£92.22 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 6 Oct 2014 Check-out 9 Oct 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
107 reviews
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • 14 Aug 2014
Best Stay in Barcelona

The hotel was EXCELLENT!! Centrally located, right across the street from the METRO, which can take... See full review

  • SylvieFromLA
  • 25 Jul 2014
More than just a hotel - a point of reference

Amazing destinations like Las Ramblas make the Barcelona Universal Hotel a strategic location for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Access any part of Barcelona from this ideal location, or hop onto easily accessible public transportation to reach destinations further away, like the beaches of Barcelona and Park Guell. The Barcelona Universal Hotel comes equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet access for guests (some fees may apply). The hotel also features late checkout and offers guests special discounts on a range of attractions in Barcelona.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Perfect for business-related travel due to its ideal location near trade fair and conference centres

  • Great for tourists, as it places them near popular destinations and public transportation

  • Facilities include a gym and fitness centre, a business centre, a solarium, and an outdoor swimming pool

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

The 167 rooms at the Barcelona Universal Hotel come in four varieties: the universal room, the triple room, the superior room, and the suite skyline. Both the superior room and the suite skyline come with breakfast included in the price: get a full buffet breakfast at no extra cost. All rooms feature free wireless or broadband Internet connections (some fees may apply) and spacious interiors. Sip your complimentary bottle of cava when you stay in the superior room, or enjoy incredible panoramic views of Barcelona from the Barcelona Universal Hotel's suite skyline. The suites all have private terraces perfect for city gazing. The suites additionally provide sitting areas, full bathrooms, and Jacuzzis fitted in marble. A romantic holiday in Barcelona starts at the Barcelona Universal Hotel's luxurious suite.

Things To Do:
  • Fira de Barcelona (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Las Ramblas (1 mi/1.8 km)

  • Estadi Olimpic Lluis Companys (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

  • Palau de Congresses (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jayjayt
Durbin, ND, USA
5 Jun 2014

It doesn't get any better!

We were only in Barcelona for one day and the management hooked me up with a private (English speaking) tour guide who showed us all of Barcelona and then got us to our cruise ship on time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tsofi
Isreal
24 May 2014

great hotel

The room we got was 8 floor the view was nice, the bed was big,Helped each question Orientation, The only thing that they need to improve is to add hard egg and more cheese and Vegetables the fruit are great. The roof with the view and the swimming pool are great. The location close to every thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abs1983
London
20 May 2014

Great Hotel in great location

Stayed at Hotel Barcelona Universal for 4 nights and we werent disappointed. We got a good deal, much cheaper than the cost advertized on the hotel website. Location is superb, the hotel is literally outside the metro station, which in my opinion is a wonderful thing to have for visiting tourists. Staff were very friendly, approachable and always willing to help. This helped us a lot in getting our bearings as this was our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the bustling La Ramblas Avenue and only a 10 - 15 minute bus ride to the beach. Rooms were very clean and exactly as advertised on the hotel website. My only slight negative would be the beds which were two twins rather than a king size bed hence the 4 star rating otherwise i would have given a 5 star review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants just before the Barceloneta Beach have amazing seafood at literally half the price of most tourists areas. Stay away from Port Olimpic unless you have over €100 to spend on a meal per head.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb n Phill
England
8 May 2014

4 night break for couple

Hotel is modern and spotless. Helpful, friendly staff. Small rooftop pool with great views of the city. Lots of bathroom goodies more akin to higher star hotel. On second floor so we had a terrace which was lovely to sit out on (no view but nice to have patio door open for fresh air in room rather than air con on). Fridge in room and safe which you need in Barcelona as you take bare minimum money or valuables out with you. We had breakfast included in our room rate and it was fantastic. All freshly prepared on a buffet that was constantly filled up. Would recommend hotel for an evening meal as well. Had one of best steaks ever. Tube station right outside hotel but only 10 min walk to La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the evening buffet. Help yourself to starters, then we had an amazing steak with all the trimmings and help yourself to desert off the buffet.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim77
Maine
23 Feb 2014

Barcelona in February

The weather was springlike! We had sunny days with a light breeze, temperatures in the high 50's each day. We were comfortable in a light coat and a scarf for when a breeze kicked up by the water. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful! We loved the location, safe, convenient to subway stop, ATM, restaurants and a short walk to Barcelona cathedral and the wonderful La Boqueria market. We loved the palace Guell which again was an easy 10 minute walk. Take a walk around the Gothic Quarter, lots of winding, more narrow streets with little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Elche restaurant for delicious paella at a very reasonable price. A friend who lives in that area said it was the best around. Check it out at www.elcherestaurant.es

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
14 Feb 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
11 Jan 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nino toscano
Maui, Hawaii
16 Nov 2013

Good location

Good location by the Metro and close to La Rambla. Clean, confortable room. Free Wi-Fi, but you need to log again every time you close your phone or tablet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phile 1
NW Ohio
12 Nov 2013

Outstanding Hotel

Very accomodating staff, very clean, large rooms. Next to a subway stop, Four blocks from the hop on- hop off location and Columbus statue. Everything about this International more than met our expectations, especially for the price paid. There is a pool and work out area on the roof, also a nice garden. Would stay there again any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on - hop off bus is a great way to see the many attractions in Barcelona.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry D Global Traveler
Churchville NY
16 Oct 2013

Excellent Hotel in the Heart of Beautiful Barcelona

This modern, upscale hotel is close to so many great places in this beautiful city. The Metro station is right outside the front door. A short stroll down the street around the corner, Carrer de Sant Pau, takes you to La Rambla. This grand avenue is considered to have the "heartbeat of the Ciudad"and on it (a 15 minute walk from the hotel) is the Boqueria one of Europe's largest open air markets. From the Metro you can get to all of the "must see" sites in Barcelona for a euro per person per trip. The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed with comfortable beds and the buffet breakfast each morning of our stay was delicious and abundant in both quality and quantity. The Avinguda Paral-lel location of the Universal makes it easy to access the Port, the really cool neighborhoods of El Barri Gotic and El Barceloneta. Stay here if you can when in Barcelona!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For some of the best Pinchos and Tapas in Barcelona take a 3-5 minute walk to Rosal 34 a restaurant just a quarter mile from the Hotel. Cross the street and find the Carrer del Roser, 34

Back to menu Return to top