Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ari H Levy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
23 Jan 2014

Thrashed!!!

I had to change rooms 3 times. The first room had a shower valve and water temperature control system that was beyond broken. The room I was given did not have a closet or drawers for clothing. The phone had a flashing light but no instructions on how to access. I found that it contained voice mail messages dating back 1 year. The second room had poor water pressure, a toilet that was so loosely attached to the floor that it rocked the first time I sat down on it, and I thought it was going to fall over. This room had an armoire, probably from an Ikea style/quality manufacturer, with broken doors and a broken drawer. At the coffee station in the lobby, they put out stale donuts with their coffee. Seriously?? Youth hostels are run better. This is not even worthy of a vintage 1950's 1960's Hojo motor hotel, never mind a hip, boutique hotel. I would never stay here again, period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ross Dress For Less for LA themed souvenirs including LA Lakers/LA Dodgers/LA Angels/Kings official merchandise (hats, shirts, pants, socks, glassware, etc)

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan Kim
Business
San Diego
3 Dec 2013

It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Kim
Business
San Diego
2 Dec 2013

It was great hotel in LA

Shelter hotel was comfortable and very clean and it is close to Korea Town. So it is easy to move in Korea Town and the metro station is located near of the hotel. If you want to stay reliable hotel, it is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
8 Nov 2013

Fine in a pinch

Lackluster at best. It's an old apartment complex masquerading as a high quality hotel. I did not enjoy the hammering at 9:00A, nor did I enjoy being charged a deposit without at least being told (customary to do so, but left a bad taste in my mouth not to be told).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EmilyRN
Business
San Diego, ca
2 Nov 2013

Simple, but friendly

The hotel itself seems like it is most likely a converted apartment building. The entrance is small and nondescript and only contains an elevator off the garage. The lobby itself is on the first floor and sparsely furnished. The staff is friendly and eager to meet guests needs. The rooms are decent size and recently updated, but the bathroom was still slightly grimy. The bed was large and comfy. The neighborhood is residential and it would have been nice to at least have local info in the room to help find restraints, stores, and bars nearby. Overall, the hotel was a decent place to stay for a night, but not the classiest place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel to eat
Business
San Jose, ca
22 Oct 2013

Decent room

The room was huge with modern decor. Bathroom was pretty. Problem is there's a crack on the top of our door, walls are thin and missing iron/iron board.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Korean food

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bewwy
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
8 Oct 2013

Not that clean

I saw a huge cockroach at the parking lot too and also under the carpet. There's a lot of tiny little bugs. The bed is comfy though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bewwy
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
27 Sep 2013

Bad Vacation

The hotel used to be a good one when it first started but service have declined. Parking is free but you are not guarantee a spot since it's pretty small. You can double park but you'll have to drop off your keys at the front desk and I was uncomfortable in doing that. The room itself is pretty clean but they never clean the floor, so make sure you wear a flip flop in the room or else your socks will turn black. They now allow pets which I found it as a bad thing because pets might bring fleas to the room. I didn't like how the room didn't have any hair dryer or microwave or fridge. I like how it is close to koreatown where I can get snacks and food but it's an hour away from Disneyland. Some staff are nice and some are not. One staff gave me an attitude when I was asking for a do not disturb sigh since there was none in my room. I was uncomfortable with leaving my keys at the front desk, one staff was nice about it and offer me a spot by the gate that wouldn't block any cars and another staff lied and told me that the car that was at that spot, he had to leave it since that person had to leave early. However, by the time I left at almost noon, the car was still there. So I guess, he just didn't want to move it for me so I was force to leave my keys at the front. They didn't ask for verification when I was asking for my keys and that bothered me.They do close the gate and lock the door at 11pm. This is my 4th time staying here and each time I am more and more disappointed. I think the next time I go to LA, I will try to find somewhere else. I paid $99/ night and I didn't feel like it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jockyjohnson
Business
seoul
19 Aug 2013

everything is bad.

bad wifi. bad room why this hotel did not place hair dry machine? I don`t want to recommend this hotel anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fillup my cup
Business
Bay Area
1 Jul 2013

Could use a little extra help

Overall the experience was good and some not so good. They don't have towel hooks or somewhere to dry your towels.. The elevator might need some better air circulation. The gentleman during the day was very nice and accommodating. I think they were going for a very simple clean look for the rooms. But it doesn't help when you need certain common things like..hair dryer (you can request for one and they will bring one up) no place to hang your clothes. TV was definitely on the smaller side. The cleaning crew kept knocking on the door in the morning to check if we need towels and to ask if we were going to check out 10 minutes before the check out time which was pretty annoying (Wish there was a do not disturb tag we could have used) The hallways do need some work. Not a very pleasant feeling or look. Very cold and kind of eerie feel. Bed was comfy, location was great, so so experience overall. A few little changes will make me book my next stay here but for now I might look to see what my other options are for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Soonwon Korean BBQ is some of the best I've had. Try the house special bbq meat. Not cheap but it was worth it.

Back to menu Return to top