£103.93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 9 Apr 2015 Check-out 11 Apr 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug H.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
24 Jan 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

My friend and I came in for the 49ers/Green Bay Playoff game and stayed here. Great hotel, great staff, nice location. Bar on the roof is definitely pricey but its a fantastic view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug H.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
14 Jan 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

This is the second year in a row a friend and I have gone up to San Francisco for a weekend to watch the 49ers play in a playoff game, but this was our first stay at the Sir Francis Drake, and I have to say, I wish we had stayed there last year. The hotel is centrally located for nightlife/activities of pretty much any preference. Despite it being an older hotel the rooms are not so small as to be confused with closets with beds. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant and Starlight room are very elegant and the view is spectacular. Unfortunately elegant also means expensive in this case but I recommend going up to the starlight room for at least 1 drink and the view anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to walk from the hotel to fisherman's wharf, although it its tempting, dont walk up powell. Its far easier (read: less hilly) to walk over to stockton and then up stockton past chinatown. It takes a little longer but is far easier on the knees.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick from Philly
Business
Philadelphia, PA
1 Jan 2013

Classic hotel near Union Square

The gentlemen who wear the Beefeater's uniform in front of the hotel know the hotel, area and city inside and out, and are a terrific sales pitch. The hotel is clean, beautiful and well-located a block from Union Square and with stops for the cable car lines immediately in front of it. The price seemed reasonable for mid-town San Francisco, though parking at $50 is not. I would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cable car once for the charm of it (at $6 per person one way), then walk 3 blocks to the bus that runs along Market St and the Embarcadero to Fisherman's Wharf. It costs $2 or 75 cents (for kids, all students or for the elderly) each way and only takes 5 more minutes. All students, even over the age of 17, can travel at the reduced rate.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosenyny
Business
New York, New York
26 Dec 2012

Charming Hotel in Charming Union Square, SF

We spent one very lovely evening at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel on Union Square in between visiting family up and down California. The room is very stylishly appointed with great beds, pillows, and linens. The only down side for room amenities was there was no coffee maker or mini-refrigerator in the room. The other disappointment was that the Starlight room is closed on Sunday nights so we were not able to enjoy any time there. We were looking forward to having a cocktail there and taking in the view. Oh well, on another stay. Otherwise it was a really nice holiday splurge to stay here the one night. Got a good price for the one night. Additionally, valet parking including tax was $57 per night. That seems steep even for San Francisco and I live in Manhattan. The staff at the hotel are all super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would definitely recommend Piazza Pelligrini in the North Beach neighborhood for a good Italian meal (about a mile walk from Union Square). It's on the corner of Washington Square on Columbus and Green I think. Very fun and charming wait staff and great food and lots of it for the price.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parvez23
Business
Burlingame CA
17 Dec 2012

Solid Elegance

Overall we had a great time. Amazing location, right smack in the heart of Union Square area of San Francisco. The room was very comfortable. Only downside was our bathroom was super small. It was a solid stay for the price we got. If I were to have paid more I would of been a bit disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBSHERM
Business
Kansas City
13 Dec 2012

Perfect SF Union Square

We arrived 4 hours before check in and the gracious young man at the front desk was able to check us in! On a Friday! Great location to check out and explore all of SF. Room was small, but very well appointed and clean! Overall a great value for the price. Only suprise, $50 to vallet the car overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparky George
Business
San Francisco, Ca
9 Dec 2012

Great for Union Square shopping.

Very nice and elegant. Staff was very friendly. Great location for Union Square shopping and sight seeing. The room and bathroom were very small, but I figured with a last minute reservation the better rooms were taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling PT
Business
Florida
25 Nov 2012

Great girl's stay

Comfortable rooms, great service,awesome location,definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the great transit system

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF expat
Business
Seattle WA
24 Nov 2012

Convienent to all things downtown

The main entry has stairs which lead to a grand lobby which is also a bar. Many different kinds of seating create an inviting atmosphere for many kinds of visitors. We got in late and after unpacking went to the bar/lobby for a glass of wine. The rooms were clean, not too garish and had all the usual things one expects in a hotel. The bathroom is teensy. If you're a large person, good luck with sitting on the toilet without your knee on one wall and your shoulder pushed up against the vanity on the other side. At least you won't get lost in there! Starbucks right next door, Walgreen's 24 hr. drugstore across the street. We didn't eat in their restaurant, but it looked good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a more SF kind of coffee experience, go down the street to Union Square. Walk across the square and find an Italian coffee bistro with delicious coffee, pastries and sandwiches made fresh daily. Seating inside or out, with lots of space for people watching.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen K.
Business
Mount Joy, PA
20 Oct 2012

Charming Hotel

This was my first trip to SF and we decided on the Sir Francis Drake because of its location and charm. Located by a cable car stop which was great. I read some prior reviews where people complained about how loud it was. I found that you got used to the sound and it was quite charming. My thought is if you book a hotel that has a cable car stop out front, you shouldn't expect it to be quiet. In fact, the hotel is in the city so it's not quiet at all. I liked the sounds of the city. Room was clean but small especially the bathroom but it served its purpose for our trip. The staff is awesome and the doormen are great. They were always willing to answer questions we had especially how to get around the city. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a charming place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out John's Grill. It's a little pricey but the food and service was excellent.

Back to menu Return to top