£110.30 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 4 Apr 2015 Check-out 7 Apr 2015

Castle Inn

2 stars
View map of 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
25 Nov 2008

Great location and price

The Castle Inn is definitely one of the best hotels we stayed. The location was also the best, they offer free parking, so we parked our car in the hotel premises and walked to all the attractions in Fisherman's Wharf. For other attractions we used the hop-on hop-off bus (ticket valid for 2 days).We travelled with our 3 yr old daughter and parents and it was well suited to all our needs. What we liked abt this hotel was that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area with a sink. It came with a m/w & fridge whihc was very welcome. Overall we had a wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
27 Feb 2008

Good Value

Room clean. Bed and pillows not that great, but we were only there for one evening. If you want a great romantic dinner in the area, the Harris Restaurant is only a block away. Even though we were not dressed appropriately for the establishment, the staff was very friendly and food excellent. Back to the hotel. We could hear the people above us, but wasn't that big a deal. Best part = free parking on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
25 Sep 2007

Great Location

Simple motel but great location. Short walk to everything. Restaurants are steps away from the motel as is a Walgreens. We were a little disapointed as no breakfast was served. Staff were all very friendly. Great to have a fridge & microwave in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to the pier instead of catching the cable. We couldn't get on the cable as it was always full - 2nd to last stop on the cable route.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
1 Sep 2007

A Great Stay

The Castle Inn provided us a good room and in a great Russian Hill location with parking and a very decent continental breakfast included. Short walk to a number of restaurants, some with outstanding food at reasonable prices. Warm and friendly management pleased to help you make the most of your San Francisco stay. Walk to Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach. Frequent buses just down street to anywhere in town. Or convenient to use auto to wine country, Carmel, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many options and prices.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
14 Jul 2007

Friendly

The Castle Inn's staff was helpful and friendly. The room was in need of some repairs and it was small, but it was clean. It was a little noisy. One good thing was the free parking. I had hoped the location would have been a little closer to Fisherman's Wharf and tourist areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens approximately 1 block

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
8 Jul 2007

Great Fun in San Francisco!

We had a great time during our stay at the Castle! The person who checked us in was amazing with information about specific restaurants within walking distance and ideas for how to get around. The room was good and very adequate for our needs. It was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The separate bathroom from the sink area allowed everyone time to get ready more quickly. The location was very convenient to attractions we were interested in. Parking at the hotel was great, and we didn't need to use our car during the stay. I would happily go back to stay again! Check it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant just a few doors down was amazing! Breakfast options are also very close by.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
26 Jun 2007

A room to stay in

Parking was not good! neither was the location..Front desk could be friendlier! A room to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Thai resturant nearby very good!!

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
19 Jun 2007

Good location in San Francisco!

The Castle Inn is a perfectly good hotel. The rooms are completely average, and smell like an older hotel. The bathroom had a nice tub/shower, and the sink was seperate. The refrigerator was next to the sink, as was an area for hanging stuff. Our room had a queen bed, a dresser with a TV, a small desk, and 2 chairs. The parking was free, which is a really BIG deal in San Francisco. With that, I most definitely don't recommend you bring any vehicle bigger than a Civic, as the lots are nearly impossible to get into or out of. The location, on the corner of Van Ness and Broadway, is ideal. You can easily get ANYWHERE from there, and the city busses go down Van Ness every few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's warf is straight down Van Ness, a short drive or bus drive away.

Back to menu Return to top