£53.33 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in 4 May 2014 Check-out 5 May 2014

Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

4 stars
132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh, EH12 6UA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
9 reviews
Practically perfect in every way

The hotel is lovely. The pool is small but all you need, with jacuzzi and sauna. The restaurant/bar... See full review

  • Kaylo
  • 14 Nov 2012
Edinburgh Holiday Inn

Staff was the best and tried to meet every need. They even provided a no cost upgrade once they... See full review

  • Kevin Wurster
  • 21 Aug 2012
Modern hotel on the west side of Edinburgh with conference facilities

The landscaped grounds of nearby Edinburgh Zoo and views of the rolling Pentland Hills await guests at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. The hotel is convenient to both Edinburgh's city center -- a 15-minute drive -- and Edinburgh Airport. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club has a heated indoor pool, sauna, and a relaxing spa. Nearby business parks include South Gyle and Edinburgh Park. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Two restaurants and two bars
  • Health and fitness area
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Reduced rates for children
Rooms

The hotel has 303 rooms, all double or twin. Rooms come with en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer. Complimentary tea- and coffee-making equipment is provided. All rooms have cable/satellite television, pay-per-view movies, video games (fees may apply), stereos, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), and fax connections. Rooms have work desks with desk-level electrical sockets. Electrical adapters are available.

Features

The Holiday Inn Edinburgh has two restaurants and two bars. Traders Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a friendly, family-oriented environment. The Sampans Oriental Restaurant, open for dinner, serves freshly prepared dishes inspired by the tastes of Malaysia, China, Thailand, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Japan, and Indonesia. Café Express is an informal lounge, suitable for a light meal or drink. The Gallery Bar serves a wide variety of drinks and light snacks and shows live sporting events on a large screen. The Spirit Health and Fitness Club has a sauna, spa, solarium, and beauty treatments.

 

Fourteen comprehensively equipped meeting rooms on the fifth floor offer panoramic views of the surrounding area. Meeting rooms accommodate up to 120.

Transportation
  • Waverley rail station (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Gyle rail station (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Edinburgh Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Edinburgh Zoo (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Murrayfield Rugby Stadium (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (3.0 mi/4.8 km)
  • Princes Street (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Festival Theatre (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • The Royal Mile (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Business
  • 14 conference rooms accommodate up to 120
  • Wireless Internet access
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (2.4 mi/3.8 km)

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn EDINBURGH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.943 -3.2668
Nearby airports
Edinburgh Airport, (EDI), 3.00, MI, E; Glasgow Airport, (GLW), 50.00, MI, E;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 0.4 mi
  • Balgreen: 0.7 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.7 mi
  • Stenhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Saughton: 0.8 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.9 mi
  • Westfield: 1 mi
  • Broomhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Wester Broom: 1.2 mi
  • Clermiston: 1.2 mi
  • Blackhall: 1.2 mi
  • Chesser: 1.2 mi
  • Drumbrae: 1.2 mi
  • Longstone: 1.2 mi
  • Edinburgh Zoo: 0.2 mi
  • Beechmount: 0.4 mi
  • Balgreen: 0.7 mi
  • Corstorphine: 0.7 mi
  • Stenhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Saughton: 0.8 mi
  • Craigcrook: 0.9 mi
  • Westfield: 1 mi
  • Broomhouse: 1.2 mi
  • Wester Broom: 1.2 mi
  • Clermiston: 1.2 mi
  • Blackhall: 1.2 mi
  • Chesser: 1.2 mi
  • Drumbrae: 1.2 mi
  • Longstone: 1.2 mi
  • Ravelston: 1.3 mi
  • Roseburn: 1.3 mi
  • South Gyle: 1.3 mi
  • Tynecastle Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Slateford: 1.4 mi
  • Sighthill: 1.4 mi
  • Parkgrove: 1.5 mi
  • Bankhead: 1.5 mi
  • Shandon: 1.5 mi
  • West Coates: 1.5 mi
  • East Craigs: 1.5 mi
  • Drylaw: 1.5 mi
  • Gogarloch: 1.6 mi
  • Davidson's Mains: 1.6 mi
  • Ardmillan: 1.6 mi
  • Dean Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Kingsknowe: 1.7 mi
  • Bughtlin: 1.7 mi
  • Craiglockhart: 1.8 mi
  • Polwarth: 1.8 mi
  • Maybury: 1.8 mi
  • Dalry: 1.8 mi
  • Silverknowes: 1.8 mi
  • West Craigs: 1.9 mi
  • Wester Hailes: 1.9 mi
  • Haymarket: 1.9 mi
  • Muirhouse: 2 mi
  • Craigleith: 2 mi
  • Edinburgh Park: 2 mi
  • Dean Village: 2 mi

Dining

Traders Restaurant
Traders Restaurant is a friendly, family orientated restaurant with a vibrant atmosphere serving dishes from around the world. We are hosting Christmas Parties throughout December so dining times are restricted. Please contact us to arrange a time for d
Sampans Oriental Restaurant
A delicious PanAsian dining experience offering the choice of freshly prepared dishes, produced by master chef Keith Liu. The Sampans menu is inspired by dishes from 7 Asian countries including Malaysia, China, Thailand, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Japan and Ind
Café Express
An informal lounge area in which to enjoy a light meal and drink.
Gallery Bar
An informal bar serving a wide variety of drinks & light snacks. The bar also shows live sporting events on a large screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Overall score

4 / 5
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

4
Kaylo
Birmingham
14 Nov 2012

Practically perfect in every way

The hotel is lovely. The pool is small but all you need, with jacuzzi and sauna. The restaurant/bar is expensive but has some tastey treats on the menu that are worth the price tag. The rooms are comfortable. I feel the best thing about this hotel though is the location. From the windows of the rooms you can see the mountains and fields - stunning to wake up to. The transport links are fabulous. We didn't wait more than 5 mintues at any time of the day or night for a bus including a bus right outside to the airport. We couldn't have chose anywhere better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wetherspoons a 5-10 minute walk away and on the regular bus link.

Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

5
Kevin Wurster
Peoria, Illinois
21 Aug 2012

Edinburgh Holiday Inn

Staff was the best and tried to meet every need. They even provided a no cost upgrade once they found out it was our Honeymoon. Food was GREAT and the Staff was very friendly. The Hotel is a little outside of town but that made it much more quite and the rest was better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the City Bus pass card and you can go and do alot for no extra costs

Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

5
Happy Traveler2
Feltwell, United Kingdom
8 Nov 2011

Second time staying at this hotel in Edinburgh...it was great both stays!

Very friendly staff, great location with bus stop in front of hotel, room was perfectly clean and setup with an extra twin bed for our daughter upon arrival. Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save your money on a taxi or gas to drive to locations. The buses run all day and night in Edinburgh, and the hotel flyer you can get upon entering the hotel tells you which buses to take into the city and back.

Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

4
scotswoman
Seattle, WA, USA
11 Sep 2011

Nice stay to prepare me for freshers week at university

After catching a plane 4pm local time, an 13 hour flight, 15 min express train, 2 undergounds, 5 hour train ride, and a 10 minute taxi I was ready to sleep. The Holiday Inn was very welcoming and helpful. I was able to get room service after 9pm and was aided in getting a taxi and with four enormous bags of luggage in the morning. They made a long trip easier so the next day I was refreshed for university. **one negative: Thin walls, but I have found this true of most European hotels I have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Thetford, UK
9 Nov 2010

Very nice hotel, great location!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They greeted us at the door, and gave our 4 year old daughter a balloon and treat! Check-in was very fast, and were very happy to find the room clean and as described. Great location with city bus stop directly in front of hotel so we were able to hop on and off all day! We would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

3
The Texas Traveler
Houston, TX
27 Mar 2010

Adequate Accomodations in Edinburgh

This was our final accomodation at the end of an over 2 week vacation. I selected it based on its proximity to the airport and to public transportation. There was a 'zip' bed (king size bed made of two twins) and a hide-a-bed. I have yet to understand why they cannot make the rooms a smidge bigger so one can get in and out of the beds without climbing over the END/FOOT of the bed. The hide-a-bed was much like my parents hide-a-bed which is nicknamed 'the rack' in my family. There was NO support at the foot of the bed - so it is not safe to sit on the end to do anything. This is much like the bed I had in 2006 in England. It must be a UK commonality based on this experience. There is no ice machine. There is NO shuttle to the airport (although I had seen it stated in more than one write-up of this facility.) Taxi service to the Edinburgh (Turnhouse) airport was £14 which I found to be quite reasonable since we had to be at the airport at the very early hour of 3:45 am. If you do not have to leave so early (after 6 am), there is an express bus to the airport from just outside the hotel for £3.50 one-way or £6.00 round-trip. The Holiday Inn food prices were unreasonable in my opinion. We walked across Corstrophine Road to another hotel with pub for dinner both evenings we stayed at the Holiday Inn. I also observed the 'rack rate/tariff' for this hotel. I would have been almighty unhappy had I paid that rate! [...] Bus service to downtown is absolutely the way to go as there are several road construction issues at this time (March, 2010.) I had been advised by a native that public transportation was the way to get around and based on what I observed - I could not agree more. I would stay here again, but I think I would get two rooms next time for my party as it would have made the stay a bit more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Downtown where the bus tours and almost all attractions are is approximately a 15 minute bus ride to central Edinburgh. I would recommend bus route 26 and the stop on Princes Street nearest the Waverly Bridge as a good starting point for both shopping and sightseeing. Bus drivers will let you know when you reach this destination when asked as you board. RT bus fare to downtown is £3 per day as of March, 2010.

Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

3
Bridesmaid with a mission
Sacramento, CA
14 Jan 2010

Nice stay in Edinburgh

Upon check-in, the phone in my room did not work & the room was as cold as an ice box. The friendly staff quickly moved me into a different room where everything worked. Every call (including local calls & to the front desk) included a use charge. In general, the room was comfortable and clean. All staff were tremendously helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Denver, CO
27 May 2009

Just okay.

The room price was reasonable, but the restaurants were extremely pricey, with slow service, and very few options. The front desk staff was helpful but hard to get a hold of if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn EDINBURGH

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
18 Jun 2007

Everything was nicely done

It was very convenient to the airport and the facilities were very nice. We did not use any amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the zoo was ajacent to the property

Back to menu Return to top