£70.11 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Apr 2014 Check-out 28 Apr 2014

Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Les Rambles, 117, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona, 08002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
14 reviews
Excellent Hotel in the Center of Barcelona

Exceptional Hotel in the Center of Barcelona. You cannot ask for a better location. It's also... See full review

  • Antony Yiu
  • 16 Mar 2014
Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Not sure how this has 4 stars, but don't get me wrong it's a lovely hotel with friendly, warn &... See full review

  • MattyL81019
  • 13 Mar 2014
Spacious modern accommodations in the heart of Barcelona
Guests at the Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona will find themselves in the ideal base for exploring this magnificent old city. Las Ramblas Boulevard cuts right through the central part of Barcelona and there is a wealth of cultural and historic interest in the immediate proximity of the hotel. There are 119 guest rooms in all, and the full range of facilities includes private parking facilities, a chic restaurant, concierge and room service, also a comfortable lobby for guests to relax, or to meet up in before setting out for the day.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Unbeatable central location
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Soundproofed guest rooms
Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona Rooms
The Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona has 119 well-appointed rooms, and with soundproofing standard throughout, there is peace and quiet despite the busy central location of the hotel. Air conditioning comes with all rooms and in-room entertainment consists of a flat-screen 23-inch LCD TV with cable and satellite viewing. Wi-Fi Internet access is available at an additional charge, and there is also a minibar, telephone and in-room safe. There are three basic room types, which are standard, family and Ramblas view. The standard rooms were recently renovated and can take two twin beds or one double bed. The family room takes one double bed and one double sofa bed. These rooms have likewise been completely renovated. The Ramblas view room is notable for its spectacular views over Las Ramblas, the main street in Barcelona city center. Two twin or one queen bed are available here, and the marbled private en suite bathroom is separated from the living quarters. There is full room service and concierge service for all rooms, and guests with mobility issues are also well catered for at the Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona. 
Things To Do
  • Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km) 
  • Barcelona Cathedral (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Casa Batllo (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • La Pedrera (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Picasso Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Joan Miro Foundation (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • La Sagrada Familia (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Park Guell (3.4 mi/5.5 km)

Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Standard Room
Room with two twin beds or one double bed completely soundproofed. These rooms have been completely renovated. Other amenities are heating and Air conditioning, LCD TV 32 inches, mini bar, free safe box with portable pc's capacity and WIFI Internet with additional cost.
Family Room
Room with one double bed and one sofa double bed. Completely soundproofed. These rooms have been completely renovated. Other amenities are heating and Air conditioning, LCD TV 32 inches, mini bar, free safe box with portable pc's capacity and WIFI Internet with additional cost.
Ramblas View Room
Great Views to the main street, Las Ramblas. Room with two twin beds or one queen size bed. These rooms have been recently renovated with a modern decoration in chocolate colours. Rooms are completely soundproofed and are equipped with a marbled private bathroom. Other amenities are heating and Air conditioning, LCD TV 32 inches, mini bar, free safe box with portable pc's capacity and WIFI Internet access with additional cost.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3842 2.1706
Area served
Barcelona. Las Ramblas.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport "El Prat" at 15 kilometres. Girona airport at 90 kilometres north.
Area description
Royal Ramblas Hotel is known for its privileged location on the famous Las Ramblas Boulevard in Barcelona city center, close to the city's central square, Plaza de Catalunya, the best cultural and historical meeting point on the city. Located on a walking distance to main transportations, tourist attractions and restaurants and is perfect base to easily explore the sights around the hotel such as the Gothic Quarter, the Port or the modernist buildings.

Nearby points of interest

  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.1 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Santa Eulalia: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.8 / 5
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
Antony Yiu
Hong Kong
16 Mar 2014

Excellent Hotel in the Center of Barcelona

Exceptional Hotel in the Center of Barcelona. You cannot ask for a better location. It's also within walk to major attractions and the subway station. I'd strongly recommend staying in this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
MattyL81019
London, England
13 Mar 2014

Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Not sure how this has 4 stars, but don't get me wrong it's a lovely hotel with friendly, warn & inviting staff. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
Ponkalert
England
15 Sep 2013

good location

Easy to find from airport bus drop off in catalunya square. 10 minute walk Max. Good location and within walking distance of Gothic quarter, port and transport. Buses and tube close by. Would definitely recommend so long as you don't want too many hotel amenities like pool, sauna or gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Open top bus is a great way to get around. Pre book for Sagrada Familia if you want to go inside as it was extremely busy with very long queue.

Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
World explorer 11
Sf, ca
15 May 2013

Room too small for a 4 star

Compared to another hotel near by, the economy room is way over priced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
MikeySee
New York, NY
23 Apr 2013

Location, Location, Location = Perfection

Well at the risk of repeating everyone else who ever reviewed this hotel...you can’t ask for a better located hotel in Barcelona! You are literally in the middle of everything – just a walk or brief metro ride to all of the city’s attractions. My stay at the hotel was fantastic. My room was clean, quiet, nicely appointed and a decent size. Very comfortable bed and the shower had great pressure. Some pleasant surprises: I arrived quite early in the morning (8:00 am) and expected to be told that I would have to check in later but that they would hold my luggage. Well without me asking, the gentleman at the front desk checked me in to my room right away I was given a room on the 6th floor overlooking the back courtyard and was quite happy in that it seemed like it was going to be a bright, quiet room. I quickly discovered a big puddle on the bathroom floor which was being caused by a leaky pipe under the sink. I reported it to the maid and she said she would have it fixed while I started my exploration of the city. I came back a few hours later and promptly stepped into a big puddle on the bathroom floor. I then figured it would be best to report this to the front desk and upon doing so I was quickly told that I could not stay in that room until it was repaired and they would find me a new room with a complimentary upgrade. I was given another room on the 6th floor with a Ramblas view without any additional charge! All this was done with out me asking or whining - now that is customer service!! I realize this may not be something they can do during high season when everything is fully booked but nevertheless the fact that I didn’t have to ask for this treatment indicates to me that the staff knows how to do the right thing. With that said, I did find the staff at the hotel to be engaged but not engaging. What I mean by that is they will be helpful and responsive but you as the guest would need to initiate the interaction (don’t expect to be greeted with a smile or a hola each time you pass them). That personally doesn’t bother me but I’ve read other reviews and believe that is why the staff is sometimes termed “unfriendly”. Again, given what they did for me with the room availability/change, I can’t complain! I didn’t take the breakfast buffet plan as I read in other reviews that it was quite over priced for the selection. However curiosity did get the better of me one day and decided to try it for the 15 Euro. It wasn’t bad but I agree you can do much better outside the hotel. What I did and what I would recommend, go to La Boqueria market which is right down the street (Ramblas) from the hotel and for a few Euro pick up some fresh fruit salad, some empanadas or something from the bakery which is off to the side (very nice croissants and pastries) . Then stop in Dunkin Donuts (yes there is DD in Barcelona) or Starbucks for a coffee. By the way the coffee at DD is not quite the same as what you find in the US as each cup is made to order – the European way – so it quite honestly tasted better and didn’t make me feel like such a tourist sellout!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend spending at least one evening in the area around Cathedral of Santa Maria Del Mar (I think it is referred to as the El Born section). The church is a must see but the area around it is a great place to have dinner, drinks or just a walk around. I recommend Origens Restaurant. – great authentic Spanish food at a reasonable price and its organic.

Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
Jennifer
Buckinghamshire
26 Aug 2012

Fantastic getaway

Hotel Royal Las Ramblas is in a perfect location. We used the tourist bus to get around which enabled us to visit many places. Would definitely use this hotel again. Our trip to Barcelona was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
AntonioC
Los Angeles, California
31 Jul 2012

Great Trip!

The hotel was excellent in every respect. The location could not be better...overlooking Las Ramblas and near Placa Catalunya and near metro/bus lines. The room was modern and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. Food in adjacent restaurant (part of hotel) was very good and reasonable. My wife and I could not have asked for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat away from the center of Las Ramblas. There are many restaurants with excellent food and more reasonably priced on the side streets leading to Las Ramblas.

Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
Loves to Cruise
Orange, CA
30 Jul 2012

Great location and good value

This was a nice & clean hotel. The rooms are small but that is just the way it is in Spain. The staff were very helpful - top notch service! I would (and did) reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 'hop on, hop off" bus. Buy the 2day pass. It is the best money we spent. It begins and ends in the plaza right near the hotel. The front desk will actually sell you tickets at the same price the bus does.

Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5620 anniversary
Utah
28 Jun 2012

Perfect location

This was the perfect location to explore Barcelona. Restaurants, shopping, garden market, taxi or subway are all right outside your door. We were able to walk to great restaurants in several squares and saw an unforgettable flamenco show right down the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salamanca restaurant had amazing fresh fish and seafood.

Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
Xingu
Charlotte, NC
19 Jun 2012

On The Ramblas

My wife and I stayed here for two nights before a cruise in May. Clean, quiet (in the back rooms) and contemporary decor. Located right on Las Ramblas, great for exploring the area. Only negative was that there was no response from the front desk when I complained about cigarette smoke coming through the ventilation system. Otherwise a safe bet for a couple of nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top