£56.92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 24 Nov 2014 Check-out 26 Nov 2014

Castle Inn

2 stars
1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
47 reviews
A Great Stay

This was a great little motel. Don't expect anything overly fancy. This place offers (and excels... See full review

  • sketto
  • 8 Oct 2013
My stay at the Castle Inn

Greeted by Damon at check in & he described places and things to do while on my stay. Whenever I... See full review

  • Richard Z.
  • 29 May 2013
From major attractions to fine dining, world-class shops to coffee shops, at Castle Inn you are at the center of it all! In a cheerful and safe location, we are within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, and many local shops and excellent restaurant. Also, with public transportation close by, you have easy access to other area attractions such as Union Square, Golden Gate Park, Pac Bell Park, Palace of Fine Arts, and more. Our location is ideal because it is safe, quiet, and central. In fact, our guests refer to our location as "the best kept secret in San Francisco". To top it off, our rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean and 100% non-smoking. With a two door fridge/freezer, microwave, fresh brewed coffee maker, air conditioner, heater, full bath-shower combination with glass shower door and massage shower head, expanded cable TV with over 80 channels including HBO, CNN and ESPN, and direct dial telephone with voicemail in every room, this is home away from home. A working desk and breakfast table also makes the room very convenient for those that have to work in this beautiful city. We also offer a small breakfast which includes Danish pastries, cereal bars, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, brewed coffee, hot chocolate and tea. FREE guaranteed parking is a bonus! We also have free wireless high-speed Internet access in every room and a safe deposit box in the office. Our dedicated staff provides fantastic service and care in a warm and friendly atmosphere that will make you want to come and stay with us every time you are in San Francisco!!

Castle Inn Rooms

Double Room
Guest room includes two queen beds. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.
Standard Room
Guest room includes a king or queen bed. Room amenities include microwave, in-room fresh brewed coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free high speed wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, tub and shower combo with glass shower doors and massage shower-heads, individual climate controlled air conditioning and heating units, direct dial phone with voicemail and data port. 100% Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Courtesy breakfast
  • High speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Courtesy breakfast
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7955 -122.4226
Area served
San Francisco, California.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of scenic San Francisco, Castle Inn is central to many tourist attractions and is situated in a great neighborhood. Safe and central, we are convenient to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Crookedest Street, North Beach, Cable Cars, local and downtown shopping, and excellent restaurants. Because of our ideal location, guests refer to Castle Inn as the best-kept secret in San Francisco. Castle Inn is situated only two blocks from the famous Cable Cars of San Francisco, which travel through most of the popular tourist attractions. We also provide a convenient chart to our guests, which show bus routes to all major San Francisco sights. We arrange taxi service and airport shuttle service from the Inn.

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1 mi
  • Union Square: 1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by ebookers

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
27 Feb 2008

Good Value

Room clean. Bed and pillows not that great, but we were only there for one evening. If you want a great romantic dinner in the area, the Harris Restaurant is only a block away. Even though we were not dressed appropriately for the establishment, the staff was very friendly and food excellent. Back to the hotel. We could hear the people above us, but wasn't that big a deal. Best part = free parking on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
25 Sep 2007

Great Location

Simple motel but great location. Short walk to everything. Restaurants are steps away from the motel as is a Walgreens. We were a little disapointed as no breakfast was served. Staff were all very friendly. Great to have a fridge & microwave in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to the pier instead of catching the cable. We couldn't get on the cable as it was always full - 2nd to last stop on the cable route.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
1 Sep 2007

A Great Stay

The Castle Inn provided us a good room and in a great Russian Hill location with parking and a very decent continental breakfast included. Short walk to a number of restaurants, some with outstanding food at reasonable prices. Warm and friendly management pleased to help you make the most of your San Francisco stay. Walk to Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach. Frequent buses just down street to anywhere in town. Or convenient to use auto to wine country, Carmel, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many options and prices.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
14 Jul 2007

Friendly

The Castle Inn's staff was helpful and friendly. The room was in need of some repairs and it was small, but it was clean. It was a little noisy. One good thing was the free parking. I had hoped the location would have been a little closer to Fisherman's Wharf and tourist areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens approximately 1 block

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
8 Jul 2007

Great Fun in San Francisco!

We had a great time during our stay at the Castle! The person who checked us in was amazing with information about specific restaurants within walking distance and ideas for how to get around. The room was good and very adequate for our needs. It was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The separate bathroom from the sink area allowed everyone time to get ready more quickly. The location was very convenient to attractions we were interested in. Parking at the hotel was great, and we didn't need to use our car during the stay. I would happily go back to stay again! Check it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant just a few doors down was amazing! Breakfast options are also very close by.

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
26 Jun 2007

A room to stay in

Parking was not good! neither was the location..Front desk could be friendlier! A room to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Thai resturant nearby very good!!

Review of Castle Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
19 Jun 2007

Good location in San Francisco!

The Castle Inn is a perfectly good hotel. The rooms are completely average, and smell like an older hotel. The bathroom had a nice tub/shower, and the sink was seperate. The refrigerator was next to the sink, as was an area for hanging stuff. Our room had a queen bed, a dresser with a TV, a small desk, and 2 chairs. The parking was free, which is a really BIG deal in San Francisco. With that, I most definitely don't recommend you bring any vehicle bigger than a Civic, as the lots are nearly impossible to get into or out of. The location, on the corner of Van Ness and Broadway, is ideal. You can easily get ANYWHERE from there, and the city busses go down Van Ness every few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's warf is straight down Van Ness, a short drive or bus drive away.

Back to menu Return to top