£83.73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 26 Jul 2015 Check-out 27 Jul 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise H.
Business
N/A
9 Feb 2015

Lovely couples trip

Really enjoyable stay at this hotel. Hotel spotless. Staff lovely and really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Araceli C.
Business
QUITO
4 Feb 2015

Awsome family trip

Beautiful hotel, rooms clean and spacious free internet worked perfectly, people nice and friendly, at one step of train station . Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station at one step from hotel helps a lot on transportation 5 m8n from Rambla, Arco del Triunfo 10 mi from Barcelona satdium

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken1
Business
N/A
21 Jan 2015

Short Vacation

The hotel was nice and in a good location for a lot of the sites around town. The only disadvantage was parking which cost 25 euros a day extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a cab or bus from the airport and don't waste time with a rental car.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann W.
Business
N/A
17 Jan 2015

Awesome

We couldn't fault this hotel. Had an awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The city tour busses are worth every penny. Buy the two day pass and do the red routs one day and the green the next.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter H.
Business
N/A
12 Jan 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable

The staff at the Universal Hotel were all excellent - helpful with any information we needed and made our stay of 3 nights all the more enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the excellent metro system - buy book of 10 tickets which work out at less than a euro per trip

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William I.
Business
N/A
5 Jan 2015

Excellent Place to Stay

The hotel was convenient for visiting the city, with a Metro stop right at the corner. The same station also gave easy access to Mount Juic, a major attraction. The hotel room was very clean and spacious, with all the amenities one could want. The hotel had an excellent restaurant and a separate bar for late night relaxing. Best of all were the staff members. They were charming, helpful, and full of suggestions about places to see that were not in the usual guidebooks. They made an enjoyable trip even more special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Mount Juic was well worth the visit, both for the scenery and the Miro Foundation (museum), An easy walk from the hotel is the Museu Maritim de Barcelona, which offers architectural, engineering, and historical delight.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William I.
Business
N/A
5 Jan 2015

Eminently comfortable

The hotel was spotless, with an excellent restaurant and a fine bar. The rooms were more spacious than what we were accustomed to in Europe. The location was a close but not in the center of the city, but a fine Metro system made moving about easy. But the most outstanding feature was the personnel. Everyone at the hotel was charming. They made suggestions about things to see that were not in the guidebooks, but which made out stay special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Mont Juic is well worth a visit, both for the scenery and the Miro Foiundation (museum). The cable car ride is also fun. The Metro stop at the Barcelona Universal Hotel is the most convenient place to catch the bus or the funicular (which was in repair while we were there).

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger
Business
Rugby, Warwickshire, UK
3 Jan 2015

Excellent hotel

An excellent hotel conveniently located close to the main tourist facilities, including the castle, harbour and beaches. Well worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from London
Business
London
2 Dec 2014

Great service, good location, recommended!

We originally checked into a twin room with no outside window. After speaking to reception we were moved the following day to a lovely double room with windows and staff were faultless. However this should have been flagged to us prior to booking - and rooms with no windows should be cheaper! The second room we had was lovely. Breakfasts were tasty with a good range of hot and cold food - and it went on until 11am which was appreciated. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas and the Marina which is fine. And reception were very useful in helping us book tickets to various things. I would come back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go to the fountain show!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wind1953
Business
Ontario Canada
21 Nov 2014

Great hotel before a cruise

We loved this hotel!! The location was perfect! It was very quiet but just a couple of blocks from Las Ramblas.The room was extremely clean and very modern!! We definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top