£46.67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 15 Dec 2014 Check-out 18 Dec 2014

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

3 stars
201 Ingram Street, Glasgow, G1 1DQ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
19 reviews
great hotel

We had a lovely stay at Mercure Glasgow. Central location was main reason for choice. Staff very... See full review

  • Moragh
  • 20 Oct 2014
Weekend Break

We chose this hotel for it's location & it's parking amenities. Our check in was excellent. We were... See full review

  • Ms Champagne
  • 22 Oct 2013
Glasgow hotel across from Merchant City offers 24-hour room service
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel is located on Ingram Street across from Merchant City and is perfectly positioned for a day of shopping in Glasgow. The hotel boasts Bagio Café Bar, 120-capacity reception room, four conference rooms, complimentary Internet access and quick access to the city's incredible attractions. Mercure Glasgow Hotel also offers 24-hour room service for guests to dine in the comfort of their rooms. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the hotel staff is on-hand to make sure all wishes and desires are fulfilled.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Internet access
  • Bagio Café Bar
  • Easy access to top-notch shopping
  • 24-hour room service
  • Meeting/banquet facilities

 

Rooms
Expect cozy and comfortable accommodations with crisp, white bedding and large windows streaming natural light at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. Guests choose between standard and executive rooms or four-poster bed suites. All rooms include flat-screen satellite TV with movies on-demand, high-speed Internet access, private bathroom with complimentary toiletries, views of Ingram Street, hypoallergenic pillows and a welcome tray of coffee and tea. Mercure Glasgow guests upgrading to executive suites enjoy a king bed and complimentary daily newspaper, plus biscuits, unlimited movies and Internet access. A 24-hour room service menu is always available.
Features
The Mercure Glasgow City Hotel features the Bagio Café Bar which serves light meals and snacks alongside a good cup of coffee. A 24-hour room service menu is available for those who want to dine in the comfort of their rooms. Overlooking Ingram Street and decorated with plush leather sofas, it's also the perfect place to enjoy a specialty whiskey while watching the world go by. During the day, spend some time shopping at Merchant City or visit Buchanan Street for some of the best shopping outside of London. Take in the sights on an architectural tour, learn a bit of history at one of the city's many museums or catch a sports game at the Scottish Exposition and Conference Centre.
 
Transportation
  • Glasgow Airport (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Queen Street rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Glasgow Central train station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

 

Attractions
  • Golden Z (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Hampden Park (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Glasgow School of Art (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Ibrox Stadium (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business­
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Four flexible meeting areas with standard equipment

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel Rooms

2 Sg beds Classic
Classic room with 2 single beds. Classic bedroom with 2 single beds, flat screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
1 Db bed Clc
Classic room with 1 double bed. Classic bedroom with 1 double bed, flat screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Doctor on call
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Bath tub
Trouser press

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Glasgow City Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.8596 -4.2505
Nearby airports
GLA, (GLA), 16.25, KM, E;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.3 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.7 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 1 mi
  • SECC: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.5 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.7 mi
  • Celtic Park: 1.7 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.3 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.7 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 1 mi
  • SECC: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.5 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.7 mi
  • Celtic Park: 1.7 mi
  • Hampden Park: 2 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 2.1 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 7.1 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 8.1 mi

Dining

BAGIO CAFE BAR
Bagio café bar offers a variety of light meals and snacks. For a full evening meal, you are spoiled for choice by a broad selection of restaurants and cuisines just seconds from the hotel. For a lighter meal, room service is available 24 hours a day.
BAGIO CAFE BAR
Bagio café bar offers a variety of light meals and snacks. For a full evening meal, you are spoiled for choice by a broad selection of restaurants and cuisines just seconds from the hotel. For a lighter meal, room service is available 24 hours a day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moragh
Business
Scotland
20 Oct 2014

great hotel

We had a lovely stay at Mercure Glasgow. Central location was main reason for choice. Staff very helpful. Room very comfortable. Late bar great for nightcap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thelittletraveler
Business
Highlands, Scotland
1 Jun 2014

Tired and shabby

I only booked this hotel as I was attending a function within the venue. It's just as well I didn't have to stay in the room for very much of the night...if i had booked in for a relaxing city break, I would have been so unhappy. I stayed in a 'Privilege Room'...one of their deluxe rooms, or 'suites' as they called it. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly and there was a line of thick dust on the surfaces. The room was awkward and uncomfortable, and very small for a 'suite'. The entire decor was tired, old fashioned and shabby - this hotel was previously a hilton, and i'd be surprised to hear if they have decorated since then. Also...my room was next to the lifts, and every time they went up or down, it was heard through the entire room. The bed was very comfy however, and the staff were really lovely and helpful. Also, the bar was quite well stocked, and the location was brilliant. There are several supermarkets and restaurants within a few steps from the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sammyjojo26
Business
Oban
26 Mar 2014

Awful

The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is the location . Checked in fine , entered the room on the 5th floor by a lift that took an eternity and made all kinds of noises , squeezed through the narrow corridor and into our room ..... The room was tiny , couldn't swing a cat in it ! By the time you put your bag down there's not much room for anything else . Walked into the bathroom and immediately seen old toothpaste stains on the sink and taps . Went out for the night , arrived back to purchase 2 bottles of water which were warm and cost £7.20 !! Didn't get much sleep as there was people chatting outside our door , very loudly ! Also the heater was making all kinds of noises through the night !! Woke early to hear the cleaners outside talking loudly about a night out they were planning .... Never mind , breakfast will start the day off well ?? NO ! Couldn't touch my breakfast as everything was fried , my eggs were underdone , bacon that you couldn't bite into . The rest was swimming in fat around the plate . Toaster wasn't working right . My cup for my tea was filthy . Couldn't wait to get out the place !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr unhappy 2014
Business
London
15 Mar 2014

Being honest with everything

Location is great. But I had to change rooms. I spoke to the reception and she said she will said send someone up as I could hear a noise in room twice after calling them I had to go down stairs. And then then told me they will be changing my room. As they knew they had problems in that room(so why put me there in there first place???) So I changed rooms. I was so close of going to the marriott or hilton if they didn't changed my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Good for polo lounge and other gay bars

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Champagne
Business
Alloa
22 Oct 2013

Weekend Break

We chose this hotel for it's location & it's parking amenities. Our check in was excellent. We were able to access our room before normal check in time which really made a difference to our day. The room was quite small but served it's purpose. I did feel that the bathroom could have been cleaner. The breakfast was reasonable but we did have to wait on the hot buffet being replenished. Over all though we enjoyed our stay and felt it was value for money. We found the staff to be very friendly & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walking to all the best shops & a map available from reception if required. The merchant city square is worth a visit with a good choice of bars & restaurants.

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy from austria
Business
Austria
1 Sep 2013

Good, but theres something better

The Hotel is very clean, the rooms are quiet small but if you just have to sleep there its ok. The reception staff isnt the friendliest but they are ok. Breakfast i wouldnt eat again, its almost the worst breakfast i ever had in scotland. The food in the restaurant is ok, but the qualitiy isnt worth the price. There is a superb italian restaurant beside which is really good. If you just want to stay there is a good place, the main reason therefore is, you are just 5 minutes walk away from queenstreet station where you get easily to any city around glasgow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenickers
Business
Aberdeen, Scotland
21 Aug 2013

Overnight stay

Good location, pleasant and helpful staff. Cleanliness of good standard. Dining room pleasant as were staff. Food plentiful and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
euros
Business
Alameda
18 Aug 2013

Great country

I had a great time in Glasgow. Perfect location to restaurants, train station, buses, shopping. The staff was great and helpful. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums, library.

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
owen2000
Business
fife
8 Apr 2013

great stay

we were only staying the one night in Glasgow so we were looking for something central, we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. nice friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms, being central there is a secure car behind the hotel only £6 for 24hr stay which was very handy. would use it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomo
Business
Irvine
20 Mar 2013

Cheaper than a taxi home

The location is excellent. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top