£37.88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 16 Nov 2014 Check-out 17 Nov 2014

Hotel Astoria

3 stars
Paris, 203, Barcelona, 08036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
Lovely hotel...Great value, very hard beds

We loved the Hotel Astoria. I would stay here again in a second. The place is older and... See full review

  • sfmike64
  • 17 Sep 2014
Good location at an affordable price

Being a little north from the city center (but still easily within public transportation distance),... See full review

  • therestlessroad
  • 12 Jun 2014
Charming Art Nouveau hideout in the Modernist mecca of Eixample
The first-class Hotel Astoria offers an elegant and modern home away from home at the heart of Barcelona's upscale Eixample district. A range of attractions sits within walking distance of the hotel, a great bonus of any sojourn in Barcelona. The hotel is housed in a renovated building from the early 20th century, built in Art Nouveau style. Facilities include a rooftop terrace with an outdoor swimming pool, a gym and sauna and restaurant. The small on-site museum is dedicated to the Catalan illustrator Ricard Opisso, who was Gaudi's apprentice.
Highlights
  • Excellent location in Eixample, a short walk from many attractions
  • Rooftop swimming pool with sun terrace and bar
  • An impressive collection of Art Nouveau posters
  • Museum dedicated to the work of a famous Catalan illustrator
  • Gym and sauna on the premises
Rooms

Hotel Astoria has 114 guest rooms, split into three categories: single, double and superior. With a clean-lined look and a contemporary feel, each room has a marble bathroom equipped with bathtub and toiletries. Other in-room trappings include flat-screen TVs, wireless Internet access (for a fee), air-conditioning and mini bar. Superior rooms are ideal for families and feature a separate rest area with a sofa. One of the superior rooms is split-level. Two superior units showcase private terraces overlooking the street. Guests can choose between smoking and non-smoking rooms. Cots are available free of charge (upon request). Room service is also available.

Features

Art Nouveau touches pervade the hotel's interior, including frescoes, busts and fine Lalique crystal. The art collection of Hotel Astoria is a standout. It displays Art Nouveau posters from the early 20th century throughout, including at the Astor restaurant. The ground-floor Opisso Museum exhibits over a hundred pieces by Catalan illustrator Ricard Opisso, who worked alongside Anton Gaudi. In addition to great art, Hotel Astoria showcases market-fresh cuisine and good-value lunches at Astor restaurant. The rooftop swimming pool and terrace with panoramic city views is a great spot for a cocktail.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Diagonal (on the L5, L3 and L7 lines)
Attractions
  • La Pedrera (.4 m/.7 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Las Ramblas (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Hotel Astoria Rooms

Superior
Elegant 27 m2 rooms that boast a sitting area set off from the bedroom. Ideal for guests travelling with family who need space to spread out and relax, the rooms feature contemporary design and modern dcor. A number of superior rooms come with a private terrace with views of Calle Pars, while others boast views of the light-filled interior courtyard, typical in the citys Eixample district. Features: Twin or double bed Marble bathroom with bath Private terrace (available in some rooms) Separate sitting room Sofa Flat screen LCD TV Free Wi-Fi All rooms are completely soundproof with individual climate control and come with 24-hour room service, satellite television and Canal Plus, direct telephone line, minibar, safe, free baby cot upon request, laundry and ironing services, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries.
Standard
Room with one double bed or one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Heating, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Voicemail, Pay TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Astoria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3943 2.1538
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Aeroport Barcelona El Prat International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located just a stone's throw from the city's most alluring shopping district: Diagonal avenue with its numerous fashion boutiques and design shops; Rambla Cataluna, the preferred promenade of Barcelona residents; and Paseo de Gracia, where can find two of Gaudi's masterpieces, La Pedrera and Casa Batllo.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.4 mi
  • Sants Railway Station: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.5 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.5 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.5 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.6 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.6 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.6 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.6 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.6 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.6 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 0.7 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.4 mi
  • Sants Railway Station: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.5 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.5 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.5 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.6 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.6 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.6 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.6 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.6 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.6 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 0.7 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.7 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Eulalia: 0.7 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.7 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.7 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.8 mi
  • Via Augusta: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.9 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.9 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 1 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 1 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 1 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 1 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 1.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 1.1 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 1.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 1.1 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 1.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 1.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 1.2 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 1.2 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 1.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 1.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 1.2 mi
  • El Raval: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Astoria

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SImonC
Business
London
16 Oct 2010

Disappointing after reading the spec

The room was very old fashioned, poorly appointed, internal room with no natural light. The layout was bizarre, with the room split in two by a large arch containing the warderobe, with the TV and sofa on the other side from the bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa bay, fl
18 Oct 2010

okay value for the money

Well located in the Eixample part of town, just a few short blocks from the Diagonal metro stop (a major interchange)as well as two good streets for strolling and restaurants, making them (Rambla de Catalunya and Passeig de Gracia)comfortable in the late evening. Hotel itself was okay value for the money. Nothing special, but clean, fairly spacious and with a very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking the Aerobus from Pl. Catalunya is faster than taking the RENFE, if you are traveling out of Terminal 1, because the T-1 bus takes you straight to your terminal, whereas the train goes to Terminal 2 and you have to wait for and take the shuttle to T-1.

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
19 Jul 2010

Hotel Astoria

Front desk spoke very limited English. This was a problem as they were not very able to understand much less speak much English. Many times we had to mime the action we were seeking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose Ca
3 Jun 2010

Mixed Experience

This ([...]) was our second experience at the hotel within 2 weeks. We had such a good first experience we decided to not cancel and rebook. We really liked the location of the hotel even though it was only a 10 min walk on some not very clean streets from the metro. Shopping and local cafes and restaurants abundant and all within walking distance ranging 15-30min. Infrequent use of metro as majority tourists attractions were close enough to walk to. We did not eat in hotel so cannot comment. Did not have a problem with noise although loud talking in rooms adjacent were audible.Our concern was on our return we were assigned a much smaller room and bathroom, both claustrophobic grade. The safe was broken. The plumbing did not drain well. Both sink and tub had same problem. Although this was reported immediately no action was taken except that to make a notation. Since it was a weekend we thought with the way no good help easily found in Europe (with another experience elsewhere)we grinned and bore with it. By Monday there was no effort to address the issue and we did not bother as we were leaving the following day. This contributed to wife's fall in the tub with elbow bruised. Did not report this to management. After this episode will recommend this hotel with reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining and shopping opportunities within walking distance.

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
18 Nov 2009

Barcelona Bargain

This hotel is good value as it is very clean with adequate sized room for the price. Location was good and in a nice neighborhood with plenty of eating choices outside the hotel. Bus stop across street was only four stops on Bus 68 (1.35 Euros) from central Barcelona's Catalunya plaza where Aerobus to airport is only about 30 minutes away for 5 Euro fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Particularly enjoyed one lunch and one dinner at the Trobador's outdoor seating just around the corner.

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
30 May 2011

Nice, If you get the right room!

So after looking at the pictures on the website and reviews for the hotel we decided we would give this hotel a shot. We originally planned to have a 3rd person in the room with us that was going to meet us in Barcelona so the hotel told us they could put us in a room, no problem. Our friend backed out and we explained it a check in time and explained that it was only my wife and I and that we no longer needed a room for 3. They checked us in to room 628 and sent us on our way. We went upstairs and as soon as we opened the door there was a strong sewage like odor which immediately made my waife nauscious. The decor in the room was very dated, unlike the furniture in the photos. The walls appeared dirty and falling apart in some areas and it looked like mold was drowing near the window A/C unit next to the window that looked out onto a shaft, not a nice view. There were two single beds in the room and a love seat in a separate living area that was attached to the bedroom, no door between them just walled off somewhat. I walked down to the front desk and to be polite I asked if he could move me to a room with 1 larger bed instead of bringing up the sewage stench in front of other guests. We were told there were no other rooms available in the 8 floor hotel and we should check back with them the next day. If I hadn't prepaid for 3 nights, I would have checked out then. After steaming on it for a couple hours and sending out various emails I went back upstairs and called the front desk again and told them about the stench and again asked to be moved. This time a different gentleman was very helpful and agreed to move us, but again asked if we needed a room for 3 people noting that there were no other rooms for this. I again explained that there was no 3rd person coming and he immediately gave us a new room. This room was the one pictures were made from. We had new stylish furniture, a queen bed, a loft area with a living area with a leather couch, bigger than the one our third guest was supposed to sleep on originally, and views of the city. The best part was that there was no sewage smell!!!! After the initial issues our stay here was great and the hotel is in a pretty convenient location to the metro - it's about a 10 minute walk. It's a nice hotel, just make sure you don't get room 628 or one similar. If you do demand another room that is nicer, unless you can deal with the smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
27 Sep 2009

Excellent value

Cheaptickets had a special on this hotel and it was an excellent value. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to Ramblas and Paseig de Gracia, without all the noise of Ramblas. The hotel was updated, clean. It had free wireless Internet, a blow dryer in the bathroom, great a/c and the shower had great pressure. The lighting in the bathroom could have been better and the rooms were a little small but not by European standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 4 blocks on Granados, turn left on Mallorca and another 1 1/2 blocks near Ramblas, the Cerveseria Catalana is an excellent tapas restaurant, visited by many locals.

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerset
23 Aug 2010

Good value in Barcelona

The hotel is 10 min. walk from the Metro, but this will take you anywhere in the city. We foolishly took breakfast in the hotel without checking the price first. The coffee was execrable. There are cafes nearby where we should have gone. The hotel is ageing, but is well run and clean. It is near a main road - the Diagonal - but was reasonably quiet. The swimming pool on the roof is miniscule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast across the road. Buy a Barcelona card from the TIC at the airport. This gives free travel on buses and the Metro, discounted entry to some museums and a free boat trip around the harbour

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewa
Business
Barcelona, Spain
1 Apr 2012

Not bad for Barcelona

The advantage of Astoria is that it in a pretty good neighbourhood. Close to Diagonal subway makes it easily accessible to most major sites. The rooms are small. I think we got the room for about $115USD per night. At that price, which seemed reasonable for central Barcelona and provided good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet is okay value at 8 Euro when on special but probably not worth 15 to me. Selection of baked goods, some cheese, and relatively cheap processed meat.

Review of Hotel Astoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda PSB
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
17 Apr 2012

Bonus in Barcelona

The Hotel Astoria is located in LEixample - an area about a 15 minute walk from the Passeig de Gracia - but the metro is close and the Hop On Hop Off tourist bus stop even closer. Rooms are small but very well appointed and sparkling clean. Our 6th floor room had a great view of an urban courtyard and terraces below. There were several casual cafes and bistros nearby as well as upscale shops. Free computer available for use in the lobby and a mostly helpful staff. A very good value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are a number of Antoni Gaudi designed attractions in the area other than La Sagrada Familia and they are all worth seeing. La Pedrera, Casa Battlio (as well as other buildings on "the Block of Discord") and Park Guell are not to be missed!!

Back to menu Return to top