£78.89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Jul 2014 Check-out 2 Aug 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
Fantastic city break

Great hotel in good location with easy access to beach, old town and airport. Staff were very... See full review

  • StefanieH
  • 23 Jul 2014
It doesn't get any better!

We were only in Barcelona for one day and the management hooked me up with a private (English... See full review

  • jayjayt
  • 5 Jun 2014
More than just a hotel - a point of reference

Amazing destinations like Las Ramblas make the Barcelona Universal Hotel a strategic location for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Access any part of Barcelona from this ideal location, or hop onto easily accessible public transportation to reach destinations further away, like the beaches of Barcelona and Park Guell. The Barcelona Universal Hotel comes equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet access for guests (some fees may apply). The hotel also features late checkout and offers guests special discounts on a range of attractions in Barcelona.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Perfect for business-related travel due to its ideal location near trade fair and conference centres

  • Great for tourists, as it places them near popular destinations and public transportation

  • Facilities include a gym and fitness centre, a business centre, a solarium, and an outdoor swimming pool

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

The 167 rooms at the Barcelona Universal Hotel come in four varieties: the universal room, the triple room, the superior room, and the suite skyline. Both the superior room and the suite skyline come with breakfast included in the price: get a full buffet breakfast at no extra cost. All rooms feature free wireless or broadband Internet connections (some fees may apply) and spacious interiors. Sip your complimentary bottle of cava when you stay in the superior room, or enjoy incredible panoramic views of Barcelona from the Barcelona Universal Hotel's suite skyline. The suites all have private terraces perfect for city gazing. The suites additionally provide sitting areas, full bathrooms, and Jacuzzis fitted in marble. A romantic holiday in Barcelona starts at the Barcelona Universal Hotel's luxurious suite.

Things To Do:
  • Fira de Barcelona (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Las Ramblas (1 mi/1.8 km)

  • Estadi Olimpic Lluis Companys (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

  • Palau de Congresses (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henryka
USA
1 Dec 2012

convenient location, good value

Stayed 4 nights. Room was clean, modern decor with graphite color wallpaper and light-colored wood furniture. Even though located on the major thoroughfare, with closed windows it wasn't noisy. Staff friendly. Convenient to major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El Gran Cafe restaurant on Avinyo 9 had good food, great decor and good prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
18 Aug 2010

Great hotel and location!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, plus speak English. The location was good for us because it was right in front of the Paral-lel Metro stop and in a quiet location. We were only a 5-8 minute walk to La Rambla. The only minor complaint is the slow room service but we weren't in a rush so it was fine. Just call ahead of time if you want anything from room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast place we frequent several mornings. Exit the hotel and make a right and cross the street. It's the cafe with outdoor seating...great cafe con leches and sandwiches!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What's Next?!
Riverside, CA
22 Jun 2009

Great location!

Surrounding the hotel is authentic Espanya. In what has been called in other reviews the "red light district", this busy street of Para-lel is centrally located and generally innocent. The metro is directly out your front door giving you access to the entirety of Spain. We stayed here 9 days and enjoyed everthing but, the bed and the thin walls that make for an early morning. -housekeeping began banging around at about 730am- This said though, we walked so much that we were so tired each day that it mattered very little (after 2 days I slept like a baby). A life changing trip that no one should miss regardless of your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Straight out the front door and to the left are many authentic Spanish restaurants and what i got hooked on, THE DONER KEBAB (European sandwich sort of meal)! A few more blocks in another direction is La Boqueria, a must see for all who visit Barcelona.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
18 Aug 2010

Great hotel and location!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, plus speak English. The location was good for us because it was right in front of the Paral-lel Metro stop and in a quiet location. We were only a 5-8 minute walk to La Rambla. The only minor complaint is the slow room service but we weren't in a rush so it was fine. Just call ahead of time if you want anything from room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast place we frequent several mornings. Exit the hotel and make a right and cross the street. It's the cafe with outdoor seating...great cafe con leches and sandwiches!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virsuvius
Buffalo, ny
14 Jun 2011

Barcelona Honeymoon

standard room was very small but everything else was awesome. I recommend eating at the cafe espanol one block from the hotel. This hotel is perfect if your in Barcelona for a cruise. Its 5 minute ride to the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Cruisers
Fredericksburg, VA
30 May 2013

Wonderful Experience

We selected this hotel for our short stay in Barcelona following a cruise. This hotel was complete as advertised. We arrived early (0800) and were offered the option of waiting for a room with a view or accepting one without. Knowing we didn't plan on spending much time in the room, we elected a room with no view. By American standards the room is small, however by European standards the room is fairly large. It had a safe, ample closet space, a wet bar with refrigerator and chips, a desk area, small bench, king size bed and bathroom with full tub, toilet and bidet. Our particular rate also included buffet breakfast which was lovely. Our only disappointment was in the guests staying in the room next door who felt it was OK to come in loud and drunk at 2AM. Im sure everyone in the hotel heard them! The hotel is centrally located with the metro station right out front. We choose to walk everywhere and were able to reach every site we choose to see. Overall, our stay was wonderful. Not only would we recommend this hotel to a friend, we would stay here again ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
14 Feb 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derbyman 66
UK
20 Oct 2012

Nice but can be noisy!

My wife and I are light sleepers and if we had realised how noisy the road to the front of the hotel could be at night we certainly would have requested a room at the rear. I feel this problem could be addressed with improved sound deadening methods. On the plus side the hotel is in a great position for downtown Barcelona and Metro network.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
2 Jun 2011

Nice hotel, friendly helpful personal.

We staid in Barcelona only one night after our cruise. We got in Hotel at 9 AM and hope that we can leave our luggage. We were lucky, room was available. Location was great, close to everything which help us a lot. We were able to see a lot in one day. Room was pretty good size, very clean, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanjatay
Oxford
7 Jun 2014

good for city break

A good all round experience. Helpful staff and quiet room. Lovely shower!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top