£127.89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 13 Jul 2014 Check-out 14 Jul 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
221 reviews
The Perfect Hotel

It was my Birthday trip to San Francisco. We were immediately up-grated upon arrival to a bigger... See full review

  • BrowneyesMan
  • 21 Jun 2014
Awesome getaway

Perfect location, right across Sears Restaurant and next to Starbucks and Walgreen and trolleys! See full review

  • Nike Woman Runner
  • 23 Oct 2013
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Location

The hotel is situated in Downtown, near the theatres, Financial District and Moscone Convention Centre.

Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa

Amenities

  • High speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - Continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business centre
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Cable or sat. TV
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeRezd
Denver, CO
7 Sep 2012

Fantastic historic hotel

Our stay at this hotel was great. The customer service at check-in surpassed our expectations. The gentleman who was assisting us with choosing a room was nice enough to explain the layout of the building, which rooms had the best views, and which rooms were the quietest (there's a nightclub on the top floor of the hotel). He was even nice enough to upgrade our room to a junior suite. The room was spacious, clean, decorated beautifully, and the bathroom was huge. Overall, the hotel was in a great central location, and the cable car stop was right outside which was super convenient. We would definitely stay there again if we found ourselves back in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest plus
Drake Hotel San Francisco
4 Sep 2012

Father Daughter trip

the bathroom was tinny, the windows are single glazed and you could hear noise from the street all night. A coffee bar and refrigerator would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blc187
New York City
4 Sep 2012

small and noisy but clean with lots of character

I booked a historic queen room at this hotel because the photos looked amazing. Walking in, the lobby is gorgeous and has an awesome bar. The room itself was about 8x10, not room for anything more than a bed, dresser, and chair. Bed was comfy, toiletries were great. My complaint was that it was the room right next to the elevator and the walls rattled so loudly all night long. Fine if you're a heavy sleeper, otherwise request a different room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Montana Doc
Billings, MT
27 Aug 2012

Weekend in San Fran

The Sir Francis Drake is convenient, cordial and very accommodating to guests. I love the old style lobby bar and seating, where we sat and visited with our family for hours. Our room was beautiful, with ample room. The staff is helpful beyond belief. Stay below the 20th floor, for the Starlight lounge on the 21st is hopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Farallon! A block and a half walk to exquisite dining.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ninette
chicago
20 Aug 2012

very good location

excellent location for this quite expensive hotel. rooms are not very spacious for a family with 2 kids, but that's ok.the bathroom is very very tiny..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lairdman
Business
Provo, Utah
19 Aug 2012

Business traveller

I enjoyed my stay at the Sir Francis Drake. The room was small, but clean. It was perfect for a business traveller that needed a place to rest his head. The hotel is located a block away from Union Square, right next to the Cable Car tracks, and within easy walking distance of downtown. There are also many restaurants within walking distance. The closest are an Italian bistro and a Starbucks. There is quite a bit of noise from the street level. If loud noises bother you, bring earplugs or ask for a room on a higher floor. Be sure and bring a jacket with you. San Francisco can be windy and foggy. I brought my jacket with me everywhere, and was glad I did on several occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a "Go Green" program. If you decline housekeeping, they will give you a $10 gift card good for several locations, including Scala's Bistro next door. As a business traveller, I didn't feel the need for daily housekeeping, and I enjoyed getting $10 off of my breakfast each day.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bert1208
Business
Chicago
14 Aug 2012

Business Trip

Easy check in. Very hospitable at front desk. Concierge found a great little French bistro last minute for dinner. Had breakfast at Scala's two days. Good wait staff and food. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to grab Powell St cable in front of hotel down to the wharf area.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debbie murphy
Business
tennessee
10 Jul 2012

old world charm with exquisite service

The Sir Francis Drake is elegant, old-fashioned, clean, and conveniently located just by Union Square. Close to shopping, cable cars, great restaurants, and more. Don't expect a modern hotel with huge rooms, because mine was quite small. However, it was adequate, and I'm sure I could have had something larger - for more money. Exceptionally helpful staff, starting at the front door. The restaurant was lovely and elegant. Limo service to the airport costs the same as a cab. My experience at the Drake is one I will not soon forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janie D B
Santa Barbara, California
2 Jul 2012

Well past its prime

I stayed at this hotel years ago, and I have to say it is not what it used to be. The beautiful lobby gives a glimpse of its former glory, but it seems to have fallen on hard times. The rooms are noisy (I requested moves twice, and still had noise), and it is understaffed. I waited over an hour for a bellman to bring up bags, and finally went down to get them myself. There are not enough elevators, so there are long waits every time you want to go somewhere. The only saving grace is the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bistro attached to the hotel is very good and reasonably priced.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sister's getaway
Vancouver, BC
29 May 2012

Absolutely terrific!!

The front desk was friendly, helpful and full of information. The room was comfortable and the location couldn't have been more convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bellini's for breakfast. Just about two blocks down the hill.

Back to menu Return to top