£50.23 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 28 Apr 2014 Check-out 1 May 2014

Confortel Almirante

4 stars
Via Laietana, 42, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
28 reviews
Great stay for 3 nights. Perfect Location!

Very comfortable and reasonably priced stay. Location was absolutely perfect - walking distance to... See full review

  • MadMen20
  • 3 Mar 2014
Very pleased with our stay

We stayed 3 days in mid Sept. 2013, and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was helpful -... See full review

  • markpf
  • 12 Nov 2013
Stay super-central at this sleek Gothic Quarter hideout

The main drawing card of Confortel Almirante is its location in the midst of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter, a buzzing neighborhood with numerous attractions. The surrounding area may be ancient but the renovated building that houses the hotel packs in a variety of up-to-the-minute trappings. The interiors feature contemporary design with bold colors and comfortable furniture. All the rooms come with free Wi-Fi. There's an Internet corner onsite. The on-premise fitness center is small but well-equipped.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in all the rooms and throughout the hotel
  • Top location at the heart of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter
  • Small fitness center on the premises
Rooms

All of the 86 rooms at Confortel Almirante sport a fresh contemporary look, heaps of natural light and a full array of luxe amenities. Free in-room perks include Wi-Fi, bottled water and a choice of pillows. Room service (limited to Telepizza) and laundry are available for a fee. The 79 standard rooms offer all of the above while the three suites offer extra space. Three rooms are adapted for visitors with disabilities.

Features

The location of Confortel Almirante, steps from Las Ramblas at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, steals the show. Many of Barcelona's attractions sit within easy walking distance. All of the hotel's 86 units are modern, well-equipped and complete with free Wi-Fi and bottled water as an added benefit. Facilities include a coffee bar in the lobby, an Internet station and a small fitness center. The 24-hour reception can arrange car rental (fees apply) and exchange currency. The fashionable Born district next door to Confortel Almirante provides a plethora of eating and drinking options.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)
Attractions
  • Picasso Museum (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2 mi/3.3 km)
Business
  • 40-person meeting room with latest high-tech perks
  • Free wireless Internet throughout

Confortel Almirante Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms are well equipped with comfortable and contemporary furnishings in warm colors. They all offer free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, free safety deposit box, flat screen TV 19 ", satellite TV, air conditioning, central heating and direct dial telephone. Spacious bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and all amenities required for a pleasant stay.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Confortel Almirante also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3863 2.176
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport.
Area description
Confortel Almirante is found in the heart of the Gothic quarter, 200 metres away from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Musica and just a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its restaurant offering, Bohemian atmosphere and elitist style. Guests can walk to the famous Ramblas in less than 10 minutes and the Jaume I Metro Station is 300 metres away.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 0.4 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Enjoy Buffet Breakfast at our modern and cozy restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Confortel Almirante

Overall score

3.4 / 5
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
new york, ny
2 May 2011

Competitively Priced but Needs a Tune Up

The hotel had a good location, a pleasant/useful staff, and is priced reasonably. However, the hotel needs some repairs. For instance, the towel rack was partially torn out of the wall and the bathtub was very UNinviting. If this is a 3-star hotel then it is in the low 3s.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The breakfast is way overpriced. Instead, just step outside your door and go to one of the MANY cafes nearby.

Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York State
2 Apr 2011

Great Hotel, Great location, Great city

Nice modern lobby. Free Internet access. Two elevators. Great breakfast, plenty of choices, breads, cheese, eggs, ham, pastries, cereal choices were limited but plenty of yogurt and fruit, and complimentary Cava or red wine!! Rooms were clean, well maintained and large enough for two. We didn't notice interior noise and the windows were double pane on the street. The bath was fine with a tub/shower combination. The location is less than a block from the central Cathedral and the Tourist bus stop and only a third of a mile to the metro. We were very careful but never experienced any threats in this area and returned after 11pm several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Barcelona is a very large sprawling city. So relatively proximity to metro, city bus and tourist bus is the only way to get to the attractions and food. Buy a multi day pass and access to each is all within a third of a mile of this hotel. And while reports abound, this area was very safe and we never felt compromised at any time during our stay.

Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
21 Dec 2010

good location not much else

Hotel is in a great location but that is about it. The bed was very very hard, and just two twins pushed together. The toilet emanated sewer fumes even when closed. The hot water was only warm during peak usage time. Additionally, there was a window that had a white tint so that you could not see out, however, it was just a view of the wall of the building next door and a dirty alley. Also, the breakfast buffet was included but unfortunately would not recommend at all. Dried up looking fruit, runny eggs. There was a small selection of pastry which was one of the few edible products. Again, good location and the desk staff was pleasant. However, I cannot fully recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
M from Miami
Florida
11 Aug 2010

More than we expected

The hotel room was clean and modern, the staff was knowledgeable. It was within walking distance to the taxi stand,gothic quarter,sightseening bus, great restaurants, banks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Airbus which takes you right to the airport in less than 20 minutes.

Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
IdaApps
Delaware
22 Jul 2010

Fantastic Location

We planned to stay at Confortel for only 2 days, but extended our stay for 2 weeks! The hotel was in a GREAT Location, across from http://www.catedralbcn.org/, Dali museum, with everything in walking distance including beautiful Gothic buildings, restaurants, shopping, La Rambla, Farmers Market... Take a short bus ride #45 to the beach, even walk, or rent a bicycle. We loved this hotel, the room was appropriate for our family, and the small fridge came handy. Most importantly, traveling as a mother with my 7 year old, I felt safe and at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We did not take the hotel breakfast. Instead we just walked to many restaurants and coffee shops in the area.

Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

3
nnda
Boston, MA
1 Jun 2010

Confortel Almirante

The hotel has a great location. You can do a LOT just by walking and there is a subway station right next to it (make that two stations actually). They've let us check in earlier but not check out later. You need 20 euros deposit for the safe and the breakfast was not included. Ah, there was no conditioner in the room and it is not a 4 star hotel; it is 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Orlando, Fl
9 May 2010

Do not stay here

Extemely noisey, Old TV that worked poorly, uncomfortable beds, no pillow cases, no alarm, no radio, lack of towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
4 May 2010

Average

Shower door didn't fit well on tub which caused water to get on floor. Would have liked to have a coffee pot in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El cafe D'en Victor near the Catherdal Plaza had excellent food. Located Just a block or so from the hotel. The Hop on Hop off Trolley was located just across the street from hotel. Hotel location was great.

Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston
16 Mar 2010

Great location

The location was perfect!! We wandered around Barros Gothic all day- and were able to drop things off. Very close to the metro station. We asked for blankets( which we did not get) but for the price- and the stay - this was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
11 Mar 2010

Fantastic - Highly Recommend

This hotel has an amazing location. You are a few minutes walking distance from basically anything and everything. There are 2 close metros stops to get to FC Barcelona, Montjuic, Sagrada Familia, you name it. The Catedral is one block up, one block over. I recommend checking out Bilboa Barria by the Catedral for tapas and drinks. Rosa Negra is about a block away and has inexpensive, delicious Raspberry Mojitos. I do not recommend El Reloj or H3 (El Reloj Grupo restaurants - total rip off and rude). McCarthy's downstairs is awesome if you want to hit up an Irish Pub. Barceloneta and Port Vell are about a 10 minute walk and beautiful. Go to CDLC, no questions asked. Grab a mango mojito and lounge outside. Walk the boardwalk and see the sand scuptors do their thing. Back to Confortel Almirante - The staff is very helpful and accomodating. They have a free computer station downstairs which is super helpful for staying in touch with home. Fitness Center is alright, but we walked so much we didn't even think about going in there. Breakfast is incredibly expensive so we never ate there. The Cappuchino chain has good coffee and pastries for breakfast. The room was a good size, has a desk, if you can - request a terrace. They are great for wine at night. Very sound proof (we were on the top floor though). Nice size beds, hair dryer in the bathroom, good shower. All around - a good hotel room. Not overly fancy or anything, but cool modern furnishings and style. Whether you go with Confortel Almirante or not, stay in this area. Barri Gotic is AMAZING for getting around. It's a great bang for your buck. Raval is apparently less safe. I never felt uncomfortable in this area, everyone was frendly. I think staying here really made our trip that much better. Oh and the free 6 water bottles every day - perfection. It doesn't sound like a big deal but water isn't free in Spain and you will need it. Housekeeping is also great and the room is always spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Local calls are not free. I asked and was told they were but they were not.

Back to menu Return to top