lounge bar offer dining and wining for guests
  • The high-tech conference facilities and large event space make the hotel ideal for meetings or events
Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam Rooms
The Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam offers a series of rooms which retain Renaissance bedding. Each one of these beautifully contemporary rooms features a generous work area with a desk and wireless Internet access (some fees may apply), as well as a table with seating for two. Bathrooms are spacious and offer tub and shower combinations. All rooms at the Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam have LCD flat-screen televisions with cable channels and pay-per-view films, as well as Internet access (some fees may apply). 24-hour room service is also offered for guests, and all rooms are non-smoking. Some rooms offer views of the neighbouring church or the Amsterdam cityscape. Select rooms offer high-end amenities and options. Suites feature separate living and bedroom areas, and club level rooms include access to the hotel's Club Lounge, where guests can enjoy meals and receive complimentary business services
Things To Do:
  • Monument op de Dam (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Anne Frank House (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Stedelijk Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Concert Hall (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Theatre Tuschinski (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • City Theatre (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Hermitage (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • Checkout: 12:00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business centre
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Cable or sat. TV
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3781 4.8942
Area served
Located within city center
Nearby airports
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, (AMS), 18.00, KM, NE; Eindhoven Airport, (EIN), 76.20, KM, SE; Rotterdam The Hague Airport, (RTM), 44.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.3 mi
  • New Church: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.3 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.4 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.4 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.4 mi
  • Single: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Waag: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.5 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.5 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.5 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Moooi: 0.5 mi
  • East India House: 0.5 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 0.5 mi

Dining

Scossa
Seducing with delectable choices, our Italian restaurant in Amsterdam, Scossa, is open for breakfast and offers options for group lunches or dinners upon request
Koepelcafé
"Relax in this street-side bar in original Amsterdam brown café style. Serving drinks and food all day, this unique café welcomes you to discover indigenous zips & bites for lunch and dinner.
2B Lounge & Bar
Relax, socialize, meet & greet in our stylish 2B Lounge Bar with cool vibes and chilled music, serving finger style food, MED dips and a large range of amazing cocktails. This energizing bar in Amsterdam also serves lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
friendly friend
Business
london
14 May 2013

6 friends on holiday

we had booked three rooms , we were given one room on time and were told that other two rooms will be ready by 30clock, and hey would give us a ring when they were available and all three rooms would be on the same floor. Not only they didnt have the rooms ready at 8 0clock in rthe evening but also all the rooms were on differnt floors. when questioned they said it was a training issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tulip fields

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
9 Dec 2009

Spacious and decent for the location.

Hotel is one of the better ones in Amsterdam. Clean, new and nice furniture/beds/sheets. Nicely decorated. Our room was on the bottom floor facing a loud street and was too noisy. The price seemed resonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Ask for a quiet room.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
10 Mar 2010

Great location

We picked this location for our three night stay based on its proximity to the Jordaan. Knowing that the West Bank and the Jordaan offer the layed back experience we were looking for, the Renaissance offered a reliable hotel chain with a great location. Just a moments walk for a couple of blocks, you are at the hotel and checking in before your bags become annoying on cobble stone streets for the central station. Arriving around 12:30, our room was not available so we checked our luggage and wanted for a call from the hotel to tell us our room was available. In the meantime, we were able to see the nearby Anne Frank museum and fetch lunch. For the rest of our stay, we were able to easily visit the Dam Square area, Nine Streets, and dozens of neighborhood brown cafes and restaurants. As easy as it was to find the hotel on arrival, it was easy to visit the flee market just a few blocks away on Monday morning before return to the train station our the airport for our return home. A perfect relaxing and cultural weekend in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Nine Streets are just a few blocks away and offer great shopping, drinking and dining. Additionally, you have easy access to floor markets and a neighborhood flee market on Saturdays and Mondays.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bambimoon
Business
San Jose, CA
25 May 2011

Wonderful and great location too!

Hotel is very nice, clean and super friendly. Loved our room- more like an american hotel room size than europe which is nice. Many english TV channels and great club room with beer and breakfast every morning and afternoon. The location is perfect for all attractions and the hotel staff is helpful. You can buy tickets for most attractions in the lobby. We have stayed at this hotel twice and had a great stay both times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy tickets to attractions in the lobby to avoid queues.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
30 Aug 2009

Centrally, well located hotel.

Centrally well located hotel, close enough to the Main (Central) Train Station to make it conveniently accessible and far enough away from it to make it peaceful and relaxing. Well appointed rooms with very comfortable beds and ammenities such as high speed internet and flat screen tv/monitor (with a wireless keyboard). Unfortunately, these come with a price that start affecting the otherwise great rate that Orbitz got for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Before you choose to eat at a seemingly convenient restaurant near the Hotel and regardsless how far you may need to go, make sure you ask the concierge for his dining location recommendations in order to avoid disappointment (taste, presentation and/or price wise)

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hicksville, NY USA
27 Jul 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION

Would like more "what's going on this week in Amsterdam" kind of material available in lobby - booklets, better local map from check-in counter - Also - "too narrow" bath tubs need more handles, mat maybe, felt insecure bathing - Very pleased with all hotel employees -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
double rainbow
Business
belmont ma
20 Oct 2010

loved nthe location an accomodations

fabulous location, very nice accomodations. we 3 had a king bed and pullout couch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the middle of central station. just a few yards to coffee shops, nice restaurants, canal boats, bike rentals, red light district. i've been 3 times to amsterdam and this is my favorite spot with all the amenities.

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frellis
Business
San Francisco, CA
1 Nov 2010

Great business hotel in central location

The hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance to Amsterdam Centraal station. The rooms were clean and if you get a room with a king-sized bed, fairly spacious. However, internet is expensive and there is no water kettle in the room (meaning no free tea or coffee). We opted to eat out for all of our meals as our stay didn't include breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, USA
26 Apr 2011

Great but expensive internet access

Everything is great about this hotel - great location, nice service and people, clean and comfort room and bedding. however, there is no WiFi signal in the room, internet access is expensive, eg. 7 Euro/hour from room. The free internet is only available in the lobby. There is free/weak WiFi signal in the lobby and four computers with limited free access time in the lobby. It is a bit disappointing not having free WiFi for such a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bravovfx
Business
NYC
1 Sep 2009

Good Place

My fiance and I were in Amsterdam for 9 days. We stayed at 3 different hotels. The Renaissance was the only 4 star we stayed in and was by far the nicest and most modern. Rooms had flat screen tv, and were spotless. The entire staff was incredibly helpful especially the concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top