£76.53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 23 Dec 2014 Check-out 24 Dec 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
450 reviews
Resort at a Hotel Room Price

We weren't there long enough to take advantage of all the features, but fully enjoyed what we had... See full review

  • Mima Judy
  • 5 Dec 2014
Young married couple getaway

Hotel was awesome! Perfect location and wonderful staff. I will be happy to go back there and I... See full review

  • Very happy global trecker
  • 30 Nov 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (450)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
450 out of 450
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UrsyAce
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
10 Jun 2014

Average

Overall, this hotel was okay, but nothing special. I guess for the price, it was a pretty good value. The location on Shelter Island was pretty convenient. It was easy to get to the 5. The view of Downtown San Diego from across the street was beautiful. The room itself was fairly nice. There was food stuck all over the inside of the microwave, which was pretty gross. Other than that, the room was pretty clean. I would probably stay there again. Like I said, it wasn't the greatest hotel I ever stayed in, but for the price, it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris6800
Business
MA
9 Jun 2014

Hidden charges beware

This was a great room and a great deal, but beware! The hotel ended up charging me and EXTRA 200 bucks for a "passport fee" and PARKING. Each of the two was 14 dollars a day and non-negotiable, you had to pay it. For my 9 days, that was 28 dollars times 9 days, we'll let 200 bucks on top of what I paid when booking through. People were smoking and it came into our room, which reeked when we returned from the beach. On top of paying for parking you have to display a special pass they give you at the check in desk in order to even park, because they're a concert venue too and share parking with concert guests too! I never received one and they had to make me one up before the guy manning the gate would let me in. Normally, I would just insert my room key to open the gate, but because it was a concert night, someone was watching he gate and wouldn't let me in even though I had a room key and receipt on hand! I went and got this special pass, knowing they had charged me for stupid things before. I asked if I would be charges for this pass even though I already pay daily for parking and passport, he said he would WAIVE it this time. Are you kidding me! I'm already paying for parking, I shouldn't have to pay twice because you are having a concert! The hidden fees are laughable. I had to pay an unexpected extra 300 for my car too. Collectively I paid another 500 for this trip. It greatly damaged my budget. In short, the staffers nice, the room was clean, the pool was good and parking was abundant. It's in a beautiful location, just outside the city and right on the water. Would I go back? Maybe. I was a great place, but all the problems I mentioned above really irked us. We travelled 2700 miles to relax and we're met with more trivial garbage than you'd like to deal with on vacation. I would totally check out another hotel first and ask about any charge that isn't up front. Ultimately, I would use this hotel as a last resort knowing the room was nice and bed was comfortable. Please take better note of additional hotel fees and make your consumers aware. Even if you can include it all in the price, at least tell us about the hidden charges or encourage us to reach out to the services purchased prior to arrival to avoid such headaches. This site should be aware of state rental car laws, hotel possible charges and location specific alterations for finances. Though impossible to calculate and account for all, you should at least encourage your customers to investigate in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

LaJolla cove or mission beach, you can rent water crafts or see sea lions in the wild. Coronado beach too, all close by. You're really central of a lot of great stuff from the hotel.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no1Badgerfan
Business
Wisconsin
8 Jun 2014

San Diego Getaway

The rooms were nice and comfortable and very quiet without noise from other rooms. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Great pool area and beautiful gardens to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take 28 bus to old town and the rest of the town is easy to get to without renting a car. Nice view of the bay.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainer Lady Kerry
Business
New York
3 Jun 2014

Romantic Weekend

Shelter Island was a quiet yet central location for a fantastic weekend in San Diego. The landscaping is amazing and the services available are excellent. Would stay here again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Break Front - amazing breakfasts!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinJ
Business
Ohio
29 May 2014

Anniversary getaway

Excellent concierge. Excellent food at their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
south africa123
Business
Denver
28 May 2014

Full of spiders

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and found 4 spiders hanging out in the bed. I couldn't change my room because of the views. One of the night they forgot to clean the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MommyAquino
Business
Milwaukee, WI
28 May 2014

Great location-can get loud

I wouldn't recommend for families since it does get loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
valgal
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
27 May 2014

Good value

Room was prefect, updated, clean and comfortable. Had a decent crib for my son. Liked the fact they had microwave and fridge if needed. We got a room away from the concert and it was perfect, not loud. Room service was a little expensive but what place isn't. Parking was bout $15 a day and hotel charges $10 day for mandatory fee. Location was nice and quite restaurants were within walking. I wanted to rent bikes but they don't have a child carrier so we rented them at mission beach. Nice place and might stay again but I think I'll try to stay by seaport village next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcyFairn
Business
San Diego, California
22 May 2014

Perfect stay

Friendly staff. Everything was perfect. No complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brhoom77
Business
San Diego
11 May 2014

Getaway

Location is great near to everything, room was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top