£72.93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in 22 Dec 2014 Check-out 24 Dec 2014

Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

3 stars
1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
332 reviews
Good for families

Nice hotel for families on a vacation to San francisco. See full review

  • Caribwill
  • 26 Nov 2014
Great value for great location

Hotel is clean and seems to have had recent remodeling. I stayed at the annex building (with the... See full review

  • Efequis 15
  • 19 Nov 2014
Comprising two separate buildings, this Fisherman's Wharf hotel is situated within walking distance of Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and ferries to Alcatraz Island. The property features two on-site restaurants and an outdoor heated pool. It also offers complimentary limousine service to guests who stay on the Executive Club floor.
Highlights
  •     Located within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero
  •     Complimentary Wi-Fi
  •     Two on-site restaurants
  •     Pets welcome
Rooms
Accommodations -- 579 rooms and six suites -- span two adjacent buildings. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, hairdryers, ironing boards and in-room safes. Many also offer stunning views of San Francisco Bay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
A subtle nautical theme characterizes the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf. In the lobby, for instance, seashells and crab icons are common themes. In the rooms, artwork depicts sailboats and other maritime vessels.
All hotel guests have complimentary access to the 24-hour business center, on-site fitness center and the outdoor heated pool.
There's also a sundeck that overlooks San Francisco Bay; it's a great spot to get a tan.
Two on-site restaurants provide endless dining options. At the Bristol Bar & Grill in the Columbus building, grab lobster ravioli or homemade clam chowder. A Denny's restaurant in the Beach building serves classic American fare 24 hours a day.
Self parking is available (fees apply).
Transportation
  •     San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  •     Oakland International Airport (45 minutes)
  •     Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  •     MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  •     Fisherman's Wharf
  •     Embarcadero
  •     Alcatraz Island
  •     Golden Gate Bridge
  •     Presidio

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business centre
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8065 -122.418
Nearby airports
San Francisco International, (SFO), 19.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.7 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.7 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • SoMa: 2.1 mi

Dining

Bristol Bar and Grill
You'll find only the freshest ingredients at Bristol Bar and Grill , located on the lobby level of our Columbus Avenue building. It's the perfect place for a quick breakfast, a business gathering or friendly after hours relaxation. When time is short you'

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, MA
14 Nov 2009

A pleasant stay

Fantastic location, 5 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and all the great attractions. Maybe 30 minutes walk to Coit Tower. A nice clean room, quiet and reasonably priced. Average size. Good concierge service , a desk in the lobby with a concierge ready to answer any questions and help with arrangements. A good breakfast buffet right in the hotel was very convenient. Parking in the hotel lot was a bit expensive , $35 per day. Maybe this is normal for sf in this area, I don't know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try a late dinner at Alioto's on the Wharf. They are open until 11 with great food and fantastic bay views

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lilmomma
Business
Bayville, NJ
10 Nov 2009

Just OK

The location was fabulous. The hotel room was extremely noisy. From the street noise to the toilet flush that would have woken the dead, we didn't sleep for 2 nights. We asked for a room change and were accommadated with no problem (although it was 2 double beds and not the king that we reserved) at the Holiday Inn bldg next door. Both rooms were clean and service was very good. I would not recommend this hotel, but I would for the one next door (with the Denny's resturant).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We walked the Golden Gate Bridge and went to the Disney Family Museum. It was difficult to find, but well worth the time.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bakersfield, ca
9 Nov 2009

trip

They were very accomadating and helpful. Staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 Nov 2009

Good experience

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is conveniently located for access to many local attractions. The room and beds were very clean and comfortable, and the coffee in the room was very good. We went shopping and had lunch at Ghirardelli Square and shopped at Pier 39 nearby. We ate at the Buena Vista Cafe about 3 blocks away, took the boat tour of the bay, spent time on the muni buses and cable cars to go to other points of interest. I thought that the menu prices at the in-hotel Denny's were exhorbitant. My friend and I ate a $4 bowl of soup there one night, and we shared an $8 breakfast one morning. The other menu items were overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the Buena Vista Cafe nearby; the chili was excellent and inexpensive and the waitress was extremely nice and helpful. I also recommend Lori's Diner at Ghirardelli Square; we had lunch overlooking the bay and had numerous choices of salads and sandwiches that were moderately priced.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LVRider
Business
Las Vegas NV
1 Nov 2009

SF in 3 days

We went there to see the musical Wicked, and had a great time. Staff was courteous and helpful. It ranks up there with the other trips to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Razz's Mom
Business
Kansas
26 Oct 2009

The Good and the Bad

The hotel was noisy at night the majority of the 4 nights we stayed. There were not enough plug ins for electronic items. We had a housekeeping issue and none of the housekeeping persons sent to our room spoke English well enough to be of assistance. The location is great for going to the wharf and for access to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
6 Oct 2009

holiday inn fishermans wharf

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raider Fan
Business
Illinois
30 Sep 2009

Location location

Been there multiple times because of the location. Near shopping and multiple public transit spots for San Francisco (Muni buses or trolleys or Bart). This latest time, they now have free internet, which is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PAMAP
Business
Dillsburg, PA
24 Sep 2009

GREAT Locaction Location Location

We walked to most site seeing attractions, but did take conveniently located transit such as Tour Bus & Trolley on a few occasions which are very reasonably in price if get a multi-day pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 39 Harbor Seal Viewing

Review of Holiday Inn SAN FRANCISCO-FISHERMANS WHARF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wine sipper Sandra
Business
Woodbridge California
21 Sep 2009

Girls overnight out

The Holiday Inn staff were very helpful and hospitable. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable to sleep in. We loved the location of the hotel, it was 2 blocks from the Wharf and walking distance to North Beach and a trolley ride to Market St. and China Town. I would definitely come back and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We would suggest crossing the street and having breakfast at Paragimos. They have the best waffles in the city and great coffee.

Back to menu Return to top