£83.40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 19 Oct 2014 Check-out 22 Oct 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
107 reviews
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • 14 Aug 2014
Best Stay in Barcelona

The hotel was EXCELLENT!! Centrally located, right across the street from the METRO, which can take... See full review

  • SylvieFromLA
  • 25 Jul 2014
More than just a hotel - a point of reference

Amazing destinations like Las Ramblas make the Barcelona Universal Hotel a strategic location for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Access any part of Barcelona from this ideal location, or hop onto easily accessible public transportation to reach destinations further away, like the beaches of Barcelona and Park Guell. The Barcelona Universal Hotel comes equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet access for guests (some fees may apply). The hotel also features late checkout and offers guests special discounts on a range of attractions in Barcelona.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Perfect for business-related travel due to its ideal location near trade fair and conference centres

  • Great for tourists, as it places them near popular destinations and public transportation

  • Facilities include a gym and fitness centre, a business centre, a solarium, and an outdoor swimming pool

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

The 167 rooms at the Barcelona Universal Hotel come in four varieties: the universal room, the triple room, the superior room, and the suite skyline. Both the superior room and the suite skyline come with breakfast included in the price: get a full buffet breakfast at no extra cost. All rooms feature free wireless or broadband Internet connections (some fees may apply) and spacious interiors. Sip your complimentary bottle of cava when you stay in the superior room, or enjoy incredible panoramic views of Barcelona from the Barcelona Universal Hotel's suite skyline. The suites all have private terraces perfect for city gazing. The suites additionally provide sitting areas, full bathrooms, and Jacuzzis fitted in marble. A romantic holiday in Barcelona starts at the Barcelona Universal Hotel's luxurious suite.

Things To Do:
  • Fira de Barcelona (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Las Ramblas (1 mi/1.8 km)

  • Estadi Olimpic Lluis Companys (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

  • Palau de Congresses (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen777
Newcastle
10 Sep 2014

Great location,

Had a great 3 nights at this hotel, only downside was the lack of view! Our room looked out onto a small courtyard but I suppose we can't all have sea views! The room itself was spotlessly clean with a lovely comfy bed & good bathroom. There was good choice for breakfast with a collection of cold meats, cheeses & fruit, hot dishes including scrambled egg & chorizo sausages, breads & pastries. The roof top pool & sun area was just big enough for nice hour in the sun with a couple of cold beers. The location is an ideal base to start from with the Port area & La Ramblas only a 10 min walk away, attractions further afield were within easy reach due to the Metro station right outside the door. Overall a very enjoyable short break which I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Port Vell has a good selection of bars & restaurants with good views overlooking the sea.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groucho
Kansas City
14 Sep 2011

Very pleasing lodgings in Barcelona

This is a relatively small hotel with a helpful staff, located not-to-far from the famous Rambla area, waterfront, and historic areas of Barcelona. It has a very good but modest restaurant, pleasing bar/lounge. We arrived very early in the morning after a long flight. They made special effort to get us into a room as soon as one was available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk the Rambla and surrounding area.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
11 Jan 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
29 Mar 2011

Good except location

Friendly staff and nice clean room. The location was somewhat inconvenient as it was 3o minute walk through not the nicest parts of town to get to the more central parts of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico, USA
1 Dec 2009

Excelent !!

Excellent service, superb location, super-clean room and bathroom, helpful staff.....bed was too hard for our taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Major metro station just outside the hotel door. Also, very close to the pier.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virgin of spain
Canton, Ohio
17 Aug 2012

barcelona, awesome!

Barcelona Universal was a great place to stay in Barcelona. Staff, very friendly, and helpful. Room comfortable, and well kept. Location was very good, Subway which is safe and easy was at the door, and the beach was a brief walk. La Ramblas, was a couple blocks away. i would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

See the Font Magic... cab ride, or walk...but worth it. Catalanya Cerversia, easy subway ride, great restaurant in a beautiful area.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny mom of a Barcelona student
New Salisbury, IN
9 Feb 2011

Great hotel room, but check your bill

The hotel room gave us more than I expected. I really liked the wood & marble floors. Everything was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was the best. We used the metro & bus system to get anywhere we wanted to go. It was easy & efficient. The only downside to the hotel experience was that they tried to charge us items from the mini bar that we didn't use. It took 3 different arguments to get that taken off our bill. Hopefully it won't show up on our Visa card later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was very close to lots of dining areas. The portions were large and we were able to share many items. The best was the "American breakfast" at most restaurants close by. Enough for two. I do suggest finding the places where locals go to eat. We had the best seafood at a place that we just happened upon. We visited a couple of places I had researched on line and they were very disappointing. The local food critic said you had to go to 7 Portes. You really don't. It was my biggest disappointment.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
1 May 2011

Fantastic family getaway

nice room good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam2012
ireland
3 Oct 2012

Mid week break

Location of hotel very good for exploring Barcelona. Metro stop right outside. Less than ten minute walk to Les Ramblas and Marina area.Lots of cafes for eating nearby. Room nice clean although room at front of hotel can suffer from alot of noise from traffic. Staff were helpful did not avail of restaurant in hotel so cannot comment on food. Rooftop terrace nice for sunbathing pool small but nice to cool off in. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast expensive in hotel lots of places within walking distant for good value coffee and snacks. Be aware of restaurants not displaying drink prices on menu can work out very expensive one place Mickys 11 euro for a beer.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Odyssey Seeker
New York, NY
8 Mar 2010

Good value, pleasant stay

A quiet, clean and comfortable hotel that represents a good value. Subway right outside, walking distance to Las Ramblas. We enjoyed our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top