£30.06 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Aug 2014 Check-out 3 Sep 2014

Paragon Hotel Birmingham

3 stars
145 Alcester Street, Digbeth, Birmingham, B12 0PJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
121 reviews
Great

Price was great, room was great althought our room was quite dark could do with the light bulbs... See full review

  • Ess b
  • 21 Dec 2013
Really Nice

I had a good time staying here. I recommed my friend's to stay here. See full review

  • Master Gurj
  • 17 Sep 2013
Top Birmingham conference venue, close to city center
Housed in a magnificent, turn-of-the-(20th)-century Victorian Gothic building, the Paragon Hotel Birmingham features one of the largest and best conference facilities in Birmingham, a top-of-the-line venue for both business and personal events (weddings are a particular specialty). Rooms at the Paragon Hotel Birmingham offer contemporary comforts and furnishings, urban retreats that refresh the weariest traveler.
Highlights
  • Prime location: Located in the city center, within walking distance to the Bullring Shopping Centre
  • On-site Jenny's Restaurant features high-energy open-kitchen plan, allowing guests to view food preparation
  • Wi-Fi available throughout public spaces
Rooms
Belying its Victorian Gothic exterior, the Paragon Hotel Birmingham houses 250 contemporary rooms, sleek and stylish spaces that serve as deluxe urban retreats that nourish and refresh. En-suite bathrooms, direct-dial telephones, complimentary Wi-Fi, televisions, and tea- and coffee-making facilities are standard additions, while larger doubles and suites afford panoramic views of the city, along with luxurious bed linens.
Features
Housed in a magnificent, Victorian Gothic building built in 1903, the Paragon Hotel Birmingham is a lovingly restored property with one of the largest conference venues in Birmingham. The hotel restaurant incorporates a simple philosophy based on simple, local, fresh, seasonal ingredients, a singular focus that weaves its way through a variety of cuisines, from traditional British favorites to contemporary Asian fare. Paragon Hotel Birmingham guests will enjoy winding down with a drink in the hotel bar, a high-energy destination bar serving tasty cocktails and light fare, the ideal atmosphere for an informal meeting or friendly nightcap. Parking is available at the hotel (fee applies).
Transportation
  • Birmingham New Street Railway Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham International Airport (8.7 mi/13.9 km)
Attractions
  • St. Chad's Catholic Cathedral (2.4 mi/4 km)
  • Birmingham Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cadbury World (4.2 mi/7 km)
  • Kenilworth Castle (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
Business
  • Twelve function rooms
  • Event rooms that accommodate up to 1,000 guests
  • Complimentary Internet
  • State-of-the-art equipment
  • Both eight-hour and 24-hour delegate rates

Paragon Hotel Birmingham Rooms

Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities. NOTE: Interconnecting rooms are available and consist of 2 x single beds.
Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
Room offers 1 double bed with alarm clock, color TV, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, kettle, non smoking rooms, radio, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paragon Hotel Birmingham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.4706 -1.8848
Area served
The Paragon Hotel is a 15 minute walk from Birmingham city centre and Birmingham New Street Train Station. Birmingham International Airport is approximately 25 minutes from The hotel. Excellent transport links to the M42/ M6 / M5.
Nearby airports
Birmingham International
Area description
The hotel is located less than 1 mile from Birmingham City Centre and New Street Station.It is also easily reachable by main motorway network.

Nearby points of interest

  • Birmingham New Street Station: 0.5 mi
  • Birmingham Back to Backs: 0.6 mi
  • St. Martin in the Bull Ring: 0.6 mi
  • Birmingham Hippodrome: 0.6 mi
  • O2 Academy Birmingham: 0.6 mi
  • Digbeth: 0.7 mi
  • Moor Street Railway Station: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Alexandra Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • The Giant Screen at Millenium Point: 0.9 mi
  • Birmingham Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Thinktank Planetarium: 0.9 mi
  • St. Phillip's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Victoria Square: 1 mi
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Birmingham New Street Station: 0.5 mi
  • Birmingham Back to Backs: 0.6 mi
  • St. Martin in the Bull Ring: 0.6 mi
  • Birmingham Hippodrome: 0.6 mi
  • O2 Academy Birmingham: 0.6 mi
  • Digbeth: 0.7 mi
  • Moor Street Railway Station: 0.7 mi
  • Electric Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Alexandra Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • The Giant Screen at Millenium Point: 0.9 mi
  • Birmingham Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Thinktank Planetarium: 0.9 mi
  • St. Phillip's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Victoria Square: 1 mi
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground: 1 mi
  • Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Hall of Memory: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • International Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Brindleyplace: 1.2 mi
  • NIA Birmingham: 1.3 mi
  • Aston University: 1.4 mi
  • National Sea Life Center: 1.4 mi
  • Crescent Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Cannon Hill Park: 1.4 mi
  • Midlands Arts Center: 1.4 mi
  • Edgbaston: 1.6 mi
  • The Pen Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Jewellery Quarter: 1.8 mi
  • Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses: 1.9 mi
  • Winterbourne House and Garden: 2 mi
  • Aston: 2.1 mi
  • Barber Institute of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • University of Birmingham: 2.4 mi
  • Aston Hall: 2.7 mi
  • Cadbury World: 3.3 mi
  • Birmingham City University: 3.5 mi
  • Erdington: 4.4 mi
  • Castle Bromwich: 5.2 mi
  • Great Barr: 6.2 mi
  • NEC Birmingham: 7.2 mi
  • National Motorcycle Museum: 7.6 mi
  • Birmingham Delta Force Paintball-Beechwood: 7.9 mi
  • Chamberlain Square: 3,457.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With capacities for meeting rooms now reaching 600 seated in a single room and with 13 spacious and elegant function rooms of varying size, The Paragon is a wonderful Birmingham conference venue for those needing boardroom meetings, exhibitions, smaller meetings, team building away days and more. With numerous breakout options, link areas, period features and an abundance of light, we believe The Paragon is a truly inspirational place to host your meeting. Be inspired by the impressiveness of the gothic architecture and the beauty of the stained glass roofs

Dining

The Princess Helena
The philosophy behind our food is simple; local, fresh, seasonal ingredients deliciously cooked. The restaurant and bar serve modern British classics, cooked by our in-house kitchen team
Naylors Bar
The Bar, located near the front of the building is where you will find the majority of our guests during the late afternoon and evening. A busy atmosphere, good food and drinks combine to create the ideal atmosphere in which to relax. An all-day bar menu is served in the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SERGIO
Not Provided
26 Nov 2009

Me and my partner loved it. The

Me and my partner loved it. The staff are so friendly and the room was a generous size. The breakfast was delicious and they were all very helpful. Would recomend to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
23 Jun 2009

We found everything very good

We found everything very good for our 7-nght stay. If in the area we will use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
julie
Not Provided
18 Jun 2009

very, very nice staff. everyone

very, very nice staff. everyone was really pleasant, friendly and helpful. will definitely stay again/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
STEPHEN
Not Provided
23 May 2009

HALLWAYS ARE BADLY NEEDING REDECORATED

HALLWAYS ARE BADLY NEEDING REDECORATED WHERE THE PAINT IS FLAKING THE ROOMS ARE CLEAN AND ADEQUATE FOR YOUR VISIT STAFF ARE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY HAVE STAYED HERE BEFORE AND WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY JUST 10 MMINS DOWN HILL TO THE CITY CENTRE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter
Not Provided
25 Oct 2009

A fabulous grade II listed Victorian

A fabulous grade II listed Victorian edifice, the rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and great value at the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
2 Dec 2009

A bit out of town,but as we go

A bit out of town,but as we go for social reasons we get taxis that are promoted by hotel and are therefore cheaper and punctual,have been four times now,basic but for a few nights no problem and excellent breakfast included in price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
7 Oct 2009

I love staying at this hotel when

I love staying at this hotel when visiting Birmingham. As long as you are not after a room with a view this hotel is very reasonably priced, clean, very friendly staff and buffet hot and cold breakfast included in the price. Only 10 minutes walk or short bus ride from Bullring shopping centre. The hotel is on an industrial estate but we prefer this to being amongst the hustle and bustle of hotels on main ring roads and near all the nightlife as it is much quieter at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Richard
Not Provided
3 Feb 2010

Well placed in the city, the

Well placed in the city, the hotel has improved a lot. The service ,food and bar have always been good and now the rooms have been given a make-over it is excellent value. Ask for a room near the lift if you have a problem walking as it is a large hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grace
Not Provided
24 Feb 2011

i have stayed at the paragon for

i have stayed at the paragon for nearly 18 years now and love it ! the staff are so friendly and helpful,the rooms are always clean and warm ,the breakfast never fails to please us ,as we are a group of women aged between 45 and 55 we feel very safe in the paragon if you have any queries you just have to ring recepition and its dealt with immediately i do hope to be staying there for the next few years and could reccomend it to anyone it might not be fancy or in a fancy part of town but its homely and clean and thats wat counts wen you are away from home ,special mention to nick and the recepition staff also the waitress on bfast duty grace denny (ni)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paragon Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert
Not Provided
15 Feb 2011

A very clean and friendly hotel.

A very clean and friendly hotel. Breakfast was very good and was a very reasonable price £6 95 with avery large choice. The rooms were a little on the small side but ok although the bathroom was a little on the worn side. I will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top