£119.75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 6 Sep 2015 Check-out 9 Sep 2015

Cova Hotel

3 stars
View map of 655 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrtial
Business
San Diego, CA
24 Feb 2013

Good hotel, but really bad neighborhood

The hotel itself is good. Nice and clean for this price. But it located at a really bad neighborhood. I know there are many homeless people around civic center. It just far worse than I thought. I think if you have car. this place is okay for you. Otherwise, it will be better to find another places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarkPlanoTX
Business
DFW
4 Feb 2013

Over all good hotel.

Very near to city center. Parking is expensive at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hey jinny
Family
Oswego, NY
19 Jan 2013

Good but.. location is bad

Near this hotel, so many homeless peoples are staying.. But except location, everything is fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atomic 1098
Business
Copenhagen Denmark
15 Jan 2013

The Best of the Tenderloin

This is an excellent value in the heart of San Francisco if you don't mind it being in the middle of the Tenderloin section of town where all the vagrants live and hangout. The strategy is to not walk up and down Ellis Street. We walked up to O'Farrell or Geary to walk toward Union Square. The rooms were modern, the free wifi a real plus and the breakfast buffet was good for the price point of the hotel. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel if you can handle walking through the tenderloin. I walked alone at night and felt like it was ok but I think you take some risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium is a great vegetarian restaurant. Pricey but the fixed menu with wine pairing was outstanding. 580 Geary Street. Also, Cafe Mason on Mason is great for breakfast. Try the Huevos Rancheros

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin C.R.
Friends
Seattle
15 Jan 2013

Right location, right price, and stylish!

This hotel covers the basics: clean, snappy decor, and within walking distance to SF's many attractions. On the top floor you will find its large terrace and the breakfast room where you'll find cereal, made to order waffles (you make 'em yourself!), sandwich fixins, and an assortment of breakfast beverages. The Cova has every thing you need and nothing you don't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sanrro
Friends
san juan, pr
31 Dec 2012

excellent service

The personnel was extraordinary, but no air conditioning in the rooms an outside is noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kavon Pzn
Friends
Salt Lake City, Ut
11 Dec 2012

Dec 2012 Stay

This hotel offers a lot for its price. Free continental breakfast is good. Rooms and beds are both big in size. Only negatives is no A.C. in room and location is a little rough otherwise I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
color2bw
Single
SVN
18 Oct 2012

COVA Style

GOOD VALUE! FRIENDLY STUFF! USE COVA SHUTTLE! NICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bizzy Brett
Business
Washington, DC
24 Sep 2012

Not bad for the price

Make no mistake, this is an urban hotel. But, for the price and the location, it is not a bad trade off, at least for business or budget travelers. Fairly close to BART's Civic Center/UN stop. I was on the 2nd floor, so there was a fair amount of street noise in the morning, and the neighborhood is not great, but I never felt unsafe or that I couldn't sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The 8th floor has a very nice roofdeck with a view, where the breakfast is also served.

Review of Cova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki Tourist
Friends
San Bernardino, CA
10 Sep 2012

Great staff. but the hotel needs a little work

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. They helped me find good places to visit for food and places to see. I loved that the hotel had shuttle transportation to and from Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. All that aside, there's no free parking, so you have to pay $25 a day at the vale next to the hotel. Also, the room is pretty clean except for the marks on the walls and the way the tub paint peels off. None of these really effect the cleanliness of the room... the room is pretty clean, it's just a comment on presentation. Overall, the place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the shuttle to Union Square and ask the driver to show you where Sear's Fine Foods is located. The food is $$, but the people and the taste of the food is worth the price!

Back to menu Return to top