£81.56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 2 Aug 2015 Check-out 3 Aug 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim77
Business
Maine
23 Feb 2014

Barcelona in February

The weather was springlike! We had sunny days with a light breeze, temperatures in the high 50's each day. We were comfortable in a light coat and a scarf for when a breeze kicked up by the water. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful! We loved the location, safe, convenient to subway stop, ATM, restaurants and a short walk to Barcelona cathedral and the wonderful La Boqueria market. We loved the palace Guell which again was an easy 10 minute walk. Take a walk around the Gothic Quarter, lots of winding, more narrow streets with little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Elche restaurant for delicious paella at a very reasonable price. A friend who lives in that area said it was the best around. Check it out at www.elcherestaurant.es

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
31 Aug 2010

Excellent location but noisy

Fantastic location but do not come back from the small street (c. de Nou de Rambla) at night. It isn't safe. Great staff but pool is tiny and 'fitness centre' even smaller. Fantastic bus network near hotel, much better than the tube, that will bring you everywhere including to the seaside. Easy access to Placa Espanya (and the bus to the airport) or the stunning Montjuic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be careful, particularly at night. Pickpockets and junkies are numerous in Barcelona, particularly in La Rambla and every crowded place. Even locals told me to be careful, when they realised I was not from Barcelona so don't dress like a tourist, don't put your bag on your chair (always on your knees) and be very careful when taking some cash.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam74
Business
London, UK
6 Dec 2011

Good Central location

All up an enjoyable stay, room was clean and hotel well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Freat Tapas restaurant not far away, just ask the concierge.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler girl with friend
Business
New York, NY, USA
30 Dec 2011

Barcelona 4 day trip

Good location, friendly staff. We liked that it was near La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron44
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
23 Jan 2012

They're Not The 4 Seasons!

Great place to stay. Dont get confused thinking that like most BCN area tourist class hotels, that breakfasts are included. At this one, it isn't. Don't open the mini bar, and you won't be charged. Even if you attempt to look, front desk knows. Keep these two things in mind, and you'll be in good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axeldawg
Business
Atlanta,Georgia
12 Feb 2012

Cruise Club

We stayed here prior to a cruise out of Barcelona. It was in a great location, the metro was right out the front door. Staff was very accomodating and very helpful!!! Awesome place and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro to get around town. The T-10 card is 9Euro and you get 10 trips!! Great deal!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJXX
Business
Portland, OR, USA
14 Apr 2012

Loved it--would return gladly

Great location--steps from Metro. Nice size room. Good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FCBarcelona
Business
Camarillo, CA, USA
29 Apr 2012

Wonderful Honeymoon!!

My husband and I went to Barcelona for our honeymoon, we picked this hotel based on the good reviews we read prior and stayed 10 days here. The hotel was wonderful, the staff was extremely nice, and the location was perfect. It's right next to the metro station (literally), and within walking distance of La Ramba (10 minute walk). Very quiet at night too, we couldn't hear any foot traffic, the metro, or much of anything except for the occasional ambulances. The room was super clean, more clean than a lot of hotels here in the U.S. We felt very safe here, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Barcelona. There are many little restaurants next door which were delicious, try a Bikini at Cafe Pepe! Barcelona Universal even helped us get tickets to the Barcelona/Chelsea Champions League Semifinal game. The sold out game was a dream come true when they called to inform us they had found tickets for us. You can't go wrong with this place. Truly made our honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saints
Business
Southampton, England
11 May 2012

Lovely hotel

A lovely hotel,tasteful decor, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is in a great location, very close to all the attractions. Only 5 minutes to La Rambla and 20 minutes from the beautiful beaches usually open March to November due to it's very warm Mediterranean climate. Added bonus it even has a metro station right outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plethora of restaurants serving cuisine from around the world.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bcn2012
Business
Pennsylvania
31 May 2012

Pre Cruise Hotel

We stayed at this hotel for one night pre and post cruise and were pleased with the convient location as it was just a 12 Euro taxi ride with our luggage to the cruise port. It is also located right next to the metro and within 15 minutes walking to la rambles. We would stay here again for the good price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top