£54.87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Jul 2014 Check-out 30 Jul 2014

Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

4 stars
Corner Of Vincent Street & Mayoral Drive, Auckland, Auckland, 1010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
59 reviews
This hotel is a gem...so many details!!!

The lobby on this hotel is breathtaking...Even though this hotel is not located right in the city... See full review

  • EandAtravellers
  • 6 Apr 2014
Great location, good value

Hotel room is bright and large, although our view is not good (we see next lower building) but bath... See full review

  • J Huang
  • 26 Dec 2013
Luxury hotel with rooftop gardens adjacent to theaters and shopping
The Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, the largest hotel in New Zealand, offers travelers upscale accommodations in the heart of the city, within walking distance to posh shopping and dining. Guests arrive into a towering atrium lobby and disappear into modern yet elegantly designed guest rooms. The Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland connects underground to four of the premier venues of the city, including Aotea Center and Auckland Town Hall. Guests can indulge in separate sauna facilities, an indoor heated pool or a Japanese rooftop garden.
Highlights
  • Heated indoor pool, a gymnasium and an outdoor rooftop sun deck
  • Near Queen Street and Viaduct Harbour
  • Fifteen meeting and event venues
  • Pacific and Katsura Japanese restaurants, along with 24-hour room service
  • Undercover garage and valet parking
Rooms
Guests can relax in a room of their choice as the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland offers six types of accommodations across the 452 guest rooms and suites, ranging from deluxe rooms up to the lavish Royal Suite, which has a baby grand piano and gas fireplace. Typical guest rooms feature the option of one king or two doubles with stripe-pattern duvet covers. Light from floor-to-ceiling windows floods the guest rooms, which feature marble vanities, glass-enclosed showers and separate soak tubs in the bathrooms. Rooms include modern workstations and separate sitting areas with footrests. Balcony suites feature separate living and dining areas.
Features
Set in the Central Business District of the city, the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland connects via underground tunnel to a number of important venues, including Auckland Town Hall and the Auckland Convention Center. The location affords travelers easy access to a number of top attractions, including Queen Street and Viaduct Harbour. With 24-hour room service and three restaurants or lounges, including the Pacific for breakfast and Katsura Japanese for dinner, delicious fare is nearby. Guests can relax at the indoor heated pool, the on-site gym, in separate saunas or at the rooftop Japanese sun deck. The Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland has a 24-hour business center and 15 different meeting and event spaces.
Transportation
  • Auckland Airport (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Attractions
  • Auckland Convention Centre at the Edge (adjacent)
  • Queen Street (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Viaduct Harbour (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Auckland Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • Offers 15 meeting and event spaces, including a grand ballroom
  • Hotel linked to Auckland Convention Centre at the Edge
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel requires credit card authorization or cash bond of $200 NZD to cover incidental charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland Rooms

Deluxe / Plaza Club
The room offers 1 king bed or 2 double beds with all modern amenities.

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

-36.8528 174.7608
Area served
Auckland
Nearby airports
Auckland International Airport.
Area description
Located in the very heart of cosmopolitan Auckland, a stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland places you within walking distance of some of the city's finest dining, shopping and entertainment, including Queen St and the Viaduct Harbour. The hotel is also linked via an underground tunnel to four of Auckland's most significant venues - Aotea Centre, The Civic, Auckland Town Hall and Aotea Square - making it ideal for those in town to see a show.

Nearby points of interest

  • Aotea Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • SKYCITY Auckland: 0.3 mi
  • Sky Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Auckland Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Park: 0.4 mi
  • Flight Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Vulcan Lane: 0.5 mi
  • Auckland University: 0.5 mi
  • Dilworth Building: 0.6 mi
  • Viaduct Harbour: 0.6 mi
  • New Zealand Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Newton: 0.7 mi
  • Auckland Domain: 0.9 mi
  • Saint Mary's Bay: 1 mi
  • Aotea Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • SKYCITY Auckland: 0.3 mi
  • Sky Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Auckland Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Park: 0.4 mi
  • Flight Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Vulcan Lane: 0.5 mi
  • Auckland University: 0.5 mi
  • Dilworth Building: 0.6 mi
  • Viaduct Harbour: 0.6 mi
  • New Zealand Maritime Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Newton: 0.7 mi
  • Auckland Domain: 0.9 mi
  • Saint Mary's Bay: 1 mi
  • War Memorial Museum: 1.1 mi
  • City Towers: 1.2 mi
  • Ponsonby: 1.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Kinder House: 1.4 mi
  • Rialto Cinemas: 1.4 mi
  • St Stephen's Chapel: 1.6 mi
  • Mount Eden Domain: 1.6 mi
  • Auckland Harbour Bridge: 1.8 mi
  • Waitemata Harbour: 2 mi
  • Museum of Transport and Technology: 2.1 mi
  • Western Springs: 2.2 mi
  • Epsom: 2.3 mi
  • Auckland Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Westfield St Lukes: 2.6 mi
  • Devonport: 2.7 mi
  • Birkenhead: 2.8 mi
  • Remuera: 2.9 mi
  • Northcote: 2.9 mi
  • Kelly Tarlton's Underwater World: 3.2 mi
  • Greenlane: 3.2 mi
  • One Tree Hill: 3.6 mi
  • Stardome Observatory: 3.8 mi
  • Pah Homestead: 4.3 mi
  • Ellerslie: 4.4 mi
  • Takapuna: 4.6 mi
  • Avondale: 4.7 mi
  • Mount Wellington: 5.4 mi
  • Westfield Mall: 9.2 mi
  • Papatoetoe: 9.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
30 Apr 2009

Definitely misleading details online

We were very very disappointed with this hotel. We had booked a King bed, in an upper room with a view of the city. There was supposed to be a guest laudromat and nicely renovated rooms. We booked the hotel a day or two before arrival online. When we showed up we were told that bookings done on the weekend do not register to their computers. There were no rooms like we booked. We got a room but it was with 2 small queen beds, on the 3rd floor, with a view of the centre court (ie. wall and gym) with only the washroom renovated. There was no laundromat. When I called to inquire about the laundromat i was told to check the drawer for a bag. I mentioned several times that we did not get the room we had paid for and asked a few times if a King bed was available. The front desk was not interested in helping out in anyway. I submitted a complaint on a comment card but apparently the hotel manager never got it. I complained on Orbitz about not getting the room we paid for. The hotel claims that we never complained and if we did then they would have been happy to assist us/make us happy. They refused to provide any compensation. I guess that the customer isn't always right. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The only nice/helpful staff was the concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
30 Apr 2009

Definitely misleading details online

We were very very disappointed with this hotel. We had booked a King bed, in an upper room with a view of the city. There was supposed to be a guest laudromat and nicely renovated rooms. We booked the hotel a day or two before arrival online. When we showed up we were told that bookings done on the weekend do not register to their computers. There were no rooms like we booked. We got a room but it was with 2 small queen beds, on the 3rd floor, with a view of the centre court (ie. wall and gym) with only the washroom renovated. There was no laundromat. When I called to inquire about the laundromat i was told to check the drawer for a bag. I mentioned several times that we did not get the room we had paid for and asked a few times if a King bed was available. The front desk was not interested in helping out in anyway. I submitted a complaint on a comment card but apparently the hotel manager never got it. I complained on Orbitz about not getting the room we paid for. The hotel claims that we never complained and if we did then they would have been happy to assist us/make us happy. They refused to provide any compensation. I guess that the customer isn't always right. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The only nice/helpful staff was the concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DutchUK
London
3 Nov 2010

Mediocre hotel...

Hotel looks good in lobby area, but lacks any atmosphere, rooms are plain, as is the food, nothing special. Everyday things need to be properly managed and are not- cleaning, room service, mini bar re-stocking. Good location but un-inspiring compared to many hotels in the same area, that have a real sense of individuality, great food, and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cop0
Auckland, New Zealand
30 Jan 2011

Living de reality (show...!)

i don't like "charges" for change reservation...! Thats all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Poppyyy
Auckland
25 Apr 2014

Awesome bed, bad terms and conditions

Arrived at the hotel and was told about the 200 dollar bond that needed to be paid. As I had not previously been informed of this it was a bit of a shock and I was not prepared with the reserve cash. The staff were very helpful and we managed to make an arrangement however we were informed that if we'd paid the 200 dollar bond we would not have received it back for 5 days! Seems a bit unnecessary. I am from the UK and had not experienced that level of security at a hotel of that level. Beautifully comfortable bed, wonderful bathroom and shower. Lovely staff. Good night on the whole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mirivic
Brighton UK
20 Jan 2013

a good value for money

This modern centrally situated hotel is pleasant The rooms are spacious,the beds comfortable nice hot water.It is the first hotel I have stayed in where parking is payed separately ,normally most hotels offer parking.The plumbing is in need of some TLC .The staff at reception is pleasant and courteous ,,the foyers pleasantly furnished. All together good value .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sky City LEVEL 3 has a buffet type of restaurantFortuna with an amazing range of high quality dishes very reasonably priced

Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cop0
Auckland, New Zealand
30 Jan 2011

Living de reality (show...!)

i don't like "charges" for change reservation...! Thats all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bugs gas
richmond va
16 Jan 2011

Great location

We used the hotel as a base for our travels in north new zealand. The staff was acceptable and the room was ok. They could have done more but we were ok with what we got for the price. Great location for walking the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

See some of the islands, go by fery

Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bugs gas
richmond va
16 Jan 2011

Great location

We used the hotel as a base for our travels in north new zealand. The staff was acceptable and the room was ok. They could have done more but we were ok with what we got for the price. Great location for walking the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

See some of the islands, go by fery

Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Believed the ad
Business
Florida, USA
13 Apr 2012

Too poor to pay attention

So I'm looking for hotels that had transportation from airport as well as free parking and Rendezvous advertised both. Not so fast, folks. I found out that yes, there is transportation YOU PAY FOR from the airport to the hotel and parking YOU PAY FOR, rather than what the description says. Perhaps if you paid a higher price for the room, you might get free parking but don't be fooled. From the airport was 35 NZ dollars and parking is 15 NZ dollars per day. Don't believe everything you read, folks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top