£97.92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 31 Jul 2014 Check-out 1 Aug 2014

Cova Hotel

3 stars
655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
208 reviews
Nice hotel for business and family trip.

The rooms are very comfortable, the stuff is professional. See full review

  • Bagrat
  • 5 May 2014
No Title

Great staff, clean and comfortable. Everyone will love this place. See full review

  • Artara
  • 27 Jul 2013
Subtle touches, free breakfast and shuttles at Little Saigon boutique

Perched at the confluence of San Francisco's Little Saigon and Civic Center neighborhoods, the Cova Hotel offers clean and modern accommodations for a fraction of the cost of swankier Union Square lodging. Boutique style, complimentary continental breakfast and free buses around town are just some of the reasons guests return. The rooftop terrace also is a big draw for business clientele. The hotel is a three-block walk to cable car stops.

Highlights
  • Take advantage of complimentary shuttle buses that travel all over town
  • Rooftop Terrace is ideal for events and business meetings
  • Conveniently located near Civic Center, cable car stops
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

The 96 rooms -- including 3 suites -- at the Cova Hotel are clean, contemporary and efficient. All rooms feature furniture in soft sand tones and ceiling-to-floor windows that look out on the city skyline. They also boast spacious bathrooms and French balconies. Standard amenities include high-definition flat-screen televisions, I-Home stereo clocks, electronic safes, irons, coffee makers and hair dryers. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Perhaps the biggest draw for the Cova Hotel is its complimentary shuttle service, which transports guests to some of the most popular destinations in the city. The shuttle leaves the hotel hourly and stops at places such as Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center.

 

The Cova Hotel also features a multi-lingual concierge, 24-hour fitness center, same-day laundry and dry cleaning (fees apply) and 24-hour room service. On-site car rental is available through ZipCar, an environmentally friendly car share service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Modern Museum of Art
  • City Hall
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • Eighth-floor Rooftop Terrace offers open-air banquet space with views of the entire city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Oasis Banquet Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel will undergo renovation starting 20 December 2013 and scheduled to last for 16 weeks. All rooms in the proximity of the affected site will be closed off to guests. The hotel apologises for any inconvenience.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply).
  • Starting December 15, 2012, the parking fee for Cova guests will be $27.00 for 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Cova Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Our Deluxe Rooms feature modern furniture with a contemporary aesthetic. These deluxe guest rooms are available in King-size and two Queen-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 475 square feet and accomodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. These rooms are available from our 3rd to 7th floors.
Executive Suite
Our one bedroom Suites share modern contemporary furniture and a modern designed spacious bathroom as the rest of our guest rooms. Our distinct one room suites feature a King-size bed in the bedroom and a kitchen that opens to the living room with sofa. Both the living room and bedroom also come with a 32" High Definition Flat Screen TV. Our room size is approximately 655 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on the existing bed. These rooms are available from our 5th to 7th floors.
Superior Room
Our Superior Rooms feature modern contemporary furniture and a spacious bathroom. We feature an Otto-man Chair with foot rest for the single King bedroom and a large writing desk in all rooms. These guest rooms are available in single King-size, two Queens-size, and two Full-size bed configurations. Our room size is approximately 326 square feet and accommodates up to two adults with two children on existing beds. The rooms are available from our 2nd to 7th floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.784 -122.4169
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco, (SFO), 15.00, MI, S; Metropolitan, (OAK), 25.00, MI, SE; San Jose, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2.5
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bizzy Brett
Business
Washington, DC
24 Sep 2012

Not bad for the price

Make no mistake, this is an urban hotel. But, for the price and the location, it is not a bad trade off, at least for business or budget travelers. Fairly close to BART's Civic Center/UN stop. I was on the 2nd floor, so there was a fair amount of street noise in the morning, and the neighborhood is not great, but I never felt unsafe or that I couldn't sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The 8th floor has a very nice roofdeck with a view, where the breakfast is also served.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki Tourist
San Bernardino, CA
10 Sep 2012

Great staff. but the hotel needs a little work

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. They helped me find good places to visit for food and places to see. I loved that the hotel had shuttle transportation to and from Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. All that aside, there's no free parking, so you have to pay $25 a day at the vale next to the hotel. Also, the room is pretty clean except for the marks on the walls and the way the tub paint peels off. None of these really effect the cleanliness of the room... the room is pretty clean, it's just a comment on presentation. Overall, the place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the shuttle to Union Square and ask the driver to show you where Sear's Fine Foods is located. The food is $$, but the people and the taste of the food is worth the price!

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raleigh dude
Business
McLean, VA
8 Sep 2012

Good value

Far less expensive than equivalent hotels that are closer to Union Square. Good overall. Location not great, but not unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GMD LA
Los Angeles, CA
26 Aug 2012

Getaway

Overall good stay and good value. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Andi
Maryland
27 Jul 2012

Comfortable and Reasonably Priced

The accommodations were comfortable with a friendly staff. Complimentary shuttles to/from Fisherman's Wharf were most helpful after many hours of walking hills. The proximity within walking distance to Union Square was an added plus, but you had to walk past some seedy characters to your destination. If you don't mind this, the hotel's per night charge is very reasonable. I would book this hotel again for my next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FJFJFLJFL
SAN FRANCISCO
12 Jul 2012

GREAT HOTEL...CENTRALLY LOCATED DOWNTOWN

VERY NICE....ALSO INCLUDES FREE BREAKFAST...CENTRALLY LOCATED DOWNTOWN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vboy000
Toronto, Ontario
6 Jul 2012

San Francisco

I picked this hotel because I thought it is near the downtown of San Francisco. It is close to all the tourist attractions, but we didn't feel safe walking around its nearby neighborhood at night. You have to take taxi or free hotel shuttle to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. Everything else was good, hotel staffs are friendly, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI but extremely slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfio
Santa Rosa, CA
25 Jun 2012

Would stay here again...

Never met a friendlier staff...very helpful...and really interested in the guests comfort and safety...rooms very clean...well stocked with amenities...even though hotel is in a sketchy area, always felt safe...! Would definitely stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

even though hotel is in a sketchy area...there are some amazing resturants in the area ...highly recommend Red Crawfish...great/real Cajun food..just around the corner of Asian Art Museum, and Orpheum Theatre...where you can first rate Broadway productions

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vactioner Pride weekend
NYC
25 Jun 2012

Seedy location

For a hotel that was billed as 4 star, not sure what rating system they are using. On checking in I was shown on a map with a location directly to the right of the hotel several blocks wide that I shouldn't venture into, not very reassuring or inviting to hear on first checking in. Staff were very helpful but accomodations like one bathroom in the lobby that is locked and check in not till 3 leaves a rather long line. Also the resturant in the lobby closed, and being in an area with establishments that seedy looking as well leaves you to starve or go wothout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tired and sleepy traveler
Business
Dallas, TX
19 Jun 2012

Looks good but feels cheap

The room looked exactly like the picture online (clean, neat and modern), but the bed felt like it was 30 years old and had TONS of lumps and dipped in on each side so neither me nor my husband got any sleep. It felt like we were sleeping in a bowl. The parking was outrageous even if you were a guest at the hotel and the valet didn't even get our car for us when we were leaving and just hand us our keys and pointed at where the car was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top