£105.70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 21 Apr 2014 Check-out 22 Apr 2014

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
122 reviews
Amazing hotel

Everything was great! From the friendly staff, clean room, and location. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend See full review

  • MRSNRM
  • 8 Apr 2014
Great Hotel located right at Union Square

Booked this hotel last minute and still got really great prices! The staff are all incredibly nice... See full review

  • MRSNRM
  • 7 Apr 2014
Eco-friendly hotel near Union Square and steps from cable cars

As its name suggests, the residential-style Orchard Hotel is all about the environment. The boutique hotel was San Francisco's first hotel to become LEED-EB certified by the U.S. Green Building Council, and it continues to tout a number of eco-friendly programs today. The hotel was built in 2000, and rooms still feel brand-new. Daffodil, the on-site restaurant, serves a variety of cuisines from all over the world.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly programs and organic bath products
  • Walk to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
  • Complimentary business and fitness centers
Rooms

Relax and rejuvenate in one of the Orchard's 104 rooms, including nine suites. Armoires feature state-of-the-art DVD and CD entertainment centers and 27-inch flat-screen televisions. Guests will find large work desks, complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi and fully stocked mini-bars. Designed specifically for the Orchard, most of the furniture is made of wood from Bali. Bathrooms boast organic bath products.

Features

The Orchard opened in 2000, making it one of the newest boutique hotels in San Francisco. When it opened, it became the city's first LEED-EB certified hotel. Since then, the property has collected a number of other accolades for its commitment to eco-friendly practices. The Orchard continues to refine its approach to green.

Art is a common theme inside; a bronze-cast statue entitled "Spring Awakening" welcomes visitors to the lobby, and paintings and photographs in hallways upstairs are from local artists.

While the on-site fitness is complimentary, guests also have access to a handful of independent fitness facilities within walking distance (fees apply).

Dining

Daffodil, the eclectic on-site eatery, pairs seasonal and local organic cuisine with wines from all over the world. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, though a happy hour menu spotlights a number of tapas-style small plate dishes.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (20 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Executive boardroom is perfect for small meetings (seats 18)
  • Wine Room available at the on-site Daffodil restaurant
  • Special "Green Meeting" package
  • Complimentary Business Center
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Orchard Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
The cozy yet sizeable accommodations offer a timeless contemporary design using a soft palate of restful colors in the wall, floor coverings and fabrics. Designed specifically for the rooms, the furniture is made of nyatoh wood from Bali, a golden toned wood that resembles a teak or a light mahogany. Armoires contain state of the art DVD and CD players with five speakers, a 27-inch TV with surround sound. The desk has excellent lighting and the two phones in the room have two lines with voicemail; one phone is cordless.

The wall art is beautifully framed artistic black and white photography depicting elements of San Francisco architecture and scenery.

Safety and convenience for guests includes safes in all closets, a minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, and a coffee maker.

Well-lighted, spacious baths feature Eco-pure bath products, hair dryers, and thick, cotton robes.

Grand Deluxe King Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper.
Grand Deluxe Twin/Twin Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper
Pure Hypo- Allergenic Deluxe King Room
Although all of our rooms follow a strict protocol for cleanliness, this Pure King Room has been specially treated to provide you with a hypo-allergenic space. PURE rooms provide our guests with fresh, clean, crisp air that allows you to have a better night sleep. This rooms includes all the amenities or our Deluxe King Room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.79 -122.4084
Area served
Located on Bush Street, adjacent to the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from Union Square and midway up Nob Hill
Nearby airports
(SFO) San Francisco (OAK)Oakland (SJC)San Jose
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination...a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Hotel is up to the challenge.

The Orchard is just steps from the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from the shopping mecca of Union Square and mid way up Nob Hill...in the midst of the pulse of San Francisco.

Take 101 north all the way into downtown San Francisco. As you enter downtown, stay in left lanes on 101 north, towards Golden Gate Bridge. Take the 9th Street exit, which exits right onto 9th Street. Stay in center or right lanes as you pass over Market Street. 9th becomes Larkin Street. Go up 11 blocks to Bush Street, make a right, go six blocks and cross Powell Street. We are the second building on the right side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Board Room is a private environment on the second floor, and comfortably seats 18 people around a specially designed board table, outfitted with modem access portals mounted in a center trough. Every detail has been thought through from lighting that is on rheostat and conducive to an all day meeting, to audio-visual assistance that is available at all times, swivel chairs that are ergonomically designed, and a restful color scheme. The Executive Board Room offers exceptional dining from Vignette's kitchen

Dining

Daffodil Restaurant
Daffodil Restaurant features a Modern American regional cuisine with French and Italian influences. Dine from a la carte menu or the prix fixe, all featuring sumptuous fresh seafood and tender meats accented with unique sauces and fresh vegetables. Decadents desserts complete the meal. Tabletops are appointed with Frette linens, Rosenthal, Isabel Lam and an array of unique china patterns. Jeweled handled Athena pattern silverware by Corby-Hall adds to the whimsical presentation framing Chef Feldeisen's creations. Breakfast service from 6am to 10am weekdays and 7am to 11am on weekends and holidays. Daffodil is closed for dinner; however the Bar is open from 5:30pm - 10:30pm and it offers a limited bar menu.
Daffodil
Daffodil Restaurant pairs the Bay Area's best seasonal cuisine with great wines from around the world - with a bit of a twist. We're offering small plates matched with an ample pour of a friendly wine that brings out the best flavors of the food.

A glass walled, private dining room featuring beautiful displays of one-of-a-kind wines can accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Bar is covered in reddish brown granite with high bar chairs. Whimsical lighting hangs over the bar and drama is created with an amazing array of inset lighting throughout the restaurant. Fine wines by the glass or bottle, an extensive choice of whole leaf teas, and specialty cocktails compliment each food selection.

Bar
Renowned Daffodil Restaurant and Bar is a gathering spot for the neighborhood, hotel guests, and those seeking one of the finest dining experiences in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
RRson
Central Florida
23 Apr 2012

Great spot - Great value

This charming hotel has it all...great location and wonderful rooms, at a price that would be hard to beat. The rooms are spacious, clean and well stocked, with free wifi to boot. Staff was courteous and helpful. This place gets 5 starts from us. The only reason "amenities" didn't get 5 stars is the television was old, though it worked fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the cable car multi-day pass.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Tampa
9 Jul 2008

Great Hotel!

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it! The staff was super friendly-gave us tips for restaurants, directions, and advice on things to do. The room was very comfortable, extremely clean, and we loved the turndown service. Loved that we could borrow DVD movies from the front desk on those nights we were too exhausted to go out! Location was terrific, very close to Union Square shopping and Chinatown! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York, NY
19 Apr 2008

Great location and staff!

We stayed at the Orchard Hotel from 4/12/08-4/19/08. The location is steps away from union square, transportation, and restaurants. The Walgreens open 24 hours around the corner was very convenient. There are also 2 laundry/dry cleaners within 2 blocks away if you are staying for an extended period of time. The staff was just excellent. They were courteous and very friendly. The rooms were modern, spacious and very clean. The price for the loaction was very reasonable and we will definitely choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We stayed for a week and we bought City Passes that came with attraction discounts and a Muni pass that covered bus/train rides for 7 days. We took buses almost everywhere since it was much more convenient and cheaper than renting a car.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Take Me To The Bridge
Alaska
27 Nov 2010

Great location

My husband and I really loved our stay at the Orchard. They were able to accomidate us with an early check-in. All of the staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel was perfect. We had a general store, laundry facility, cable car, and restaurants less than a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Renting a vehicle is definitely not necessary in San Francisco. Cabs are readily available and public transportation can get you were you need to be. If you are not into walking up hill, I would advise that a multiple day pass be purchased for the cable car as one way trips can get spendy and the passes are more reasonable.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
College Park
5 Jan 2009

Nice Place to Stay

The Orchard Hotel was a very nice place to stay for the price we paid. The staff was helpful and treated us well. The room was larger than we expected. The hotel was clean, modern, and nicely kept. The wireless internet worked well and we could use the mini bar fridge to store our own things in our room. The hotel restaurant was very overpriced. The neighborhood around the hotel had lots of dinning and shopping options and it was easy to access public transportation to get out and explore the city. The only real inconvenience for this hotel was you had to climb half way up Nob Hill to reach it. However, it is hard to avoid hills when traveling in San Francisco! We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Lexington, KY
15 Feb 2008

clean, friendly, well located hotel.

My daughter and I loved this hotel. It was close to union square, nob hill, north beach and the cable car lines. it was an easy walk to the embarcadero too. The staff was very friendly and eager to help out with directions and recommendations. Our room was clean and nicely appointed with a good size bathroom. Also, the room was quiet which is nice for the guests with jet lag. I would stay at the Orchard again and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sears, which is a wonderful breafast place is right around the corner. we ate their twice it was so good.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Thisnicknamestuffisstupid
CT
3 Jun 2013

Perfect spot in the heart of the city

Clean, efficient, good size room, quiet, no better place to be for getting around the city on public transportation. We'll go back next time we are in SF for sure. Staff was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a day or a week pass to all muni transportation - save a lot of money, especially here, half way up the hill on Bush, immediately the Powell cable car lines

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
wash dc
23 Jul 2009

Decent central place

Good staff, bed, shower, decent sound proofing. Free, but poor internet. Central location for catching city bus or trolley to anywhere. If coming from BART note that it's five-six blocks with the last block very up hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
9 Mar 2009

Perfection!

The staff was very professional and helpful. The doorman/concierge was most helpful. The hotel had an older charm yet very clean and comfortable. It was so much better than a chain hotel. We would most definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was the best feature of this hotel. It is right around the corner from Powell St. and the cable car line. It was perfect for getting wherever we needed to go.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Guadalajara
12 Apr 2007

Very family friendly,

it was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

realy nearby the hotel

Back to menu Return to top