£85.98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 27 Apr 2015 Check-out 30 Apr 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bewwy
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
27 Sep 2013

Bad Vacation

The hotel used to be a good one when it first started but service have declined. Parking is free but you are not guarantee a spot since it's pretty small. You can double park but you'll have to drop off your keys at the front desk and I was uncomfortable in doing that. The room itself is pretty clean but they never clean the floor, so make sure you wear a flip flop in the room or else your socks will turn black. They now allow pets which I found it as a bad thing because pets might bring fleas to the room. I didn't like how the room didn't have any hair dryer or microwave or fridge. I like how it is close to koreatown where I can get snacks and food but it's an hour away from Disneyland. Some staff are nice and some are not. One staff gave me an attitude when I was asking for a do not disturb sigh since there was none in my room. I was uncomfortable with leaving my keys at the front desk, one staff was nice about it and offer me a spot by the gate that wouldn't block any cars and another staff lied and told me that the car that was at that spot, he had to leave it since that person had to leave early. However, by the time I left at almost noon, the car was still there. So I guess, he just didn't want to move it for me so I was force to leave my keys at the front. They didn't ask for verification when I was asking for my keys and that bothered me.They do close the gate and lock the door at 11pm. This is my 4th time staying here and each time I am more and more disappointed. I think the next time I go to LA, I will try to find somewhere else. I paid $99/ night and I didn't feel like it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jockyjohnson
Business
seoul
19 Aug 2013

everything is bad.

bad wifi. bad room why this hotel did not place hair dry machine? I don`t want to recommend this hotel anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fillup my cup
Business
Bay Area
1 Jul 2013

Could use a little extra help

Overall the experience was good and some not so good. They don't have towel hooks or somewhere to dry your towels.. The elevator might need some better air circulation. The gentleman during the day was very nice and accommodating. I think they were going for a very simple clean look for the rooms. But it doesn't help when you need certain common things like..hair dryer (you can request for one and they will bring one up) no place to hang your clothes. TV was definitely on the smaller side. The cleaning crew kept knocking on the door in the morning to check if we need towels and to ask if we were going to check out 10 minutes before the check out time which was pretty annoying (Wish there was a do not disturb tag we could have used) The hallways do need some work. Not a very pleasant feeling or look. Very cold and kind of eerie feel. Bed was comfy, location was great, so so experience overall. A few little changes will make me book my next stay here but for now I might look to see what my other options are for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Soonwon Korean BBQ is some of the best I've had. Try the house special bbq meat. Not cheap but it was worth it.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fenceguy
Business
Sonoma County, California
24 Jun 2013

Funtuional

No clock radio in room. No ice machine. Not enough parking room in garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hammster
Business
Riverside, Ca
22 Jun 2013

Concert Stay

My husband and I went to a show at the Greek Theatre and stayed at the Shelter Hotel. Wasn't exactly what I expected but in the end it served our needs. Checking in was easy once we realized you have to go up the elevator to get to the lobby. The room was clean and so was the bathroom.There were some maintenance issues ( tear in the carpet, loose tiles in the bathroom , and windows didn't lock properly) but none that truly affected our stay. The bed was extremely comfortable and roomy! Parking was very tight and when we came back from the concert, we had to double park and leave our car key with the front desk. That was kind of weird , but it worked out. The MALE front desk attendants were very pleasant. Overall, the experience was fine, but the hotel website really makes the hotel look much better than it actually was. Hotel needs much updating but it was okay for our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Two NorCal visitors
Business
San Jose, ca
3 Jun 2013

Weekend stay

It was horrible. The room key didnt work so they gave us the next room. There was no closet, clock, or hair dryer. It was plain and the maid didn't clean well either. Not worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler111333555
Business
Santa Barbara
13 May 2013

Great location, very little amenities

The room was clean, location was good, people were friendly and nice. But the downside was there were very little amenities in the room: no hangers, no refrigerator, no closet whatsoever. But still, the hotel is okay for its price, but probably not the best place to stay in for people coming in for business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ritarita2011
Business
Boca Raton, FL, USA
8 May 2013

suited me just fine

Its not spectacular it not the Loews, the W, or the Ritz Carlton however if you're just going to LA for a short while and need somewhere decent and safe I would recommend this place. Its up and coming and with time it could possibly get to 3.5 stars. I'm a women who travels a lot by myself so of course security is very important to me. The Shelter has a nice kind young staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet Jane
Business
Chicago, IL
8 May 2013

LA near Wilshire Blvd

The hotel, free indoor parking and location were all good. The sparsely furnished room reminded me of a European hotel room. It appeared to be newly remodeled and was very clean. The reception desk and lobby were not what you would expect in a hotel and did not appear to be a place where you would want to spend much time. With all that said, I would certainly stay there again for my visits with family and business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
atlga
Business
Atlanta
17 Apr 2013

A Friend's Apartment

The room was average, the bed and bath were great, but the staff was phenomenal. Every hotel employee that I encountered was genuinely kind and helpful. It was like crashing at a good friend's sparsely decorated apartment. Pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top