£104.11 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 30 May 2016 Check-out 31 May 2016

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosenyny
Family
New York, New York
26 Dec 2012

Charming Hotel in Charming Union Square, SF

We spent one very lovely evening at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel on Union Square in between visiting family up and down California. The room is very stylishly appointed with great beds, pillows, and linens. The only down side for room amenities was there was no coffee maker or mini-refrigerator in the room. The other disappointment was that the Starlight room is closed on Sunday nights so we were not able to enjoy any time there. We were looking forward to having a cocktail there and taking in the view. Oh well, on another stay. Otherwise it was a really nice holiday splurge to stay here the one night. Got a good price for the one night. Additionally, valet parking including tax was $57 per night. That seems steep even for San Francisco and I live in Manhattan. The staff at the hotel are all super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would definitely recommend Piazza Pelligrini in the North Beach neighborhood for a good Italian meal (about a mile walk from Union Square). It's on the corner of Washington Square on Columbus and Green I think. Very fun and charming wait staff and great food and lots of it for the price.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parvez23
Couples
Burlingame CA
17 Dec 2012

Solid Elegance

Overall we had a great time. Amazing location, right smack in the heart of Union Square area of San Francisco. The room was very comfortable. Only downside was our bathroom was super small. It was a solid stay for the price we got. If I were to have paid more I would of been a bit disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBSHERM
Couples
Kansas City
13 Dec 2012

Perfect SF Union Square

We arrived 4 hours before check in and the gracious young man at the front desk was able to check us in! On a Friday! Great location to check out and explore all of SF. Room was small, but very well appointed and clean! Overall a great value for the price. Only suprise, $50 to vallet the car overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparky George
Couples
San Francisco, Ca
9 Dec 2012

Great for Union Square shopping.

Very nice and elegant. Staff was very friendly. Great location for Union Square shopping and sight seeing. The room and bathroom were very small, but I figured with a last minute reservation the better rooms were taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF expat
Couples
Seattle WA
24 Nov 2012

Convienent to all things downtown

The main entry has stairs which lead to a grand lobby which is also a bar. Many different kinds of seating create an inviting atmosphere for many kinds of visitors. We got in late and after unpacking went to the bar/lobby for a glass of wine. The rooms were clean, not too garish and had all the usual things one expects in a hotel. The bathroom is teensy. If you're a large person, good luck with sitting on the toilet without your knee on one wall and your shoulder pushed up against the vanity on the other side. At least you won't get lost in there! Starbucks right next door, Walgreen's 24 hr. drugstore across the street. We didn't eat in their restaurant, but it looked good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a more SF kind of coffee experience, go down the street to Union Square. Walk across the square and find an Italian coffee bistro with delicious coffee, pastries and sandwiches made fresh daily. Seating inside or out, with lots of space for people watching.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen K.
Couples
Mount Joy, PA
20 Oct 2012

Charming Hotel

This was my first trip to SF and we decided on the Sir Francis Drake because of its location and charm. Located by a cable car stop which was great. I read some prior reviews where people complained about how loud it was. I found that you got used to the sound and it was quite charming. My thought is if you book a hotel that has a cable car stop out front, you shouldn't expect it to be quiet. In fact, the hotel is in the city so it's not quiet at all. I liked the sounds of the city. Room was clean but small especially the bathroom but it served its purpose for our trip. The staff is awesome and the doormen are great. They were always willing to answer questions we had especially how to get around the city. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a charming place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out John's Grill. It's a little pricey but the food and service was excellent.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Copernicus
Single
ATL
8 Oct 2012

Not Good

For the price ($350/night) the value was abismal: Hair on the shower wall Painfully slow elevator Big crowds in the hotel no mini-bar in room no bath robes pay for internet etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeRezd
Couples
Denver, CO
7 Sep 2012

Fantastic historic hotel

Our stay at this hotel was great. The customer service at check-in surpassed our expectations. The gentleman who was assisting us with choosing a room was nice enough to explain the layout of the building, which rooms had the best views, and which rooms were the quietest (there's a nightclub on the top floor of the hotel). He was even nice enough to upgrade our room to a junior suite. The room was spacious, clean, decorated beautifully, and the bathroom was huge. Overall, the hotel was in a great central location, and the cable car stop was right outside which was super convenient. We would definitely stay there again if we found ourselves back in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blc187
Couples
New York City
4 Sep 2012

small and noisy but clean with lots of character

I booked a historic queen room at this hotel because the photos looked amazing. Walking in, the lobby is gorgeous and has an awesome bar. The room itself was about 8x10, not room for anything more than a bed, dresser, and chair. Bed was comfy, toiletries were great. My complaint was that it was the room right next to the elevator and the walls rattled so loudly all night long. Fine if you're a heavy sleeper, otherwise request a different room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest plus
Family
Drake Hotel San Francisco
4 Sep 2012

Father Daughter trip

the bathroom was tinny, the windows are single glazed and you could hear noise from the street all night. A coffee bar and refrigerator would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top