£77.34 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 2 Sep 2015 Check-out 3 Sep 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken1
Single
N/A
21 Jan 2015

Short Vacation

The hotel was nice and in a good location for a lot of the sites around town. The only disadvantage was parking which cost 25 euros a day extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a cab or bus from the airport and don't waste time with a rental car.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann W.
Couples
N/A
17 Jan 2015

Awesome

We couldn't fault this hotel. Had an awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The city tour busses are worth every penny. Buy the two day pass and do the red routs one day and the green the next.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter H.
Couples
N/A
12 Jan 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable

The staff at the Universal Hotel were all excellent - helpful with any information we needed and made our stay of 3 nights all the more enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the excellent metro system - buy book of 10 tickets which work out at less than a euro per trip

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger
Couples
Rugby, Warwickshire, UK
3 Jan 2015

Excellent hotel

An excellent hotel conveniently located close to the main tourist facilities, including the castle, harbour and beaches. Well worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from London
Couples
London
2 Dec 2014

Great service, good location, recommended!

We originally checked into a twin room with no outside window. After speaking to reception we were moved the following day to a lovely double room with windows and staff were faultless. However this should have been flagged to us prior to booking - and rooms with no windows should be cheaper! The second room we had was lovely. Breakfasts were tasty with a good range of hot and cold food - and it went on until 11am which was appreciated. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas and the Marina which is fine. And reception were very useful in helping us book tickets to various things. I would come back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go to the fountain show!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wind1953
Couples
Ontario Canada
21 Nov 2014

Great hotel before a cruise

We loved this hotel!! The location was perfect! It was very quiet but just a couple of blocks from Las Ramblas.The room was extremely clean and very modern!! We definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IanK91
Couples
Dublin
18 Nov 2014

Great Couple Getaway

Great location, plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. 5-10mins from La Ramblas. Polite, professional and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms- fresh towels, toiletries and sheets every day. Easy access, directly beside the metro station Parelel 40-50mins travel from airport using metro/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culture Vulture
Couples
Cheltenham
14 Nov 2014

dreary room

A lovely hotel with excellent staff in a good location BUT although the room was large anc beautifully furnished in a modern style,we would not stay there again because of the lack of light. There were three windows but they were all painted over and curtained over because the outlook was not great.On top of that the artificial lighting still caused the room to be dark all the time. If this could be rectified we would give the hotel 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samidave
Couples
Ny ny
9 Oct 2014

Excelent place

We where in this hotel six nights, the people there are great, welcoming and fun, some of them would like to take them home, my wife doesn't agree...... Seriously, is the place we can come back, elegantly design, functional elegant place a round pleasure Not sure about the area, but there is a train practically at the door, and in minutes you can be anywhere The subway in barcelona, is clean, confortable and for sure, very quick, and especially easy to use David

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

All barcelona, is one of our favorite cities

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Older couple
Couples
London
7 Oct 2014

Mixed experience

Good roomy accommodation near metro but perhaps because it was October it seemed understaffed which led to limited semi buffet restuarant fare and bar staff doubling up as waiters. Room lights failed day2 and torrential rain caused leak in wardrobe. Offered another smaller room. Very clean with good breakfast and staff friendly and helpful when they had the resources ( e.g. sorry no coffee in lobby till 11.30 when staff finish upstairs) Tea making in room would have made a difference. Good free wifi, local eating places and great for transport links.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

T10 at just over 10 euros great for 10 trips on bus metro or tram (can share ticket) Metro Paral-lel just outside hotel

Back to menu Return to top