£79.25 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 8 May 2016 Check-out 9 May 2016

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Couples
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
11 Jan 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
14 Feb 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim77
Couples
Maine
23 Feb 2014

Barcelona in February

The weather was springlike! We had sunny days with a light breeze, temperatures in the high 50's each day. We were comfortable in a light coat and a scarf for when a breeze kicked up by the water. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful! We loved the location, safe, convenient to subway stop, ATM, restaurants and a short walk to Barcelona cathedral and the wonderful La Boqueria market. We loved the palace Guell which again was an easy 10 minute walk. Take a walk around the Gothic Quarter, lots of winding, more narrow streets with little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Elche restaurant for delicious paella at a very reasonable price. A friend who lives in that area said it was the best around. Check it out at www.elcherestaurant.es

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam74
Couples
London, UK
6 Dec 2011

Good Central location

All up an enjoyable stay, room was clean and hotel well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Freat Tapas restaurant not far away, just ask the concierge.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler girl with friend
Family
New York, NY, USA
30 Dec 2011

Barcelona 4 day trip

Good location, friendly staff. We liked that it was near La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron44
Seattle, WA, USA
23 Jan 2012

They're Not The 4 Seasons!

Great place to stay. Dont get confused thinking that like most BCN area tourist class hotels, that breakfasts are included. At this one, it isn't. Don't open the mini bar, and you won't be charged. Even if you attempt to look, front desk knows. Keep these two things in mind, and you'll be in good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axeldawg
Friends
Atlanta,Georgia
12 Feb 2012

Cruise Club

We stayed here prior to a cruise out of Barcelona. It was in a great location, the metro was right out the front door. Staff was very accomodating and very helpful!!! Awesome place and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro to get around town. The T-10 card is 9Euro and you get 10 trips!! Great deal!

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJXX
Couples
Portland, OR, USA
14 Apr 2012

Loved it--would return gladly

Great location--steps from Metro. Nice size room. Good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FCBarcelona
Couples
Camarillo, CA, USA
29 Apr 2012

Wonderful Honeymoon!!

My husband and I went to Barcelona for our honeymoon, we picked this hotel based on the good reviews we read prior and stayed 10 days here. The hotel was wonderful, the staff was extremely nice, and the location was perfect. It's right next to the metro station (literally), and within walking distance of La Ramba (10 minute walk). Very quiet at night too, we couldn't hear any foot traffic, the metro, or much of anything except for the occasional ambulances. The room was super clean, more clean than a lot of hotels here in the U.S. We felt very safe here, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Barcelona. There are many little restaurants next door which were delicious, try a Bikini at Cafe Pepe! Barcelona Universal even helped us get tickets to the Barcelona/Chelsea Champions League Semifinal game. The sold out game was a dream come true when they called to inform us they had found tickets for us. You can't go wrong with this place. Truly made our honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saints
Single
Southampton, England
11 May 2012

Lovely hotel

A lovely hotel,tasteful decor, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is in a great location, very close to all the attractions. Only 5 minutes to La Rambla and 20 minutes from the beautiful beaches usually open March to November due to it's very warm Mediterranean climate. Added bonus it even has a metro station right outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plethora of restaurants serving cuisine from around the world.

Back to menu Return to top