£67.86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Apr 2014 Check-out 28 Apr 2014

The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

4 stars
North Bridge, Edinburgh, Edinburgh, EH1 1SD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
9 reviews
Realy comfortable and friendly wknd break

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful,provided us with amap and gave directions to all... See full review

  • sight seeing
  • 4 Mar 2014
Weekend for the famous tattoo

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend to go to the tattoo,We where to early for our rooms as we... See full review

  • blackstuff
  • 20 Aug 2013
A Gem of a Hotel in the Heart of Edinburgh

The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh is a fabulous place for guests to relax and unwind while being just a short distance from some of the city's best and most popular tourist attractions. The concierge service is on hand to help with any queries or questions and to offer advice on the best places to visit in the city. Guest rooms have all the amenities expected from a top class hotel and several complimentary services are provided.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Located on Edinburgh's fabulous Royal Mile, making it ideally situated for all the attractions of the city.

  • Guests enjoy a variety of facilities and the hotel is perfectly suited to both tourist and business guests.

  • Fitness centre, health club, spa, and pool make it a great hotel for relaxing and unwinding.

Barcelo Edinburgh Carlton Rooms

The rooms at the Carlton Hotel Edinburgh are available in a variety of sizes suitable for all needs. The standard twin offers twin bedded accommodation suitable for a maximum occupancy of two persons, while the standard double is also suitable for two persons but comes with one double bed. The premium double rooms come with a king-size bed and are a larger room than the standard size. Some of the hotel rooms have views of the Royal Mile but all have the same high standard facilities and amenities. The beds in all rooms have been especially handpicked to ensure the most comfortable night's sleep. Modem points, Wi-Fi, and televisions are standard features in every room and premium rooms also have added features such as trouser press, iron, ironing board, and a hairdryer. All rooms are classically decorated with a taste of Scottish influence.

Things to Do:
  • Brass Rubbing Centre (0.1km/0.1mi).

  • St. Giles' Cathedral (0.2km/0.1mi).

  • Gladstone's Land (0.4km/0.2mi).

  • Royal Museum (0.4km/0.2mi).

  • Greyfriars Kirk (0.5km/0.3mi).

  • National Gallery of Scotland (0.5km/0.3mi).

  • Princes Street Gardens (0.5km/0.3mi).

  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre (0.6km/0.4mi).

  • Edinburgh Castle (0.7km/0.4mi).

  • Arthur's Seat (1.1km/0.7mi).

The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection Rooms

Premium - Double
Premium Double offers one king bed. The Premium double rooms are spacious and classically decorated giving a hint of Scottish design. Some of the rooms benefit from the corner views seen through turret windows. The beds have been hand picked for exceptional comfort and support. Each modern styled room has been designed with workstations and modem points, WiFi, TV, complimentary refreshment trays, trouser press, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, bathrobes & slippers. Some rooms have views of the Royal Mile.
Standard - Twin
Standard Twin offers two twin beds. The Guest Twin rooms are spacious and classically decorated giving a hint of Scottish design. The beds have been hand picked for exceptional comfort and support. Each modern styled room has been designed with workstations and modem points, WiFi, TV and refreshment trays.
Standard - Double
Standard Double offers one double bed. The Guest Double rooms are spacious and classically decorated giving a hint of Scottish design. The beds have been hand picked for exceptional comfort and support. Each modern styled room has been designed with workstations and modem points, WiFi, TV, and refreshment trays.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business centre
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9506 -3.1881
Area served
Edinburgh.
Nearby airports
Edinburgh International Airport (EDI) - 7 miles
Area description
Edinburgh Castle, Scotlands number 1 visitor attraction, located 0.7 miles from the hotel. Holy-rood Palace, Hm The Queen's official residents in Scotland. 0.6 miles from the Hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.1 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.1 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.1 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • People's Story: 0.3 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.3 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.3 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.4 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.6 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.7 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.7 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.8 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.9 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.9 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.9 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 0.9 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.9 mi
  • Lochrin: 1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • Pilrig: 1 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 1 mi
  • Easter Road: 1.1 mi
  • Powderhall: 1.1 mi
  • Dean Village: 1.1 mi
  • Haymarket: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
You couldn't be better placed than at the Edinburgh Carlton Hotel for your next conference, meeting or event. You're next to the Royal Mile and Princes Street, and you're right next to the train station for easy access. You'll certainly feel at home at the Edinburgh Carlton Hotel. Award-winning designers have added rich colors and comfortable furnishings in contemporary designs to ensure your stay away from home is as enjoyable as possible. Corporate visitors are within easy reach of the main financial and commercial districts and can take advantage of Wi-Fi broadband Internet access throughout the hotel. Meet Puma is not just a meeting product, but a dedicated service and commitment to achieve excellent standards, whilst delivering memorable meetings and events for all clients.

Dining

Bridge Restaurant
The Modern and comfortable Bridge Restaurant offers an exquisite brasserie style menu .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Overall score

2.7 / 5
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

4
sight seeing
Limerick
4 Mar 2014

Realy comfortable and friendly wknd break

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful,provided us with amap and gave directions to all sight seeing spots. The breakfast was most enjoyable, a good variety and well cooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

4
Ladyston
Madison, AL
22 Jan 2014

Wonderful!

I traveled on my own. The hotel is perfectly located, the room was excellent and you could NOT ask for more professional, friendly and helpful staff on all shifts. Additionally, it was great to have security at night. I would, and will, stay here again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Edinburg Castle. Leave plenty of time to waander and enjoy the history.

Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

1
Misskidd
Dublin
21 Aug 2013

No electricity, no service, no jacuzzi, fire alarm tests.

Do not stay here. Stayed during Fringe Festival. Took 40 mins to check in as only one person on desk and all other receptionists 'were on at a meeting'. there were people trying to get onto wifi, checkin, ask directions and only one receptionist! 5pm during oeak festival time! When got to our room, the lights worked but no sockets did. No tv, no kettle, no phone charger, nothing. Reported it immediately. Nothing happened. Reported it again an hour letter. Nothing happened. It was finally fixed at 1:20am in the morning! Went down to relax in pool next morning, to see that the jacuzzi wasn't working. When I asked if it would be fixed by tomorrow, the gym receptionist laughed and said it had been broken for the past few days and it will be out of order for the foreseeable future as they were waiting for a 'special engineer'. The next morning I was woken at 10:40 by them testing the fire alarm. This would be fine except in most hotels they have signs up warning guests this would be happening. Not in this hotel though. And to top it off, the morning we were leaving, we were woken by the fire alarm again at 6:30am. The whole hotel was evacuated. Someone burnt something in the kitchen during breakfast. Even the firemen who came to assist didn't need to use their equipment. Just fire hydrant. Worst hotel ever. This is the first time we tried this hotel, we will return to our usual place next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Brew dog - craft beer place. Great pizza too.

Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

4
blackstuff
NORN IRELAND
20 Aug 2013

Weekend for the famous tattoo

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend to go to the tattoo,We where to early for our rooms as we knew we would but the staff was so helpful in keeping our bags and no time limit go have to be back to get our key, We had a wonderfull sea view from our room and it was so easy to walk to anywhere even train station etc,Breakfast was good and service was great everywhere in the hotel,Hope to go back to the tattoo next year and this will be the hotel I will stay in as its in a fantastic and easy area to get to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Where flat shoes ladies!!!

Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

1
soopersal
basingstoke
26 Mar 2013

60th birthday

this hotel is old tired and very cold, there is no way it deserves a 4 star rating, There was no heating in the corridors, the SPA was very cold the Stram room was broken, my lock broke at 2am it took an hour for it to get fixed, the lifts felt as though they were actually outside the building. The only redeeming feature was the staff, they handled each problem as if it mattered, even though they must have had many even the poor guy running up and down the stairs for an hour I couldn't help feeling sorry for him even though I was locked out of my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

take the Mary Kings tour of the underground blds in Edinburgh it was amazing.

Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

1
Linda from Leixlip
Leixlip, Kildare
8 Jan 2013

Extortion

For the price we paid I was expecting an amazing experience but was very disappointed. We stayed there for 5 days over new years housekeeping came only twice and the lining was a disgrace on the bed. We ran out of tea bags and toilet paper several times. While we were there they ran out of burgers, two types of beer including Heineken, several bottles of wine that we tried to order they even ran out of butter at one stage. The staff were fine but clearly over worked and the lobby was beautiful but that hid the fact that the rooms were very basic with stale decor. The whole hotel needs a new carpet. The worst part was the heat in the room it was so hot we had trouble sleeping even with the window open I'd hate to stay there in Summer. We wont be returning to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two doors down from the hotel is a lovely bakery called Patisserie Valerie. They do wonderful cakes and a much nicer breakfast & cheaper than the hotel

Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

3
Loolabell
Cumbria
22 Nov 2012

Noisy

We stayed at the hotel 16th & 17th November and we checkd in which was quick and easy and went to our room which was 306 it was on the front and very noisy, we asked if we could move rooms but we were told that there was a wedding the folowing day and the wedding guests were all allocated the back rooms so we made do but 2 nights with no sleep is anything but relaxing. What I do need to say is the staff are all really polite and really happy which is nice to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bella Italia is acros the road and really good food

Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

3
Crazy crunchy
South Shields
13 Nov 2012

Weekend away

This hotel is In a great location however our room was facing the front street of the royal mile and it was extremely noisy what with street cleaners first as their is roadworks outside them woke up at 2 till 4 in the morning off the clubbers returning home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the local pubs in the grassmarket area

Review of The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels Collection

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Daly City , C A
8 May 2010

Good location. Poor reception staff.

Hotel was acceptable but they "swiped" my credit card in case of incidentals but did not inform me that they would automatically charge 3o pounds and this resulted in a message from my card company and I had to call Scotland from London for explanation. I should have been advised of the charge when it was made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top