£75.83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 8 May 2016 Check-out 9 May 2016

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karen s.
Friends
N/A
21 Apr 2015

60th birthday trip with friends

great location. for las rambla, tour buses, the harbour, handy little shop next door. for wine/nibbles etc for your room if needed. fabulous roof top relaxing area, with deck chairs, offering a fantastic view of the city. complete with a bar, although the service was always with a smile, took forever for them to bring your drinks. large rooms, excellant bathroom, big wardrobe space, very comfy beds. only complaint, only one large mirror in the bathroom, no mirrors in the bedroom living space. no tea making facilities in the room, but we were ok as we took a travel kettle. they do provide a brekfast for 15 euros. and you can get a evening meal. there as well. wasnt too happy with the meal., asked for steak well done, and ended up blood red. but they did happily replace it. having said that wonderful salad bar everything in the hotel was spotless, and the door and desk staff were very pleasant and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoJo6433
Couples
N/A
23 Mar 2015

great hotel more than we expected

Rooms small but very comfortable bathrooms modern and breakfast terrific we would stay there when we go back to Barcelona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian N.
Couples
N/A
21 Mar 2015

sightseeing

The hotel was excellent, the most positive fact being the staff. Carlos a friendly, pleasant and very helpful receptionist at reception advised us on the best transport to sightsee, he arranged for printing off board passes and even weighed our cases for the return trip. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JasonJoplinMO
Couples
Joplin
10 Mar 2015

Got Lucky

Had no idea about Barcelona, just picked this hotel for review, location and value. We scorred. The rooms are amazing, so clean so comfy. Location was good if you like the walk. We like it as it isn't on the ramblas Staff was so helpful. Rooftop wasn't open but will be soon. We would stay again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erez18
Business
Atlanta
1 Mar 2015

was ok

the location is 20 minuts walk from the ramblas action and not so great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arthur S.
Couples
Brooklyn
19 Feb 2015

Great location.

Great location. You can walk to most places, or use metro right in front of the hotel. Will come back and stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blip Morton
Friends
N/A
16 Feb 2015

Nice stay in Barcelona

This was a very nice place to stay in Barcelona. It was the end of our cruise and the beginning of some time on our own. As with all of our picks, this hotel gave us excellent accommodations at a reasonable price. I enjoyed the pool on the roof. The view from up there was terrific. The internet station in the lobby was very fast. The men behind the desk gave us a good tip on a fabulous flamenco dinner-show. They also helped us find the best route to the airport. Across the street was a very good and well known snack shop where we enjoyed a light meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise H.
Couples
N/A
9 Feb 2015

Lovely couples trip

Really enjoyable stay at this hotel. Hotel spotless. Staff lovely and really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken1
Single
N/A
21 Jan 2015

Short Vacation

The hotel was nice and in a good location for a lot of the sites around town. The only disadvantage was parking which cost 25 euros a day extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a cab or bus from the airport and don't waste time with a rental car.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann W.
Couples
N/A
17 Jan 2015

Awesome

We couldn't fault this hotel. Had an awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The city tour busses are worth every penny. Buy the two day pass and do the red routs one day and the green the next.

Back to menu Return to top