£125.54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 22 Sep 2014 Check-out 23 Sep 2014

Castle Inn

2 stars
1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
47 reviews
A Great Stay

This was a great little motel. Don't expect anything overly fancy. This place offers (and excels... See full review

  • sketto
  • 8 Oct 2013
My stay at the Castle Inn

Greeted by Damon at check in & he described places and things to do while on my stay. Whenever I... See full review

  • Richard Z.
  • 29 May 2013
From major attractions to fine dining, world-class shops to coffee shops, at Castle Inn you are at the center of it all! In a cheerful and safe location, we are within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, and many local shops and excellent restaurant. Also, with public transportation close by, you have easy access to other area attractions such as Union Square, Golden Gate Park, Pac Bell Park, Palace of Fine Arts, and more. Our location is ideal because it is safe, quiet, and central. In fact, our guests refer to our location as "the best kept secret in San Francisco". To top it off, our rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean and 100% non-smoking. With a two door fridge/freezer, microwave, fresh brewed coffee maker, air conditioner, heater, full bath-shower combination with glass shower door and massage shower head, expanded cable TV with over 80 channels including HBO, CNN and ESPN, and direct dial telephone with voicemail in every room, this is home away from home. A working desk and breakfast table also makes the room very convenient for those that have to work in this beautiful city. We also offer a small breakfast which includes Danish pastries, cereal bars, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, brewed coffee, hot chocolate and tea. FREE guaranteed parking is a bonus! We also have free wireless high-speed Internet access in every room and a safe deposit box in the office. Our dedicated staff provides fantastic service and care in a warm and friendly atmosphere that will make you want to come and stay with us every time you are in San Francisco!!

Castle Inn Rooms

Double Room
Guest room includes two queen beds. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.
Standard Room
Guest room includes a king or queen bed. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Courtesy breakfast
  • High speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Courtesy breakfast
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7955 -122.4226
Area served
San Francisco, California.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of scenic San Francisco, Castle Inn is central to many tourist attractions and is situated in a great neighborhood. Safe and central, we are convenient to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, local and downtown shopping, and excellent restaurants. Because of our ideal location, guests refer to Castle Inn as the best-kept secret in San Francisco. Castle Inn is situated only two blocks from the famous Cable Cars of San Francisco, which travel through most of the popular tourist attractions. We also provide a convenient chart to our guests, which show bus routes to all major San Francisco sights. We arrange taxi service and airport shuttle service from the Inn.

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
22 Feb 2010

Buisness trip

I went there in mainly a business trip but thought I would add it as a familly get away, the hotel staff was not rude just not vary enthusiastic to see guest, kinda of felt like they just wanted hurry up and give me my room keys so I can leave them be. But by no means were they rude to me or my family, they breakfast was delightful, for the most part we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Room service is relativley late to bring your order

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta
29 Oct 2009

visitor

fair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
golfian
Santa Barbara, Ca
27 Aug 2010

Good Location, parking is difficult.

From the hotel was an easy drive for us to shop in China Town and the Fishermans Wharf. From our room on the 3rd floor we had a Poor signal for high speed Internet service. Less than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles, ca
21 Feb 2009

It was ok...

Location is great, but certain staff members were rude. Do not expect HOTEL hospitality. Also, parking is VERY limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, Ca.
18 May 2011

CASTLE INN

Would not stay there again! A Motel 6 would be an improvement, the carpet was torn, mattress was extremely lumpy, very stark room. It was not the best kept secret, believe me. The couple checking us in was gross, arguing, very overweight, etc. The breakfast wss a joke. Very overated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick1
Redding, CA, USA
16 Nov 2011

Good downtown location - with FREE PARKING!

Front desk manager was very helpful, room was clean, and free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe64
Hanford, CA
2 Sep 2014

Location, location, location

This hotel is in a great spot, close to many tourist spots in San Francisco. That is its one selling point, as it is otherwise drab, unclean (long black hair in the bathtub drain!), and pricey for what you get ($200+ per night). But it is in a good location, in a cool old Russian Hill neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrs.sparkplug
Charleston, SC
7 Jul 2011

Anniversary Trip

this was a very good hotel in a great location for us for the price!! we rented a car as we planned on traveling the surrounding area of san fran during our stay so finding this hotel with FREE parking was a sell for us! parking is more for smaller vehicles so keep that in mind. the hotel is in good condition but nothing fancy; if you're looking for something casual where you can rest and have another adventure the next day, this is a good place. breakfast there is really nothing but there is a small diner across the street that my husband loved (Peter D's) - try it. walking distance to a lot from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

FREE PARKING!!!

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
26 Jun 2007

A room to stay in

Parking was not good! neither was the location..Front desk could be friendlier! A room to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Thai resturant nearby very good!!

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
27 Jun 2010

I'd stay here again

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon, because of it's location, free parking and breakfast, and the price. I must admit we were lucky and had a room on the front of the hotel, so we had two windows (never had to turn on the air conditioning). The size of the room was perfect for two of us. The location is great as well (great neighborhood- felt safe). It's about a 10 minute walk down to Ghirardelli Square, and about 5 blocks way from Lombard St. And there are tons of great restaurants right by the hotel. The manager was really nice. We didn't know breakfast was from 7:30-9am, so we went down at 9:30 on first morning. The manager was nice enough to make us a tray with some apples, yogurt, muffins, and granola bars. However, that's about all there was for breakfast every morning... Also the parking was not the best. There were only about 20 spots for all the guest to park in, and it was quite hard to get out of some of them (even with a compact car).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Little Thia Restaurant is GREAT! So is Cups of Love (or something like that)- GREAT rice pudding and frozen yogurt! There is another Thia restaurant next to there that was great as well. There are also tons of bars and cafes right around the hotel as well.

Back to menu Return to top