£62.50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 Aug 2015 Check-out 31 Aug 2015

Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3 stars
View map of 187 Clermiston Road, Edinburgh, EH12 6UG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
46 reviews
A perfect one nights stay

Efficient and friendly check in. The room was spotlessly clean and a pretty good size. Flat screen... See full review

  • JC31
  • 12 Jul 2015
Great Hotel

The main thing I always want in a hotel is cleanliness and this hotel certainly had it. Super clean... See full review

  • Laura M.
  • 7 May 2015
Edinburgh Capital Hotel is west of Edinburgh's city center, minutes from the airport. The hotel's wide variety of accommodations provides excellent values. The hotel is decorated in a modern, comfortable style and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.
Rooms

Edinburgh Capital Hotel has 111 ensuite bedrooms, ranging in size from single to family. All have a desk, iron, and ironing board, as well as free toiletries. Fourteen bedrooms are accessible for guests with reduced mobility, and four are wheelchair-accessible. All bedrooms have a telephone, satellite television, and free Wi-Fi. Interconnecting rooms and cots are available on request. All rooms are non-smoking.

Property features

The recently renovated Westview Restaurant uses seasonal local produce to create tasty, uncomplicated dishes. Westview Restaurant is popular with locals as well as guests, so book in advance. The restaurant is family-friendly, with a children's menu. The Westview Bar, between the restaurant and reception, serves lighter meals.

Highlights
  • On-site restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Family-friendly
  • Book dinner at the on-site restaurant in advance
Nearby attractions
  • Edinburgh Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Murrayfield rugby stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Princes Street (5 mi/8 km)
  • Holyrood Palace (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Buses to Edinburgh city center

Edinburgh Capital Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with double bed, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe
Twin Room
Guestrooms are modern and comfortable with 2 single beds, foam pillows and duvet cover, ensuite bathroom, welcome tea tray, FREE WiFi, digital TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, hairdryer and laptop safe

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Edinburgh Capital Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Edinburgh Capital Hotel location and nearby area

Nearby points of interest

  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Clermiston: 0.3 mi
  • Drumbrae: 0.5 mi
  • Parkgrove: 0.5 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 0.9 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.9 mi
  • East Craigs: 1 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1 mi
  • Blackhall: 1 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.1 mi
  • Barnton: 1.1 mi
  • Muirhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 1.2 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.3 mi
  • Braepark: 1.4 mi
  • Wester Broom: 1.5 mi
  • Ravelston: 1.5 mi
  • Cramond: 1.5 mi
  • Maybury: 1.6 mi
  • South Gyle: 1.6 mi
  • Balgreen: 1.6 mi
  • West Craigs: 1.7 mi
  • Saughton: 1.7 mi
  • Gogarloch: 1.7 mi
  • West Pilton: 1.7 mi
  • Stenhouse: 1.8 mi
  • Cammo: 1.9 mi
  • Roseburn: 1.9 mi
  • Crewe Toll: 1.9 mi
  • Westfield: 1.9 mi
  • Broomhouse: 1.9 mi
  • East Pilton: 1.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Park: 2 mi
  • Bankhead: 2 mi
  • Craigleith: 2 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • Sighthill: 2.1 mi
  • Turnhouse: 2.1 mi
  • West Coates: 2.1 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Longstone: 2.2 mi
  • Chesser: 2.2 mi
  • Pilton: 2.3 mi
  • Comely Bank: 2.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Dining in the Westview is a fresh, affordable and an enjoyable experience. The contemporary look is complemented by chef's use of Scotland's natural larder to create tasty simple dishes which will be sure to hit the spot!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
14:00
Check-out:
11:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoosier boy
Business
Columbus
27 Jul 2015

layover

We stayed here at the end of a tour of Scotland before flying out of Edinburgh for home. The location was great for this, but was a not very close to any shopping/restaurants. The room was very spacious and clean. We would stay here again for the same reason, but not for an extended stay in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JC31
Business
N/A
12 Jul 2015

A perfect one nights stay

Efficient and friendly check in. The room was spotlessly clean and a pretty good size. Flat screen TV and good hanging and drawer space. The bathroom had a great powerful shower, white fluffy towels and quality toiletries. Breakfast was completely self service which I don't really like but the breakfast items were all plentiful and hot. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily
Business
Orlando
24 May 2015

Everything was great except the wifi

Our stay was great--room, amenities, staff, location were all what we were expecting, so we had no problems there. However, the wifi was terrible. We had to get a new code for every device every few days and it was hardly worth it. We didn't receive many of our messages, pages took several minutes to load (or never loaded at all), and no area of the hotel seemed to have good service. Breakfast was delicious and a wide selection. The hotel indoor pool, sauna/steam room, gym, and restaraunt were all great amenities though. It was nicely decorated and clean throughout the hotel. It's definitely a bit older, but it has been kept up well and modernized in most places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura M.
Business
N/A
7 May 2015

Great Hotel

The main thing I always want in a hotel is cleanliness and this hotel certainly had it. Super clean room and cleaned every day with fresh towels. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location is a bit out from the city centre but we knew this when booking it. It meant the hotel was cheaper than the others closer to the city. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel with buses running into the centre regularly. Food was also great here too. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan M.
Business
N/A
19 Apr 2015

Comfortable clean hotel

Three nights stay, ate at hotel every night, all very pleasant except for last night. Must have been a different chef as food bad and what were sold as premium sausages with haggis were definitely not. They were not to temperature and when the young barman was asked his reply was simply not sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean P.
Business
Copley
16 Mar 2015

Convenient

Our stay at this hotel was great. It is reasonably priced compared to some other more expensive hotels closer to the city. There is a city bus stop nearby, which was convenient as we didn't want to drive the car into downtown. Our room was about average. I believe this hotel was a rebrand from a Best Western and they were going through a phased renovation. When I do revisit Edinburgh again, I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott G.
Business
N/A
10 Mar 2015

Decent hotel, good value

Decent hotel, good value. Had booked a room for myself and decided to take partner and kid and when I phoned up hotel to change room it was no problem at all. Staff friendly, leisure club nice. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Werner
Business
Schafisheim
22 Feb 2015

Perfect for my overnight stay

I used the hotel for my overnight stay before flying off. Close to the airport and was perfect for my stay. Free parking was an asset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Werner
Business
Schafisheim
3 Feb 2015

Just right

We stayed here on our last night before flying off. Our stay was perfect for this purpose and car par availablity was also a positive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaws53
Business
Bathgate, Scotland
29 Nov 2014

Excellent pre flight stopover

Made welcome from the first minute we arrived. Reception staff were excellent and extremely friendly, polite and knowledgeable. 5 star, will definitely use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top