£49.16 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 6 Oct 2014 Check-out 7 Oct 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
432 reviews
Incredible getaway

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was a very special experience. The staff was very... See full review

  • Bearra
  • 17 Sep 2014
The Perfect Stay in San Diego!

I absolutely love Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites! The rooms are very clean. The landscaping is... See full review

  • TrudyElaine
  • 10 Sep 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (432)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
432 out of 432
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilde2
Gig Harbor WA
1 Apr 2014

Excellent hotel

Great for families. Grounds, pool, jacuzzi, water features all very inviting. No breakfast included which would have been a nice feature to have, especially for families. Room was comfortable, clean, and bed was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Con Pane Rustic Breads & Bakery. Mexican Mocha delicious. Various healthy breakfasts plus yummy cinnamon rolls & other pastries. On way to airport or various San Diego attractions! In the Liberty Station area with easy access from Harbor Drive or Rosecrans.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minneapolis Mom
Minneapolis, MN
31 Mar 2014

Midwest traveler

Loved the location. Quiet with a nice view. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peppermint Pattye
Southern, CA
30 Mar 2014

Location, location, location

While the location of Humphrey's was amazing and the outside of the hotel quite good for the exotic feel, the bed was not comfortable and the hidden fees, an additional $20 per day, were unwelcome. We will not stay there again, but will go back to the Bay Club which is right next door and includes free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The club was nice for happy hour and the assortment of musical acts was good.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzzyj
Oakland, CA
26 Mar 2014

anniversary

Location was beautiful, room was perfect, and its very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Landlocked beach fan
Rocjok - Lakewood,CO
24 Mar 2014

Last min. getaway

Humphreys Inn was a good late res. Inn We stayed 4 nts and it was mostly all good. An enjoyable time for a break to lay by the pool and see the some of the sights around SD. Its a short drive from downtown yet less busy on the island. The happy hour is a great time w/ live music!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy Hour - good bands - good food!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
memartin
denver,colorado
22 Mar 2014

beautiful, clean and relaxing.

We really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful views and staff was great. Good restaurant with great music. Only issue was the $9.95 dollar charge per day for the passport coupon book. Big negative there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottish Bill
Scotland
21 Mar 2014

Our stay

We really enjoyed our stay with you. We rang from the airport and the shuttle arrived within minutes. We had mislaid one of our bags and Bill the Bellman was very accommodating. He dropped me back to the airport and waited for me. That was a great relief for us as we were not familiar with the area or the procedures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Actve Couple
Seattle Wa.
17 Mar 2014

Good value and lots to keep you busy!

The grounds were beatiful and well maintained. Bldgs. are old and need updating, but comfortable and clean. Amenities were many and very available. We spent a week and enjoyed every minute. The prices in the restaurant at the resort are tipically California!! Good to have a vehicle so you can "shop around".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great entertainment each night for which the resort picks up the cover charge.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bloop7
Minneapolis
16 Mar 2014

Should be an easy 4 with some small improvements

Spent a week there, just arrived back home yesterday. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return. The pool area was great, the room was spotless and the staff we interacted with was nice. The bed was comfortable, but the room was small and bathroom was tiny. There was a desk, but no desk chair. There were 2 very small sitting chairs in the room and a small patio with 2 chairs. Rooms could use updating, but not bad. We normally visit the hotel restaurant and use room service quite a bit. But we only did one of each here. The room service was rediculously expensive the restaurant was a bit overpriced too. Room service charged $11 for a hot dog and $20 for a burger before tip. We probably would have used room service 5 or 6 times if it was reasonable. Parking is $10/day which seems reasonable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Location is great. If the price was right, we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thanks Mom
Nebraska
15 Mar 2014

Sisters Trip

Oh my gosh!! This wonderful hotel exceeded our expectations x100!! The minute we arrived at the airport and called for shuttle service to the minute we were dropped back off to return home, we were treated with friendliness, kindness, helpfulness!!! The hotel was perfectly located, centrally to all we wanted to see and do. We were upgraded to a water view of the beautiful marina, the room was always clean! The pool and hot tub were amazing... so peaceful and clean! A great outdoor atmosphere! And staff was super helpful, in places to go, places to eat, renting a car, etc! We will be back for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coronado Island... its a must!!!! :)

Back to menu Return to top