£97.60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 28 Jul 2015 Check-out 29 Jul 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
retleader
Business
Pasadena, CA
18 Nov 2014

Not amazing, but not bad either

We went on this trip for a getaway and I wasn't impressed with the rooms, but the location had good things within walking distance and a nice decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DonovanX
Business
US
17 Nov 2014

Something has gone wrong at Humphreys

Our family used to visit Humphreys Half Moon Inn every year going back decades. There was a gap of four years or so, but we recently got the whole family together and stayed for a week. The dynamic of the place has completely changed. Most of us agreed that we would not be returning. Last week, I was in San Diego and stayed for one night on a whim. What a huge mistake. Any previous feelings of nostalgia that I might have had are now gone. I won't nitpick the stay itself; it was simply lackluster. My real grief was with the desk staff. The staff member at check-in that evening was rude and specifically mentioned that the reservation was brokered through this service. I have no idea how that detail factored into her decision to treat me poorly, but it was particularly galling. The staff member at check-out in the morning asked if the stay went well, and when I gently expressed that I was not happy with my stay, she simply apologized and made no further effort to inquire or remedy the situation. So, while I do not normally write reviews, today I'm writing two -- one for Humphrey's, which I will not be returning to again, and the other for a new place up the coast where the staff were exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yokad
Business
Japan
14 Nov 2014

Cost effective.

South side rooms are very close to parking area and pavement. Other than that very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew Disc Golfer
Business
Comstock Park, MI
12 Nov 2014

5 Year Anniversary

My wife and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. It was also our Babymoon as we were expecting our first child. We really wanted to return to Hawaii where we Honeymooned, but needed to save some money, so I suggested San Diego. What an awesome decision! When booking trips I often rely on reviews to make decisions so I felt that I needed to contribute. We absolutely loved staying here! The rooms were nice, a little out dated, but still nice. The view of the city from our patio was amazing. The hotel was beautiful. The pool area was awesome to spend time at. You felt like you were in a tropical paradise. However, the pool side "service" was terrible. The food was not good at all and it took forever. They also have a concert venue on site that would be cool to see a show at. The location was great. You were close enough to the city and airport to reach it in minutes. It was very easy to get where we wanted to go. I went on several runs while we were here and really enjoyed the views. We loved every minute of our stay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic get away! We would definitely stay here in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee T
Business
New Haven, CT
22 Oct 2014

Nice, clean and friendly

Great place. Definitely not the best place in shelter island but for the price you pay, not bad. Wi-fi connection is slow and not all areas are covered. Swimming pool is always crowded. Carpets were stained. But otherwise not a bad place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCIII
Business
san Diego
10 Oct 2014

Great staycation

I would totally come back. The staff was great, so great they upgraded my room. Highly recommend it to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golpae
Business
Henderson
28 Sep 2014

Good location, nice surrounging

Nice tropical surroundings and very kind staffs. I will definitely go back again. Restaurant was awesome too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oceanlover12
Business
Arizona
20 Sep 2014

Beautiful !!!!!!

What a wonderful experience! The staff went above and beyond, the tropical room was fabulous, right on the harbor. We are going back, and we want the same room. Pool and hot tub was in a beautiful atmosphere. The lounge was fun and food is great!!! Best room we have ever been in, by far!!!! I even forgot a couple items in the closet and they are shipping them to me!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaport village is a lot of quaint shops in the water! Great shopping!!!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bearra
Business
North Hollywood, ca
17 Sep 2014

Incredible getaway

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was a very special experience. The staff was very helpful. The parking was very convenient to our room location. The room was spotless. Everything in our suite #316 was brand new. We were facing the private marina . We had our own patio with brand new table and 4 chairs. The lunch at their restaurant was superb. I highly recommend the crusted macademia sea bass or the fish and chips.(enormous amount of fries and the fish had a very light batter. It was scrumptious and enough for 2:. The pool area was spotless as well replete with plenty of towels. There is a bar near the pool and jacuzzy. We will return to this paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deeserr
Business
inland empire
5 Sep 2014

perfect

Literally not one complaint, their ricotta cheesecake is to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top