£61.76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 24 Oct 2014 Check-out 25 Oct 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
125 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • 3 Dec 2013
Great location

I've stayed at Shelter a couple times now when staying in LA. For the location and free parking,... See full review

  • Parksp
  • 13 Oct 2014
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron April
Business
San Diego
1 Apr 2013

Not what I bought

Having bought my hotel stay, I arrived and was subsequently told that I had to pay extra for this and that - everything that anyone would normally expect to be included. I did not expect much from this cheap hotel, but it was worse than i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GanzyMJ
Business
Urbana, Illinois
26 Mar 2013

Great location with Cleanliness

I stayed Shelter Hotel several times due to its location. If you have a plan for visiting Korea Town, it will be one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are Korean Market with food court.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nicole W.
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
1 Mar 2013

I'll be looking elsewhere next time...

I've stayed at this hotel two other times before my most recent stay. Each time, it seems to get just a little worse. I don't think I'll be back. I know it's a no-frills-type of place, but this was a bit much. When I arrived, there was a discrepancy between what I was told on the telephone I'd be charged for a deposit and what I was told in person. It resulted in being charged twice as much for the deposit. I knew I wouldn't cause any damage to the room, but I didn't appreciate being told one thing just to have it change when I got there. And the staff member wasn't even apologetic about it. The room wasn't as clean as I would expect a hotel room to be. I happened to bring my own Clorox wipes and boy, I was finding dirt everywhere it shouldn't be: door knobs, faucets, the toilet seat. The floor in the bathroom area was dirty, the bed had hair in it, the desk chair had a suspect stain on it. Gross. It was also extremely noisy. I could hear everything going on in the room above me and next door to me - and I do mean everything! It was especially noisy late at night and very early in the morning. Couldn't figure out why. I was especially concerned when I saw what looked like a smoke detector had been ripped off the wall near the elevator. And speaking of elevator: slow, rickety, and dark inside. Let's just hope the sprinklers work inside the rooms if there really is a fire... I'll try to end this review on a positive note. After much talk about the much-anticipated pool, I was told that it was finally ready. It's winter, so I wasn't going to use it, but I saw it and let me tell you, it ain't great. But at least it exists. I've stayed at this hotel in the past mainly because of it's location, but I think I'll be looking elsewhere next time. It's just not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is conveniently located between Griffith Observatory to the north and the California Science Center to the south. Also close to Hollywood and to Downtown L.A.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. D. Wright
Business
San Diego, California
27 Feb 2013

Old and Dirty

I was not happy with my stay at this hotel. I expected it to be small and unique, however, it was just small, old, and dirty. The hallways were creepy, like something was going to jump out and attack me at any moment. I also did not like that there was no iron or fridge in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashidesu
Business
Tucson, Arizona
22 Feb 2013

Wouldn't change a thing

Got their late and had a late check in after reservation and it was not a problem at all. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. They allowed us to use their parking when trying to get official documents taken care of at the consulate. The room was spotless, tidy, and comfortable. It was over all a great stay and comparing it to many of the hotels near Koreatown, this is A++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pentwaterzoo
Business
cali
21 Feb 2013

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Just a room, but a nice room. Comfortable bet, flat screen TV and gargage parking. $ is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingtopher
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
12 Feb 2013

Clean and quiet

The room we had was very clean and above all else very quiet. Love they are dog friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Redactor
Business
FH, MI
23 Jan 2013

Where do I hang this?

Our room had no place to hang or store clothing. The room is huge, so a dresser and an armoire would be nice. It would also be nice to have a place to hang towels in the bathroom. The staff members are pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAPF
Business
Petaluma, California
18 Dec 2012

Good value

The room was spotlessly clean, with nice sheets and pillows. Very spartan decor-- only the bed, nightstands, a desk/chair and tv. Not even any pictures on the walls. No closet either, just a small wardrobe. It made me a bit nervous that the outside doors were unlocked, so anyone could come in from the street. But the neighborhood was quiet and seemed safe enough (in a residential area of Koreatown) that I felt comfortable taking a long walk in the morning. The location was convenient for me. Close enough to Hollywood attractions, but off the beaten path. If you're just looking for a quiet nice clean place to sleep, this is perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a Clean Freak
Business
Saginaw, MI
15 Dec 2012

Dirty. Two star hotel at best.

This place is a dump. Filthy dirty. Don't be fooled by the photos that look like this hotel is a cool and contemporary. It was probably remodeled 5 years ago or so and has NOT been maintained well. Scratched floors, dirty walls, hair in bedding, sticky rings on the night stand, dirty grout upon bathroom tiles, filthy bathroom walls and baseboards. I was so disgusted upon checking in at 5:30 for what should have been a relaxing evening that I walked over to Starbucks and worked until they closed at 10:00. Bolted out the door minutes after waking up. Nice job with materials on renovation. Helpful staff. Just dirty. Also, no blow dryer in the room and no box do tissues in the room. Very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top