£90.39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in 1 May 2016 Check-out 2 May 2016

Capitol Skyline Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 I Street SW, Washington, DC 20024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
419 reviews
Hidden Gem

This hotel may look shabby on the outside, but I was pleasantly surprised when we walked in. It was... See full review

  • Michelle B.
  • 9 Apr 2016
Once a year

I stay at this hotel whenever in DC. I find the staff very helpful and courteous. See full review

  • Thehatmann
  • 22 Jan 2016

During your stay at Capitol Skyline Hotel in Washington DC, you ll be provided with luxurious accommodations as well as some fun. At the Capitol Skyline s pool, you can enjoy a day relaxing in the water and sunning in a plush lounge chairs while you enjoy drinks and food from the poolside bar and restaurant. Whether you like to start your day with a workout or unwind for the day on a treadmill, you ll have access to the hotel s 24-hour fitness center. When choosing a room, guests have a choice of a standard guest room or suite. Each room comes furnished with a spacious work desk and coffee maker, and you ll also be provided with complimentary wireless Internet.

Highlights

Key facts

The smoke-free hotel is conveniently located 4 miles from the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). The hotel offers a courtesy shuttle to and from the airport throughout the day. The shuttle can also take you to nearby attractions and the Metro station, giving you direct access to the abundant historical sites in the nation's capital and neighboring states of Maryland and Virginia. Within walking distance of the hotel, you can visit the U.S. Capitol Building, Washington Marina and the Smithsonian Institution museums. If you re a baseball fanatic, travel three blocks south of the hotel to watch the Washington Nationals play.

Policies
  • Self parking available at $30 USD plus tax per night.
  • Rollaway beds are subject to availability at a fee of $15 USD per night payable directly at the hotel.
  • No pets allowed.
  • Effective March 21, 2016, minimum age requirement at check in is 21 years old. Individuals or minors below 21 years of age must be accompanied by an adult 21 years old or above to book and check-in at the property.
  • Family Plan - Children under 17 years of age stay free with an accompanied adult.
  • Early Checkout - $175 plus tax
  • Late Checkout - $75 plus tax
  • Extra Adult - $20 plus tax
  • Crib - Free
  • Standard Food and Beverage Gratuity - 20%
  • Food and Beverage Tax - 10%

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Capitol Skyline Hotel location and nearby area

Recommended hotels

Customers who viewed Capitol Skyline Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
£103
3.8 / 5 440 customer reviews
★★★★
£106
4.0 / 5 141 customer reviews
★★★★
£86
4.0 / 5 471 customer reviews
★★★
£68
3.8 / 5 399 customer reviews
★★★
£117
3.9 / 5 286 customer reviews
★★★★
£106
4.1 / 5 74 customer reviews
★★★★
£124
4.0 / 5 318 customer reviews
★★★★
£99
4.1 / 5 473 customer reviews
★★★
£50
3.8 / 5 315 customer reviews

Capitol Skyline Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Deluxe Double/Double Rooms at the Capitol Skyline Hotel feature two double beds and views of either our swimming pool and the Nationals Baseball Stadium or downtown Washington city streets. All have ample sitting areas and workspace for your Washington, DC lodging comfort.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness centre or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business centre
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.4 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Navy Yard: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.7 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.9 mi
  • Marine Corps Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Freer Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.3 mi
  • Union Station: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.5 mi

Dining

Lapidus Restaurant & Lounge
Capitol Skyline Hotel guests will enjoy hearty American fare in our restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lapidus features a diverse menu to satisfy familie s and sophisticated palettes. The Hotel also offers delightful poolside dining and weekend barbeques. Catering by Lapidus in our banquet rooms for every occasion.
Skyline Lounge
Overlooking the fabulous pool and deck. Relax and unwind with friends and colleagues in our casual Skyline Lounge serving a full bar of spirits, drinks and wines. Enjoy a martini after work or meet up with friends before exploring the nation's capital or going to the Washington Nationals baseball games (3 blocks from hotel). Relax with a cool drink or snack as you lounge by the sparkling outdoor swimming pool at Capitol Skyline Hotel. You'll discover a peaceful paradise in the heart one of the most vibrant cities in the country.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next elegant meeting, conference, or event at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, offering 40 years of hosting successful events and meetings at the best of Washington DC hotels. Whether you are planning a wedding celebration, a business meeting, corporate event, seminar, conference or gala reception, the beautifully renovated Capitol Skyline Hotel delivers a stylish, sophisticated environment for every occasion when it comes to DC events. Our luxurious Washington DC hotel features 5,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space divided into six versatile rooms and halls that can accommodate up to 500 guests for your DC event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
15:00
Check-out:
12:00

Terms and conditions

Extra charges may apply for children. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the quoted rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Skyline Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
419 out of 419
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle B.
Family
N/A
9 Apr 2016

Hidden Gem

This hotel may look shabby on the outside, but I was pleasantly surprised when we walked in. It was beautiful. The room was comfortable and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thehatmann
Business
N/A
22 Jan 2016

Once a year

I stay at this hotel whenever in DC. I find the staff very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karl
Couples
N/A
18 Dec 2015

Great hotel in good location

My girlfriend and I stayed here in December, and it was a great experience. Hotel was clean and friendly, room was very big. Breakfast and parking were included (I think we got a deal when booking), but breakfast was a buffet of eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, yogurt, etc. Close enough to walk to the capitol in ~15 minutes. There is a shuttle that takes you TO the downtown (does not pick you up though), but only before 10am, mon-sat, and some days it just wasn't running. Hotel staff were very friendly. Didn't know too much about the city, but were very willing to look it up for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stayed for work..
Business
Phoenixville
10 Dec 2015

ok, but needs improvement.

I have stayed here several times and this is a true 3 star hotel. Nothing terrible, but nothing great either. It's an older hotel and it shows. My reason for staying hear is my proximity to my client and price, which in off season can be as low as $75/night with onsite parking AND breakfast included. I could not justify a stay at the Capital Skyline for anything over $150. Here are the facts: The pros: The staff is always professional and helpful. The new windows have reduced street and highway noise (it's very near Rt. 695) considerably. The buffet breakfast is decent. Cons: The mattresses are inconsistent. Some beds are fine, others way to soft and lack support. The comforters are a wisp. Not good if you like something substantial or weighty. There are no coffee makers in the room. This really stands out when most 2 star hotels even provide this basic amenity. Location is borderline unsafe. If you venture out on foot, do not walk west (or South, really). There was a drive by shooting 2 blocks west just a few months ago. On the other hand, if you go east, you are only a few blocks from a cool neighborhood with a handful of nice places to eat and not to far from the SE waterfront. While the underground onsite parking is convenient, it's also dank, dirty and a little scary. I am always expecting to see a rat as big as my luggage lurking around the corner. As of yet, I have not seen one, though that might be due to the large rat trap they have set out. So if it is high season and they are asking $175+ a night (no parking/breakfast included), and you are in town to see the sites, spend a little extra and stay somewhere else and enjoy yourself. Btw, the pool is nice, however when they open it in summer it also serves the neighborhood community pool as well as the hotel guests. The hotel sells passes to the public at large, and the party goes until 10pm. It's not exactly a family atmosphere.. They are currently under much needed room renovations. While I was there two top floors, 6 & 7, were closed to guests. I was told the entire hotel will be complete by mid-April. This is nice, however the day before my arrival there was a murder about 3 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stayed for work..
Business
Phoenixville
6 Dec 2015

So it's not so bad...

I have stayed here several times and this is a true 3 star hotel. Nothing terrible, but nothing great either. It's an older hotel and it shows. My reason for staying hear is my proximity to my client and price, which in off season can be as low as $75/night with onsite parking AND breakfast included. I could not justify a stay at the Capital Skyline for anything over $150. Here are the facts: The pros: The staff is always professional and helpful. The new windows have reduced street and highway noise (it's very near Rt. 695) considerably. The buffet breakfast is decent. Cons: The mattresses are inconsistent. Some beds are fine, others way to soft and lack support. The comforters are a wisp. Not good if you like something substantial or weighty. There are no coffee makers in the room. This really stands out when most 2 star hotels even provide this basic amenity. Location is borderline unsafe. If you venture out on foot, do not walk west (or South, really). There was a drive by shooting 2 blocks west just a few months ago. On the other hand, if you go east, you are only a few blocks from a cool neighborhood with a handful of nice places to eat and not to far from the SE waterfront. While the underground onsite parking is convenient, it's also dank, dirty and a little scary. I am always expecting to see a rat as big as my luggage lurking around the corner. As of yet, I have not seen one, though that might be due to the large rat trap they have set out. So if it is high season and they are asking $175+ a night (no parking/breakfast included), and you are in town to see the sites, spend a little extra and stay somewhere else and enjoy yourself. Btw, the pool is nice, however when they open it in summer it also serves the neighborhood community pool as well as the hotel guests. The hotel sells passes to the public at large, and the party goes until 10pm. It's not exactly a family atmosphere..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in DC
Business
N/A
19 Nov 2015

Wouldn't do this again

I was in town on business and really only spent a few hours in the room, checking in in the evening and having a flight out at 5 AM. Had I stayed longer, this wouldn't have worked. The hotel Is in a 1960s era building and is privately owned, like many establishments in DC. Management keeps it fairly clean, but the finishes are poor, the furniture is old and poorly maintained, and you'll find the bare minimum available in your room. If you plan only to sleep there, and require little else, this may work for you. But if you are looking for the hotel to be a part of your experience, this isn't it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric E.
Business
N/A
10 Nov 2015

Great non-chain Hotel

My wife looked for a deal in D.C. and found one. But you never know when you do that if you will regret it! We didn't. the hotel was modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. If I HAD to find something... the tub was obviously a little older than the rest of the room that had been updated. Other than that... it was a 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marissa T.
Couples
N/A
29 Oct 2015

Not what we expected

The only positive was that the hotel was located in the city for the same price as a hotel in Alexandria. In the photos it looks up to date and nice. However, the room was exceptionally small and do not get a room next to the elevators because the noise will keep you up all night. They were doing construction on the hotel when we arrived, starting at 9:30 am you can here them working. ALSO IT IS $30 A NIGHT TO PARK.....something they fail to mention in their advertisements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viktoriia P.
Family
Ocean City
24 Oct 2015

Problem with parking

When i booked the hotel it said free parking, at the front desk i showed a printed piece of paper that said free parking, lady said ok, later i saw that money was still taken from my card. I called hotel about it, they said that they fixed it but i was charged second time for parking. so i have to call back again, after this time it was finally fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michel c.
Single
N/A
18 Oct 2015

Visiting Washington

I had a great ime at this hotel, the service is good, the food is good at the restaurant too. Beds we`re so confortable, i slept like a baby. The Wifi is so slow, that you may have to think about paying the 7$/day to upgrade it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top