£63.45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 16 Apr 2014 Check-out 18 Apr 2014

Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

4 stars
York Buildings, Queen Street, Edinburgh, EH2 1HY
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
13 reviews
Perfect Break

We have stayed in quite a few hotels but this is best so far. loved the apartment with two... See full review

  • Dody
  • 22 Feb 2014
GREAT LOCATION, NOT THAT GOOD SERVICE

THE HOTEL IS REALLY GOOD LOCATED, THE ROOMS ARE QUITE BIG BUT THE SERVICE IS LAME. See full review

  • the posh girl
  • 13 Jan 2014
Cool, contemporary apartments in Edinburgh’s city center

The Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh features apartments ideal for extended-stay visitors and guests who enjoy added comfort and convenience. Housed in a 200-year-old former museum, these city center apartments combine historic charm and modern conveniences like Internet access (fees apply) and a fully equipped fitness center. Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh guests enjoy discounted parking rates at a nearby car park and convenient access to all the history, nightlife, shopping and business of this UNESCO World Heritage city.

Highlights
  • Some rooms feature stunning views of the River Forth
  • Near fantastic shopping at Harvey Nichols and the Royal Mile
  • Guests enjoy meal discounts at The Living Room on George Street
Location

Gorgeous, historic Edinburgh is worthy of a stop on any tour of Great Britain, or as a destination in its own right. One-of-a-kind attractions such as the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace are all within a few minutes' walk from the Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh. The Museum of Childhood and Our Dynamic Earth appeal to families in particular.

Rooms

One- and two-bedroom apartments at the Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh provide convenience, comfort and independence in the heart of the city. Options include saver, executive, premium and penthouse accommodation.

 

Drop your bags and unwind with a hot cup of coffee or tea with a splash of milk - they're stocked in each apartment. Welcome baskets in executive, premium and penthouse apartments include additional treats like gourmet chocolates and biscuits or bread, cereal and juice for making breakfast.

 

All apartments at the Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh feature high-speed Internet access (fees apply), 42-inch flat-panel TVs, DVD players, equipped Poggenpohl brand kitchens and spacious living areas.

Features

With low lighting, comfortable easy chairs and intimate conversation areas, the Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh reception area is a great place to spend some quiet time and enjoy a complimentary cup of coffee.

Transportation
  • Edinburgh Waverley railway station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Scottish National Portrait Gallery (Across the street)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Royal Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • National Museum of Scotland (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Festival Theatre Edinburgh (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh Rooms

Saver Studio
All the luxury of our Executive One Bedroom Apartments without bathrobes and a smaller selection of teas and coffees. With welcome toiletries. All bookings for Saver Apartments are NON REFUNDABLE.
Saver Two Bedroom Apartments
All the luxury of our Executive Two Bedroom Apartments without bathrobes and a smaller selection of teas and coffees. With welcome toiletries. All bookings for Saver Apartments are NON REFUNDABLE.
Executive One Bedroom Apartment
Including iPod docking stations, Luxury Toiletries and bathrobes on request.
Executive Two Bedroom Apartments
Including iPod docking stations, Luxury Toiletries and bathrobes on request.
Premium One Bedroom Apartments
Including luxury toiletries, luxury bathrobes, Segafredo espresso machine and iPod docking station. These are our largest apartments with original features.
Premium Two Bedroom Apartments
Including luxury toiletries, luxury bathrobes, Segafredo espresso machine and iPod docking station. With historical features these are our largest apartments.
Penthouse Two Bedroom Apartment
With balcony and far reaching views over Edinburgh and the firth of forth. Apartment includes luxury toiletries and bathrobes. Segafredo espresso machine and iPod docking station.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Activities
Fitness centre or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9558 -3.1937
Area served
Edinburgh
Nearby airports
Edinburgh's International airport is only 30 minutes away by airport bus or taxi. The main line train station is only few minutes walk away, as is the bus station.
Area description
Blue Rainbow ApartHotel Edinburgh captures and compliments the life and liveliness of this vibrant exciting city. Next to Queen Street Gardens we combine the best of views with the very best of locations. Our city centre location is only minutes walk from Princes Street, the Scott Monument, the Castle, City Galleries and the Omni Entertainment Centre. We are minutes by bus or taxi from the new Parliament, and Edinburgh's International Conference Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • National Portrait Gallery: 0 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.5 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.5 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.5 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.4 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.5 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.5 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.5 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.6 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.6 mi
  • People's Story: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.6 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.7 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.8 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.8 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.8 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.8 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 0.8 mi
  • The Grange: 0.8 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.9 mi
  • Warriston: 0.9 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.9 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Meadow park: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1.1 mi
  • Comely Bank: 1.1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Overall score

4 / 5
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
Dody
Dublin Ireland
22 Feb 2014

Perfect Break

We have stayed in quite a few hotels but this is best so far. loved the apartment with two teenagers was great to come back and chill in home from home , with space to properly relax unlike the confines of a hotel room. The staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was a problem for them. The location was great five min walk from all the main amenities and yet a nice quiet location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the bus tours as you learn loads about local attractions and what there is to do and see in this brilliant city .

Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
the posh girl
Mexico City
13 Jan 2014

GREAT LOCATION, NOT THAT GOOD SERVICE

THE HOTEL IS REALLY GOOD LOCATED, THE ROOMS ARE QUITE BIG BUT THE SERVICE IS LAME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
Littlechef
Gosport Hampshire UK
26 Oct 2013

Good base for exploring

Good clean room well thought out with cooking facilities and tidy bathroom.access to garden and park.Quiet despite being on a main road,friendly staff ,nice little bar,supermarket within 5 minutes walk,bus stop right outside,and a good base from which to explore Edinburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Conan Doyle pub very convenient for a meal and a pint of heavy.

Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
CC75
Moray
17 Oct 2013

Lovely find.

We arrived into a lobby that looked just like it did online to a warm friendly welcome. A proper explanation of everything. The apartment was lovely and clean with an amazing view down queen st. 10 min walk from the royal mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta
9 Aug 2011

Great location, Spacious rooms, but...

The Blue Rainbow Aparthotel in Edinburgh is a converted apartment house. Its kitchen/dining/living area is separate from the bedroom. It is perfect if you want to invite co-workers over discuss work, eat or watch TV. It is big enough for a small meeting. The hotel is centrally located, the train station and shopping are only a short walk away. The price is on-par with traditional hotel rooms in the same area. I would caution about making reservations at this hotel if your plans are not firm. The hotel has a 100% cancellation charge policy. You should inform your boss about this policy. Even if you cancel weeks in advance, you will be charged, and cannot apply the funds to other hotel nights or services. The facility is old, and things break. During my stay the elevator, TV and Internet broke, and took days to be fixed. My reaction to the staff was mixed. We took a side trip to Inverness, during which they stored my wife's insulin in the fridge. On the other hand, the staff have been to told to never remove a charge from a customer's bill. So while the staff giving us updates on when things would be fixed, they were also telling us that we would have to talk with a manager to get charges for the Internet (a separate charge) from our bill. Eventually cooler heads prevailed. Taken as a whole, I would recommend this hotel. It is particularly nice if you need room to discuss work with co-workers, or just would like to have an intimate, breakfast with your spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is less than 1 mile from Waverly Station, buses, and shopping. The only time we needed a taxi was when we had luggage.

Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
NJ, USA
10 Jul 2011

Little Gem

We are a family with two teen daughters & having the extra room & two bathrooms was a tremendous plus. The apartment is beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. Having the kitchen(fully equipped) saved us money with breakfast and time since we could get breakfast ready while everyone was getting ready in the morning. Only downside is that you needed to pay extra for the internet. The elevator was out of order for the first two days we were there. They don't really service the apartment like they would in a hotel, we thought they would but we had to ask for clean towels after coming back at the end of the day & seeing that we hadn't gotten any service even though we had asked in the morning and left the maid service sign hanging on the door. The view from the rooms was spectacular and the location was great. Theres a grocery store two blocks away which was very convenient. The receptionist at the desk were very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful city and would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother with the ghost tours, they are all pretty bad. Even Mary king's Close was nothing to write home about. The Castle is a must see! Calton Hill has lovely views and best of all it's free. We flew into Edinburgh but I think it would be quite impressive to take the train since the station is right in the heart of the city and you would be greatly impressed when the train rolls in.

Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
new york
29 Jun 2011

convenient prime location

Boutique hotel one block from everything. large living room with well equipped kitchen. No maid service, but room was nicely cleaned upon our arrival with plenty of towels and toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
Super Cheap Traveler
Portsmouth, Virginia
22 Jan 2011

A hidden Gem!

The Blue Rainbow is a hidden gem located in the heart of Edinburgh, you are 1 street from history and 3 streets from the Royal Mile. The Train is within 5 minutes walking distance. The best part of this hotel other than location is to upgrade to an apartment with a kitchen. They stock, yes you read it right they stock the kitchen with coffee, teas OJ, bread, milk cereal, jams and jellies. plus a few a snacks. The grocery store is one block up .. you can make this an affordable vacation eating some of your meals in. They provide bathrobes lus super sized bath towels!!!!! We love this hotel!!! There is no parking - we walked or used the trains to get around. The airport is 30 minutes drive we used a shuttle to get back and forth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pubs are worth visiting.. you order a pint and a meal and sit back and relax with the locals. No tipping is required!!

Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
Jenn the world traveler
Chino Hills California
29 Nov 2010

The Blue Rainbow was a real treat!

This was a great apartment at a great rate. We booked an executive, two bedroom apartment. Wonderful garden and city views. The kitchen facilities were excellent and we appreciated the extra goodies such as the robes, gift baskets, chocolates on the pillow, etc. The staff were friendly and professional. The location was fantastic-- close to all attractions, shopping, etc. The only complaints our group had were the very LOUD heaters. Other than that, a great place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the Outsider Restaurant on George 1V street. Also, Harvey Nichols Department store has sales where shoppers are treated to champagne and hors d'ouvres.

Review of Blue Rainbow Aparthotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

5
Dash944
Akron, OH
21 Jun 2010

What more could you ask for?

I was impressed by the staff, the room and the location. It was such a pleasant place to stay that I would certainly recommend staying there. The only drawback was the price of the WiFi but that was not enough to detract from all of the rest. If you're not sure, stay there, you enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park on the 5th and 6th level of the St. James' parking garage and the hotel will validate you pass to get 50% off parking. It's a short walk.

Back to menu Return to top