£67.94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 9 Mar 2015 Check-out 10 Mar 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
134 reviews
last minute

the chckin process is easy and managemenet is relaxed as long as tou pay on time. book in advance... See full review

  • sang lee.
  • 2 Mar 2015
Great Location

Room is spacious and clean. The location is absolutely ideal. It's just next to the Korean town and... See full review

  • TheoWang
  • 23 Nov 2014
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
16:00
Check-out:
11:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fillup my cup
Business
Bay Area
1 Jul 2013

Could use a little extra help

Overall the experience was good and some not so good. They don't have towel hooks or somewhere to dry your towels.. The elevator might need some better air circulation. The gentleman during the day was very nice and accommodating. I think they were going for a very simple clean look for the rooms. But it doesn't help when you need certain common things like..hair dryer (you can request for one and they will bring one up) no place to hang your clothes. TV was definitely on the smaller side. The cleaning crew kept knocking on the door in the morning to check if we need towels and to ask if we were going to check out 10 minutes before the check out time which was pretty annoying (Wish there was a do not disturb tag we could have used) The hallways do need some work. Not a very pleasant feeling or look. Very cold and kind of eerie feel. Bed was comfy, location was great, so so experience overall. A few little changes will make me book my next stay here but for now I might look to see what my other options are for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Soonwon Korean BBQ is some of the best I've had. Try the house special bbq meat. Not cheap but it was worth it.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fenceguy
Business
Sonoma County, California
24 Jun 2013

Funtuional

No clock radio in room. No ice machine. Not enough parking room in garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hammster
Business
Riverside, Ca
22 Jun 2013

Concert Stay

My husband and I went to a show at the Greek Theatre and stayed at the Shelter Hotel. Wasn't exactly what I expected but in the end it served our needs. Checking in was easy once we realized you have to go up the elevator to get to the lobby. The room was clean and so was the bathroom.There were some maintenance issues ( tear in the carpet, loose tiles in the bathroom , and windows didn't lock properly) but none that truly affected our stay. The bed was extremely comfortable and roomy! Parking was very tight and when we came back from the concert, we had to double park and leave our car key with the front desk. That was kind of weird , but it worked out. The MALE front desk attendants were very pleasant. Overall, the experience was fine, but the hotel website really makes the hotel look much better than it actually was. Hotel needs much updating but it was okay for our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Two NorCal visitors
Business
San Jose, ca
3 Jun 2013

Weekend stay

It was horrible. The room key didnt work so they gave us the next room. There was no closet, clock, or hair dryer. It was plain and the maid didn't clean well either. Not worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler111333555
Business
Santa Barbara
13 May 2013

Great location, very little amenities

The room was clean, location was good, people were friendly and nice. But the downside was there were very little amenities in the room: no hangers, no refrigerator, no closet whatsoever. But still, the hotel is okay for its price, but probably not the best place to stay in for people coming in for business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ritarita2011
Business
Boca Raton, FL, USA
8 May 2013

suited me just fine

Its not spectacular it not the Loews, the W, or the Ritz Carlton however if you're just going to LA for a short while and need somewhere decent and safe I would recommend this place. Its up and coming and with time it could possibly get to 3.5 stars. I'm a women who travels a lot by myself so of course security is very important to me. The Shelter has a nice kind young staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet Jane
Business
Chicago, IL
8 May 2013

LA near Wilshire Blvd

The hotel, free indoor parking and location were all good. The sparsely furnished room reminded me of a European hotel room. It appeared to be newly remodeled and was very clean. The reception desk and lobby were not what you would expect in a hotel and did not appear to be a place where you would want to spend much time. With all that said, I would certainly stay there again for my visits with family and business trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
atlga
Business
Atlanta
17 Apr 2013

A Friend's Apartment

The room was average, the bed and bath were great, but the staff was phenomenal. Every hotel employee that I encountered was genuinely kind and helpful. It was like crashing at a good friend's sparsely decorated apartment. Pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron April
Business
San Diego
1 Apr 2013

Not what I bought

Having bought my hotel stay, I arrived and was subsequently told that I had to pay extra for this and that - everything that anyone would normally expect to be included. I did not expect much from this cheap hotel, but it was worse than i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GanzyMJ
Business
Urbana, Illinois
26 Mar 2013

Great location with Cleanliness

I stayed Shelter Hotel several times due to its location. If you have a plan for visiting Korea Town, it will be one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are Korean Market with food court.

Back to menu Return to top