£42.74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 19 Apr 2015 Check-out 22 Apr 2015

Royal British Hotel

3 stars
View map of 20 Princess Street, --, Edinburgh, EH2 2AN

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
72 reviews
June 2014

Stayed for couple nights. More than perfect location. Nuff said :-) See full review

  • Sergiy L.
  • 12 Mar 2015
Perfect City Centre Location

Not only does the Royal British Hotel have the perfect city centre location it also has very... See full review

  • Gruss46399
  • 27 Dec 2014
As the second oldest hotel in Edinburgh we are situated in the heart of the city, on world famous Princes Street, overlooking the Edinburgh Castle and adjacent to Waverley mainline rail station, the Royal British Hotel provides an ideal venue for the business traveller and tourist alike. Each of the hotels 80 bedrooms is equipped with modern amenities and many of the rooms in this majestic building as well as the Glendale Restaurant and Bar offer stunning views of the Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle which is particularly spectacular at night. The Royal British Hotel is the ideal venue to accommodate your requirements. Amenities providing by the property are Bar, Conference facilities, Wireless Internet access, Laundry service, Lift / Elevator, Non-smoking rooms, Reception, Restaurant and Room service 24 hrs. All of the rooms within the Hotel are non smoking. **PLEASE NOTE - The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment, which is expected to last until the end 2015. During this period, guests may experience some noise or light disturbances, and some hotel facilities and services may not be available.**

Royal British Hotel Rooms

Twin Room
Twin Room offers 2 single beds along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
Single Room offers 1 single bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Double Room
Double Room Offers 1 double bed along with Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Room service, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal British Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9532 -3.1907
Area served
Basing yourself with us in Edinburgh lets you explore the rest of Scotland.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport.
Area description
The Royal British Hotel is among the shops of the famous Princes Street in central Edinburgh. The lounge and restaurant have superb views of Edinburgh Castle.

Nearby points of interest

  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.3 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.4 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.4 mi
  • People's Story: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.4 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.6 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.7 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.7 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.8 mi
  • Stockbridge: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.9 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.9 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 1 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1 mi
  • The Grange: 1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1 mi
  • Marchmont: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi
  • Sciennes: 1.1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1.1 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
Situated on the first floor the Twenty Princes Street Restaurant and Juniper Bar offer stunning views of the Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. Juniper is the perfect rendezvous for pre dinner drinks serving a wide range of beverages to suit all testes. The bright airy atmosphere of Twenty Princes Street is stylish and is open for breakfast (Continental or Full Scottish Breakfast served from 7.30 until 10.00am), Lunch and Dinner. **PLEASE NOTE: The hotel restaurant will be closed from 23rd February until 31st March 2015. Between this time, Continental Breakfast will only be available at a price of 5.00 per person.**

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
15:00
Check-out:
11:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Ratings and reviews for Royal British Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ
Business
Havre de Grace
16 Apr 2015

Short Holiday

This was a budget hotel, which I get... and at the end of the day you always get what you pay for. The location was excellent and the limited interaction that I had with the staff was great. They were friendly and very helpful, but the amenities of the hotel itself are lacking. It is going through renovations, so hopefully they get rid of the issues... it is musty. The windows are particularly functional (the one in my room at least). Hot water was an irregular, and the general cleanliness seemed to be an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sergiy L.
Business
Kiev
12 Mar 2015

June 2014

Stayed for couple nights. More than perfect location. Nuff said :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gruss46399
Business
Auchengray
27 Dec 2014

Perfect City Centre Location

Not only does the Royal British Hotel have the perfect city centre location it also has very friendly, helpful staff and spotlessly clean well appointed rooms. And all at a very reasonable price. In addition it also has Juniper bar with stunning views across the city centre and a very well stocked bar. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tasha1
Business
leven, fife
13 Dec 2014

overnight stay

We had a beautiful meal at the hotel, the room was basic but good enough for sleeping in. Great location for shopping and sightseeing. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markku
Business
Minneapolis Minnesota
2 Oct 2014

Great location

Great friendly staff, conveniently located within walking distance of major attractions and straight across from Central rail station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Auntie Mame
Business
Washington, DC
23 Sep 2014

Shabby, and not in a chic way

I chose this hotel because it's across the street from Waverly train station. That is pretty much the only thing it has going for it. (Well, also that they provide shampoo AND conditioner, which practically no one does these days.) The hotel hallways smelled weird. The bedspreads looked like they were about 40 years old. The room was very shabby (but clean, as far as I could tell). The tub was very out-of-date, and the sink had spots in it. Weirdly, there is what seems to be a rather trendy and expensive bar/restaurant in this hotel. It makes no sense. The hotel was relatively inexpensive, but I would not stay here again under any circumstances. We were only there one night, and we spent the absolute bare minimum amount of time in the room. I couldn't wait to check out the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pen the gardner
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
19 Sep 2014

Great location right across from Waverly station

The best thing about this hotel was its location; close to transportation, tourist sites, shopping and the old city. The room was small and noisy at night being right on Princess Street. The entire hotel could use some sprucing up, but it appeared that the restaurant, Twenty, had been recently refurbished and was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation if you want to be assured seating.

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset traveller
Business
Colombo, Sri Lanka
15 Sep 2014

A hotel that cannot be recommended for anybody

One of the most unacceptable stays ever. We booked this hotel for convenience of location and expected basic comforts like clean room, good clean bathroom, 3 star not 5 star of course. First they get the booking messed up with with our request for one double room, one twin and given two twin rooms. Second, the bathroom in one room was minus a shower as the shower tap was removed for repairs and water coming out of the shower tap going all over. Though the manager was initially very helpful, he became extremely rude. First he said he didnt know that the bathroom was under repair and then said he cannot be responsible and suggested we go without a shower during our stay. When we requested that we were given another room and he suggested we use his personal room to shower. This was insulting and not acceptable as we were two girls and an attached bathrrom is what we paid for. Finally they offered a bathroom in a room which is not sold with kitchen fumes....we had to walk a few rooms to use the bathroom...... It was unbeleivable. We requested for another hotel. This manager became very rude after we refused to continue staying by using another room to shower. Next day while we were on tour, our bags were packed haphazardly (shoes and clothese put together) by housekeeping and we were asked to leave the hotel ungraciously in the middle of the night. When we wanted to discuss the matter, even the counter staff was exttemely rude and said they will throw us out. Of course the new hotel was far better and we had just about a 4-5 hours stay before we left for the airport. This hotel should be removed from the booking list as its sold on the pretence of having all the facilities but needs refurbishment really bad. Rooms are dirty and with bare minimum facilities. lights dont work, some of the pillows minus covers etc...... For regular travellers like us who experience 5 star to 3 star accomodation around the globe, this hotel would be ranked as the worst stay ever....... But baring this experience, we had a lovely two days in Scotland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel located in an excellent place with 2 minutes to the station, bus stand, city tour busses etc. lots of places to eat. hotel is below standard of course.

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melianna Kelso
Business
Washington, DC
13 Sep 2014

Decent hotel

I'm probably not the average traveler as I like to travel light and I don't expect much from lodging. Basically as long as I don't see signs of bugs, I'm happy. Be advised, this is an older hotel. I could see history as I climbed the stairs to my room. Aesthetically there were some signs of prior water damage appearing on the ceiling and the walls could use a fresh coat of paint. There is a working elevator in this hotel,which is nice. My room was a single and had amenities of hair dryer, tea pot, shortbread cookies easy day and toiletry items. Like most, this hotel does not have wash cloths in the room, but I was prepared for that and brought my own. The room was clean but the bathroom had an odd smell like something had been burnt in there. The water flow was great in the bath, but the shower itself needed to be replaced as there was essentially no water pressure. Honestly, I've been wetter just standing In the rain. The upside was the location. Right on Princes Street and near Waverly Station, North Bridge, etc, The staff couldn't have been better. Very courteous and helpful. This is a no frills hotel with great location and your costs (which is kind of high) probably goes to the locale vs, anything else in this hotel. But for me, I'm glad I didn't find any bugs, so I'm happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal British Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dutch visitor
Business
Netherlands
11 Jun 2014

The website gives you not the right information

I was at room 216. The most stupid room, i have been in my life. Dirty, old, little and no fresh air. The window couldn t open. Only the bar & restaurant are ok in this hotel. All the rest is very bad. I booked this hotel because the rooms looks nice, it was complete the opposite. Saturday morning 04.00 o clock, big fire alarm in the whole building. Everybody was out of his rooms. Nobody came to tell what was going on.. Also the next day, nobody could explain wat was going on. So don t book this stupid dirty hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top