£62.50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Aug 2014 Check-out 1 Sep 2014

Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

3 stars
228 Morrison Street, Edinburgh, EH3 8AE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
10 reviews
Great central location for Edinburgh loads of good eating places within walking distance

The apartments were ideal for a short stay, we had accomodation to the back which was fairly quiet... See full review

  • Jake The Fake
  • 8 Apr 2013
Facilities we're spot on for us.

Facilities we're spot on for us. Basic but clean apartment within 10 minutes walk from tourist... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • 21 Oct 2010
Whether you're here on business or a relaxing city break, Morrison Street is the ideal base for one or two people. Bigger, more flexible and more relaxing than a hotel room, these 1 bedroom apartments really do feel like your own holiday home. Each apartment is equipped with complimentary broadband, freeview television and a CD player hi-fi system. Furnishings and decor are simple and relaxing while the kitchen is fully equipped with all the appliances you need, including the must-have dishwasher. Breakfast starter packs are available to order prior to arrival costing 6.50 Pounds per person per day. Please contact the apartments to make arrangements. Please note check-in for the Morrison Apartments are located at the main reception at 121 Grove Street, Edinburgh, EH3 8AA. The reception is open 24hrs. Photographic ID is required upon check-in. Car parking is available on a first come first served basis and costs 8 per day. Important Information - All guests are required to provide a valid credit or debit card upon arrival to be used as a guarantee such as phone calls and any damages. Photographic identification must also be provided which matches the name on the card. In the event that a guest does not have a credit or debit card then a 50GBP cash deposit shall be required this will be returned upon check out once the apartment has been inspected. This property does not have a lift.

Fountain Court Apartments Morrison Rooms

1 bed apartment
The room offers double bed with kitchens with fully integrated oven, hob, fridge/freezer, as well as microwave, washer/tumble dryer, fully tiled bathrooms with showers; towels & linen provided, comprehensive entertainment system, including freeview TV and CD player, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, C.C.T.V, direct dial telephone, broadband internet access, personal laundry and dry cleaning service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fountain Court Apartments Morrison also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9462 -3.215
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh airport is located approximately 8 miles from the apartments.
Area description
Two minutes walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre, Haymarket station and the West End; Morrison Street is your own personal space in the hustling, bustling city centre. Morrison Street Apartments are right in the heart of the city's west end. From here, you're only 15 minutes walk from the main shopping thoroughfares of Princes Street and George Street; the famous Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile are only a little further. For culture, the city is hard to beat with internationally renowned theatres, art galleries and cinemas all close at hand, along with Edinburgh's best bars and restaurants. Edinburgh is, of course, a major international financial centre and many of Edinburgh's biggest companies are within walking distance, including those based in the city's major financial district, The Exchange. The Edinburgh International Conference Centre is two minutes walk away - all of which makes Morrison Street a great base for your business trip to the capital.

Nearby points of interest

  • Haymarket: 0.1 mi
  • Dalry: 0.3 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.3 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.4 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.4 mi
  • West Coates: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.5 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.7 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.7 mi
  • Ardmillan: 0.7 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.7 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.1 mi
  • Dalry: 0.3 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.3 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.4 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.4 mi
  • West Coates: 0.5 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.5 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.7 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.7 mi
  • Ardmillan: 0.7 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.7 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.7 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Roseburn: 0.8 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.8 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.9 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.9 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Greenhill: 0.9 mi
  • Burghmuirhead: 0.9 mi
  • Comely Bank: 0.9 mi
  • Polwarth: 0.9 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.9 mi
  • The Grange: 0.9 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Royal Museum: 1 mi
  • Church Hill: 1 mi
  • Princes Mall: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Cowgate: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Underground City: 1.1 mi
  • Westfield: 1.1 mi
  • Shandon: 1.1 mi
  • Ravelston: 1.1 mi
  • Craigleith: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Breakfast starter packs are available to order prior to arrival costing 6.50 Pounds per person per day. Please contact the apartments to make arrangements. Alternatively, the Fountain Court Cafe is located at Fountain Court Reception at 121 Grove Street. Guests receive 10% discount.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jake The Fake
Dumfries & Galloway
8 Apr 2013

Great central location for Edinburgh loads of good eating places within walking distance

The apartments were ideal for a short stay, we had accomodation to the back which was fairly quiet but the front rooms might be noisy as Morrison Street is a very busy street. Although the parking was a 5min walk away it might be a pest if you have a lot to unload but we found it ok. It's walking distance to Lothian Road & Princes Street. Fab, would use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

New pub on Lothian Road~ 'The Hanging Bat,' great pub if you like different cask beers, they change on a daily basis, lovely staff.

Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gabyp
Ireland
16 Sep 2012

Short Couple Break

This apartment is basic, clean and a 10 minute walk from the main area. It provides plenty of space and was very well equipped. Its not the Ritz but it is warm and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAK 8347
Business
Portland, Oregon
14 Sep 2012

business trip to International Conference Center

A very credible alternative to an expensive hotel room. The apartment is 4 minutes walk to the convention center, less than 10 minutes walk directly down the street to the Haymarket train station, with easy bus service to and from the airport. The bed was not hotel quality but adequately comfortable. All appointments were simple and completely adequate for comfort. I appreciated the washer/dryer and a full kitchen, although I didn't prepare meals. Small restaurants and take-aways were right below the apartment, and excellent restaurants within easy walk. 20 minute walk to Sr. Cuthberts and the castle mount. I thought the value was excellent, and the office help staff was responsive. I did not find the office up the street to be any inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conference center

Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Malibu, ca
18 Jul 2011

Do not go here!

Our experience was terrible. The place is NOT a hotel. In fwct, you afe TOTALLYon your own. You check in a mile away and then have to walk to a unattended small apartment building down the street. There is NO SERVICE at all...no help with anything, you are on your own! The first room they gave us was in a underground basement are ...we immediately said this would not work so they put us on the third floor. But guess what, no elevator! With a knee replacement, there is no way that would work. The rooms were very subpar, I would say like a one or two star. Worse and smaller than a motel 8 room. The kitchen looked like a mess, and the place was cold and uncomfortable.We immediately checked out and went to the inn down the street which had all the comforts of a modern hotel/motel... [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J G G
Los Angeles, CA
27 Jun 2011

Hotel Apartment in nice area

This is my second time staying at Fountain Court Morrison. They have since moved their reception up the street. It's a bit of a walk to check in, but they now offer 24 hour service. The rooms are adequate but might be in need of some updating. Everything was as expected, but it was missing those individual touches we had on our last trip (EX: bread and jam left in the the kitchen for us) . I would have not problem staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street you will find a pub called "Carters". Ultra friendly people in this local pub with great beer and food. The owner [...] made us feel like one of the regulars with his fun disposition. Be sure to drop in for a drink, we did, every night.

Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
21 Oct 2010

Facilities we're spot on for us.

Facilities we're spot on for us. Basic but clean apartment within 10 minutes walk from tourist attractions. We arrived on a late flight but were still given a very warm welcome on arrival. An ideal place if you want your own space for your stay and don't want to be cramped into a hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicky
Not Provided
5 Oct 2010

Booked Morrison Street as we had

Booked Morrison Street as we had a wedding at Craighouse. So we went to Morrison Street only to discover we had to go to about half a mile away to check in. We were upgraded, which was nice of them, due to us needing the room quickly to shower and change, due to arriving at said wedding on time. Lord knows what the appartment would have been like before we got upgraded!!! Perhaps we didn't read the booking form correctly but check in is not where we thought it was and they even have car park facilities. Would have saved us a tenner if we had known. Still the Fountain Court Cafe was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
3 Oct 2010

location and apartments was excellent,

location and apartments was excellent, very good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adela
Not Provided
17 Aug 2010

The apartment was comfortable

The apartment was comfortable i very well placed. It is not cheap but the price is according with the quality of accomodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fountain Court Apartments Morrison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
31 Jul 2010

This is a very good home-like

This is a very good home-like hotel. I will definitetly stay here when I visit Edinburdg next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top