£108.57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in 1 Sep 2014 Check-out 2 Sep 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
349 reviews
great place to stay

clean and neat and the staff was friendly - it also was a convenient location to where we spent... See full review

  • Barbara Jo the traveler
  • 8 Jul 2014
Perfect

Perfect location and comfort close to everything!! See full review

  • Putt putt
  • 23 Feb 2014
Comprising two separate buildings, this Fisherman's Wharf hotel is situated within walking distance of Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and ferries to Alcatraz Island. The property features two on-site restaurants and an outdoor heated pool. It also offers complimentary limousine service to guests who stay on the Executive Club floor.
Highlights
  •     Located within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero
  •     Complimentary Wi-Fi
  •     Two on-site restaurants
  •     Pets welcome
Rooms
Accommodations -- 579 rooms and six suites -- span two adjacent buildings. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, hairdryers, ironing boards and in-room safes. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
A subtle nautical theme characterizes the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. In the lobby, for instance, seashells and crab icons are common themes. In the rooms, artwork depicts sailboats and other maritime vessels.
All hotel guests have complimentary access to the 24-hour business center, on-site fitness center and the outdoor heated pool.
There's also a sundeck that overlooks San Francisco Bay; it's a great spot to get a tan.
Two on-site restaurants provide endless dining options. At the Bristol Bar & Grill in the Columbus building, grab lobster ravioli or homemade clam chowder. A Denny's restaurant in the Beach building serves classic American fare 24 hours a day.
Self parking is available (fees apply).
Transportation
  •     San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  •     Oakland International Airport (45 minutes)
  •     Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  •     MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  •     Fisherman's Wharf
  •     Embarcadero
  •     Alcatraz Island
  •     Golden Gate Bridge
  •     Presidio

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business centre
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8065 -122.418
Nearby airports
San Francisco International, (SFO), 19.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Dining

Bristol Bar and Grill
You'll find only the freshest ingredients at Bristol Bar and Grill , located on the lobby level of our Columbus Avenue building. It's the perfect place for a quick breakfast, a business gathering or friendly after hours relaxation. When time is short you'

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (349)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
349 out of 349
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hotel from hell
san francisco wharft
15 Feb 2010

the good the bad and the ugly

was not a good experience. Heat did not work, bathroom door could not be opened from the inside. Got locked in for 15 minutes. My husband came back to the room, and had a hard time to open door from the outside. Had to call an ingenier numeres times. Sunday night about 12 am the fire alarm went off. Everybody ran outside. We stood in the cold about 30 minutes. Firemen left, nobody said a word what went on. Could not reach hotel guest sevice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WITHOUT GIFTS FOR KIDS
DENAIR, CA
8 Feb 2010

"DISHONEST MAID SERVICE

wE LEFT A BAG OF SOVINERS IN OUR ROOM WHEN WE CHECKED OUT, AFTER WE REALIZED WE HAD LEFT THEM WE WENT BACK A FEW HOURS LATER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THEM. THEY HADNT RESOLD THE ROOM SO NO PERSONS OTHER THAN THE MAID HAD BEEN IN THERE. THE MANAGER SAID SHE EVEN CHECKED THE LOST AND FOUND, YET ON ITEMS WERE NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. OVERALL IT WAS A NICE CLEAN HOTEL, THE FRONT DESK STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY, ITS SAD THAT THEY HAVE DISHONEST EMPLOYEES. IT WAS A BAG OF "STUFF" YET SOMEONE ON THERE STAFF CHOOSE TO KEEP IT AND NOT TURN IT IN. WONT STAY THERE AGAIN, IF THEY WILL KEEP A BAG OF TRINKETS I HATE TO THINK THAT IF IT WAS SOMETHING OF GREAT VALUE IT WOULD BE GONE TOOOOOOO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

DONT FORGET ANYTHING WHEN YOU CHECK OUT BECAUSE CHANCES ARE IT WONT BE THERE WHEN YOU GO BACK TO GET IT.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Pedro, CA
9 Jan 2010

Fantastic location

This hotel was perfectly situated for seeing the sites of San Francisco. Fisherman's Wharf and restaurants are only blocks away. North Beach is only a few blocks up from the Hotel with its Italian sites. The public transportation, i.e. cable cars or buses are just steps from the hotel which will take you to see the rest of the city. You should check with the hotel concierge to get your bearings on what you want to see and do and to obtain your passes for the transportation. Great services and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dixie F.
Powderly, Texas
4 Jan 2010

Good $,very accomodating,great location

This is an excellent trip. We have stayed there on 3 trips now. We choose this hotel for the clean rooms, friendly staff and the super great location. It is easy to walk to the Wharf frequently. It is located across the street from a bus stop and about a block from the trolley and Ghiradelli Square. It is fantastic. As long as the rates stay basically the same, I will always seek out this hotel. My family loves San Francisco. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Love to eat at Aliotos at the Wharf. Great service and food. Also, a longer walk or by bus we enjoy The Empress of China on Grant Street in China Town. It has a great view looking out over the city and Coit Tower. The food and service are terrific. And great shopping next door at the Bazaar for Jade, etc.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
groucho164
Fort Wayne, IN
1 Jan 2010

Close to tourist areas

Easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf attractions. Lots of restaurants nearby and close to cable car line. Check out the cool old ships at the Maritime Park and if you go to Alcatraz, go at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't need a car, don't rent one. Parking is at least 40 bucks a day at hotels and you can't fine anywhere to park around the city.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
31 Dec 2009

Nice Hotel With a Central Location

We spent a couple of days in San Francisco at the beginning of our two week CA vacation. We had never visited the city before, and I chose the Holiday Inn based on reviews and it's location. Well, we were not disappointed. The room was clean, large and ready when we arrived that morning. It was perfectly quiet at night, and we had a nice view as well. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was only a quick and easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39, the Powell/Hyde Cable Car and the MUNI. The staff was very friendly as well. There's also a small cafe in the lobby that sells breakfast pastries, and while it was pricey, the blueberry muffins were delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Dakota
10 Dec 2009

Great for visiting the local attractions

Great time. There were not problems. Good restaurant and good take back to room food services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Texas
1 Dec 2009

Nov Trip to San Fran

The staff was very nice and helpful. It is a great location becasue it is close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The wine train that goes through Napa is fantastic!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Park City, UT
30 Nov 2009

Will not stay at this Holiday Inn again

The best thing I can say about this hotel is the location to the Wharf - this was fabulous. But even the location won't bring me back to this Holiday Inn. Our sheets were dirty in our room, with a small streak of blood on them. We removed the sheets and asked for them to be remade after we left our room. When we returned, the bed was made, but with the same sheets!! So we stayed and watched them change the sheets but I was grossed out the remainder of the stay. The next morning after my husband got out of the shower, he removed a 'fresh' towel and said that the towels smelled like cigarettes. Not only did they smell like cigarettes to me, but it smelled like they cleaned the ash tray with this towel...it was more than just second hand smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are interested in going to Alcatraz, book this tour before you arrive in SF. We arrived on Wednesday and left Sunday. When we looked into tours on Wednesday they informed us the next tour was available on Sunday!

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pleasanton, CA
29 Nov 2009

SF trip Nov09

We enjoyed our 1 night stay in SF, during which we visited Exploratorium and the Academy of Sciences museum. Both these places were within a cable car and/or muni bus ride away. We enjoyed the multiple free rides on the muni bus as well as the cable car as part of the SF city pass deal, which I think is a steal!! Finally the best part was the time we spent at the Ghirardelli chocolate factory which was less than 5 mins walk from the hotel. We had ice cream at night after dinner and it was so nice to see so many people in that place during that time. All in all a great and memorable trip for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the city pass and you can save a bundle on seeing all the attractions and also for traveling withing the city.

Back to menu Return to top