£25.00 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 5 Jul 2015 Check-out 6 Jul 2015

Paragon Hotel Birmingham

3 stars
View map of 145 Alcester Street, Digbeth, Birmingham, B12 0PJ

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
84 reviews
For Alf very special person

there is a very hard working gentleman called Alf nothing is to much for him I hope the management... See full review

  • Gavin J.
  • 3 May 2015
great stay

would like to thank Alf for every thing he is a great gentleman he will do anything for you I hope... See full review

  • Gavin J.
  • 27 Apr 2015
Housed in a magnificent, turn-of-the-(20th)-century Victorian Gothic building, the Paragon Hotel Birmingham features one of the largest and best conference facilities in Birmingham, a top-of-the-line venue for both business and personal events (weddings are a particular specialty). Rooms at the Paragon Hotel Birmingham offer contemporary comforts and furnishings, urban retreats that refresh the weariest traveler.
Rooms
Belying its Victorian Gothic exterior, the Paragon Hotel Birmingham houses 250 contemporary rooms, sleek and stylish spaces that serve as deluxe urban retreats that nourish and refresh. En-suite bathrooms, direct-dial telephones, complimentary Wi-Fi, televisions, and tea- and coffee-making facilities are standard additions, while larger doubles and suites afford panoramic views of the city, along with luxurious bed linens.
Property features
Housed in a magnificent, Victorian Gothic building built in 1903, the Paragon Hotel Birmingham is a lovingly restored property with one of the largest conference venues in Birmingham. The hotel restaurant incorporates a simple philosophy based on simple, local, fresh, seasonal ingredients, a singular focus that weaves its way through a variety of cuisines, from traditional British favorites to contemporary Asian fare. Paragon Hotel Birmingham guests will enjoy winding down with a drink in the hotel bar, a high-energy destination bar serving tasty cocktails and light fare, the ideal atmosphere for an informal meeting or friendly nightcap. Parking is available at the hotel (fee applies).
Highlights
  • Prime location: Located in the city center, within walking distance to the Bullring Shopping Centre
  • On-site Jenny's Restaurant features high-energy open-kitchen plan, allowing guests to view food preparation
  • Wi-Fi available throughout public spaces
Nearby attractions
  • St. Chad's Catholic Cathedral (2.4 mi/4 km)
  • Birmingham Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cadbury World (4.2 mi/7 km)
  • Kenilworth Castle (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
Business
  • Twelve function rooms
  • Event rooms that accommodate up to 1,000 guests
  • Complimentary Internet
  • State-of-the-art equipment
  • Both eight-hour and 24-hour delegate rates
Transportation
  • Birmingham New Street Railway Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham International Airport (8.7 mi/13.9 km)
Policies
  • The hotel is undergoing multi-million pound refurbishment works.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Paragon Hotel Birmingham Rooms

Double Room
Room offers 1 double bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.
Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities. NOTE: Interconnecting rooms are available and consist of 2 x single beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paragon Hotel Birmingham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Paragon Hotel Birmingham location and nearby area

Nearby points of interest

  • Birmingham New Street Station: 0.5 mi
  • Birmingham Back to Backs: 0.6 mi
  • St. Martin in the Bull Ring: 0.6 mi
  • Birmingham Hippodrome: 0.6 mi
  • O2 Academy Birmingham: 0.6 mi
  • Digbeth: 0.7 mi
  • Moor Street Railway Station: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Alexandra Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • The Giant Screen at Millenium Point: 0.9 mi
  • Birmingham Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Thinktank Planetarium: 0.9 mi
  • St. Phillip's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Victoria Square: 1 mi
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Birmingham New Street Station: 0.5 mi
  • Birmingham Back to Backs: 0.6 mi
  • St. Martin in the Bull Ring: 0.6 mi
  • Birmingham Hippodrome: 0.6 mi
  • O2 Academy Birmingham: 0.6 mi
  • Digbeth: 0.7 mi
  • Moor Street Railway Station: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Alexandra Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • The Giant Screen at Millenium Point: 0.9 mi
  • Birmingham Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Thinktank Planetarium: 0.9 mi
  • St. Phillip's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Victoria Square: 1 mi
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Hall of Memory: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • International Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Brindleyplace: 1.2 mi
  • NIA Birmingham: 1.3 mi
  • Aston University: 1.4 mi
  • National Sea Life Center: 1.4 mi
  • Crescent Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Cannon Hill Park: 1.4 mi
  • Midlands Arts Center: 1.4 mi
  • Edgbaston: 1.6 mi
  • The Pen Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Jewellery Quarter: 1.8 mi
  • Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses: 1.9 mi
  • Winterbourne House and Garden: 2 mi
  • Aston: 2.1 mi
  • Barber Institute of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • University of Birmingham: 2.4 mi
  • Aston Hall: 2.7 mi
  • Cadbury World: 3.3 mi
  • Birmingham City University: 3.5 mi
  • Erdington: 4.4 mi
  • Castle Bromwich: 5.2 mi
  • Great Barr: 6.2 mi
  • NEC Birmingham: 7.2 mi
  • National Motorcycle Museum: 7.6 mi
  • Birmingham Delta Force Paintball-Beechwood: 7.9 mi
  • Chamberlain Square: 3,457.9 mi

Dining

The Princess Helena
The philosophy behind our food is simple; local, fresh, seasonal ingredients deliciously cooked. The restaurant and bar serve modern British classics, cooked by our in-house kitchen team
Naylors Bar
The Bar, located near the front of the building is where you will find the majority of our guests during the late afternoon and evening. A busy atmosphere, good food and drinks combine to create the ideal atmosphere in which to relax. An all-day bar menu is served in the bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacities for meeting rooms now reaching 600 seated in a single room and with 13 spacious and elegant function rooms of varying size, The Paragon is a wonderful Birmingham conference venue for those needing boardroom meetings, exhibitions, smaller meetings, team building away days and more. With numerous breakout options, link areas, period features and an abundance of light, we believe The Paragon is a truly inspirational place to host your meeting. Be inspired by the impressiveness of the gothic architecture and the beauty of the stained glass roofs

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
15:00
Check-out:
11:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.1
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluenose Dave
Business
Kerry Ireland
30 Mar 2011

good budget no frills Hotel

The hotel is very handy for Birmingham City centre,New st Train station,Birmingham City Football Ground. The Architecture is splendid & very interesting! It is in a quiet area so we didnt get woken by Saturday night revellers! The room had free wifi & was clean and basic, breakfast was a buffet which was quite good, if you want a modern hotel this isnt for you, but I found it very nice & the staff were lovely! I would certainly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal for Shopping, Restaurants, Night life & Football (close, but not too close to St Andrews- Birmingham City)!

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluenose Dave
Business
Kerry Ireland
30 Mar 2011

good budget no frills Hotel

The hotel is very handy for Birmingham City centre,New st Train station,Birmingham City Football Ground. The Architecture is splendid & very interesting! It is in a quiet area so we didnt get woken by Saturday night revellers! The room had free wifi & was clean and basic, breakfast was a buffet which was quite good, if you want a modern hotel this isnt for you, but I found it very nice & the staff were lovely! I would certainly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal for Shopping, Restaurants, Night life & Football (close, but not too close to St Andrews- Birmingham City)!

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle Outram
Business
N/A
17 Feb 2015

Good

Everything was good the staff where friendly but my hotel room the shower was dirty and their was silver fish running about on the bathroom floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gavin J.
Business
N/A
27 Apr 2015

great stay

would like to thank Alf for every thing he is a great gentleman he will do anything for you I hope the management no what a great hard working person he is hope he is hear next time we stay so thank you again Alf xxxxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gavin J.
Business
N/A
3 May 2015

For Alf very special person

there is a very hard working gentleman called Alf nothing is to much for him I hope the management appreciate him he will do any thing for you he made are stay good he. Is also a great laugh there is 2 lady's called Lisa and Katherine cleaners they to are very hard workers and a good laugh so hope to see them all soon xxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clubbing Lover
Business
Dublin, Ireland
13 Jun 2010

Value for money

I always stay in this hotel to go out clubbing. It's a great location to the club and the staff are always friendly. The walls are paper thin though, and I always seem stuck with an adjoining room which makes it worse but usually I get a night there for €25 per room for two people, so in that respect it is excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Godskitchen

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brass
Business
Telford, Telford & Wrekin, UK
13 Dec 2011

Great weekend get away!!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Paragon,it was perfect for our needs of somewhere to stay after a night out in Birmingham!! It was followed by a very welcomed excellent breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kbcj
Business
South Florida metropolitan area, FL, USA
7 Jan 2012

holiday stay

It is in a great spot to get to the rail station and shopping. Make sure you stay in an upgraded turret room, if you want a normal comfortable space to stay in for the long term. We were there for a week and for the most part were only there to sleep. We had no problems while there and would stay there again if we were to ever go back to Birmingham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

From the new street rail station/bullring shopping to the hotel is between 5-6£ for a taxi,or it is about a 20 min. walk.

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diya
Business
Nottingham
16 Nov 2012

One Night Stay... Spending some time in The City

Was worried by the Negative Reviews but was pleasantly surprised!!! My room was clean and comfortable & I had a hot shower!!! Slept in a comfortable bed... room was smallish But I Will not & I cannot complain... Cost £35 + Free Car Park No Internet on 4th floor - but I did not need it...Would I come back... Of Course!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sheril
Business
australia
24 Mar 2013

great customer service

Staff friendly and super helpful. Helped with some urgent printing and also found out for us the best way to get by bus to our next destination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top