£30.45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Nov 2014 Check-out 1 Dec 2014

Paragon Hotel Birmingham

3 stars
145 Alcester Street, Digbeth, Birmingham, B12 0PJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
51 reviews
Great

Price was great, room was great althought our room was quite dark could do with the light bulbs... See full review

  • Ess b
  • 21 Dec 2013
Really Nice

I had a good time staying here. I recommed my friend's to stay here. See full review

  • Master Gurj
  • 17 Sep 2013
A magnificent example of Gothic architecture, the Paragon is located near the heart of the city, lovingly restored into a modern, stylish, urban retreat. Many of the original features of this beautiful Grade II listed building remain, however, Paragon offers excellent facilities for conferences, seminars and banquets. Accommodation includes 100 superior rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. The Paragon Hotel, with its central location, provides easy access to the main motorway network. Within a short distance is the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. The National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham Airport are about 7 miles away. Birmingham city centre is only 1 mile away. Hotel amenities include Bar, Conference Facilities, Disabled Facilities, Dry Cleaning, Wireless Internet, Laundry Service, Non Smoking Rooms, Free Car Parking, Reception, Restaurant, Safe deposit Box, Smoke Free Property. PLEASE NOTE - The Paragon Hotel is now going through a refurbishment. Work has already commenced on the bedrooms with exciting new designs and will continue throughout 2014. Please bear with us while this work is being carried out and we will do our upmost to make sure your stay with us is not affected.

Paragon Hotel Birmingham Rooms

Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities. NOTE: Interconnecting rooms are available and consist of 2 x single beds.
Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
Room offers 1 double bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paragon Hotel Birmingham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.4706 -1.8848
Area served
The Paragon Hotel is a 15 minute walk from Birmingham city centre and Birmingham New Street Train Station. Birmingham International Airport is approximately 25 minutes from The hotel. Excellent transport links to the M42/ M6 / M5.
Nearby airports
Birmingham International
Area description
The hotel is located less than 1 mile from Birmingham City Centre and New Street Station.It is also easily reachable by main motorway network.

Nearby points of interest

  • Birmingham New Street Station: 0.5 mi
  • Birmingham Back to Backs: 0.6 mi
  • St. Martin in the Bull Ring: 0.6 mi
  • Birmingham Hippodrome: 0.6 mi
  • O2 Academy Birmingham: 0.6 mi
  • Digbeth: 0.7 mi
  • Moor Street Railway Station: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Alexandra Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • The Giant Screen at Millenium Point: 0.9 mi
  • Birmingham Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Thinktank Planetarium: 0.9 mi
  • St. Phillip's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Victoria Square: 1 mi
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Birmingham New Street Station: 0.5 mi
  • Birmingham Back to Backs: 0.6 mi
  • St. Martin in the Bull Ring: 0.6 mi
  • Birmingham Hippodrome: 0.6 mi
  • O2 Academy Birmingham: 0.6 mi
  • Digbeth: 0.7 mi
  • Moor Street Railway Station: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Alexandra Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • The Giant Screen at Millenium Point: 0.9 mi
  • Birmingham Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Thinktank Planetarium: 0.9 mi
  • St. Phillip's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Victoria Square: 1 mi
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Hall of Memory: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • International Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Brindleyplace: 1.2 mi
  • NIA Birmingham: 1.3 mi
  • Aston University: 1.4 mi
  • National Sea Life Center: 1.4 mi
  • Crescent Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Cannon Hill Park: 1.4 mi
  • Midlands Arts Center: 1.4 mi
  • Edgbaston: 1.6 mi
  • The Pen Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Jewellery Quarter: 1.8 mi
  • Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses: 1.9 mi
  • Winterbourne House and Garden: 2 mi
  • Aston: 2.1 mi
  • Barber Institute of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • University of Birmingham: 2.4 mi
  • Aston Hall: 2.7 mi
  • Cadbury World: 3.3 mi
  • Birmingham City University: 3.5 mi
  • Erdington: 4.4 mi
  • Castle Bromwich: 5.2 mi
  • Great Barr: 6.2 mi
  • NEC Birmingham: 7.2 mi
  • National Motorcycle Museum: 7.6 mi
  • Birmingham Delta Force Paintball-Beechwood: 7.9 mi
  • Chamberlain Square: 3,457.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacities for meeting rooms now reaching 600 seated in a single room and with 13 spacious and elegant function rooms of varying size, The Paragon is a wonderful Birmingham conference venue for those needing boardroom meetings, exhibitions, smaller meetings, team building away days and more. With numerous breakout options, link areas, period features and an abundance of light, we believe The Paragon is a truly inspirational place to host your meeting. Be inspired by the impressiveness of the gothic architecture and the beauty of the stained glass roofs

Dining

The Princess Helena
The philosophy behind our food is simple; local, fresh, seasonal ingredients deliciously cooked. The restaurant and bar serve modern British classics, cooked by our in-house kitchen team
Naylors Bar
The Bar, located near the front of the building is where you will find the majority of our guests during the late afternoon and evening. A busy atmosphere, good food and drinks combine to create the ideal atmosphere in which to relax. An all-day bar menu is served in the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3
Value:
3.1

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluenose Dave
Business
Kerry Ireland
30 Mar 2011

good budget no frills Hotel

The hotel is very handy for Birmingham City centre,New st Train station,Birmingham City Football Ground. The Architecture is splendid & very interesting! It is in a quiet area so we didnt get woken by Saturday night revellers! The room had free wifi & was clean and basic, breakfast was a buffet which was quite good, if you want a modern hotel this isnt for you, but I found it very nice & the staff were lovely! I would certainly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal for Shopping, Restaurants, Night life & Football (close, but not too close to St Andrews- Birmingham City)!

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clubbing Lover
Business
Dublin, Ireland
13 Jun 2010

Value for money

I always stay in this hotel to go out clubbing. It's a great location to the club and the staff are always friendly. The walls are paper thin though, and I always seem stuck with an adjoining room which makes it worse but usually I get a night there for €25 per room for two people, so in that respect it is excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Godskitchen

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brass
Business
Telford, Telford & Wrekin, UK
13 Dec 2011

Great weekend get away!!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Paragon,it was perfect for our needs of somewhere to stay after a night out in Birmingham!! It was followed by a very welcomed excellent breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kbcj
Business
South Florida metropolitan area, FL, USA
7 Jan 2012

holiday stay

It is in a great spot to get to the rail station and shopping. Make sure you stay in an upgraded turret room, if you want a normal comfortable space to stay in for the long term. We were there for a week and for the most part were only there to sleep. We had no problems while there and would stay there again if we were to ever go back to Birmingham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

From the new street rail station/bullring shopping to the hotel is between 5-6£ for a taxi,or it is about a 20 min. walk.

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diya
Business
Nottingham
16 Nov 2012

One Night Stay... Spending some time in The City

Was worried by the Negative Reviews but was pleasantly surprised!!! My room was clean and comfortable & I had a hot shower!!! Slept in a comfortable bed... room was smallish But I Will not & I cannot complain... Cost £35 + Free Car Park No Internet on 4th floor - but I did not need it...Would I come back... Of Course!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sheril
Business
australia
24 Mar 2013

great customer service

Staff friendly and super helpful. Helped with some urgent printing and also found out for us the best way to get by bus to our next destination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wrinkly Rocker
Business
Bexhill E.Sussex
25 Jun 2013

Shame about the beds

The hotel was fine as were the staff, in fact the room was ok as well. But the beds were shocking. I think the mattresses had been there since the hotel was built. They were more like fabric bowls. If we had been staying any longer than one night we couldn't have put up with it. We did wonder if we had been put in there because we had got a good deal through e bookers !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Central Birmingham, Bull ring etc, minutes away by car.

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toothy
Business
Kings Park Australia
17 Jul 2013

Nice Hotel

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel I believe I got value for my money . Although not close to town but close enough to a little supermarket ,pubs and takeaway shop. But in saying all that the hotel had everything that I needed or wanted .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Master Gurj
Business
London
17 Sep 2013

Really Nice

I had a good time staying here. I recommed my friend's to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ess b
Business
Birmingham
21 Dec 2013

Great

Price was great, room was great althought our room was quite dark could do with the light bulbs being brighter but overall a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top