£37.37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 5 Feb 2015 Check-out 6 Feb 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
118 reviews
Awesome

We couldn't fault this hotel. Had an awesome stay. See full review

  • Ann W.
  • 17 Jan 2015
Excellent Place to Stay

The hotel was convenient for visiting the city, with a Metro stop right at the corner. The same... See full review

  • William I.
  • 5 Jan 2015
More than just a hotel - a point of reference

Amazing destinations like Las Ramblas make the Barcelona Universal Hotel a strategic location for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Access any part of Barcelona from this ideal location, or hop onto easily accessible public transportation to reach destinations further away, like the beaches of Barcelona and Park Guell. The Barcelona Universal Hotel comes equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet access for guests (some fees may apply). The hotel also features late checkout and offers guests special discounts on a range of attractions in Barcelona.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Perfect for business-related travel due to its ideal location near trade fair and conference centres

  • Great for tourists, as it places them near popular destinations and public transportation

  • Facilities include a gym and fitness centre, a business centre, a solarium, and an outdoor swimming pool

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

The 167 rooms at the Barcelona Universal Hotel come in four varieties: the universal room, the triple room, the superior room, and the suite skyline. Both the superior room and the suite skyline come with breakfast included in the price: get a full buffet breakfast at no extra cost. All rooms feature free wireless or broadband Internet connections (some fees may apply) and spacious interiors. Sip your complimentary bottle of cava when you stay in the superior room, or enjoy incredible panoramic views of Barcelona from the Barcelona Universal Hotel's suite skyline. The suites all have private terraces perfect for city gazing. The suites additionally provide sitting areas, full bathrooms, and Jacuzzis fitted in marble. A romantic holiday in Barcelona starts at the Barcelona Universal Hotel's luxurious suite.

Things To Do:
  • Fira de Barcelona (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Las Ramblas (1 mi/1.8 km)

  • Estadi Olimpic Lluis Companys (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

  • Palau de Congresses (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron44
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
23 Jan 2012

They're Not The 4 Seasons!

Great place to stay. Dont get confused thinking that like most BCN area tourist class hotels, that breakfasts are included. At this one, it isn't. Don't open the mini bar, and you won't be charged. Even if you attempt to look, front desk knows. Keep these two things in mind, and you'll be in good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axeldawg
Business
Atlanta,Georgia
12 Feb 2012

Cruise Club

We stayed here prior to a cruise out of Barcelona. It was in a great location, the metro was right out the front door. Staff was very accomodating and very helpful!!! Awesome place and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro to get around town. The T-10 card is 9Euro and you get 10 trips!! Great deal!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJXX
Business
Portland, OR, USA
14 Apr 2012

Loved it--would return gladly

Great location--steps from Metro. Nice size room. Good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FCBarcelona
Business
Camarillo, CA, USA
29 Apr 2012

Wonderful Honeymoon!!

My husband and I went to Barcelona for our honeymoon, we picked this hotel based on the good reviews we read prior and stayed 10 days here. The hotel was wonderful, the staff was extremely nice, and the location was perfect. It's right next to the metro station (literally), and within walking distance of La Ramba (10 minute walk). Very quiet at night too, we couldn't hear any foot traffic, the metro, or much of anything except for the occasional ambulances. The room was super clean, more clean than a lot of hotels here in the U.S. We felt very safe here, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Barcelona. There are many little restaurants next door which were delicious, try a Bikini at Cafe Pepe! Barcelona Universal even helped us get tickets to the Barcelona/Chelsea Champions League Semifinal game. The sold out game was a dream come true when they called to inform us they had found tickets for us. You can't go wrong with this place. Truly made our honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saints
Business
Southampton, England
11 May 2012

Lovely hotel

A lovely hotel,tasteful decor, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is in a great location, very close to all the attractions. Only 5 minutes to La Rambla and 20 minutes from the beautiful beaches usually open March to November due to it's very warm Mediterranean climate. Added bonus it even has a metro station right outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plethora of restaurants serving cuisine from around the world.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bcn2012
Business
Pennsylvania
31 May 2012

Pre Cruise Hotel

We stayed at this hotel for one night pre and post cruise and were pleased with the convient location as it was just a 12 Euro taxi ride with our luggage to the cruise port. It is also located right next to the metro and within 15 minutes walking to la rambles. We would stay here again for the good price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mixxx
Business
Chicago,Illinois
28 Jun 2012

Trip

The staff was excellent. They knew how and where to go about where you needed to go. Metro right outside you door to get around the city. If you want to do a lot of sightseeing I would sugguest get the hop on hop off bus tour for two days. The beach was nice all the churches and tours. The only bad thing was people smoking every where. Even when trying to eat outside but other than that it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway and train and bus it's so easy to follow and a lot cheaper than taxi. Buy the T-10 package because it coming out to under 1euo per ride.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PennyO
Business
Buckinghamshire
7 Aug 2012

Excellent well positioned hotel

We stayed here at the end of July 2012. The rooms were a good size with modern furniture and fittings. The staff were extremely helpful, proving advice on the "best pickpockets in the world", we were are able to check in early which was a real bonus as we had an early flight and the hotel had a secured luggage storage facility which we used on our last day. Some people have commented in the noise but this is a city centre hotel so to be expected and we did not find the level disturbing at all. The hotel is very close to a metro stop, 1 stop from the bottom of La Ramblas and easy access to all attractions (would recommend the Barcelona card for unlimited use of public transport as the metro system is excellent and a god way to see the city). We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. The only minor issue was that the roof top poo, was out of order for the first couple of days of our stay, as this was one of the reasons for choosing this hotel it was a little disappointing but in no way spoiled our stay. The pool and roof terrace are small but well provided for and great for cooling off after a day sightseeing. All in all very comfortable, well appointed with excellent staff and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Barcelona card, nlmited use of public transport plus map and a book of vouchers for discounts off most attractions. Also avoids having to get cash out in a city famed for tis pick pockets. If you have to eat on La Ramblas pick carefully, most are tourist traps with poor quality food and service.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virgin of spain
Business
Canton, Ohio
17 Aug 2012

barcelona, awesome!

Barcelona Universal was a great place to stay in Barcelona. Staff, very friendly, and helpful. Room comfortable, and well kept. Location was very good, Subway which is safe and easy was at the door, and the beach was a brief walk. La Ramblas, was a couple blocks away. i would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

See the Font Magic... cab ride, or walk...but worth it. Catalanya Cerversia, easy subway ride, great restaurant in a beautiful area.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No habla Espanol
Business
Ohio
24 Aug 2012

Great Location

Was at hotel for three nights. The location is perfect for sightseeing. You can get to La Rambla by walking a few blocks. There you can get on sightseeing bus or just enjoy Barcelona. Breakfast with room is good but next time I will forget the breakfast and enjoy one of the many sidewalk cafes within walking distance. The room is small compared to North American hotels but still comfortable. This is really a great place to stay if you are visiting Barcelona. Don't pass it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the sidewalk cafes within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top