£81.08 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Mar 2015 Check-out 2 Apr 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter H.
Business
N/A
12 Jan 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable

The staff at the Universal Hotel were all excellent - helpful with any information we needed and made our stay of 3 nights all the more enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the excellent metro system - buy book of 10 tickets which work out at less than a euro per trip

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William I.
Business
N/A
5 Jan 2015

Excellent Place to Stay

The hotel was convenient for visiting the city, with a Metro stop right at the corner. The same station also gave easy access to Mount Juic, a major attraction. The hotel room was very clean and spacious, with all the amenities one could want. The hotel had an excellent restaurant and a separate bar for late night relaxing. Best of all were the staff members. They were charming, helpful, and full of suggestions about places to see that were not in the usual guidebooks. They made an enjoyable trip even more special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Mount Juic was well worth the visit, both for the scenery and the Miro Foundation (museum), An easy walk from the hotel is the Museu Maritim de Barcelona, which offers architectural, engineering, and historical delight.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William I.
Business
N/A
5 Jan 2015

Eminently comfortable

The hotel was spotless, with an excellent restaurant and a fine bar. The rooms were more spacious than what we were accustomed to in Europe. The location was a close but not in the center of the city, but a fine Metro system made moving about easy. But the most outstanding feature was the personnel. Everyone at the hotel was charming. They made suggestions about things to see that were not in the guidebooks, but which made out stay special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Mont Juic is well worth a visit, both for the scenery and the Miro Foiundation (museum). The cable car ride is also fun. The Metro stop at the Barcelona Universal Hotel is the most convenient place to catch the bus or the funicular (which was in repair while we were there).

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger
Business
Rugby, Warwickshire, UK
3 Jan 2015

Excellent hotel

An excellent hotel conveniently located close to the main tourist facilities, including the castle, harbour and beaches. Well worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from London
Business
London
2 Dec 2014

Great service, good location, recommended!

We originally checked into a twin room with no outside window. After speaking to reception we were moved the following day to a lovely double room with windows and staff were faultless. However this should have been flagged to us prior to booking - and rooms with no windows should be cheaper! The second room we had was lovely. Breakfasts were tasty with a good range of hot and cold food - and it went on until 11am which was appreciated. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas and the Marina which is fine. And reception were very useful in helping us book tickets to various things. I would come back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go to the fountain show!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wind1953
Business
Ontario Canada
21 Nov 2014

Great hotel before a cruise

We loved this hotel!! The location was perfect! It was very quiet but just a couple of blocks from Las Ramblas.The room was extremely clean and very modern!! We definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larsi
Business
no. little rock, ar.
20 Nov 2014

nice, and good location

great staff, and very helpful.great view from roof-top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food at the indian café 2 blocks behind hotel. cheap place to eat.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culture Vulture
Business
Cheltenham
14 Nov 2014

dreary room

A lovely hotel with excellent staff in a good location BUT although the room was large anc beautifully furnished in a modern style,we would not stay there again because of the lack of light. There were three windows but they were all painted over and curtained over because the outlook was not great.On top of that the artificial lighting still caused the room to be dark all the time. If this could be rectified we would give the hotel 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Older couple
Business
London
7 Oct 2014

Mixed experience

Good roomy accommodation near metro but perhaps because it was October it seemed understaffed which led to limited semi buffet restuarant fare and bar staff doubling up as waiters. Room lights failed day2 and torrential rain caused leak in wardrobe. Offered another smaller room. Very clean with good breakfast and staff friendly and helpful when they had the resources ( e.g. sorry no coffee in lobby till 11.30 when staff finish upstairs) Tea making in room would have made a difference. Good free wifi, local eating places and great for transport links.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

T10 at just over 10 euros great for 10 trips on bus metro or tram (can share ticket) Metro Paral-lel just outside hotel

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen777
Business
Newcastle
10 Sep 2014

Great location,

Had a great 3 nights at this hotel, only downside was the lack of view! Our room looked out onto a small courtyard but I suppose we can't all have sea views! The room itself was spotlessly clean with a lovely comfy bed & good bathroom. There was good choice for breakfast with a collection of cold meats, cheeses & fruit, hot dishes including scrambled egg & chorizo sausages, breads & pastries. The roof top pool & sun area was just big enough for nice hour in the sun with a couple of cold beers. The location is an ideal base to start from with the Port area & La Ramblas only a 10 min walk away, attractions further afield were within easy reach due to the Metro station right outside the door. Overall a very enjoyable short break which I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Port Vell has a good selection of bars & restaurants with good views overlooking the sea.

Back to menu Return to top